Eeek! What happen to the tail? It looks hairless?
<-<- Sugar Gliders V15 ->->, - Glider Slaves -
Mar 16 2010, 01:16 AM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
Eeek! What happen to the tail? It looks hairless?
Mar 18 2010, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(hariz_asyraf @ Mar 17 2010, 03:14 AM) hey guys. im new here. just wondering is it okay if i give my sg heinz yogurt fruit salad? it is babyfood. and anyone know where to buy 3 ft cage @ rm 100? help me pls. From research, baby food is not really as nutritious as we think it is. So if you are using as a treat, that's fine but if you are using as a staple, then stop right there. All jar babyfood are just full of water. The vitamin and mineral nutrition is kinda lost and not as good as fresh fruit.Added on March 18, 2010, 10:58 pm QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Mar 18 2010, 09:48 PM) then u can come down to sri petaling carefour...go to the bed and pillow section upstairs sure got wan..but the pattern not that fancy Fleece is very easy to find I think...... Cheap if get from Ikea, RM12.90 like that.Man-made fleece is polyester. Natural fleece is wool and it's from sheep. Just that many people are allergic to wool, so they make a synthetic material that feels like wool, call it fleece. But it will always be labeled as polyester. This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Mar 18 2010, 10:58 PM |
Mar 21 2010, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Mar 20 2010, 04:59 PM) Hahah Great that nothing serious about Crislyn's pouch. But after reading your explanation, I think it was from over grooming. Very unlikely to be suckling. QUOTE(rehohk @ Mar 20 2010, 07:15 PM) tq glidermama.... Oh, don't put food inside the pouch. It will become a bad habit later. Once a glider is hungry, it will eat. You still got a long way to gain your glider's trust. Just takes time and you have to be committed and consistent.i dunno,,,,,he seem so hard to bond....like to escape...but eric said, i need to sabar...hhahha..yea, will take sometime Added on March 20, 2010, 8:17 pmi put apple inside the pouch...very sad.. i see, a lot of antz...i might afraid the ant bite mu SG, or ant go inside my SG ear...how to know if ant go inside my SG ear...? Any tips to keep ant away from cage FYI, i also put baby oil at edge of cage to avoid ant climb...but no differ...still got antz QUOTE(farid87 @ Mar 20 2010, 11:29 PM) because when she brother bring da glider to vet.. da gliders still alive.. and da doc say because lizard pee.. about da diet i nop sure... and da vet i also dont know... because she at setapak... i at jb =.= That is so strange. I have never heard of such a thing. |
Mar 24 2010, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(Cabok @ Mar 24 2010, 07:24 PM) Gliders will have it if something is irritating their eyes. Normally the eyes are always clear. Shouldn't have tahi mata. If everyday you wipe and everyday you see new tahi mata, means eye infection already.QUOTE(shazman @ Mar 24 2010, 10:13 PM) Sugar glider oso do flirting thing? Use powder. Coz I my room got ants attack recently. So I poured power around my can of kickapoo and no ants come to it. They hate the feeling of powder. You can try but it's messy.Nw i`m scared too Anyway guys do you knw hw to halau the semut gatal(red ant when bite very paintfull) I already use vaseline bt the ants still coming ler |
Mar 26 2010, 09:03 PM
QUOTE(Cabok @ Mar 24 2010, 11:30 PM) reallyyy???? because my yoka do have watering eye. i thought she was crying at first. but then realize only one side of eye is just watering and only one eye got tahi mata. Watery eye is telling you the eye is irritated. What you can do is head to a pharmacy, get sterile saline solution that is safe for eyes. Ask the sales assistant. When I get, it is normally in a package of 3 bottles. Should be less than RM12. Anyway, drip the solution into the eye to wash out the impurity that is causing the irritation. I do this for all types of pets and this is also advice by vets. Just do not buy any steroid or antibiotic ointments or eye drops cause you do not know what sort of infection it is now, and when using medicine on eyes, the wrong kind can cause permanent damage. So no eyemo and whatsoever. Just get sterile saline solution.QUOTE(shazman @ Mar 24 2010, 11:40 PM) Yueyie:My cge is not leaning to the wall..bt will trying to put So does it work for you?more vaseline surounding the cge feet tonite Hun:Will trying use ur method too QUOTE(Cabok @ Mar 25 2010, 12:48 AM) so, do you have any solution for this? i'm quite worried, she looks sick. but im at perak now, quite far to go to dr jenny. whilst, i just go there last week and dr jenny says my yoka is very healthy. Diarrhea is normally watery. The consistency is like melted ice cream.... sometimes can be watery and the colour can be something like thick nescafe or depends on what it ate.how does diarhea for s.g looks like? Normal poo should be firm, sticky but still got shape and firm. When a glider has diarrhea, you have to rehydrate your glider or it could get critical and die. Get 100+ drink, shake out the gas. Then add 1 teaspoon of 100+ to 1 tsp of water. Then syringe feed. This is a method taught to me by Dr Jenny. You can also use Gatorade. You can add a small pinch of sugar to give more energy. QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Mar 25 2010, 11:19 PM) Hey guys, I just came home. My maid said that while I was in school, Criscille was awake and never slept till late afternoon. She was sitting in her food bowl again. O___O I don't know if she was eating the food or what, but my maid say she was playing in there, shaking her leg and so. Is Criscille in the same cage with Crisyln?Reason why I never removed the food this morning b4 I go to school was because she was still eating when I left. QUOTE(oyc @ Mar 25 2010, 11:57 PM) i did, but they still dun1. HPW feed twice a week, right ? after the next moring i see they no finish tht, then i jsut thrown away. It's to feed everyday. It is normal if they do not finish. When a food is new to them, they would not readily eat so much or try in during the 1st few days. QUOTE(takanori @ Mar 26 2010, 01:58 PM) My SG get missing this morning...i'm feeling so down n sad now... If your room door was closed and the windows locked up, then your glider should still be in your room. Check wardrobe, plastic bags and paper bags and boxes. It may be hiding and sleeping somewhere.my cage is lock....and i feel something climb on me middle of night..i jx cant wake up n see what happen... I hope she will come back.... sigh! |
Mar 27 2010, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Mar 27 2010, 12:51 AM) @Hun : Nopes, they're in different cages now. Criscille did that once before, I was there and cleaned her right away. This is the 2nd time. Maybe she doing it coz she is separated from Crislyn... QUOTE(kreiu @ Mar 27 2010, 10:20 PM) You sure getting from that guy? Just pray you get a right age and healthy one yah.QUOTE(djazmy @ Mar 27 2010, 11:02 PM) can only serve 25% fruit? what is your opinion? is this true? ASGV.... this so called vet association for gliders.... is just a gimmick to get people to buy their sugar glider pelleted diet, which is not good quality. You know like how dogs have Pedigree, a low quality pet food, thats the same with that. I did research and found that the company paid the vet to talk about diet, to push their product sales and brand. sorry if repost, found it while googling.. http://2.asgv.org/pet_owners/videos_exowner.php http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7r4cR51hssU http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uvid6iqMeTk 25% fruit is very little. I personally go for 50% fruit. If you watch more of that website, it always say give only pellets. A glider's natural diet doesn't consist of 75% pellets.... that's utter rubbish. You need to have a proper balance of fruit and protein and carbohydrate. Not enough fruits and veggie in their diet can cause constipation and a load of other health problems. One of it is liver problem. |
Mar 27 2010, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(djazmy @ Mar 27 2010, 11:13 PM) I was also worried when I found that website.... but then I was suspicious as to why this vet always recommend the brand and the company that many on Glider Central do not support.... then only I do more research and found out the so called truth. I mean, if he really is a proper glider vet, he should be supporting on natural fresh food as well, not just sticking to pellets. Even Dr Jenny and most vets around the world also do not suggest using pellets as main meal for gliders everyday. My gliders don't like pellets and would look at me and crab if I leave pellets only for them.HPW or Slurp or Priscilla's diet or BML is still the best. |
Mar 27 2010, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(nevermine @ Mar 27 2010, 11:18 PM) This is normal. It has been discussed pretty often. What you can do is attract the fruit flies somewhere else. You can use a bottle, place banana or papaya inside. Then cover the mouth of the bottle with cellophane tape and use a pin to poke holes, roughly same size as the fruit fly. They will go inside, can't come out coz the sticky cellophane tape blocks them. Or you can go to supermarket, get those fly tape or paper and place near the cage. |
Mar 27 2010, 11:33 PM
QUOTE(jolenelarhhs @ Mar 27 2010, 11:29 PM) @Hun : Owhh.. then what should I do? My maid just explained to me how it was. She said that Criscille rolled in her food. Then sit still and cover her face with her hands o___o something like that. Then she roll again and again. Then let them have some play time. Criscille is showing signs of depression.Can I let Crislyn and Criscille play with each other with my supervision, then seperate again when playtime is over? Or just leave them seperated now. |
Mar 28 2010, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(kreiu @ Mar 27 2010, 11:52 PM) miss hun.. my friend already bought it. i thought he will buy tomorrow but then suddenly he call me said he already buy it. Oh... that's fast. Then I pray hard that your joey is fine. Update me yah once you get it and let me know how it is.btw.. if this joey are okay.. i'm looking forward ur joey six weeks later.. |
Apr 1 2010, 08:30 AM
QUOTE(Cabok @ Mar 31 2010, 08:33 PM) yeah. i agreed. everyone have their own decision ad belief. And it is really up to us for giving any diet to our baby. This thing is the past. It was all from politics. I do not wish to bring it up anymore because all the answers are with Dr Vellayan. If you wish to know the truth, call him. Why I said so is cause he has all the analysis with him and he is an animal nutritionist so he can explain better than me.I dont really mind actually for the ca-ph ratio. But cyanide, seriously? Its harmfull! . Of course you may says our glider loves to eat slurpy. But what does it makes different for us to love eating fast food? Fast food is delicious yet our slow murderer. It can cause stroke, obese, heart attack or even death. Moreover, You guys keep on mentioning the irresponsible seller giving apple for s.g which is not good. But i think giving the poisonous cyanide food is much worse than giving fresh apple having high ph. I havent buy slurpy yet, but im do planned to buy one before i heard the news. If we were the responsible owner, we wont feed our s.g with harmfull cyanide. But its 2008, like some mention. And if you want the topic to be end, ask crazymouse to give her honest answer in public and also give the up to date valid composition of her product. And all people will be satisfied. There is no way I would put cyanide in it. Come on, be resonable, I am not a stuipid mindless money maker than want to kill gliders. I never put apple seeds in it, but the person that sent the lab report tells people I put seeds in it to make it poison. If it was poison, all gliders would have died. If it was poison, all gliders that ate slurp would not breed and would suffer liver and kidney damage. Go and ask Dr Vellayan and Dr Jenny. From a business point of view, why I wanna kill my clients if I want to gain profit? Doesn't make sense. There are gliders that have been on slurp since 2006 and never suffered any sickness till now. Checkups with Dr Jenny and Dr Vellayan said that they are all healthy and well. A proper food analysis is not easy to do, especially for me with little capital. It cost Rm1k to Rm2k to do it. If you want to do it, go right ahead or if you want to sponsor me then go ahead. For me, making gliderslurp is a hobby because my passion is for gliders. You have not met me, so you have no clue as to how passionate I am. I'm in the food industry so I do not sim ply chuck in stuff. I have knowledge in nutrition and food science and food preparation. I make gliderslurp because I feel it is right, and it has showed improvement in so many gliders that have eaten it, especially joeys and gliders suffering from malnutrition. Diet is up to you, you read and understand and use what is available. I never tell people to just feed my slurp and nothing else. I also advice people to use other diets if they do not want to use slurp. Be wise and choose what you want to use. In the past threads for slurp I already mention the answer lies with Dr Vellayan but nobody wanna call him. So it is your choice. This is my last post for gliderslurp here as I would not bring up in main thread to keep it clean. PM me or email. I won't be coming in due to exams. Already some members here have said their gliders are healthy and takes slurp better, and it is their choice and the feedback is there. |
Apr 21 2010, 06:33 PM
Divas
Your cage is too narrow. If it is 8ft, it would be good to have it with a dimension of 8ft x 4ft x 2ft. Then you will see how happy they will be. QUOTE(sodox @ Apr 20 2010, 07:20 AM) i just got my gliders..is it normal for them to stay in the pouch most of the time and sleep since they are new to me? and they keep making noise like chirping noise,not crabbing,is it normal? how do i coax them to get out from the pouch? Yes, it is normal. The chirping noise is when they kinda communicate, squabbling in the pouch. Nothing serious. To coax them out, if you are gonna sit there and want them to come out by themselves, you won't get any improvements. You have to make them come out. Don't go shaking them out, you will traumatize them. Just take out the pouch and push them out. Let them climb on your body. Play with them using your hands, let them jump and crawl from 1 hand to the other. That is how you bond. QUOTE(syzwn @ Apr 20 2010, 04:19 PM) Most likely yes. Somewhere in June or July.QUOTE(ajea @ Apr 20 2010, 11:13 PM) hi guys ... i rally need help with my sugar glider... Bonding with 2 gliders that are already 6 months old will be hard. You have to bond with them separately. Yes, they will bite and you can't make them stop biting if you react with a ouch and a cry.my sugar glider is 6 month old and i have two of them male and female... when i try to bond with them ..they always bite me... can i have solution for that You have to bond with them 1 by 1, first using a bonding pouch, then using a tent. Then use your hands to touch them on and off while in the tent. If you let them be together while inside the tent, they will never bond to you properly. QUOTE(shazman @ Apr 21 2010, 03:00 AM) Yah, I saw. But I don't believe that guy. He stole my picture from my blog before and use it for glider selling. He never use original pictures. QUOTE(Cabok @ Apr 21 2010, 12:45 PM) i travel alot recently. since i only have 1.5ft it is hard for me to bring her anywhere. ( i know! i know! i should have bought 3ft cage). so, my solution is i bought a laundry bag at ikea and put her in it. i saw some exotera looks like that. is it ok? Yes, you can use the laundry bag, I have a family using that for traveling purposes but you gotta be careful coz it's not made for pets, so check carefully for any escape holes or tears. The ikea one is ok,. don't use those cheap cheap ones.btw, i wonder, why we need to use 100% polyesther /fleece to our baby? Added on April 21, 2010, 12:49 pmi saw the alino too. the person sellng it, is the one i bought my babies. But you gotta becareful coz chewers tend to destroy the laundry basket and even flexariums n explorarium. I had a friend whose glider chewed through a flexarium. Why polyesther fleece? Firstly coz wool fleece that is the wool from sheep is expensive and hard to find and it can cause allergic reactions. Fleece is a kind of material that doesn't fray if you cut it, unlike other cloth. Tshirt material can be used as well. Fleece is widely use overseas because of the cold weather there. I prefer the other type of cloth, the flannel type that you see sold as pouches now. That is cooler for our climate. If you can sew and do proper stitching to make sure the cloth won't fray out, then you can use any cotton type of cloth. Just make sure it is not the cloth like our fuzzy towels. This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Apr 21 2010, 08:08 PM |
Apr 21 2010, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(sodox @ Apr 21 2010, 07:02 PM) thanks crazymouse_yyh for the tips..really helps..one of them still crabbing when i want to feed him 90% of the time..should i continue to try and feed him or it will just make him stress more? Don't worry. Crabbing and a bit of biting and nipping is all normal for the first week of bonding. It will always be a little stressful for them in the 1st week. Go on handfeeding it. You have to let the joey build some confidence around you too. |
Apr 24 2010, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(syzwn @ Apr 21 2010, 09:35 PM) It is normal for gliders, especially joeys to crab when you put them on something new to them. QUOTE(ylsy @ Apr 21 2010, 10:21 PM) i've only seen a white tip sugar glider (super duper fat female) so far ...other thn the normal 1.... hope to c any leu sg in M'sia soon There are quite a few white tips in Malaysia. Just this genetic mutation is hard to come by, even if you breed a white tip to another white tip, joeys not really confirm to be white tip. And 2 normal grey adults can produce a white tip.QUOTE(veryniub @ Apr 21 2010, 10:31 PM) i tot the shah alam guy was the one who's selling underage joeys, the one claiming to hav albino in mudah? He selling underage joeys..... and his information is so damn wrong. Did you notice that he said a glider's lifespan is 5 to 6 years? And all his pictures are not orgininal, he steals around the forum and internet, like how he did with mine.neway, will the nocturnal and diurnal timing being messed up if i wud to keep my sg in a room (lights not on, kinda dark) in the morning in which they suppose to sleep and rest, they turn active, while at night when i on the lights it'll sleep, when it suppose to b active? Well, if you continue to bring your glider out to play during the day time, it's body clock will switch, and he will stay up during the day. But if the lights are bright, it will make a glider hide, so it will sleep. Now, animals sleep and be active according to light changes, so if your glider feels that the your room is dark and cozy, they will be active. Coz they think it is night. By having lights on during the night, they will feel that it is day, so they will hide to sleep. What you can do is maybe have a window a little open so light can enter your room during the day. And at night, use a dim light like a table lamp and put the light as low as possible so your room is partially dark. I use orange lighting in my home, my gliders seem to be more comfortable with it than the normal white light. QUOTE(Cabok @ Apr 21 2010, 11:39 PM) When you mate an albino with a grey, you will get joeys carrying albino gene.... Then you have to use the joeys to breed back to the albino parent or find another albino glider or breed with it's sibling, then there is a chance of getting back a albino joey. This type of colour breeding will just cause people to inbreed and line breed...... that's why in US got many different colours, coz all those breeders are inbreeding. This of course will be unhealthy for the gliders. QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Apr 22 2010, 12:53 PM) wah eveyone talking about albino now coz of the ad... Thailand also got. Many Singaporeans ask me to ship my joeys to Singapore, but of course I don't allow it. Coz once the animal is caught, it will be a pitiful life for it.hmm other than malaysia i oni know japan keeping gliders as pets...but they also have standard grey oni...anyone know other asia countries with sg? Indonesia got, but gliders are going around RM100 for joeys, adults like RM50. Sometimes cheaper but then it's cause they are native. And not found all over Indonesia, only certain areas. Then like Eric said, Taiwan and HongKong.... India I not sure but I do get readers to my blog that are from India. QUOTE(apple96 @ Apr 23 2010, 05:18 PM) When you buy an underage joey, you will need to make sure you keep it warm. So you have to make an incubator. Then you have to get joey milk and feed it every 2 to 3 hours, depending on the age. Then you have to bring it to vet for check up and possibly many nutrition problem could be faced. Then you have to stimulate it how to pee and poo. And normally those sellers selling underage joeys never tell you they are underage but straight say the joeys are 2 months old. Then they feed crappy food like apples, catfood and bread, so you will get joeys that are unhealthy since birth. QUOTE(apple96 @ Apr 23 2010, 11:19 PM) got any vet that treat sugar glider at shah alam? This is not a breeder, he is a middleman seller. You see the amount of pets sold, no proper breeder would sell so many snakes and other types of pets with gliders and calls himself a breeder. He takes from suppliers. Risky to buy from this guy.and ya i also thinking to buy from http://sweatlover.blogspot.com/ but this ppl is recommended seller? |
Apr 24 2010, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(apple96 @ Apr 24 2010, 11:36 AM) No. They are not the same price. A rare thing that requires many years of breeding out a rare genetic colour is never cheap. RM10k is what I would say minimum if importing from the USA. If you like gliders for gliders, you won't really be bothered with colour unless you wanna show off and be a rare keeper or use it as a colour collection thing or into developing the colour mutation. My strong advice to you now is research more. Your basic info is still little. And searching for a cheap glider, I would say good luck because cheap is usually from cheap sellers and suppliers who never take into consideration about the welfare of the glider. Those from good breeders, their gliders are healthier and you are bound to get your money's worth. If you have money problems, then save your money. When I wanted my 1st glider in 2006, I saved my RM300 allowance as much as I can, about RM50 to Rm100 I try to save, and once I had enough, I bought my 1st joey. And I was only an A Level Student. So the reason for saying wanna get cheap glider coz still student, I fully think you should consider getting one. I have met many students who bought gliders, then in the end give up after 2 months coz they feel it is expensive or the commitment is too great. Caring for a joey is not like a hamster but like caring for a small kid. Really alot of time for bonding. |
Apr 24 2010, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(veryniub @ Apr 24 2010, 08:10 PM) hey i hav a ques.. exoterra have flexarium and explorarium, which wil b more suitable for temporary confinement for sg? flexarium seems to b can stand up on itself but w/o having a "hanger clip" sorta stuff on top, explorarium has tat but it seems tat explorarium havto b hung to set up.. explorarium is easier to carry around and it springs out. No need to assemble. The flexarium you need lah.Guess it is up to you. Whichever one you prefer. |
Apr 24 2010, 08:36 PM
I think the explorarium will be more stable if you hang it. Well, I not so sure. I only have a Flexarium with me.
Apr 24 2010, 09:50 PM
No, can't hang. You have to buy bigger hooks then can hang. What I did was use PVC mesh, I hand the pouch on the PVC mesh, then I put inside, attach the mesh to frame of the flexarium with key ring. It works lah.
Apr 26 2010, 07:53 AM
QUOTE(Cabok @ Apr 26 2010, 01:41 AM) sorry for interupting, regarding the smell, why my yoka didnt smell anything? except for when she in new environment, she will get stress then her tail will wet and there will be a smell. In this case, i will clean her using baby wipe. Normally joeys don't really smell unless they release their musk gland. Once they reach adulthood, males actually start to smell no matter how much you use babywipes and the only way to reduce the musk smell from the glands is by neutering. Males have their musk glands on their anus, head and chest. Females also have musk glands but they normally don't mark much so their smell is always a little bit more pleasent.I dont smell anything form her cage also. I can even kiss my s.g because i always think she is clean. hehe. Or I have problem with my nose? anyway, i have one question, can i put my baby with other s.g (diffent gender) for two-three days.? You should not put your joey with another glider for a few days. Coz if it happens to bond with another glider, and you separate, you will give both gliders a stressful time if they are separated. |
May 2 2010, 12:44 AM
Rarely go? Gliders when awake they would go anytime when they feel like they need to. When they are asleep they rarely go but when awake, it is hard to say they rarely go.
It does not bother us, when keeping a glider one must understand that they CANNOT be potty trained like dogs and cats. It is normal for gliders to pee and poo right after they wake up. I never train my gliders like in the video at all and they straight away pee and poo when I take them out and put them on tissue paper. It is not training. It is their natural instinct. If a person feels that it is disgusting to have glider pee and poo on them once awhile, then having a glider may not be the best pet. Coz this kinda natural action cannot run away from. |
| Change to: | 0.0588sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:20 PM |