Public Mutual v2, PB/Public series

debbieyss
post May 20 2011, 11:47 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jul 4 2010, 11:51 PM)
You have not been reading right, that's why I said in my previous post, YOU must do the research, so that you know what fund you are investing in. You don't just go invest blindly into whatever fund that is recommended by agents, that is your mistake and no one can help you, and you are well deserve to get whatever gains or losses there is. Before I will even considering to buy a fund, I will do quite some research. Here are a sample of things you must read and understand.

1. General Stock Market & World Economy performance - I will not buy at peak, I buy at the bottom, DCA is rubbish.
1. Performance vs. benchmark 5 years minimum - I will not buy any fund which does not have min 5 years performance
2. Audited annual accounts - income, expenses, turnover, fund size, fund manager & policies
3. Fact Sheet - Monthly - Latest 6 months - Holding, percentage, regional risks, interest, equity vs. fixed income risks
4. Standard & Poors, Morningstar reviews - performance vs peers - I tend to buy funds which have dropped the least compared to peers during bad periods ie. 1997, 2001, 2008. Any fund will make money in a bull period, it takes skill to survive in bear.
5. Asset Allocation - You must have a proper asset allocation to diversify your risks.

You should not expect performance if you did not do your homework. It is your duty to choose, looks like you have bet on the wrong horse. In fact around 80% of the funds in the Malaysian market now is rubbish and most probably trailing the benchmarks (over 5, 10 year period). I will not buy those, will you?  laugh.gif
Gark, I find the way you convey unfair to the investors. No offence. smile.gif

If the investors are at young age like 20s or 30s, they of course can do research, ask around; but what about those who are low educated people and above 50s or 60s people? They might not have high education, they might not know how to calculate, they might not good in reading English.

What dannyme is trying to emphasize is that fund manager, who knows more than any one of us do, not taking care of clients' accounts, rather just let it stay over years despite they are in good performance or not, and receive 5.5% fees for every buy and sell, what's the point? We might as well go take exam and become our own agent.

p.s: sorry, I've been digging the old posts....
debbieyss
post May 20 2011, 12:03 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ May 20 2011, 12:00 PM)
if we become own agent.. how much can we save from the 5.5% sales charge ?
The thing is not how much we can save from the 5.5%; but what have we gained from the 5.5%.
debbieyss
post May 20 2011, 12:21 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 20 2011, 12:05 PM)
Sorry to burst your bubble, PM agents dont get 5.5% leh hehe. PM itself makan x.x%  tongue.gif

I'm unsure whether PM will come & kill me if i post the actuals here.
I'm neither talking about how much commission the agent or PM earned.

I'm emphasizing if an agent helping clients to buy sell without giving advice, OR not telling the hidden clause or hidden risk, just the surface of the fund then even a penny paid to the agent is only a waste. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by debbieyss: May 20 2011, 12:22 PM
debbieyss
post May 21 2011, 01:49 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Dec 3 2010, 09:06 AM)
It doesn't matter if the NAV is high or low, the investment stays the same. If you invest RM1000 (excluding sales charge), for example.

if NAV = RM 1 = 1,000 Units x  Rm 1 = RM 1,000
if NAV = RM 25 = 40 Units x Rm 25 = RM 1,000

The total amount is the same regardless, and the future earnings will be the same, so what is the difference? I have invested in funds which each unit is about 100+USD, it has performed better than my PM fund which is RM 0.25 per unit.  rolleyes.gif

Only those who does not understand how UT works worry about unit price and amount of dividend given, these are the tricks of the trade to fool the average investors.  laugh.gif These are the same thinking as some of my friends who says RM 0.10 share is "cheap" and those RM 10+ shares is "expensive" no matter what company is behind it  doh.gif
gark, for what i understand, dividend paid according to how many units you hold, no? The lower price you buy at the more units you gain, no? Even in the end you sell your Unit Trust, it would be according to what price you bought at and how many units you hold, eg:
year 2000 bought 1000 units at RM0.15 = RM150
year 2001 bought 1000 units at RM0.10 = RM100
RM250 bought 2000 units

year 2008 sell 2000 units at RM1 = RM2000 - RM250 = earned RM1750
Am i right?

Please explain further, i'm confused. Thanks!

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 4 2010, 11:49 AM)
Invest in UT has one thing to look at only, the NAV increment over time.

Dividend is deducting the NAV to pay you one, while being taxed in the process.

UT is not as same as invest in stock market/individual share directly, whereby dividend in individual stock is meaningful, while UT's dividend is not.
cherroy, can explain further for the bolder part?
For what I understand, both dividend types (shock or unit trust), you need to pay tax before you want to cash out.
debbieyss
post May 21 2011, 03:53 PM

4,458 posts

I thought when we buy at low price of unit trust, years later if the stock market's performance performs better, NAV will increase, and thus when we sell, we will gain more.

Difficult to understand...
debbieyss
post May 21 2011, 04:58 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ May 21 2011, 04:03 PM)
yes ur rite, buy low sell high theory is valid .most important, is to read up and research the background of the funds properly before buying. as we know, some funds are even struggling to break even @ IPO price even after 3years or more.
Thanks for your reply, appreciate it cos I got to understand as much as possible to make decision which fund to go for before everything is too late.

I have finally finished reading this entire thread... rclxub.gif Tired! sweat.gif

Few questions here:

1. PBSmall Cap fund already closed on 4 May 2011, right? Does that mean even the existing investor wants to top up money into it, it is not allowed?
Secondly, is it a trick from Public Mutual to open the fund at this point of time as now the market is too hot, KLCI is almost breaking the historical height, they expect investors buy in at high price then after KLCI crash, price drop and investors lose money?

2. TO kuchingfight, from your statement above, how does it relevant to what gark has pointed out? He said 'It doesn't matter if the NAV is high or low, the investment stays the same.' Would you elaborate further?

This post has been edited by debbieyss: May 21 2011, 04:59 PM
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 05:52 PM

4,458 posts

By the way, i have a question that bothering me.

Why shouldn't we buy Bond Fund during bull market? Isn't the Bond Fund's price is low now? Why should we buy Bond Fund when bear market comes as it would be too late already, no?
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 06:01 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 22 2011, 05:56 PM)
Generally, in bull market, equity will tend to outperform. Bond market usually moves inversely to equity. When bear market comes, agent will advise unitholders to switch into bond market to lock the earlier gained profit.
Meaning the price of Bond Fund will be going lower and lower during bull market right? Can someone buy Bond Fund during bear, just to 'stand by'?
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 06:21 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 22 2011, 06:09 PM)
I won't say that the price will decline over time during bull market; let's put that the return is a more likely a constant of a relatively linear relationship and barely could outperform equity.

You can always buy a bond fund anytime as it offers stable and constant annual return. The return is generally higher than a 12-month FD.
Yup. Will check it out Public Bond Fund later... Thanks.
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 06:25 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 22 2011, 06:23 PM)
Public Bond Fund is currently closed. You may want to look for other bond fund.
WHAT? blink.gif cry.gif

Why Public Mutual always close the funds one...
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 06:32 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 22 2011, 06:26 PM)
Here're the funds which are still closed:

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/LinkClick.a...UQY%3d&tabid=87
Last time you mentioned you have PIBond, or something like that?
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 06:42 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 22 2011, 06:32 PM)
Heheh - i think Public Bond fund closed liao for new & additional buying. There's alternatives like Public Strategic Bond Fund OR if U don't mind other fund houses' bond funds (which has been beating Public Bond Fund  wub.gif) - checkout AmDynamic Bond's 1yr, 3yrs, 5yrs stats.
AmDynamic Bond..... Not bad not bad... brows.gif
debbieyss
post May 22 2011, 09:36 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ May 22 2011, 08:30 PM)
BECAREFUL of amdynamic bond. It's fundamentally good , 0% sales charge. BUT, redemption (sellingback) there's 1% charge  doh.gif  . So let's say after xx years and u've accumulated RM100 000, 1% charge = rm1000  sweat.gif

My advice, start with PB Fixed income..no brainer, it's the better bonds of all u can invest now. Or RHB islamic bond fund is good too. 0% sales charge, 1% charge if u sell it back before 1yr. no charge after 1yr
Yes, I did notice the 1% sales charge. But I'm also thinking if the bond can bring me good profit, 1% would be small matter; compare to other poorer performance bond, even they charge you only 0.75% but their profit is lesser than other bond. The total net profit should be concerned. In the end it would be what you prefer, I would say.

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 22 2011, 08:53 PM)
Ah, here it is http://www.ambg.com.my/ambank_webmedia/fil...ndFactSheet.pdf
"Entry Charge: Nil
Exit Fee: Up to 1.00% of the NAV per unit"

Now i remembered my Q to the branch Mgr SS2 on Sat - "Backload up to 1%?!"  tongue.gif
Yup still, best to get it in writing what's the new thing now "Up to..."
Yes, I noted that the performance of a bond might not keep up 10years later as how it is now. But no one can predict the future. biggrin.gif
Example, many years ago people said BAT isn't a good stock and sold it out, but you see, it is now selling at RM45+ now.

But thanks for your reminder, I appreciate it. notworthy.gif I haven't made up my mind which to invest, still investigating and studying.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: May 22 2011, 09:42 PM
debbieyss
post May 30 2011, 09:59 AM

4,458 posts

Actually, gomen shouldn't tax the dividend below certain amount of figure. When trustee cash out the few hundreds dividend, there is already some fees to pay. After that, not much remain also... doh.gif
debbieyss
post Jun 1 2011, 08:30 AM

4,458 posts

I met a UT consultant yesterday and he advice me to invest Public Dana Saving Fund.

Any one of you investing or have invested this before? Can give me some opinions? I need to know the pros and cons about this.

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jun 1 2011, 01:10 AM)
I was told got new fund coming out.

Singapore fund.. something like this.. Can confirm?
Yes, confirm. Today is the launching for this Singapore Equity Fund.
debbieyss
post Jun 1 2011, 05:32 PM

4,458 posts

Sorry all for the mistake. I have clarified with the UT consultant. It was Public Saving Fund, not Public Dana Saving Fund. He suggested me to invest in one lump then followed by few hundreds of monthly investment for at least 3 years. He told me this fund has won many awards over the past 30 years.

May i know the pros and cons of this fund?

Besides that, he also suggested me to invest in Public Ittikal Fund. Mind to share me the pros and cons also?

Thanks for all.
debbieyss
post Jun 2 2011, 06:15 PM

4,458 posts

So meaning there are no cons for both Public Saving Funds and Public Ittikal Fund?

Impossible...
debbieyss
post Jun 2 2011, 11:27 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jun 2 2011, 11:12 PM)
download the prospectus here and fund report. read and compare..and u'll know what ur investing in better. don just invest blindly or listen to ur agent

like i've mentioned, u hav to compare the geographical, sector etc invested in. i personally will stick to malaysia theme fund
Thanks for replying my post.

I have downloaded and viewed and compared the funds, only that I'm looking for real life experience from all of you, if Public Saving Fund and Public Ittikal Fund are reliable.
debbieyss
post Jun 4 2011, 04:40 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(jtleon @ Jun 4 2011, 11:28 AM)
cons for mutual fund not limited to PSF and PIF are
due to higher fees than stocks, REIT, ETF
you need to invest for at least 3 yrs to have real profit
so u better don't need to touch that money during the first 3 yrs
That's definitely not my concern because I'm investing for middle to long term, also for my retirement fund actually...
Thanks for your reply!
debbieyss
post Jun 4 2011, 09:21 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(thugs @ Jun 4 2011, 08:54 PM)
I'm currently suggesting Public Ittikal Fund as it gives free insurance as well (at least maintaining at RM5000 investment with RM1=RM1 insured). You can get more information from Public Mutual office or get a UTC to share with you more info. Public Ittikal Fund just announced 8 sen per unit dividend. And it's one of the award winning fund.

Just my humble 2 cents opinion. smile.gif
Thanks...

But how come my consultant never inform me about this?

What kind of insurance is it?

0.0411sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:43 PM