Frequent power trips during lightning

Momo33
post Dec 28 2020, 12:32 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(kenthew @ Dec 27 2020, 04:35 PM)
Hi, sorry to bring out the old post. I have same problem also, but is only happen when my surge protector connected to the wall socket, even its switched off. I need to unplug it to prevent the tripping. I have 2 surge protector, 1 bought at aeon don't know what brand that connected to the router, modem and nas, and another 1 is belkin. The aeon one is completely fine even a strong lightning strike. But belkin one cause the circuit breaker tripped even a very light lightning. Anyone know what is happening? Thank you.
some Q s to get a clearer pic of your situation .

1. the 2 surge protector here are those power strip/ with surge protector ?

2. is the power trip s is on the RCCB unit in the DB box or ??

you said CB trip. note CB do NOT trip during lightning . in normal case. and CB=MCB is the correct name. MCB usually trips at short circuit.
the RCCB is the one that trips . mean the whole house lose power .
if MCB trips , you still have main power to some part of your house .

3. my guess the one from Aeon the protection may not be working . has it got a PROTECT LED indicator ?
if this is some ahchong brand ..then the above is true. my guess.
will help if you know the brand , or just paste a pix.

4. the belkin power strip has LED Protected right ? is it lighted ?
what electronics is connect to this strip. ?
if this is the power trip cause , how did you confirm ?

5, Are you also implying that without the belkins ( unplug ) you will not get any more power trips ?

6, Before you start use/buy the first surge protector mention in ur msg. Did you have frequently power trips whole house ?

7. How old is your house. Landed ?

This post has been edited by Momo33: Dec 28 2020, 03:28 AM
Momo33
post Dec 28 2020, 12:40 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 23 2019, 12:26 AM)
Wow, reply with 9 years old thread
cos the issues/problems are still valid and relevant today nod.gif

i am sure many users are suffering in silence. cos lack of support and info to fix this .

This post has been edited by Momo33: Dec 28 2020, 12:43 AM
kenthew
post Dec 28 2020, 05:11 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Dec 28 2020, 12:32 AM)
some Q s to get a clearer pic of your situation .

1.  the  2  surge protector  here  are  those  power strip/ with surge protector  ? 

2.  is  the power  trip s  is  on the  RCCB  unit in the DB box or  ??

you said CB trip.    note  CB do NOT trip  during lightning . in  normal case.      and CB=MCB  is the correct  name.  MCB usually trips at short circuit.
the RCCB  is the one that  trips  .  mean the whole house lose power . 
if MCB trips  , you still have main power to  some part of your house .

3.  my guess  the one from Aeon the protection  may not be working .  has it got a PROTECT LED indicator  ? 
if this is some  ahchong brand  ..then the above is true.  my guess.
will help if you know the brand ,  or just paste a pix. 

4.  the belkin  power  strip  has  LED  Protected  right  ?  is it lighted ? 
what electronics is connect to this strip. ?
if this is the power trip cause ,  how did you  confirm  ? 

5, Are you also  implying  that  without the belkins  ( unplug )  you  will not get  any more  power trips ?

6,  Before you  start use/buy the  first  surge protector  mention in ur msg.  Did you have frequently  power trips whole house ?

7. How old is your house.  Landed ?
Hi, thanks for the reply.

1. Yes, both are power strip surge protector.

2. The power trips is on rccb.

3. The aeon power strip I think is surge stabiliser, no led light, only one button that always on. Can't see the brand, only can see ADAPORT and MAX LOAD NOT EXCEED 3000W. But it has sirim sticker.

4. Belkin power strip has 2 led light, protected and earthed, both lighted. My pc, monitor, printer, phone charger and battery charger connected to it. Yes, this cause the trip, once I unplug from the wall, nothing happen. Can't leave it in the socket when thunderstorm. Sure trip.

5. Yes, without belkin, no trip even a strong lightning.

6. Yes, my old "forgot what brand" power strip surge protector also can cause the trip when thunderstorm, but not as sensitive as this belkin. Belkin one is guarantee trip when lightning. Even a small lightning. Old one at lease thunderstorm with strong lightning only trip.

7. House is 13 years double story. Landed.

Hope these will make it clear. Its really annoying, I can't use pc when raining.

And thanks again for the help

Momo33
post Dec 28 2020, 05:46 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(kenthew @ Dec 28 2020, 06:11 PM)

3. The aeon power strip I think is surge stabiliser, no led light, only one button that always on. Can't see the brand, only can see ADAPORT and MAX LOAD NOT EXCEED 3000W. But it has sirim sticker.

4. Belkin power strip has 2 led light, protected and earthed, both lighted. My pc, monitor, printer, phone charger and battery charger connected to it. Yes, this cause the trip, once I unplug from the wall, nothing happen. Can't leave it in the socket when thunderstorm. Sure trip.

6. Yes, my old "forgot what brand" power strip surge protector also can cause the trip when thunderstorm, but not as sensitive as this belkin. Belkin one is guarantee trip when lightning. Even a small lightning. Old one at lease thunderstorm with strong lightning only trip.

Hope these will make it clear. Its really annoying, I can't use pc when raining.

from your info.. point 5 .

1. if i understand correct .. you are saying if you totally unplug the belkin from the wall / mean pc is disconnect from power ... you will not experience any power trip .
is this right ?

for now i suspect the PC has high leakage when a surge hits. / means its leaks current
the belkin will also divert current to ground .

if the total leakage ie , pc + belkin s exceed 100mA . The RCCB will trip.

one way to check if the belkin is really out .
is .. keep it plug in the wall socket but unplug/ remove all the pc , display , etc from the belkins .

mean the belkin is plug to wall but no load .
see it this test will trip the RCCB . if it does not trip ...then you can say the PC is leaking much current .

2. if you have a digital multimeter . can you measure the AC voltage at the wall socket . Neutral to Earth voltage .
this value is an indicator if you have earth grounding issues.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Dec 28 2020, 05:52 PM
VeeJay
post Dec 29 2020, 01:25 AM

3,852 posts

QUOTE(kenthew @ Dec 28 2020, 05:11 PM)

As Momo mentioned above, or it could be your Belkin strip is having issue. Did you try pluggin in other devices than your PC during thunderstorm? That would help to determine if its PC fault of the strip itself.

all the best
fireballs
post Dec 29 2020, 01:32 AM

5,650 posts

The mov inside surge arrestors are consumables.
Either change the mov or change the strip

Another you can try is to add a 10ma rcd to the belkin.
If trip just trip the power strip instead of whole house.
kenthew
post Dec 31 2020, 11:46 PM

18 posts

Hi, thanks momo33, veejay and fireballs for the suggestion and help. Just an update here, I add a spd at my db, and seems like the problem solve. Just now lightning for about 5 minutes, no trip at all while my pc is running and still using the belkin surge protector. Not a strong lightning, but at lease didn't trip.

Momo33
post Jan 1 2021, 12:18 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(kenthew @ Jan 1 2021, 12:46 AM)
Hi, thanks momo33, veejay and fireballs for the suggestion and help. Just an update here, I add a spd at my db, and seems like the problem solve. Just now lightning for about 5 minutes, no trip at all while my pc is running and still using the belkin surge protector. Not a strong lightning, but at lease didn't trip.
yes a SPD installed before the RCCB will suppress the power surge and bring the current to your earth rod ground. nod.gif

today around 6pm around puchong area have a big thunderstorm as sure some there will have power trips.

That note that a ELCB / RCCB cannot save your electronic from being damage by lightning Surge.
they are there for human life protection .
the mechanical trip is too slow to stop a lightning surge typically 50 uSec .
response time for RCCB is around 30mSec.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 1 2021, 02:54 PM
culain99
post Jul 19 2021, 11:39 AM

-----
765 posts

Got same issue very frequently trip when lighting even not near house. Using ELCB (not rccb)
omg7788
post Jul 23 2021, 10:38 AM

Kampung Style Information Technology
446 posts

You should find a expert/profesional electrician to check. If you are living in a landed house, most likely your house earthing system needs to be improve.
Maknusia
post Jul 23 2021, 10:46 AM

997 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Jul 19 2021, 11:39 AM)
Got same issue very frequently trip when lighting even not near house. Using ELCB (not rccb)
I would suggest during tripping time, unplug (remove from wall plug and not just turning it off) any powerstrip/extension that you have and if still continues, then trying switching one by one of you elcb, and yes this troubleshooting memang makan masa.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0211sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:19 AM