Alienware Mothership v3, the official alien armies thread

julchin_09
post Mar 20 2010, 11:00 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 20 2010, 10:45 PM)
i never heard that brand before yet it looks nice, and price is not bad too ! laugh.gif

where did you brougt it? online?

err about my avatar, THAT skull is my bestfriend now. i have to memorize all the stuff regarding to that and brain before my finals  doh.gif  cry.gif
The brand is quite widely available in Malaysia actually. They make bags for Notebooks and Cameras as well as sleeves for notebooks. I already have a sling bag from fossil and just needed a nice sponge like sleeve for added padding hence I got his. I got mine from LowYatt plaza.

So you're friends with that skull now huh? Reminds me of the movie Castaway whereby the character played by Tom Hanks makes a friend out of a Wilson ball which is the only thing he talks to after being stranded on that island.....But Im sure yours is not as serious as that smile.gif ....

Just saw the collectors box set for BIOSHOCK 2. Man..!!!! That package is SWEET I Tell ya. Comes with a CD for the soundtrack of the game, A Book documenting the art for the game, 3 POsters, A Vinyl Record... YES....A Full Size Bioshock 2 Vinyl!!!!... and a Jacket! They even threw in a jacket. But the damage is RM350.... I got L4D2 Instead for RM130... Poor me....
julchin_09
post Mar 20 2010, 11:50 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Yea, I saw the M11x and the M15x at the Dell Booth @ concourse area of LowYatt. But I didn't know that Thundermatch had the M17x? ....
julchin_09
post Mar 21 2010, 02:45 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

SCreemo, You continue as TS lar...
You frequent here quite regularly plus you were from Thread 1 itself... smile.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 21 2010, 03:04 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

if you need photo contributions lemme know. But I can only take photos of my M15x which is basically like yours.... i might be able to contribute pics of a suitable notebook sleeve and a cooler... just lemme know....
We believe in you bro!
julchin_09
post Mar 21 2010, 04:24 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Im playing L4D2 but mostly on Steam Online. Just goy METRO2033 on the 2 days ago and its really nice. Graphics would really do well on the M17x on SLI as on the M15x itself it looks great but FPS doesn't touch 60fps. Prototype is the only other im actively playing....
tHATS on my side..... I can't keep up with the games...
Anyone playing Bioshock 2 gimme a review pls smile.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 21 2010, 04:50 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

so did you download any new themes and use them Screemo?
julchin_09
post Mar 21 2010, 04:54 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ Mar 21 2010, 04:51 PM)
Yea cos the previous owner had some corrupted files and viruses.
So I did a clean install lor.
Then wallpaper and themes all gone... sad.gif
u got 2nd hand unit"? So fast got 2nd hand ar? .... Then I understand why u wanna do a clean install.... icon_rolleyes.gif

Screemo:

Maybe you can make us an OS ALIEN... ? xD
julchin_09
post Mar 22 2010, 04:05 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Mar 22 2010, 12:08 AM)
definitely not on high. several users reported 20-35 fps on low.
METRO 2033 Doesn't run at Max settings smoothly for my M15x. Every detail is high except for AA which I took down a notch from max. Everything inside the game from the smoke trails really puts the Physx in the NVidia chip to work!! Great pleasure for the eyes to behold though its getting creepy as the game proceeds longer.... and kinda depressing music... sweat.gif

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 22 2010, 12:25 AM)
my comment about the 3D screen thingy is i would like to see how is the reception of other party - user, game's developer etc about this technology.

if there is no or low usage - like Cuda or Physx, its just a waste to gaming. smile.gif
So far there are only a handfull of 3D Capable games. The ASUS Uses the GTX 260M GPU just the same as the M15x and M17x. Does it mean we can just get the NVIdia 3D VIsion kit in the future and buy and external 120Hz monitor and we're good to play 3D Games with the ALIENWARE? hmm.gif

julchin_09
post Mar 22 2010, 05:06 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Mar 22 2010, 04:47 PM)
you switch ON the V-Sync, that why the FPS is limited to your screen default refresh rate - which in this case is 60FPS.
i tried 3D gaming using my babe and its sucks.

you don't need 120Hz. just tweak a bit your Nvidia Driver and you are ready to go smile.gif
How did you enable 3D Gaming bro?
julchin_09
post Mar 22 2010, 06:25 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I once had 1 dead pixel on my previous Dell Inspiron but that pixel looked more like a cluster of a few. I argued with their tech support and I asked for higher authority citing I was being bullied to accepting my fate. They called make numerously and appologised and sent an engineer to check out my system and passed it for me to receive a new LCD. If you think u have good reason to do the same as I did, Go Ahead!
julchin_09
post Mar 22 2010, 10:46 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Mar 22 2010, 09:58 PM)
i've been looking for a laptop.. been researching bout M11x.. i'll be using the laptop for several important task:

Photoshop, Illustrator (Main task)
Gaming (Possibly 2-3 games, such as L4D2)
Internet surfing
Audio/video

is this M11x powerful enough to handle Photoshop just like breeze?

or is there any other recommendation on other laptops (model @ brand) ?
I think that would be good enough for those tasks. For photoshop though, you might wanna get an external LCD.... smile.gif

QUOTE(lostcaus @ Mar 22 2010, 10:15 PM)
aaaah joy, got home tired and smile as i see  my new m15x still in the box waiting for me at the door:)
Oh cool. Welcome to the ALIENCLUB and specifically , another M15x owner.... smile.gif What specs you got?
julchin_09
post Mar 22 2010, 11:54 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Mar 22 2010, 11:40 PM)
hmmm...no order confirmation email yet..itmr is gonna be 5 days already..im gonna call them already if still no response
sooo loong? Better call them la.... As far as I know its just 2-3 days....
julchin_09
post Mar 25 2010, 10:09 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

I Was planning to get the BIOSHOCK 2 Game for my M15x. Games don't crash on me anymore since I got my GPU Changed way back in January. Temps go as high as 84celcius and it still runs fine..... Am wondering if its due to it being an 'cough' version? I would love to play part 2 of this game after trying out part 1 of it..... smile.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 26 2010, 08:39 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Playing METRO 2033 in my room without aircon or fan on and just a notebook cooler. My M15x just registered its hottest temp ever before at 90celcius... tongue.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 27 2010, 12:03 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Well normally when I game intensely, max is 85celcius
But my room was especially warm cos I was too lazy to get up from my beanbag to on the air con so even I was perspiring.... So the hot air combined with the gaming produced a new record for heat generated. Gaming was still same smile.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 28 2010, 10:15 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(taufiqtahir @ Mar 28 2010, 09:35 PM)
guys,i'm thinking of buying the m17x soon..
but i'm maybe buying the lowest specs of the m17x..

so...i have a few questions..
should i or should i not wait for the pc fair?
cuz dell is offering the sli,but they keep extending this offer n now it ends on the 1st april..
so how?
i'm afraid if i wait for the pc fair..i will loose out on the sli offer..
but i'm also afraid if i dont wait till the pc fair..there will still be the sli offer there plus some other cool upgrades or offers..
haizzz..

n one more thing..if i could upgrade one thing on the m17x lowest specs,what would it be?
i'm thinking of choosing between the processor from 2.53ghz to 2.8ghz..
or upgrading the hd display from 900p to 1200p..

so pls help me out with this matter guys..
thanks beforehand!
I suggest you wait as well. I feel something new might be coming out since DDR5 Cards are in the market, and knowing ALIENWARE being known for having up to date hardware, they won't take it well seeing Sager already incorporating SLI GTX 285M cards into their unites and ASUS already having DDR ATI 5870 card in theirs. I expect ALIENWARE to hit back at them hard with a new lineup of internals so just wait and see. I woulnd't advice you to take the bottom line even though it comes with dual ATI 280M Cards.... Thats just my opinion..... smile.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 30 2010, 07:34 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

WAH! I was away for a day or two and you guys have voted me to start Thread V4? Well I have done threads before, I don't mind doing a new one for Our Beloved Alien Army... But I need the updated info from Mr. Screemo smile.gif ... Also, some personal pics of the M11x, M15x (Which I also have) and M17x pls....

@Puto, if you're able to, send me some photos via PM of the range you have ? Like maybe arrange them side by side for comparisons between M11x(If you have) and M15x and M17x.

@Alien users, can contribute some to me too smile.gif

I'll try to get it done by this week and those who blog about ALIENWARE do send the links to me too smile.gif
julchin_09
post Mar 30 2010, 08:08 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Ok then. If u have link its better to post it at the bottom of the pic in case its hosted elsewhere... if its uploaded from your HD then I will copy it and upload it again in the new thread.... Just 20 posts more to 2500!
julchin_09
post Mar 30 2010, 11:32 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Go for the AlienTactX as a compliment to your M11x. You can use ALIENFX to customize the colour hence I feel its a worthy investment... smile.gif

@Michelby: You can send me a PM and upload a pic of prolly 800x600 size or max 1024x768...
julchin_09
post Mar 31 2010, 04:55 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

@Putochips, Michaelby

Thanks...

P:S I hope MODS will allow a bit more posts here till I get the NEW one done.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by julchin_09: Mar 31 2010, 04:56 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0519sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:23 AM