The Idiot Proof Guide To -> Laptop Cooling, All you need to know!
[PF] T.J.
May 10 2011, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(alvin ong @ May 10 2011, 04:54 PM) yeah.. i know... but the problem that is that the wires for the 2 fans that came with it is joined together to 1 USB plug But if i buy another fan, the wires are not joined to the existing USB plug.. so does it means i need to use another USB port for the additional fan? Yeap, I think so, but I'm not sure whether the individual fans have a USB port replicator or not
[PF] T.J.
May 10 2011, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(alvin ong @ May 10 2011, 04:57 PM) Yeah.. it has.. but then the plug will be too big... i think i might just get the u3.  I plan to get U3 as well
[PF] T.J.
May 10 2011, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(joe90cool @ May 10 2011, 07:48 PM) i dont recommend 3 fan with 1 usb... slows down the fan... single fan single usb is faster Isit? Wow, thanks for the clarification. But I have a larger laptop, what to do? Buy 2 individual fans instead? That's going to be abit expensive Or maybe I should just transfer the U2 fans to the new U3 haha
[PF] T.J.
May 14 2011, 12:11 AM
Geeezz... now I'm not so sure whether to get the U2 or U3 for the M14x
[PF] T.J.
May 15 2011, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(joe90cool @ May 15 2011, 01:51 AM) i mean placing the fan on the right spot.... you can see the correct way of placing fan on the box of your U3... you dont place it directly to the hot area... but a little away from the hot area... the fan blows away from the center.. so try and error with your HWM on as a guide... Added on May 15, 2011, 1:53 amget a u3 would be better, it much better to place your fan as well Yeah, but I'm not sure whether the M14x will fit nicely on the cooler pad or not... Fit as in won't slide here and there haha Because the laptop won't be big enough to be placed directly on the rubber surfaces of the cooler pad @AlexLai, yeah, I'll probably go for U3
[PF] T.J.
May 17 2011, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(jiro1986 @ May 17 2011, 04:16 PM) which cooler best for m17x r3??? Cooler Master Storm SF-19?
[PF] T.J.
May 24 2011, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(yshiuan @ May 24 2011, 12:07 PM) which one is better, CM infinite or infinite evo? or a cheapo cooler with 180mm fan? Hard to say, since different cooler pads will work differently on different laptops
[PF] T.J.
May 24 2011, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(alvin227 @ May 24 2011, 11:53 PM) hi all, a bit off topic, anyone know any software that monitor the cpu temperature? I'm using M6400 and it getting hot like crazy, and the performance just jerky all the time...not really sure whether the fan is still running or not, need to check the temperature then see what can be done Hw Monitor would be nice
[PF] T.J.
May 25 2011, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(alvin227 @ May 24 2011, 11:58 PM) thanks...downloading now....do you have any idea if dell have some tool to check whether the fan is running? since you using Aw  Hey...i using klipsch s4i as well Alienware laptops uses different programs than standard Dell laptops I think I'm not really sure which program offers such a feature; though I've seen some forumer displaying it via using HWinfo32.... Well, the Klipsch speakers on the M14x is really nothing to shout about, apart from the additional bass from the subwoofer, the sound quality is still no better than the harman/kardon speakers in Toshibas Wow, just Googled the earphones, looks naiiiice!! Actually I'm looking for an earphone as well ... how much did you buy yours bro?
[PF] T.J.
Jun 7 2011, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Jun 7 2011, 03:12 AM) Naice Just browsed through the site, there's a Cryo S for 15 inchers as well
[PF] T.J.
Jun 18 2011, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(raul88 @ Jun 18 2011, 12:23 AM) all these time i thought cooler is a hoaxbut it really work used to play dota and laptop lag buy a cooler then lag no more Alot of people thought that too haha To them we're just geeks who think we know everything haha Still, the effectiveness of cooler pads will depend on the laptop as well..
[PF] T.J.
Jun 19 2011, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(raul88 @ Jun 19 2011, 11:55 AM) i dont even know what is thermal paste... Thermal paste is a "toothpaste" like stuff applied on the metal plate on top of processors (both CPU and GPU) to help dissipate heat better They'll eventually wear out with time and hence need to be replaced
[PF] T.J.
Jun 19 2011, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(pandera999 @ Jun 19 2011, 02:45 PM) how to put eh....  open all over, search cpu, thn jz put the paste at the cpu? You need to remove the previous thermal paste 1st, of course  There are a lot of Youtube videos teaching how to do it
[PF] T.J.
Jun 20 2011, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 20 2011, 10:26 AM) This is not burger, cannot double one  Best if you can make it as thin as possible... Yo sifu, I was just wondering, I've been watching alot of YouTube movies on "the correct way" of applying thermal paste... so, which one is the correct way anyway? LOL Some say as thin as possible, some put alot more Any suggestions? I might wanna try experimenting on my old M100 since its getting hotter and hotter  Thanks thanks!
[PF] T.J.
Jun 20 2011, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jun 20 2011, 12:33 PM) i don't know if it's applicable to laptop, but on my desktop, i would usually put approximately in a size of rice grain, so when u tighten the heatsink, the thermal paste will be evenly distributed to the cpu surface Ya, astria sifu suggested as well, as in no spreading of the thermal paste, let the heat do the job... Very confusing lar haha
[PF] T.J.
Jun 20 2011, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(fJok3R @ Jun 20 2011, 12:42 PM) well, that's the easiest way i supposed, let it evenly distributed naturally, some people prefer to spread the paste by their own, so need a good even surface such as credit card, quite tedious i supposed  most of the Youtube videos showed the user using the packet of the thermal paste to spread the paste haha  Added on June 20, 2011, 12:44 pmQUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 20 2011, 12:43 PM) I just put a rice grain size and done. Though it may differ for different paste, some is harder to spread, so better spread it beforehand.. Okay, noted with thanks~! This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jun 20 2011, 12:44 PM
[PF] T.J.
Jun 20 2011, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 20 2011, 01:44 PM) thermal paste kenot too much kenot too little so the actual portion should be???? Good question
[PF] T.J.
Jun 22 2011, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(AlexLai @ Jun 20 2011, 07:41 PM) I use a thin rubber/plastic glove to spread the thermal paste around so I can get a good feel of the evenness. Also, I use a special thermal compound remover to clean the die first before applying new paste. Gloves can ar? Special thermal compound remover? I thought can just use alcohol?
[PF] T.J.
Jun 22 2011, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jun 22 2011, 11:05 AM) ^can use bare hand if you want  Like ArctiClean? forum.lowyat.net/topic/1702139 Thanks for the link bro Based on the description of the ArctiClean, I think its merely alcohol haha
[PF] T.J.
Jun 22 2011, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 22 2011, 02:38 PM) ...with a fancy name  I never use alcohol or some sort, just with some tissue or clean cloth is more than enough Many thanks for the input bro, appreciate it I think I should be more or less ready to try already hahaha