14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

The Idiot Proof Guide To -> Laptop Cooling, All you need to know!

[PF] T.J.
post Jun 22 2011, 11:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Jun 22 2011, 11:38 PM)
You smell that stuff? laugh.gif

Some generic gunk really hard to clean, some too hard, some too fluid, but for the harder stuff I usually mix some new paste, boot the PC and run benchmark for few instances and then immediately shut down and disassemble the card. The gunk should be easier to be remove with this method
Wow, learnt alot from you guys, many thanks notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 28 2011, 12:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Deckard Cain @ Jun 28 2011, 12:35 PM)
I see the tutorial on applying thermal paste and it's scary.. can it go wrong? Am afraid if I D.I.Y.. then anything go wrong, I won't be able to claim warranty. Do they any shops provide this service?
I feel you bro, but I think its worth trying~
Try on older laptops 1st smile.gif
It won't go wrong, just try not to spill the thermal paste, but I doubt you would since its so viscous laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jun 28 2011, 01:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Deckard Cain @ Jun 28 2011, 01:28 PM)
that's the scary part.. spilling.. furthermore my hands shake all the time.. I've been reading a lot about thermal paste but trying it on my old lappy still freaks me out. Do they provide such services in shops?
Well, there are kind sifus out here who would probably help you for free haha laugh.gif But depends on where you live lo~
To them, its like drinking water anyway laugh.gif
Shop ppl will probably help you, but for a price, of course sad.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 1 2011, 02:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(roimekoi @ Jul 1 2011, 02:37 PM)
something wrong with the hp dv3500 ,its a integrated 9300 m gs with T6400
the laptop even overheat running minecraft in an 22degree air-conditioned room. Im not sure which cooler brand my bro use. any suggestion to lower the temp?
Might want to clean the internal cooling fan, reapply thermal paste? smile.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 1 2011, 02:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(roimekoi @ Jul 1 2011, 02:39 PM)
got tutorial for doing so?
It differs from laptop to laptop haha, but then, there's alot of YouTube videos showing how to do that nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 3 2011, 10:56 PM

24,193 posts

Hi guys, for those looking for Cooler Master Notepal U2, All IT Hypermart (Lowyat Plaza) is selling at RM58 with free SD card reader thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 4 2011, 09:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 4 2011, 09:09 AM)
i think the flash player software not stable.. always come out with new version~ & browser version always upgrade.. eg: chrome got so many version.. tanji told u U2 around rm60 laugh.gif
I bought my U2 for RM60, 1 year ago sweat.gif
And you din't "told me" U2 is RM60, you said that it was RM40 or something doh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 7 2011, 05:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 7 2011, 05:14 PM)
ah ben dun play at bed or ur lap!

bed: no matter how good the cooler, the heat is difficult to dissipated!

lap: small vibration not good for ur HDD & the heat not good for ur ****
For once, a constructive and good comment from you haha good work thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2011, 10:14 AM

24,193 posts

^ Like that only worthy of the ELITE title ma miahahaha laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 13 2011, 07:56 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jul 13 2011, 12:58 AM)
can anyone suggest me a ultra powerful cooling pad for m6400. I finally figure out it's the overheat problem cause my computer to lag. i did put a fan directly at the back of my laptop and the lagness totally gone.. i really sweat.......80 deg can boil egg already...it just stay normal at around 70deg, once break the threshold that's it
It'll be more effective to open up the laptop and clean the heat sinks and fans since your m6400 is probably 3-4 years old already nod.gif
Might want to reapply thermal paste as well if you're feeling adventurous brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 13 2011, 07:56 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 13 2011, 12:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Jul 13 2011, 09:38 AM)
it just too troublesome to remove the fans and heatsink..open it up once.. i end up fade up dismantling all the parts...then i just do general cleaning, might look for cooling pad first, if it doesn't help...well...maybe gonna visit some store to help me settle that.
Cooler pads won't help much...
You can save the money from buying a cooler pad to ask for pros to help you clean the fans/heat sink and perhaps even reapply thermal paste nod.gif That'll be the better choice imho
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 13 2011, 03:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dikara10 @ Jul 13 2011, 03:28 PM)
I am sorry if this is not the right place to ask my question but I hope forumers here can solve my problem.

I have acer aspire revo which is a nettop. My problem is the revo always shut down automatically due to overheating. Anybody know how to overcome this problem?
Open up the case and clean the dusts inside? hmm.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 13 2011, 03:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dikara10 @ Jul 13 2011, 03:42 PM)
Will it solve the problem? Btw, I am not really confident to open up the case since I never tried it before.  hmm.gif
It'll probably solve the problem nod.gif PCs often overheats because of poor cooling ... since your nettop doesn't suffer from overheating when its new, its highly likely that the overheating now is caused by dust clogging up the fan (if there is a fan) or heat sink
Might need to reapply thermal paste as well, but then it'll be better to let some other more experienced people do that haha
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 14 2011, 09:41 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hidz7 @ Jul 14 2011, 03:46 AM)
Yeap it will, my laptop never experience any overheating issue because I always monitor the temperature, and
if it seems to be a bit high, I open it up and clean it.

my friend's acer 4736G laptop always experience sudden shut down, like 10 times a day in summer!
I helped him to disassemble the laptop all the way, clean the vents, fans, heatsink, and now it's working fine,
no longer sudden shut down.

but if you are not confident kindly ask for help or maybe send to service center. smile.gif
Yo bro, just curious... I've just noticed that in order to reach the fans and processor of my M14x, I need to virtually dissemble the whole unit... I was wondering whether doing this will void any warranty? hmm.gif
I've never really seen warranty stickers (which will void warranty when torned) before sweat.gif Usually where are they located (if present, that is)
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 14 2011, 10:59 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Jul 14 2011, 10:12 AM)
You'll know them when you see them. They come with a helpful "Warranty void if torn/removed" sticker. Normal locations are at important component. Not too sure about Alienware though.
Noted with thanks! notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 14 2011, 06:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hidz7 @ Jul 14 2011, 02:59 PM)
Hmm, I don't think dissemble the whole unit will void the warranty, but it's my dell though, not so sure about alienware, I think
the best way is to ask dell. hmm.gif
LOL, Somehow I doubt Dell will tell me "Nope, won't void warranty one, so please go ahead and dissemble your laptop" haha laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 15 2011, 02:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 15 2011, 02:17 PM)
I saw the technician disassemble mine, no sticker or whatever...
This is good news hehe~
And thanks for the photos showing how to dissemble the M14x notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 20 2011, 03:16 PM

24,193 posts

^ Just need to clean the fans and vents. Plus reapplying thermal paste after a few years nod.gif
You can learn to do it yourself, FOC one haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 22 2011, 11:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Jul 20 2011, 06:29 PM)
^its normal to disassemble the whole unit..
Sifu you made me nervous ar laugh.gif
I still don't dare "operate" my baby... the FB pictures you shared with me last time seemed very complicated laugh.gif

Added on July 22, 2011, 11:09 pm
QUOTE(kurogetsu @ Jul 22 2011, 09:39 PM)
hello people.. I'm still new here... need some suggestion on buying a new laptop cooler... and I saw this on lelong.. is it good or not?? biggrin.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/evercool-nb-ft1-c...7-01-Sale-I.htm
Some say its good, some say it doesn't work...
Whereas some choose to use this + CM U2 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 22 2011, 11:09 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 25 2011, 12:34 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(duabijitelur @ Jul 25 2011, 12:29 PM)
hey guys, recommend me some good thermal compound,
nid it for my M15x biggrin.gif
Planning to try out Tuniq TX4 myself, you can find a lot of info in Garage Sales smile.gif

14 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0405sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:48 PM