5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V3, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

matt85
post Mar 9 2011, 10:32 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Mar 9 2011, 11:22 PM)
I'm goin this Sunday for 10 days. Attending my brother wedding ceremony in tokyo. Dunno how is their wedding custom?  Anyone goin this week?
Not sure the guys here have attended any weddings, but here's a good readi've stumbled on few days ago.

By the way, Abie.C, do share the pics of the wedding ceremony afterwards smile.gif
matt85
post Mar 11 2011, 12:47 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(su ting @ Mar 11 2011, 10:51 AM)
may i know iszit got day pass for train in tokyo?? how much for day pass?? coz i going japan for 9days, im dilemma to get 7days JR pass or 14days JR pass.. but 14days JR pass much more expensive as im only use 9 days.. so need some advice to get 14days JR pass or 7days JR pass+ 2day tokyo day pass.. =)
RegentCid, i think you answered these type of questions to death already laugh.gif

Probably bro Tanoshi should put a reminder for people to check the old posts or put all updates/Q&A on front page.
matt85
post Mar 11 2011, 02:04 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Mar 11 2011, 02:09 PM)
Matt sayang,
I always reminded dear...PLEASE CHECK the 1st page, you may find all the infos in there.
Theres no such thing 'i have no time to read or bla bla' bcoz, most of the senior will answer you or repeating the same answer...
Your kind cooperation much appreciated,,
(Boleh mcm ni?)
wink wink!
Matt...and KLians...I'll be goin to PutraJaya this 19th & 20th, manau kalau ada mau yum cha teh tarik ka?? thumbup.gif  wub.gif
If im not busy with my research work, sure ok see u there bro. Jayhan, e-jump, zoakies?

Add: Heard there's a huge jishin of 7.9 magnitude in Japan about an hour ago; hopefully our friends and family in Japan are alright.

This post has been edited by matt85: Mar 11 2011, 02:25 PM
matt85
post Mar 11 2011, 03:37 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(nasizwan @ Mar 11 2011, 04:12 PM)
Heard from friend in tokyo she said there are lots of fire happening all around tokyo
Yeah, check out the Al Jazeera video report. Lots of fire and many are trapped in buildings.
matt85
post Mar 12 2011, 11:24 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Mar 12 2011, 12:17 PM)
theres so many way dude...we cant say more...you and me are not the specialist in nuclear...
Whatever is ALERTs!
Yup, this is correct. Last time i work in nuclear waste disposal facility, safety officers always say anything happen, first thing is CABUT DULU ! tongue.gif
matt85
post Mar 12 2011, 02:11 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

Tokyo look good; businesses resume as usual.

http://twitcasting.tv/stevenagata/movie/1204660 (live civilian report from Akiba)
matt85
post Mar 12 2011, 10:40 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(ik3da @ Mar 12 2011, 11:15 PM)
Due to family's pressure - I give up. Will be leaving back to KL tomorrow night (same pricing as smwah ~ RM2.7k). Losing out the 2 nights room + 2 days of free buffet breakfast + 2 tickets back to KL on 15th night + 2 seats booking + 1 international meal + a total of 35 kg of baggage weight allowance.

I sound ungrateful but damn, I really hate to cut this trip short. I WILL BE BACK JAPAN, 8.9 OR NOT! Argh!
Feel for you, man. It's a wonderful country, sucks to cut your holidays short, but most important is your life and family. I'm sure Japan can always wait for you, and all of us icon_rolleyes.gif

Take care all and have a safe journey home.
matt85
post Mar 14 2011, 05:56 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(smwah @ Mar 14 2011, 05:05 PM)
At last safely return back to Malaysia. Bit disappointed that some our friends tried to contact our embassy but no reply. I also understand that Sg embassy provide extra flight details to their citizen regarding the departing from Haneda.I went to Haneda on Sat afternoon after make booking through AA. Never bother to change my return flight or call them any special discount, just book only. Reached Haneda on Sat afternoon, after taking airport limo bus at TCAT. Many ppl are waiting flight at the airport since some flight cancel on Friday. I tried to check any airline flying out from Jap but unfortunately none, at least one ANA standby flight. They did tried their best to help to check but the price is about 530K yen (RM 21K) for 2 person. No choice had to wait for Sunday nite flight. Wait wait wait....... Ppl there seem very stable not in very panic.
Go to move, bcoz the condition is unpredictable. Who knows suddenly come again.
Again those Jap ppl really good in order. No one really take advantage or doing nasty around. I were trapped at subway, one aunty offer us some bread to eat. So nice. If ppl in malaysia, sure we would keep for ourself.
Did learn things during earthquake,  life is so important, humanity is great, you see how ppl there react helping each others it just make u feel ashame yourself. Human always human, you can't get away from the mother nature
sorry ik3da, i not in time inform you regarding the transport to haneda, anyway glad you are back as well.
Nice sharing there. I guess during hard times, humans only realize how important to be caring to each another and practice togetherness; most Malaysians are just too 'pampered'.
matt85
post Mar 16 2011, 11:36 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(su ting @ Mar 16 2011, 11:51 AM)
Better cancel ur trip coz my japanese fren who staying in tokyo told me japan in serious situation and she as well, another fren who jz continue his plan to tokyo last 2 days had sms me that most of the shop are closed, lack of electricity.. even fren who work in hokkaido also told me can feel abit earthquake. they all told me is not the timing to go japan as my flight is on 3rd of april, i am going to cancel my flight, should be no problem to get refund.

i dont think japan still beautiful like last time, went there jz waste $$..
Japan is still a very beautiful country in many ways smile.gif

========================================================================

I don't understand the pessimistic nature of posting by many people, especially by the non-Japanese.

Facing such adversity, they Japanese people are still strong and coping with all the troubles with hard work, thoughtfulness, love and optimism. What is the point of us non-Japanese spreading negativity, rumours and false alarm, if they aren't helping?

All they need now are well wishes and moral support; material and knowledge-wise, they are more than capable than any other country in the world, in handling this disaster.

Read this, if some of you have time to: Heart warming tweets from Japan; got this from fellow forumer, Psychzzz
matt85
post Mar 16 2011, 01:50 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Mar 16 2011, 01:53 PM)
On the contrary, world opinion seems to be in awe of the Japanese spirit:

Why Is There No Looting in Japan
Quake response showcases Japan's resilient spirit

Most other forums I read seem to echo this view. Most posters are respectful of the tragedy unfolding. Most do not say:

You just need to look at certain posts in this thread and some others in this forum. Oh and also some peers' remarks, the news in Malaysia and hawk's Pearl Harbour mockery. Downright ugly.

I prefer not to delve in negativity, so i'll stop the rot here; just explaining the situation to you, tatsuyachiba.
matt85
post Mar 16 2011, 03:25 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(su ting @ Mar 16 2011, 04:05 PM)
i would like to apologize if my words leading u guys misunderstanding.
i used to go japan. no matter wat happen japan still no.1 country in my heart, no matter is their technology or personality.
eventhough i cancelled my flight, but i din change my plan to korea see sakura, i will wait for next year sakura season go to japan again.

when earthquake happened in japan all my fren n parents warned me not to go japan, but i still stubborn wan to go. because earthquake is natural diasister, if god want us to die now, we cant change it..

but now i had changed my mindset after all my japanese frens adviced me not to go japan right now.
due to radiation, lots of foods had sold out, and japanese need so much of food n water. and they need to buy mineral water to drink. unless we bring our food to japan, else we dun wan to eat.. we need to think for japanese as well..

i was cried when i saw the news and kept on contact my japanese frens til they all msg me that they are fine. if wat am i said had let u guys misunderstanding then i would like to said sorry.
だいじょうぶ smile.gif , i believe me and tatsuyachiba have the same intention, which is trying to depict the correct image of the situation.

matt85
post Mar 24 2011, 07:01 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(marzhooc @ Mar 24 2011, 12:55 PM)
wondering when can I go there.. aisey...my colleague went there for 3 weeks and only spend RM 5k all in..dude..I need to take advice from him
Feasible, if you:

1. Decide skip trains and walk from Ueno to Shibuya.
2. Eat only onigiri/sand.
3. Drink from temple/taps.
4. Sleep in capsules/join the homeless.

matt85
post Mar 24 2011, 07:55 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 24 2011, 08:17 PM)
Like this what is the point visit Tokyo except number 4. Sleeping inside capsule really fun. Like inside spaceship
Yeah marzhooc mentioned that his friend it with RM5k. Very unlikely, unless that guy has friends/relatives over there (hosts would probably pay alot for your meals and provide free accommodation)

Personally, i don't really like capsules. The one ive been to (was it Asakusa Capsule?), was some sort like a building in a horror film (blinking lights, hideous areas, old lift) tongue.gif Not to mention, when i was checking in, an ang moh was quarreling with the counter guy and the Japanese uncle was speaking back to him loud and rude (oh no no).
matt85
post Mar 24 2011, 10:51 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Mar 24 2011, 09:16 PM)
6pm is like 7-8pm in Malaysia wink.gif

I went there for the first time in 2009, spent around 2.7K for 11 days. Note : I don't spend much on food and the costing does not included shopping. Yes, shopping in Japan is expensive in general.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry28383275

Capsule is not the cheapest paid accommodation option, in average it would cost around 3-4K Yen. Internet cafe is around half of that with unlimited free drinks.
The one i stayed in was 1k yen per night laugh.gif
matt85
post Mar 25 2011, 12:27 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Mar 25 2011, 01:05 AM)
Don't know if he is just being sarcastic but just in case you need to know, there are many ways to cut back a lot if you are there for a long stay.

1. Yes, have good walking shoes. It's not that far between 2 or three train stops. Even in winter, walking keeps you very warm. Group all your distance travel in town on the same day and use an all day pass. Take the slower train or bus from the airport. Don't ever miss the last train at night or the necessary connections.

2. Those are not really cheap and you might get malnourished. Try to get lodging where you have some way to heat up food like a microwave or even kettle. Then you can get inexpensive stuff from the supermarket like eggs, sausages, make your own sandwiches to carry out for meals. Look for late afternoon, late evening clearance tagged fresh food items. The convenience stores usually have cooked eggs, dried meat/seafood snacks, fried chicken pieces. You can have these for the price of onigiri. Try the free samples in the food section of department stores early evening.

3. Fill a used plastic drink bottle and carry it with you. Fill with tea, coffee, milk or juice when you leave and then refill on the street from drinking fountains or even restroom taps. Buy soft drinks (and many other things) in the 100 yen shops.

4. Look in the free English tourist magazine listings for a guest house room to rent by the week. Some Japanese stay overnight in train station corridors but probably only if they are waiting for the first train. If you must do it, don't look too shabby to attract police checks. See if there is a manga shop nearby where you can sleep on a chair overnight for a small price. Luggage can go into station coin lockers.

Travelling in Japan, be proud to be a cheapskate; blowing a big load of Malaysian cash will not compare with what Japanese spend when they want to impress!

Good tips, but still RM5k for three weeks is unbelievable.

1. Yes, walking between few stations is okay, but Ueno to Shibuya ? You must be joking. (yes i did precisely that with a pair of very good walking shoes, and got up to a terrible backache the next morning)

2. Eggs, sausages from konbini? Still you'd need at least 500 (~RM20) yen a day at most. That makes it RM420 already for three weeks. As a tourist, you seriously going to live with that diet for three straight weeks???

3. Like i mentioned before, FOC drink from taps/temples. Worst case scenario already.

4. Renting a guest house room itself will cost you approximately RM100 already for a day. Three weeks would make that RM2100. And again, i don't think you'd want to overnight in train corridors most of the time. And sleeping the manga/internet cafes? Had that for a day, no second time for smoke-filled night. Like i said, you'd save alot if you couchsurf or stay over friend's/relative's place.

It's better to be budget-conscious than being a complete cheapskate, no offense.
matt85
post Mar 25 2011, 11:06 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 25 2011, 11:00 AM)
3 week with rm5k cannot meh? Even those living in Japan doesnt spend rm5k for 1 month including their rent and stuff.
I sincerely believe you can't smile.gif

Ok hands up ive been sarcastic at times, but what ive said is in good faith.

Speaking of renting a room, yes Shazzac is right, you have to pay like 2-3k for a paper-walled room. And don't be surprised, there are MANY homeless people in Tokyo and they sleep with their blazers an coats on! Rent is so exorbitant that many people resort to living on the streets. And they are organized and clean, so authorities just close one eye.

Regentcid: It's okay like what bro Nasizwan said, some people have different priorities, we have to respect that notworthy.gif

Redboi: Shibuya to Harajuku still okay lah! I did walked from Ueno to Shibuya out of mistake. First time touch down Tokyo, i was so awe-aspired, i walked continuously from my hostel to Shibuya Hachiko! The next day, i woke up with a terrible backache and can hardly walk. Then smart already, took Metro tongue.gif

For my Japan trip, i planned and calculated a 8 day basic minimum backpacker budget for a year!
Speaking of funds optimization, i don't think i can go much wrong laugh.gif Actually i did spent about RM5k for 8 days; with that budget, i bought an expensive RM3k JAL flight ticket (just for the ultimate Japan experience lol), managed to live in hostel, capsule and ryokan. Have sampled a wide variety of Japanese food; two sushi meals for RM200+ sweat.gif, nice Fukouka ramen and izakaya food (arigato-gozaimasu to Psychzzz-san), konbini and departo meals, Tenya's superb udon package and personal treatment at meido kissaten wub.gif . Bought a yukata set for my dad, handbags for my sis, t-shirts for my mum, some small gifts and Gundams. To top all that up, managed to fund a day trip to Hakone and Mt. Fuji too, and sat on a Shinkansen ride.

All that for RM5k, beat that tongue.gif
matt85
post Mar 25 2011, 02:53 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Mar 25 2011, 01:59 PM)
It's on 8th April. Still 2 weeks to go. But judging from earlier statement, I don't see a reason anymore to cancel it. I guess the statement by RegentCid scared me a little  sweat.gif
I would suggest you postpone the trip; you aren't gonna get the same joy traveling to a country got hit with the worst earthquake in its history.

Though money is yours, i guess you could too, make the best of it. Enjoy your trip, if you're going. smile.gif
matt85
post Mar 27 2011, 12:34 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(philiper89 @ Mar 27 2011, 01:14 AM)
yea...Tokyo is quite safe....I think I go there even one month, the radiation level that I absorb will not reach the level for one time CT scan...(hopefully) hmm.gif
They said the same for Lahat's rare earth processing facility's waste, and yet there are still people reporting of child-birth defects and cancer case increase.

I've worked in the radioactive containment facility construction, just beside the waste storage facility. Having said that, even after what the experts convince me with their sweet words, i rather not work there anymore. Do you know you're insured for three generations onwards if you are working in the facility? That's how serious things can get even though the thorium waste radioactivity is comparatively low.

I'm not fear-mongering here, ive said them because i've seen it; just my two cents. Bro Tanoshi's concerns are right.

Furthermore, think of the Japanese people. Foods and other supplies are low; with an extra consumer in you, you could have deprived someone needy. That's my point of view.

Again, it's your choice to visit Tokyo, i can just sincerely wish you good trip ahead.
matt85
post Mar 30 2011, 01:02 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Mar 29 2011, 11:57 PM)
Oh you really knows hiroko. indeed she is my brother wife.  They registered in November and shinto ceremony last sunday 20 march. my whole family went to tokyo to attend the ceremony. How you you know hiroko? You know hiroko well?

Thanks for the share. Nice traditional wedding pic smile.gif
matt85
post Mar 30 2011, 11:35 AM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Mar 30 2011, 10:45 AM)
ya i already say not good time to go now but some people still 1 argue. If cancel then cannot get refund no choice la. Alot thing cancel wont enjoy full

Yesterday go shinjuku time suppose brightly colored but all close light look like very boring city. Still i enjoy the "service" brows.gif
Mind telling which 'shop' you went for the 'service' ? brows.gif

As far as i know, most establishments enforce Japanese customer only policy for these 'services'. You have millions to spend also they don't want your money.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0541sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:58 PM