Training Log [Stronglift 5x5 + GOMAD], Goal : Gain Weight
TSReubs
Feb 16 2010, 08:07 AM, updated 16y ago

Hi, my current height is 181cm and my weight is 57kg. I started working out early January and last week I decided to start Stronglift 5x5 and GOMAD. My goal is to gain around 20kg.
In this training log, I will also include my diet journal.
I've actually done 2 days of stronglift 5x5, but I'm gonna start from here.
WEEK 1
15/02/10
Squat - 55lbs 5x5 Bench - 45lbs 5x5 Rows - 5,4,4 Push ups - 12,10,8 Crunches - 3x12
Still learning form on bench press.
Gotta find a replacement for inverted rows, not strong enough to get my chest to touch the bar.
0630 - 6 eggs, Peanut Butter, Orange 0800 - Workout 0930 - Almond nuts, 250ml milk, banana 1230 - Steamed chicken breast, olive oil, apple, 250ml milk 1630 - 250ml milk, banana 1830 - Rice, meat, vege 2130 - banana, 250ml milk
This is my first week starting GOMAD so I'll be taking it slowly. 1/4 gallon for the first week. And I think I'm not eating enough!
17/02/10
Squat - 60lbs 5x5 Overhead - 55lbs 5x5 Deadlift - 65lbs 1x5 Chin ups - 5,4,3 Bridges - 3x30sec
Should I increase weight in my deadlift? I've seen other journals and the weight between deadlifts and squats has a bigger difference than mine.
0630 - 6 eggs, peanut butter, 2 slices wholegrain bread, bannaa 0730 - Workout 0930 - Almond nuts, 250ml milk, banana 1400 - Steamed chicken breast, boiled potato, olive oil, banana, 250ml milk 1730 - 1 can tuna, 250ml milk, 1 apple 2000 - Pork chop, rice 2230 - 250ml milk, banana
Any comments on my diet? What I should add/reduce. Thanks
This post has been edited by Reubs: Feb 17 2010, 11:09 PM
TSReubs
Feb 16 2010, 08:08 AM

Reserved
TSReubs
Feb 16 2010, 08:08 AM

Reserved
TSReubs
Feb 16 2010, 08:09 AM

Reserved
cheezzzz
Feb 16 2010, 08:18 AM
hey! good to know another fellow 5x5-er! I also just started end of january! looking to gain only 8kg by june tho.. but having seen your log Im hyped to go for more! i oso cant touch the bar haha xD but u can reduce ur bodyweight by going on ur legs bro your diet is real clean man! i wish i could stick to it like that, imo your pre n post could use a bit more carbs, ur protein seems steady tho!  and also i think rice meals sud b before evening, we tend to burn more calories during the day than night. i gotta get me some bananas... This post has been edited by cheezzzz: Feb 16 2010, 12:26 PM
SticH
Feb 16 2010, 03:26 PM
Wow dude, 2nd time of 5x5 u can do 55lbs squat and 45lbs bench? It takes me a month and a week to get to 70lbs squat and 60lbs bench press smith machine!! Good job
TSReubs
Feb 16 2010, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Feb 16 2010, 08:18 AM) hey! good to know another fellow 5x5-er! I also just started end of january! looking to gain only 8kg by june tho.. but having seen your log Im hyped to go for more! i oso cant touch the bar haha xD but u can reduce ur bodyweight by going on ur legs bro your diet is real clean man! i wish i could stick to it like that, imo your pre n post could use a bit more carbs, ur protein seems steady tho!  and also i think rice meals sud b before evening, we tend to burn more calories during the day than night. i gotta get me some bananas... Hey, thanks for the tip. I'll add more carbs to my diet then. QUOTE(SticH @ Feb 16 2010, 03:26 PM) Wow dude, 2nd time of 5x5 u can do 55lbs squat and 45lbs bench? It takes me a month and a week to get to 70lbs squat and 60lbs bench press smith machine!! Good job Haha i'm not that strong . That's the weight including the bar. This post has been edited by Reubs: Feb 16 2010, 07:07 PM
cheezzzz
Feb 18 2010, 06:17 PM
bro about your deadlift, if you're lifting with proper form you can have increments more than 2.5kg ie 5kg cuz its not like squats where u do every 2 days. form is still most important, so if ur stalling with proper form, go back to the load u used to do, or use smaller increments ie 2.5kg increments. btw ur pretty strong, i cant even do a single chin up hahha i do negatives instead. keep it up bro! ur diet is good, pack on d carbs pre n post WO, helps to sustain muscle
TSReubs
Feb 18 2010, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(cheezzzz @ Feb 18 2010, 06:17 PM) bro about your deadlift, if you're lifting with proper form you can have increments more than 2.5kg ie 5kg cuz its not like squats where u do every 2 days. form is still most important, so if ur stalling with proper form, go back to the load u used to do, or use smaller increments ie 2.5kg increments. btw ur pretty strong, i cant even do a single chin up hahha i do negatives instead. keep it up bro! ur diet is good, pack on d carbs pre n post WO, helps to sustain muscle  Hey, thanks man. It's only 5reps, i'm still a weakling
cheezzzz
Feb 18 2010, 11:53 PM
oh btw, inverted rows can be replaced with bent over barbell rows, stronglifts 5x5 has alternatives, checkout their strength training programme with only 1 barbell.
5 is a lot..at least u can hang n then pull up for another rep.. i have to kip/hop up..