7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Nokia 5800 XpressMusic a.k.a "TUBE" v.24, Lifetime Free GPS Navigation + v40.0.005

sklchan
post Jan 29 2010, 06:36 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(JustinLFJ @ Jan 29 2010, 06:30 PM)
Yeah, its EXACTLY the same server.... Makan masa better than makan duit  tongue.gif  Same hardware meh? Xploit said might not be same.
hehehe... some secret about "that" server.. i've changed to "supl.google.com" the data downloaded more "quality" and accurate compare to the nokia one... but something funny if u enable the a-gps and run the ovi maps it will crash the ovi maps and phone will restart... tapi jika u use the LOCATIONS to get the a-gps data first then disable the a-gps afterward and start the ovi maps then the ovi maps will able to use that data for navigation... hehehe can see another monopoly issue here ohh ... tongue.gif
sklchan
post Jan 29 2010, 06:38 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Keatsan @ Jan 29 2010, 06:35 PM)
Hello Tubians!

I just received back my 5800 from NCC today. Apparently, they did not update my firmware to v40.0.005. It's still v31.0.101.

The reason they gave we was, the firmware was NOT recommended for Nokia 5800 users. It's because due to the light that remains on when you plug in the charging power cord.

So to all v40 users, how's the firmware so far?
TERRIBLE!!! u are soo lucky they not updating for u....

rolleyes.gif whistling.gif
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 11:26 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:08 AM)
Sorry im new here . Just wanna ask .

As iphone has portrait and landscape view , when is it actually gonna
turn into that view ? ( As u know , sometimes even when u put the
phone horizontal , it wont change ) .
Same question as above , but on 5800 this time .

And some games , like u need to balance the ball , holding the phone
in position u know , can 5800 play games like that too ??

Lastly , if 5800 can do mostly of what iphone can do i should get 5800
cause it's cheaper .

Just need to hear some reviews from u guys ! thank you so much smile.gif !

I was pretty interested to get this phone last time , but i wanted to
save money for iphone as u know , it looks nice and when u have iphone
everyone will be like WOW U have an IPHONEE ~~ bla bla blaaa ..

but i'm looking more on the capabilities this time smile.gif !
get iphone.. it's very nice... whistling.gif

Added on January 30, 2010, 11:29 am
QUOTE(isildur88 @ Jan 30 2010, 09:49 AM)
for garmin to lock. it takes some time for first time use. it took me 10 min to lock for first time.
10 mins for no a-gps
10 secs for a-gps (of coz with credit available lah) tongue.gif

Added on January 30, 2010, 11:31 am
QUOTE(chronozome @ Jan 30 2010, 09:30 AM)
hi guys...i've got a peculiar problem here. don't know if anyone has the same issue.

Updated firmware last night. Then after that, tried installing the new Ovi Maps. Failed everytime.

Now i notice i can't install anything at all. Apps, Themes...they don't work.

Does anyone have that problem? Can anyone please help?
sdcard full format then hard reset will resolved ALL PROBLEMS whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 30 2010, 11:31 AM
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 11:33 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:31 AM)
iphone is bout 1k + extra bro !
want to make sure it's really worth it .. LOL !
when u asking here.. u expected what others 5800xm user will reply leh?? brows.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 30 2010, 11:35 AM
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 11:41 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:37 AM)
yeah of course . They got to persuade me into the functionality of
5800 wat =.= ! What phone u using ? LOL !
may the force be with u... brows.gif
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 12:40 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(isildur88 @ Jan 30 2010, 12:36 PM)
n97 mini is like 5530. n97 is like 5800. <<< is thz true?
i will get n97 original if i have the $$... but i wont do the upgrade from 5800 to both of them simply because the price and the functionality wise... even the x6 that only attraction to me is the screen and the 3 (red green white) buttons which make the screen totally flat because hardware wise the x6 just a repack of the 5800xm nod.gif
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 12:51 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(isildur88 @ Jan 30 2010, 12:44 PM)
for x6. its juz the camera and the body of the fone is diff. function wise is almost the same. its still s60v5
to simplyfy...

1. Resistive lcd > Capasitive lcd
2. 3 push buttons > 3 sensor buttons
3. 3.2MP camera > 5MP camera
4. 128Mb internal memory > 32Gb internal memory

for these u will need extra ~RM1000 to get it??

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 30 2010, 12:59 PM
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 12:57 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Jan 30 2010, 12:49 PM)
my final word, i have experience on strip on the device iself, "hardware, hardware .. hardware"  nod.gif
hw u know garmin no signal? .. can u see map? (the roads)
FP
ure prob is WSOD, please refer FP.. TQ
nod.gif
u cant expect 100 VIP contacts to be on HS arent u? be fair, 4 contacts are fairly enuf, dont expect too high for the money u paid  nod.gif
XM,

you might thinking of putting the ULTIMATE solution at the FP for ppls that having minimynimo problems... hmm.gif

1. Do a Full Backup.
2. Do a Full Format on the sdcard.
3. Do a Hard Reset on the phone.

sure all the 5800xm able to startup without any error. nod.gif
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 12:58 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Jan 30 2010, 12:53 PM)
boss .. i think RM1950 fr X6 la  tongue.gif

Added on January 30, 2010, 12:54 pmrefer clareen's post http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1309591/+20
then for extra ~RM1000 loh... tongue.gif
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 06:34 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Jan 30 2010, 06:30 PM)
I got one MP4 video also can play at my PSP,PS3,PC but not in my phone  sweat.gif
if format is right... then the only problem might be the bitrate... hmm.gif
refer FP for detail... nod.gif
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 06:50 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(JustinLFJ @ Jan 30 2010, 06:35 PM)
Do as what sklchan said: 'if format is right... then the only problem might be the bitrate...refer FP for detail...'  icon_idea.gif
i'm suspected more on the convertion method... is it a real "MP4 format" or just with a .mp4 extention hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 30 2010, 06:51 PM
sklchan
post Jan 30 2010, 06:58 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jan 30 2010, 06:54 PM)
i just tested on my tube.
mp4 works definitely.
make sure the extension is .mp4
any bitrate will do.
i would advice he download the gspot apps and read the "actual" file codec and check is it a real MP4...

GSPOT Codec Tool:
http://gspot.headbands.com/
sklchan
post Jan 31 2010, 11:11 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:39 PM)
either 5800 or n97 got update i am ready for it kekeke
for me i think the nokia will continue the update as long as it's related to stability...
maybe up to EOL of the s60v5... hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jan 31 2010, 11:27 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:48 PM)
it is true, i m quick impress of its build of 5800 = 3310.

Added on January 31, 2010, 10:50 pm

keng link rclxms.gif
i nearly lost my 5800 back in december last year...
when i gave my wife to hold on my phone she forgot about it during going down to have family meal and the phone fall out of the car (beside it and fortunately it's night time) during she out of the car (she put my phone on her lap and forget about it existense).
after the meal then only she reliase she lost my phone (and she thinking it might still keep inside the car so she just call my phone on the way to the car and i'm rushing to the car (too worry mah) and during i reach the side of my car I FOUND MY PHONE ON THE GROUND!!! shocking.gif fortunately nobody discover it after i think more then a hour sweat.gif the phone is hanging on the answering mode and hand free and cant even stop the hand free speaker so i just take out the batt and drive home.

After reaching home i inspect the phone inside out and supprise supprise it seem like my phone been RUN THROUGH by a car or motor because my phone case got a TYRE MARK!! shocking.gif

the condition on the road where my phone fall down is jalan pasir (near beach seafood stall) if someone been in penang it is at the entrance road on the Hao You Seafood... my phone that time have the gel case as it internal and external have those cloth cover (the tyre mark is on the cloth cover).

so for me I'm dam lucky that day for not losing my phone and also the phone dam lucky not been crush by the lalu lalang car/motor... HENG KA KAM MUA LAN!!! sweat.gif

then during inspection, my phone no crack at all and the only sikit sikit damage mark was at the charging adapter hole have a tiny scratch mark... whole phone still sui sui... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 31 2010, 11:29 PM
sklchan
post Jan 31 2010, 11:33 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jan 31 2010, 11:27 PM)
wadsup slk-chan~
wow n97 got new FW...nais... might consider upgrading tube to n97 wakakaka
naiii... wont really do a upgrade for something that too near in term of hardware lah...
hardware wise the phone that really attract me is the Omnia HD i8910 where the hardware soo powerful... too bad it cost too much for now and also it's a Samsung run on Nokia software?? (if only nokia truly have a heart to full support the competitor) tongue.gif

Added on January 31, 2010, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(xorz @ Jan 31 2010, 10:32 PM)
anyone willing to try v40 hackable firmware  brows.gif
currently i am busy and have no time to test it , how about you guys test it first  tongue.gif
here is the link
that hack only can be apply if u dare to manual flashing ur 5800 with JAF...
for me... nope i wont risk it just for hack purpose... hmm.gif
also a big no no because although u use this method ur phone will still run into un-hackable once it's Hard Reset... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 31 2010, 11:43 PM
sklchan
post Jan 31 2010, 11:50 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jan 31 2010, 11:38 PM)
Hmm I got a problem with my tube.  I realised nowadays, when I try to connect to a wifi signal which is not in my list of Destinations, it gets stuck.  For example, I see a new wifi signal in the WLAN wizard.  I click on it, select Connect, but nothing happens (open network).  If it's password protected, it will prompt for WEP/WPA key, and if I enter correctly, nothing happens (just stay at the screen).  I can confirm the wifi signal is working.  What should I do other than hard reset?
brother... u sure u have the authority to access to that hotspot or not?? hmm.gif
although some hotspot are open network it's still require some way to authorise the connection, like at the hotel hotspot it will route to the http login page also open network still can set mac filter at it's router to limited only known mac address can access the network... nod.gif
sklchan
post Feb 1 2010, 12:48 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Feb 1 2010, 12:33 AM)
kasi tengok pictar la bro  biggrin.gif
mana ada picture... even itu tiny scracth is too tiny to capture lah... sweat.gif
sklchan
post Feb 1 2010, 07:04 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:52 PM)
If u do tat then its a fool. So like tat i also got drop without any casing straight to floor no damage at all. Then i throw from 1st to ground phone everything okay
how durable is the 5800 depend on many factor, we cant use others example for comparison...
mine drop on the road side more then an hour and suspected crush by car/motor... so will other expected to be soo lucky to repeat the incident?? brows.gif
sklchan
post Feb 1 2010, 10:01 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Feb 1 2010, 09:37 PM)
then, the hack also wont intact once u hard reset.. so, no point hving such hacks  laugh.gif
it's same as previous v31 where a hard reset will render the hack useless (v31 u have to reinstall the helloox) but v40 since it's unhackable so if u hard reset then u have to re-flash with the cooked firmware instead a simple reinstall... nod.gif
sklchan
post Feb 1 2010, 10:16 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(siauann @ Feb 1 2010, 10:12 PM)
i jsut got myself a black colour tube. one question, can i transfer my contacts from my previous sony ericsson phone to this 5800?
i'm not sure about the simple method, but the sure work method u can do as below:

1. copy all your contacts from the sony ericsson hp to your sim card (if can fit in lah), if cannot fit in 1 time then just repeat these step for the balance later on.

2. slot your sim into the nokia and copy contacts from sim to phone memory.

3. delete sim contacts then slot into sony phone for any balance contacts.

nod.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0429sec    1.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:22 AM