9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Need some guideline on simple Modding, Complete + Final Pics !

TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 02:46 PM, updated 14y ago

305 posts

hello all, this is my 1st time do modding and post topic here, need some guideline from sifu-sifu here tongue.gif

the case i wanna mod :

some stuff i buy :

after cutting:

before i start :

1)i wanna know if i wanna apply a coat of primer, do i need to sand the old paint before i paint the primer ?
2)if need to sand off, wat grit should i use ? 280 ? 400 ? 600 ? currently i only got 280 grit. ( the shop didnt got stock for 400 and 600 sad.gif )
3)refer to above pic, how do i recognize if the can he give me is primer or not ? cuz the label of primer (grey 1 on pic) and the metalic black (black 1 on right) are same, both labelled spray paint and i didnt saw any "primer" word on the grey can sad.gif so i wonder if the staff give me the right thing ?

i hope sifu-sifu here can give me some guide cuz i dun want to screws things up sad.gif

thx notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Mar 6 2010, 01:58 PM
lun1986
post Jan 21 2010, 02:59 PM

939 posts

dun use 280 grit !!

)always sand b4 spray.
2)use 800 & 1000 grit or higher, use 800 1st then 1000 grit.
3)buy a white color spray n use as primer.
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 03:07 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jan 21 2010, 02:59 PM)
dun use 280 grit !!

)always sand b4 spray.
2)use 800 & 1000 grit or higher, use 800 1st then 1000 grit.
3)buy a white color spray n use as primer.
i oredi bought 2 pieces of 280 grit doh.gif i asked that abunene what grit should i use to sand off old paint, then he give me 280 grit sweat.gif

800 grit to sand off old paint ? need to sand off all the paint or... ?

white color paint as primer ? then wat is the difference between primer and normal paint ?

sry for a lot of question sweat.gif and thx for the reply notworthy.gif
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 03:18 PM

157 posts

if the current paint is thick use this..
PYE STRIPPA M

dont use low grit coz will leave deep scratch mark...u need many layer to cover this....
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 03:38 PM

305 posts

where can i get that PYE STRIPPA M and how much it cost ? notworthy.gif

can i juz sand it off with sand paper ? hmm.gif
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 03:45 PM

157 posts

normal hardware hv...but not just PYE brand...
try ask for paint stripper for metal....
the price i dont know exactly but i think around RM10...

dont know how thick ur paint now...try scrape abit...
if its very thin can use sandpaper...

This post has been edited by mfared77: Jan 21 2010, 03:47 PM
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 04:05 PM

305 posts

the paint are quiet thick...
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 04:09 PM

157 posts

then u need paint stripper... easier to remove using it....
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 04:21 PM

305 posts

ok, i try to find it later on at nearby hardware shop. thx notworthy.gif

will update later biggrin.gif

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ok, i check up the nearby hardware shop and found this :

rclxms.gif

that roll is 400 and 600 grit sandpaper tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Jan 21 2010, 05:08 PM
lun1986
post Jan 21 2010, 05:03 PM

939 posts

i think u dun need to remove ur current paint coz dun hav scratch on it. hmm.gif
u just buy 1k or 1.5 grit sand paper. then just spray.

TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 05:15 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jan 21 2010, 05:03 PM)
i think u dun need to remove ur current paint coz dun hav scratch on it. hmm.gif
u just buy 1k or 1.5 grit sand paper. then just spray.
yes there are no scratch on the surface but the paint ripped off at the edge of the cutted window cry.gif

and currently i cant find 1500 grid sandpaper at my place, only got 1000 grit. sweat.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
update 21/01/2010 7:00pm

ok, wat should i do now ? sand it ?

now the old paint oredi clean off using PYE STRIPPA M, but still got some left over...400 or 600 grit should i use to sand ? rclxub.gif

thx notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Jan 23 2010, 05:37 PM
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 07:52 PM

157 posts

u hv 800 grit...?600 is rough i think...
i think 800 can minimize the scratches...then 1k grit...
after spraying will gone...

ur final colour is glossy or matte...?

This post has been edited by mfared77: Jan 21 2010, 07:57 PM
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 08:08 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(mfared77 @ Jan 21 2010, 07:52 PM)
u hv 800 grit...?600 is rough i think...
i think 800 can minimize the scratches...then 1k grit...
after spraying will gone...

ur final colour is glossy or matte...?
i bought 2 cans of metallic black. i oso had a can of primer.

that mean i need to sand it using 800 then after that 1000 grit ? sand it hardly or lightly ?

thx notworthy.gif
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 08:35 PM

157 posts

so its glossy...
ok glossy type might take longer time to dry...
so patient is the key word...

sanding is up to u....harder u get tired quickly....
lightly u'll take long time to finish...
tips: take a matchbox size thing, cut the sandpaper length size to the matchbox and rap it around the box...its easier to do the sanding....

the primer just 1 thin layer...enough...
its glossy paint so i think 2 layer would be enough...
first layer just to cover all surface...can see the primer also no problem...
try spraying 1 way, 1 time per line....
second layer to bring up the glossy of the paint....
make sure each layer is dry enough to do another layer....

try on another surface first if u not sure...trial n error...
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 08:51 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(mfared77 @ Jan 21 2010, 08:35 PM)
so its glossy...
ok glossy type might take longer time to dry...
so patient is the key word...

sanding is up to u....harder u get tired quickly....
lightly u'll take long time to finish...
tips: take a matchbox size thing, cut the sandpaper length size to the matchbox and rap it around the box...its easier to do the sanding....

the primer just 1 thin layer...enough...
its glossy paint so i think 2 layer would be enough...
first layer just to cover all surface...can see the primer also no problem...
try spraying 1 way, 1 time per line....
second layer to bring up the glossy of the paint....
make sure each layer is dry enough to do another layer....

try on another surface first if u not sure...trial n error...
1 layer of primer enough ? i saw other painting guide said that after primer is up, sand a bit, repeat the step few time to get smooth surface, after that apply few layer of paint to get shiny surface...

notworthy.gif
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 08:59 PM

157 posts

DPI Grey is ur primer...?
if u spray and the surface is rough, u can sand it...
i think that 1 dont give u a rough surface...
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 21 2010, 09:18 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(mfared77 @ Jan 21 2010, 08:59 PM)
DPI Grey is ur primer...?
if u spray and the surface is rough, u can sand it...
i think that 1 dont give u a rough surface...
yea, the grey 1 is primer (im not sure is it primer or not, the abunene in the hardware shop take that to me when i request primer sweat.gif )

if it didnt give out rough surface, then no need to sand ?

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Jan 21 2010, 09:38 PM
mfared77
post Jan 21 2010, 09:41 PM

157 posts

yup...
try on something else first before u do on the casing....

found a clip in youtube...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_YY83dGbEI

but they hv powertool... blush.gif but the step in almost the same...
first primer then 1 layer on colour coat and clear coat...ok lar they using clear coat for finishing...
but the step same for u....

This post has been edited by mfared77: Jan 21 2010, 09:42 PM
TSblaze_spirit
post Jan 22 2010, 10:37 AM

305 posts

QUOTE(mfared77 @ Jan 21 2010, 09:41 PM)
yup...
try on something else first before u do on the casing....

found a clip in youtube...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q_YY83dGbEI

but they hv powertool...  blush.gif  but the step in almost the same...
first primer then 1 layer on colour coat and clear coat...ok lar they using clear coat for finishing...
but the step same for u....
i saw that video b4 tongue.gif

i think i'll go for 2 coat of primer, now i need to drill the screw hole for the acrylic window biggrin.gif

thx again notworthy.gif

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update 22/01/2010 11:30 am:

move on to next step ---> painting tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blaze_spirit: Jan 23 2010, 05:39 PM
dan137
post Jan 22 2010, 02:41 PM

I don't need a parachute
874 posts

TS, u like to read guide or not?

if yes, i have something for you

PC Chop Shop Chapter 8: Painting.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top