Alienware Mothership v3, the official alien armies thread
Mr.Docter
Mar 21 2010, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Mar 21 2010, 08:17 PM) you really need to spend more time in /k/. its good place to releasing stress for me  QUOTE(ph0bic @ Mar 21 2010, 09:13 PM) got some question here..considering to buy m11x..but is the processor is ok?i mean now got i5,i7 edi...n da screen..users tell me how does it feel when u playing it..tq~ no problem about the CPU. even some of the some party said its too weak for gaming, this lil' baby still pawning most of the games thrown at them. and if you read above post from Stringfellow or outside reviews, it can handle video editing and photo editing with no problem
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(giggsyy @ Mar 21 2010, 11:02 PM) haha...well, at least u are honest....i like alienware cos of the brand and the outlook design of the cover and the backlighted keypads too and the cooling in alienware is supposedly very good...but thats it..the plastic stuff around alienware laptops beside the keys are very plain..lol..its heavy too...outlook is important but i think specs are important too...and im really looking forward for a 3D screen capable alienware...when that happens, it will definately be an alienware for me..haha...but for now asus looks pretty damn slick with the 3D function...  my comment about the 3D screen thingy is i would like to see how is the reception of other party - user, game's developer etc about this technology. if there is no or low usage - like Cuda or Physx, its just a waste to gaming.
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(arton @ Mar 22 2010, 04:32 PM) Guys, I just want to ask that...U know the customize plate bottom of the alienware laptop like Michaelbyz photo over there... Is it included in malaysia Dell alienware set?? Because yesterday at lowyat I was looking at m11x about how big is the size and so on ...and I turn behind I saw the plate is there... the picture that you saw on Michaelbyz siggy is taken from Alienware.com where you can customize the nameplate there. and no, its not available in Asian Region
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(arton @ Mar 22 2010, 04:38 PM) LOL...that means the set show at dell booth yesterday was US set...haha...what a joke... yeap I plan to get m11x before i leave for oversea by june...so mostly will get it by mid or end of may...=P... hope better spec or cheaper price by that time =D... Btw Michaelbyz23 you bought your m11x from US??? how much does it cost you??? the plate is there. it just cannot be engraved anything. if you planning to get one from overseas, make sure you buy 3 years warranty or your warranty will be not valid in here.
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(trogdor1oh1 @ Mar 22 2010, 02:40 PM) TF2, Left 4 Dead 2 and Portal all run beautifully all maxed out at about 8xAA and V-Sync on, but they seem to b e locked at 60fps  you switch ON the V-Sync, that why the FPS is limited to your screen default refresh rate - which in this case is 60FPS. QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 22 2010, 04:05 PM) So far there are only a handfull of 3D Capable games. The ASUS Uses the GTX 260M GPU just the same as the M15x and M17x. Does it mean we can just get the NVIdia 3D VIsion kit in the future and buy and external 120Hz monitor and we're good to play 3D Games with the ALIENWARE?  i tried 3D gaming using my babe and its sucks. you don't need 120Hz. just tweak a bit your Nvidia Driver and you are ready to go
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(arton @ Mar 22 2010, 04:54 PM) So if I take 3 years basic warranty from DELL US...I able to claim the warranty anywhere ??? including malaysia ? singapore? and australia?? because I'm furthering my studies either 1 of the place there... you can claim anywhere that have Dell's branch  but still, better ask the SA directly before making any decision. who knows the policy changed from one region to another?
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 22 2010, 05:06 PM) How did you enable 3D Gaming bro? the tips and guide is well explained here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=30630151if you interested in getting his product, just tell him Mr.Docter send his regards. who knows you will get an extra discount
Mr.Docter
Mar 22 2010, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 22 2010, 06:25 PM) I once had 1 dead pixel on my previous Dell Inspiron but that pixel looked more like a cluster of a few. I argued with their tech support and I asked for higher authority citing I was being bullied to accepting my fate. They called make numerously and appologised and sent an engineer to check out my system and passed it for me to receive a new LCD. If you think u have good reason to do the same as I did, Go Ahead! hahaha!
Mr.Docter
Mar 23 2010, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Mar 22 2010, 09:58 PM) i've been looking for a laptop.. been researching bout M11x.. i'll be using the laptop for several important task: Photoshop, Illustrator (Main task) Gaming (Possibly 2-3 games, such as L4D2) Internet surfing Audio/video is this M11x powerful enough to handle Photoshop just like breeze? or is there any other recommendation on other laptops (model @ brand) ? how heavy you want to use Photoshop and Illustrator? if its heavy usage, push your budget a bit till reach basic specs of M15x
Mr.Docter
Mar 23 2010, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 23 2010, 09:25 PM) I would take Asus any day. Cant afford to spend so much on a small laptop that need external monitor to play games and a weaker processor. if you can resist Alienware brand and its looks, Asus is the choice. but personally if i have to choose between Asus and M11x, Asus will get my vote  QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Mar 23 2010, 10:12 PM) what people say is that razer build good mousepads whereas steelseries builds good mouse... err noob question here. is there any massive differents between Alienware mousepad (the one that came with the accessory box) and more expensive mousepad?
Mr.Docter
Mar 23 2010, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 23 2010, 10:33 PM) If the mousepad is the same hard-type pad I've gotten with my M15X, then it is your no-name brand only with an alienhead logo. Razer gaming mats lie Kabuto or Goliathus provides smooth gliding surfaces that responds ultra-quick to mouse movements. Pair this with a good Razer high dpi mouse like Orochi or Mamba, and you have a combination that moves the mouse cursor at the slightest touch, and tracks accurate. Standard entry-level mouse on standard mousepad, require larger wrist movement to simulate the same amount of cursor movement, and will never be as accurate as higher dpi mice. oh thanks for the info! never spending my dime on mousepad before this. and after reading your opinion, i really want to change my no-name-brand-with-Alienware-logo mousepad
Mr.Docter
Mar 23 2010, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 23 2010, 11:23 PM) It'll take time to get used to though. My Mamba on Kabuto at 5600dpi is like oil on water, too slick and moves too much under the slightest touch. I had to drop the dpi to 3000 to get a more comfortable feel. However, if you have larger screens, larger dpi settings will benefit from it in such that you dont have to keep dragging the mouse over to reach one side of the screen from the other. Like your trackpad, you had to drag your finger on it to the edge, then remove finger and then continue that dragging motion to bring the mouse cursor to a corner, for example. With large dpi setting on a capable mouse, that cursor movement can be achieve with a single drag. yep. really hate when using cheap mouse when dealing with large screen. i interested in getting Roccat Sota. its looks cool and pricewise too
Mr.Docter
Mar 23 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(teikwing @ Mar 23 2010, 11:17 PM) there's no need for an Alienware mousepad. a 50 bucks Steelseries QcK or a Razer Kabuto is good enough.  p/s: speaking about AW's mousepad, probably it's a modded version from an OEM as well? just like the TactX mouse is a modded version of the Logitech G9x. and the M11x new toy: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «  nice.... looks cute though  regarding gaming mouse, i still use cheap OCZ Behamoth since my money already spent on Roccat True 5.1 Gaming Headphone and iPod Touch  need to rearrange my budget back this month  EDIT : + Orion Backpack from FindingScreemo too ! This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Mar 23 2010, 11:33 PM
Mr.Docter
Mar 23 2010, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 23 2010, 11:31 PM) I was in Frankfurt last time, and the Saturn Electronic Superstore was overflowing with Roccat stuff. Roccat Kone mouse is nice too with customisable LED colors, just like the AlienFX. A very good compliment to any Alienware. Kone is just 3200dpi though, compared to Razer Mamba's 5600dpi. Roccat products is not bad for me. looks much happening compared to Razer with all those lightning and more importantly - cheaper  Roccat Kone is my next mouse if my financial is stable
Mr.Docter
Mar 24 2010, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 24 2010, 05:56 PM) My WOrking+Gaming Table is now full with Alienware and Dell, click the spoiler to see picture» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on March 24, 2010, 6:00 pmthis is what Asus User Said I Used asus, sager, hp, Alienware, dell, Acer, sony and toshiba before.... The most sucks is HP, and Toshiba, Even Acer(most of the people say sucks brand, but for me, it is good brand and offer good price. I send back for service the LCD, 1 week time send back for me liao) Sager Due to dont have authorise, so i have to send back, but only takes me 3weeks include shipping....... man! its more than 20k worth of items on your table! QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 24 2010, 06:15 PM) hahaha, im free now, u can come today, i tried a SSD on M15x,30second to boot up(start from the time i press on the on button), if wait untill the AlienHead come out then only caluculate it take 20 seconds to boot up Added on March 24, 2010, 6:18 pmthe bios boot up On Alienware M17x or M15x or m11x takes time, i wondering y... hye bro, what kind of SSD you used? Intel? how many capacity? and how much did you brought it?
Mr.Docter
Mar 24 2010, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Mar 24 2010, 06:28 PM) i will recommand this driver, best driver ever...... If u think ur pc have cracking sound, try this -------> SRS LAB SandBox 1.10.1.0 Better than Realteck HD Audio Drivers err we must pay to use that one right? or how have the *cOugh2!* link? mind PM me?
Mr.Docter
Mar 24 2010, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(zad78 @ Mar 24 2010, 07:57 PM) Wow!!! The m17x looks enormous!!! Respect those that could carry it...sure got muscle one...
Mr.Docter
Mar 24 2010, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(emino @ Mar 24 2010, 10:30 PM) From what I gather: Online: seems cheaper, more customizations/upgrades, but long waiting period. Retail: slightly more expensive, few customizations (only rams?), get on the spot, "free gifts". you are wrong my friend. buying retail is MUCH cheaper than Online. don't believe me? click link at Putochip123 for an example. i know because i'd once became seller too
Mr.Docter
Mar 25 2010, 12:11 AM
HAHA! thanks Putochip123 for suggesting SRS Audio Sandbox for me! its just plain AWESOME!
Mr.Docter
Mar 25 2010, 12:49 AM
hye Putochip123, could you please post up the screenshot of your SRS Sandbox?
just wanna check if your is same like mine.