QUOTE(lilko @ Jan 31 2011, 10:52 PM)
anyone play the game liao?? Nice? Epic onot?
Thanks to CNY holidays, I'm at epilogue chapter, after fighting the last boss in chapter 40. The epilogue is playable and you have to re-visit all places to trigger different event and conclude the story for certain characters.
Story wise, it's a typical knight story deciding what is right or wrong, similar to Tales of Vesperia but add in a bit mystical legend stuff. The story is simple and you can figure out who is the bad guy or who will get tragic incident early in the game. Not as good as FF6/7 though.
Battle system is like quite over done "Rojak". Imagine Final Fantasy + Metal Gear Solid + Gears of War + Metroid Other M + Xenoblade. What do you get? You can lean toward walls while exploring dungeon the Metal Gear Solid style and attack your enemy while they don't see you. You can also hide behind a brick/wall/pillar to avoid enemy attack, Gears of War style. You can also switch to first person view mode to look for enemy weakness or attack with arrow, the Metroid Other M style. Character will start physical attack automatically once you move near an enemy, the Xenoblade style. You can control your character and other team member to cast magic or other skill attack, since some of the enemy is only vulnerable to certain magic element. Each boss fight involved finding the their weakness, exploit it and thinking of a way to avoid enemy attack, similar to Metroid Other M.
In other word, the battle system is quite complex, there are other things like equipment upgrade, combining magic attack and tension skill. It will take you quite some time before you are familiar with them. Once you can use them effectively, shouldn't have much problem with the boss, before that you'll be seeing a lot of game over screen. It's a hit or miss, depending on your preference. You'll need to play it in order to know it

It is better than Blue Dragon & Lost Odyssey, just that they've pack too much idea in the game. It is also definitely better than FF13, despite of not so good looking graphics. I was playing FF13 on Xbox before this, then I rather quit FF13 and play this game instead. For me, it is quite fun to figure out what strategy to use in each boss fight. Some of them can be frustrating and you'll be seeing a lot game over screen, but it'll take some thinking.
Going to continue with the epilogue now, don't know how long it'll take to finish it, since I've already spent 26-27 hours to get pass the last boss at chapter 40, but I wonder if it is really the last boss, since the epilogue still involved battle...