7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

W40K: DOW series | Dawn of War 2, Official Dawn of War Msia Thread (RTS)V7

Gormaz
post Jan 31 2010, 06:21 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 31 2010, 05:48 PM)
A vague Chaos unit list:
Source

Terrible terrible list,i would say,if this is true.

The commanders are awesome,but the units are quite boring.Too similar to SM.

Great Unclean One would be another annoying Avatar unit.

On the brighter side,new last stand hero:
This guy is interesting. biggrin.gif

Source
Well, Chaos SMs (which is the Chaos army that is always shown in DoW (there is army with only demons in the TT for example)) is more a less a mirror of the normal SM anyway, not sure exactly what you expected?

"At least" they put some more colourful units like the Juggernauts and didnt put stuff like the "Chaos ASMs" like (cant remember the name right now, the flying ones) which are copy paste ASMs.
Maybe the abilities or upgrades of each units will help separate them a bit of the normal SMs ones.
Gormaz
post Jan 31 2010, 06:49 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jan 31 2010, 06:39 PM)
I mean,Warhammer 40k have so many diverse unit choices,especially for a developed faction like Chaos.It just still bugs me why cant they go for something more exotic like Chaos Vindicator,Obliterators, Possessed Squads, Chaos Spawn, Noise Marines, Daemonettes, Defiler, Rubric Marines, Flamers of Tzeetch, Horrors, Berzerkers,compare to what is already present in the game.

It is understandable that it wont be 100% fluffy but seeing another spiky SM in the making just disappoint me.

If thats what Chaos will play like in the final game,i dont think that Relic have do justice with Chaos.Seems like Relic cant satisfy everyone,but from what i see in Relicnews and DoW2 community forum,no one seems to be happy with this vague list.
Yar, I understand what you mean, just that most of the stuff you named is considered "elite" or rare troops, the bulk is either full of Chaos SMs or basic demons (like the Blooletters, Daemonettes, Uncleans etc.).

They could have put more in the list, I agree, but then the others army who have complained they didnt get as many new or "cool" units (Eldars have way more Aspect warriors types than that in the story for example, SMs have stuff like the Vindicators, veterans squads etc, Tyranids and Orks can have almost anything you want since you can justify almost anyting with their background etc.).

I think they are tied up by the numbers of units each army can have and they can't really make a Chaos Army without basic Chaos SMs for example (though they could have done without the Cultists... but that means no cheap units like scouts maybe)

What I was trying to say is that I am personally not "surprised" by that list if it's confirmed, I totally agree I wish Relic was a bit more imaginative but I did not expected it.

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Jan 31 2010, 06:49 PM
Gormaz
post Feb 1 2010, 09:33 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 1 2010, 04:00 AM)
CR features Black Legion as the bad guy of the expansion.Black Legions are known to be Undivided,rather than being devoted to one god.Thats why they get Nurgle and Khrone stuff together.It's the same as FoK's Chaos when you choose Undivided.

With the current scale of battle,i doubt we'll ever seen a Defiler as it's actually a very large walker.

Great Unclean One is Nurgle's Greater Demon.Same as Bloodthrister to Khrone and Keeper of Secrets for Slaneeshi.

No f***ing idea why they even included a damn Avatar and Great Unclean One in the first place.
Yar, I always felt these two were quite out of scope for the scale of it, dreadnought being the "max" in my opinion.

Kinda like how a Land Raider or a Baneblade would do....
Gormaz
post Feb 3 2010, 09:48 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

The Heretics are at least a bit different from the Cultists from DOW1, their gameplay seems more interesting than cheap scout meat shield I thought it would be.

The rest is more "normal", Havoc having rate of fire getting faster and faster after each kill sounds fun if you can get them to live for a while
Gormaz
post Feb 5 2010, 03:57 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

99rmb is alright, not too cheap, not too expensive.

For me it will depends on the single player content since I dont play online anyway.

Not sure I can resist though.... tongue.gif
Gormaz
post Feb 9 2010, 01:17 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Feb 9 2010, 12:52 PM)
oh it probably means someone became a chaos marine? O_O
Sounds like DOW1 campain again....

Meh, I even put Spoiler for people who have not played DoW1 campain
Gormaz
post Feb 9 2010, 11:37 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 9 2010, 10:39 PM)
I doubt so,could be someone else.
IT'S CAPTAIN THUL... wait... no... harder for him tongue.gif

I still put 10 kopecks on the librarian being the traitor but I hope I will be surprised, that would be quite lame otherwise

And trained psykers don't get corrupted, they just kick asses wink.gif

Seems pricing is gonna be around 30usd from what I can see on the web, that seems "normal" for xpac nowadays.
Think I will wait a lil to hear some reviews but it I hear some good stuff for the single player I think I will get it quickly.
Gormaz
post Feb 11 2010, 03:12 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Feb 11 2010, 01:13 AM)
In my Crystal ball i see " Nothing happening, everyone survives, no one turn sides, next expansion is Imperial Guard, after that Tau and Necrons, DOW 3 released, Cycle continues, Sell of your DOW2, Relic owns your wallet". biggrin.gif
Meh, I would not really complain about this, I liked the DOW2 for the single campain, would not mind more of it. I don't mind forking money if the quality is there (that's an important IF I admit wink.gif )

Just that the IG would actually not fit very well for the scale of DoW2, they are just individually too weak, even 10 man squads guards again 3-4 marines would be a pure massacres according to the background. Making squads of bigger size then 10-12 would be both too bulky to play efficiently (good luck finding cover for such huge squad) and not very fun.

Personally I am looking forward for Chaos Rising, hopefully the campaign is good. I will try to wait few days to wait for use reviews but might be too tempted to wait, see how it goes

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Feb 11 2010, 05:06 PM
Gormaz
post Feb 13 2010, 03:51 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Now thats a huge mace drool.gif

Can definitely see he is there to talk philosophy and make flowers compositions....
Gormaz
post Feb 13 2010, 11:11 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Today I got some email from THQ about Chaos Rising.

In it there is this link to ebgames.com wehre they sell it.

And in the descriptions I saw:

Chaos Corruption Mechanic – New single player mechanic allows you to equip incredibly powerful equipment that corrupts your squad and will guide the story towards or away from the corrupting influence of Chaos

Now that sounds interesting for single play, might also explain the "you will have one of your marines going chaos" thinggy they hinted had.
That even hint at slightly different campaign process if you go "Chaos way" or "Good way" which would be very sweet.

On the other hand I don't believe much this kind of "advertisements" but that's something I didnt read about this before

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Feb 13 2010, 11:25 AM
Gormaz
post Feb 13 2010, 06:39 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Hum ok then, I didnt see that thing sweat.gif
Gormaz
post Feb 17 2010, 10:25 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 17 2010, 10:12 AM)
Chaos T3 units.
Source

Compared to T1 and T2,T3 does look a bit lacking.
Even the Great Unclean one abilities are not that fun or exciting for T3.
Expected more corruption or disease-ing kind of stuff.

Still look badass even though I am still really dubious that he should be in a game of this scale at all.
Gormaz
post Feb 24 2010, 06:29 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

I like Tzeentch and the face of the 2 cultists in the last panel tongue.gif

And I did pre-order it smile.gif
Gormaz
post Feb 24 2010, 07:42 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Feb 24 2010, 04:57 PM)
I hope the expansion will install more smoothly than the main game.

I still remember waiting more than an hour for installation.
Ugh... DoW2 was actually my first Steam AND GFWL game... man that was a pain of an install with both to get and then update (plus creation of both accounts...)

Hopefully this time its gonna be better

Gormaz
post Mar 8 2010, 10:47 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

I wish we could get a pre-load for CR though sad.gif

But it's getting late for one now
Gormaz
post Mar 10 2010, 06:52 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

And really no pre-loading =S

Don't think it's gonna be too huge to download though, DoW2 itself is only 4Gb
Gormaz
post Mar 11 2010, 09:15 AM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Does the download starts automatically?

I mean, until yesterday I had the "Chaos Rising - Not released yet" under the Steam list.
But you guys are saying that it will disappear and Steam will automatically start downloading it as a patch to DoW2 without you having to click anywhere?

I am asking because if like that I just need to ask wife to start my desktop since Steam starts with windows.
Having to explain to her where to click otherwise would be much tougher tongue.gif

I knew I should have worked from home today...

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 11 2010, 09:16 AM
Gormaz
post Mar 11 2010, 02:57 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Hopefully it's downloading for me right now back at home...
It's like a 50/50 though

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 11 2010, 02:58 PM
Gormaz
post Mar 11 2010, 03:13 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Lol Cheese, that SS is quite funny, for a second I thought "well, it could works for scout to use some tyranids costume/armor to hide.... then realized how stupid it would be biggrin.gif (Especially seeing that only Cyrus wears it with the rest of the scouts still running around in normal armors)

How well, I will see when I reach home if everything started downloading fine with wifey booted the computer this morning, somehow I doubt no click somewhere from my side will be needed but we will see.

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 11 2010, 03:20 PM
Gormaz
post Mar 11 2010, 03:26 PM

Space Dwarf
576 posts

Yar yar, I agree it's a bit sad from a QA Point of view, especially there it seems to be quite a big issue.

Well, I will just have to see when i can play, hopefully no huge bugs, can't wait to start again with the squads I prepared for the solo campaign.

Edit: Damn, after checking DoW Dev blog
Seems that since I am in China I will only get it available on Steam tomorrow at 5am local time >_<

Guess Msia was included with AU/NZ?

This post has been edited by Gormaz: Mar 11 2010, 03:43 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0369sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:16 AM