carlosandy
post Jun 3 2010, 05:01 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Aster66 @ Jun 3 2010, 01:43 PM)
any idea? looking for advance tax lecturer
Chow Chee Yan not sure.

Choong Kwai Fatt won't run P6 every sitting currently. I think may be you need to ask many ppl email him, then baru he consider come back to run P6. (kwaifatt@yahoo.com)
carlosandy
post Jun 7 2010, 01:02 AM

858 posts

All the best to ACCA student for June 2010 exam
carlosandy
post Jun 15 2010, 05:11 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(MyTeaTime @ Jun 15 2010, 04:02 PM)
P2 got alot calculation? other than consol ??

issit worth to go for Joe Fang classes specially for conso method?
is he good in others calculation other than consol?( as i heard that, nowadays P2 mayb not always test on conso... but oso can test on other calculations )

So, still worth going JoeFang classes? as i will be attending haneef classes mainly... =S  ( a bit kiasu here )
P2 is difference from F7, please do not depend too much on calculation.

For Joe Fang and Haneef, I think you need to think what you expect from them for attend their class.

Joe Fang is good in Consol, but just so so on FRS. If you attend his class, then you need to take more time reading on your own for FRS.

Haneef is good in FRS, but for consol part, he normally use classic T a/c method. T a/c method is easy ifor understanding, but slow method during exam.

So, there is no perfect for Haneef or Joe Fang or even for any other lecturer.

carlosandy
post Jun 16 2010, 08:57 AM

858 posts

[FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial][FONT=Arial]
QUOTE(MyTeaTime @ Jun 15 2010, 05:36 PM)
hmm... ya ...then since i am going to attend haneef dy.... not advised to go joefang class as additional la?
For Joe Fang class, if you really feel want to study faster consol method, then baru consider la. Since Haneef class also 2 days per week, I think may be difficult for you to attend Joe Fang class for same sitting. I'm not advise you also attend Joe Fang revision class without attend his normal class.

carlosandy
post Jun 16 2010, 11:41 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(MyTeaTime @ Jun 16 2010, 10:19 AM)
oorh... icic...ok ^^ thank you vy much =D

Added on June 16, 2010, 10:23 amBtw, How bout P3... if I only can choose between Philip woo ( Taylors) & Marcus Ong ( Kasturi )class ... who is better? can describe their teaching method?

I heard that Philip woo only so so in p3?
Any comment on Marcus Ong teaching?

(because my P1 class timetable clash with Parimdar P3...so cant attend his class...)
I'm not sure about Marcus Ong, may be you need to try. For Philip Woo, he is experience lecturer in this paper, just get some comment he is not so good as compare to Parmindar.

carlosandy
post Jun 19 2010, 04:25 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(IliekIZ @ Jun 18 2010, 06:37 PM)
hi guys can I know what should I do if I lost my ACCA card? Lost my wallet earlier this week. thanks
I tell you my story during last time I sit for exam.

So far I sit for exam for so many sitting, I already many times didn't bring the student card, but they still allowed me take exam. When they ask me student card, I just said lost wallet yesterday, haha......As long as you bring your Exam Docket and IC, they will allow you la.

Lost student card not so important la, dun worry too much.
carlosandy
post Jun 23 2010, 01:09 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(IliekIZ @ Jun 22 2010, 02:23 AM)
notworthy.gif  but i don think i'm gonna do that, will get a new one then since i only started the course, and keep asking them why my card haven't arrived yet  rclxms.gif
Yes, u are correct. But what I mean was in the exam hall as long as you bring the exam docket and can prove yourself by any other thing like IC, they will accept. I never see any case of student not allow to the exam by the reason of lost student card.

carlosandy
post Jul 6 2010, 01:21 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(anti-LAx2 @ Jul 1 2010, 10:43 AM)
Any recommendations for part time class (not revision) for p3 and p5 lecturers?

No Sunway please, and preferably situated in KL.

P3 go Parmindar Singh at KSA

P5 try Chan Tze Kang at MCO
carlosandy
post Jul 20 2010, 04:02 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Jul 20 2010, 10:26 AM)
I'm in Sunway too! So should be same class as your friend. Ms. Santha is teaching IAS. I feel so lost! cry.gif

I try revise myself also don't understand. sad.gif Her notes also like very messy.. sad.gif
Go to take tuition/IRC at MCO Haneef class, then u can understand a lot for FRS.
carlosandy
post Aug 9 2010, 04:53 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(bestyinn @ Aug 8 2010, 01:34 PM)
can anyone tell me where to take P5,advanced taxation paper? p/s: personally like to attend weekday than weekend class. Thanks in advance smile.gif
P5 is not Advance Taxation, but P6. Try Low Chin Ann in Kbandar since Dr Choong Kwai Fatt no longer teach currently.

Added on August 9, 2010, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(starz92 @ Aug 3 2010, 08:04 PM)
true.thanks for your advice.actually the reason for me wanting to be the prize winners is because my college give 100% scholarship for the first in the world and 50% for first in malaysia. (i thought it would be much easier back then if it was 50 question of MCQ).Come to think of it,I would rather apply for star scholarship then.
I think i would go for the august cbe exam which is only 50 question mcq.not worth the risk.
CBE 50 mcq doesn't mean must be easier as compare to paper based exam.

Just need to let you know, for MCQ in CBE, all the questions will be run in random, means every student also get difference question.

Some student can't get high marks in CBE, but get high marks in paper based.

The only main advantage for CBE is you will get your result immediately.

By the way, for CAT paper, so far I didn't see it is very difficult. As long as you learn by hard, you will earn high marks. But don't put so hard on prize winner target, bcos it is only extra.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Aug 9 2010, 05:03 PM
carlosandy
post Aug 23 2010, 02:56 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(lavender27 @ Aug 23 2010, 02:46 PM)
can i take P2 4 and 7 ? When the optional papers can be taken?
If you already passed P1 and P3, no problem for you to take P2, P4 & P7 together
carlosandy
post Aug 27 2010, 12:06 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Aug 26 2010, 08:42 AM)
hey guys, am going the pure ACCA route, is it necessary to get the OBU degree ? Do i need a degree to further pursue my MBA, or ICAEW ?
haha i knew a lot of people were going to die when i took it, didn't expect the passing rate to be so low, much much lower than any of the P papers.
You can consider for OBU if you got extra time.

But if I'm you, I will be concentrate in P level paper 1st. For OBU, try it on Zero Cost Method unless you totally don't have idea on it. For me, no point to spend too much money and time on it bcos OBU is non add value.
carlosandy
post Dec 1 2010, 01:09 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(luvteddy @ Nov 30 2010, 09:44 AM)
Hey there.. i nid some help here.

I failed my P6 last sitting, so i'm self-studying now... I'm a bit confused with RPGT. Thus, i hope someone would be able to help me out.

So in the calculations, do we need to use the formula of A/B X C ? or can we use 5% directly to calculate the gains tax payable? what about disposals after 5 yrs?

also, what is NT? i know it's specific value.. but, for exam purposes do we write it as specific value or do we write it as NT?

i know my questions are rather .. uhm... too basic. but yea, please help me out!

Thanks a lot!!!!!!!!!!!!
For P6, calculation is not so important....please don't take more time on it.

From my experience in P6, examiner will be more test RPGT on No Gain No Loss, AP + PE and etc. You need to write instead of calculation. Calculation just to support your arguement in the exam, not very important. Try to look at the pass year question for RPGT, then u will know how the examiner test it
carlosandy
post Dec 1 2010, 11:49 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(luvteddy @ Dec 1 2010, 06:07 PM)
May i ask what is AP + PE? oh gosh i've just spent the afternoon going through the calculations  cry.gif
AP + PE mean Acquisition Price + Permitted Expenses.

In P6, examiner won't be interest on the calculation. Normally examiner will test student on No Gain No loss situation (NGNL). For eg, when NGNL apply, transferee deemed acquired at AP(transferor) + PE. Try to look at Para 12 gift, Para 3(b), Para 17, RPC, Private Resident Exemption and etc

By the way, RPGT is one of the easier topic in P6. Try to look more on past year question, then u will know how the examiner test student.

Always remember, in P level, calculation no longer important, don't spend too much time on it. Examiner will be more interest on how you go to apply your knowledge in this paper. In P6, examiner will treat u as tax advisor. Normally examiner will ask student advise, tax planning, tax implication.......

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Dec 1 2010, 11:50 PM
carlosandy
post Dec 2 2010, 09:21 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 2 2010, 01:04 AM)
Be aware though, P6 changed examiner already, the style might change.
Yes, I agree with you, but I think RPGT still will test on NGNL situation in P6. For this paper, examiner will be more test student in application question then calculation.
carlosandy
post Dec 10 2010, 02:36 PM

858 posts

To all Dec 2010 student, belows are my advice in this 2 week exam:

Try not to discuss too much answer after yours finish exam, bcos it won't help anybody to gain more marks. Whatever past is past, even if you make a mistake during exam, but now also can't change anymore.
Pass or fail now totally depend on examiner and your luck.

Concentrate in your next paper is more important, don't waste time to know whether you are right or wrong.

All the best and good luck to student for seating today and next week 3 more days exam.

carlosandy
post Dec 11 2010, 01:44 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 10 2010, 05:23 PM)
I am utterly surprised that your results depends on examiner and luck!

Hi, this is a professional exam and you need to give the correct FACTS.
Yalo, I said NOW, means "after you handed in your script for marking"

I can share some of my experience. During P2 time in June 2008, I didn't do well, console do wrong adjustment, FRS question just bu shit examiner (bcos I just agak agak), but when result came out, I passed by 53m. Another paper 2.6 (F8), I remember one seating, I wrote until 18 pages, give all the point, but failed by 49m.

That's why I said, we only can do our best during exam. After exam, it is depend on whether can make examiner requirement and luck also. No point to whether u do correct or wrong answer.

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Dec 11 2010, 01:50 AM
carlosandy
post Dec 15 2010, 12:40 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(graneon @ Dec 15 2010, 11:13 AM)
took f6,f7,f9 & p1 for Dec 10 sitting. f8 already have conversion pass. what are the option available for june 2011 sitting if:

1) failed f7

2) failed f7 & f9

3) failed f7,f9 & P1

i intent to sit for 4 papers. is there any chance i can include P6 in june 11?

any feedback is very much appreciated
If I'm not mistake, under new rules, if student seat for P level paper, then he/she must seat together with F level paper if he/she still not completed F level. Same as option paper oso, if u still not pass P1 to P3 and want to seat P6, then u must seat together with P1 to P3. For your situation, you can't take P2 if u fail F7:

1) F7, P1 & P3

2) F7, F9, P1 & P3

3) F7, F9, P1 & P3

So, I don't think you can take P6 in June 11.

carlosandy
post Dec 16 2010, 10:10 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(S.HAN @ Dec 15 2010, 10:19 PM)
HELP!
for p4 daniel ho from oic is better or andrew pang from ksa...
kindly advise...
Daniel Ho is better as compare to Andrew.
carlosandy
post Dec 16 2010, 10:27 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(dreamerJD @ Dec 15 2010, 09:49 PM)
Lol. So many clashes. I feel headache for you. Keith Farmer is teaching in KSA. I was never under him but I've read through his notes before, it's quite good. But you'll need to bear with his British accent or at least this is what my friend 'complained' last time.
I'm Keith Farmer's student, his teaching sytle is good, can balance in both Consol & FRS but just you need to accept his british slang. His notes is quite good and easy to understand. One thing not good for Keith Farmer is he teaching very slow, I still remember he give us two extra class but also can't finish all FRS on time and only cover this in revision class.

Btw, he was stop teaching in Malaysia due to his family problem since year 2009 and not sure whether will be back on year 2011, u better check with KSA.

Added on December 16, 2010, 10:29 am
QUOTE(moon1988 @ Dec 16 2010, 10:16 AM)
Any recommendation on which lecturer to choose for P5?? Have no idea where to go~~ KSA or OIC or other place?? Pening~~

Thanks in advance for your advice biggrin.gif
Try OIC if the class run by Chan Tze Kang. If not then baru consider for Andrew Pang (KSA).

This post has been edited by carlosandy: Dec 16 2010, 10:29 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:31 AM