Travel Myanmar, Yangon, Bagan, Mandalay etc
mat sputnik
Apr 20 2012, 05:50 PM
Yes, go Myanmar now before it opens up and the tourist hordes start arriving!  A most enlightening country, here are our impressions: http://m.naim.my/yangon-international-airport-rgn/ -- Yangon International Airport http://m.naim.my/the-market-at-nyaung-u/ -- Bagan: The Market at Nyaung U http://m.naim.my/pagoda-climbing-and-lunch-at-the-irrawaddy/ -- Bagan: Pagoda-Climbing and Lunch at the Irrawaddy http://m.naim.my/pagodas-and-a-sunset/ -- Bagan: Pagodas and a Sunset We also spent time in Mandalay and Yangon, but haven't gotten down to writing about them in the above blog ... been slacking! This post has been edited by mat sputnik: Apr 20 2012, 05:50 PM
soul2soul
Apr 21 2012, 09:47 AM
anyone been to the shrines or stupas of arahants in burma?
dongqh608
May 1 2012, 09:31 PM

This post has been edited by dongqh608: Apr 11 2015, 05:06 PM
mat sputnik
May 1 2012, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(dongqh608 @ May 1 2012, 09:31 PM) Hey, are there any recommended tourist agency in myanmar? We used Myanmar Tourex early last year -- satisfied with service. Google for it.
10&Counting
May 2 2012, 04:47 PM
New Myanmar E-Visa Effective 26 April 2012, guests that require visa to enter Myanmar can get their E-Visa in 4 easy steps. Step 1 : Go to http://www.myanmarevisa.gov.mm and fill out the secure online application form Step 2 : Confirm and pay with your credit/debit card Step 3 : Receive your approval letter (within 5 working days) Step 4 : Receive your visa upon arrival in Myanmar For more information, logon to www.myanmarevisa.gov.mm
europology
Jun 24 2012, 03:06 PM
I tried to login to the evisa page, but seems like it's not open to the public yet (for admins only)? @@
Am doing an independent 2-week trip there in August, and I need to apply for a visa since am not in KL, and this evisa is really convenient to me... Just wondering when they will open its services...
Btw, where did you guys get your crisp, new US bills? Not many places offer them. And I do learn that we need to keep some smaller notes to pay for hotels, rides, entrance fees etc... And it's even harder to get clean bills of these denominations!
peppermilk
Jun 25 2012, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(europology @ Jun 24 2012, 03:06 PM) I tried to login to the evisa page, but seems like it's not open to the public yet (for admins only)? @@ Am doing an independent 2-week trip there in August, and I need to apply for a visa since am not in KL, and this evisa is really convenient to me... Just wondering when they will open its services... Btw, where did you guys get your crisp, new US bills? Not many places offer them. And I do learn that we need to keep some smaller notes to pay for hotels, rides, entrance fees etc... And it's even harder to get clean bills of these denominations! Ya, I tried too, only for admins for the time being I guess... :/ Still, many thanks for sharing. Must the bill be clean? I mean like super clean I get them from aunts / cousins that visits from the US, but I believe money changers can give you clean notes too, perhaps
mat sputnik
Jun 25 2012, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(peppermilk @ Jun 25 2012, 01:15 PM) ... I get them from aunts / cousins that visits from the US, but I believe money changers can give you clean notes too, perhaps  Yes, ask for clean notes at money-changer. And make sure latest version.
europology
Jun 26 2012, 04:30 AM
QUOTE(peppermilk @ Jun 25 2012, 01:15 PM) Ya, I tried too, only for admins for the time being I guess... :/ Still, many thanks for sharing. Must the bill be clean? I mean like super clean I get them from aunts / cousins that visits from the US, but I believe money changers can give you clean notes too, perhaps  They only have crisp bills of larger denomination, i.e. USD 100, other than that, it's either folded, creased, or smth.  You're going there soon too? This post has been edited by europology: Jun 26 2012, 04:31 AM
peppermilk
Jun 26 2012, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(europology @ Jun 26 2012, 04:30 AM) They only have crisp bills of larger denomination, i.e. USD 100, other than that, it's either folded, creased, or smth.  You're going there soon too? I see.... how about try exchanging for the bigger notes? Break the bigger notes down by changing them with hotels in Myanmar (if you need smaller notes for buying stuff ect)? I'm sure they're ok with handing out smaller notes in exchange for bigger ones as the bigger ones has more value ^^ Just my opinion. I'll be heading there on Oct This post has been edited by peppermilk: Jun 26 2012, 10:46 AM
kuntaker
Sep 7 2012, 09:32 PM
hi guys, how many days do we need to travel around myanmar? include yangon and inle lake
Added on September 7, 2012, 9:52 pmany tour that recommend?
This post has been edited by kuntaker: Sep 7 2012, 09:52 PM
fastreader
Oct 24 2012, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(hosoki @ Sep 25 2011, 07:38 PM) Visa is needed for malaysians visiting Myanmar!  Also do be aware that an airport tax of usd10per person is needed to be paid at the airport for international departure. Added on September 25, 2011, 7:42 pmThe last time me and my frens were there, both maxis and dig's int roaming no line there. So the only method of contacting was thru the Internet haha. Also, most locals in Myanmar dun hav phones, and it is too expensive for them. Dun think it will be easy to get sim card haha. But I am sure you can make int calls thru their public phones or at those 5 stars hotels although the prices can be steeeeep. Charges starts already when you start dialing regardless whether the other party you are trying to call has picked up the phone or not in some hotels. how to apply for the visa?
youngman28
Oct 24 2012, 12:47 PM

QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 24 2012, 09:33 AM) how to apply for the visa? For Asean citizen, no Visa is need to entry Myanmar
fastreader
Oct 24 2012, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(youngman28 @ Oct 24 2012, 12:47 PM) For Asean citizen, no Visa is need to entry Myanmar oic..makes me proud to be malaysian.
Serendipity123
Oct 24 2012, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 24 2012, 08:33 AM) how to apply for the visa? QUOTE(youngman28 @ Oct 24 2012, 12:47 PM) For Asean citizen, no Visa is need to entry Myanmar I went to Yangon in Feb 2012 and a visa was still needed to enter Myanmar then. And yes, I am a Malaysian. Please call and double confirm with the consulate whether the regulations had changed.
navilink
Oct 24 2012, 09:41 PM
QUOTE(youngman28 @ Oct 24 2012, 12:47 PM) For Asean citizen, no Visa is need to entry Myanmar wah sure or not? later fly there cannot enter the country..
chocobee
Oct 25 2012, 12:19 PM
you need to apply visa.
navilink
Oct 31 2012, 02:13 PM
to apply visa, do I need to go to the embassy twice? once to apply visa and once to collect the visa? i'm trying to go for the cheapest one (RM80 - 5 working days)
do Embassy of Myanmar in KL opens on Sat-Sun?
europology
Nov 1 2012, 12:18 AM
^ Yes. I'm afraid you'll have to go twice. I applied through agency since I'm not from KL. Double the price. Sux! Anyway, Myanmar was awesome!!! Though Yangon was raining a lotttttttttttt. Bagan was hot, but the ruins were really spectacular. Too bad no huge fireball-like sun during the monsoon season on sunrise or sunset. Often overcast sky. Mandalay was dry and I kinda enjoyed it. I absolutely loved the outlying towns of Sagaing and Mingun! Really awesome views and highly recommended! Went to Hsipaw and took the world-famous Goteik Viaduct train ride over a spectacular gorge. Unforgettable! Inle Lake was amazing too.  Added on November 1, 2012, 12:23 amQUOTE(youngman28 @ Oct 24 2012, 12:47 PM) For Asean citizen, no Visa is need to entry Myanmar You don't need visa for all ASEAN countries except Myanmar. This post has been edited by europology: Nov 1 2012, 12:35 AM
europology
Nov 1 2012, 12:29 AM
Some pics that I took in Myanmar this August: This post has been edited by europology: Nov 1 2012, 12:33 AM