7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Nexus One LYN Official Review & Testing, Our very own testing playground on N1 :)

Andrewtst
post Mar 20 2010, 02:36 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Mar 19 2010, 10:38 PM)
i just flashed modaco's latest desire ROM which is the shipping ROM for desire....
honestly i kinda like sense UI better than the stock ROM...
Yeah me too! SenseUI is better than Stock ROM. Bravo! Paul! which turn miracle to reality.

Update review on Alpha 17:

What is Cool:
- Base on Final Desire ROM

What is FIX:
- The camera flash completely fix, now is awesome.
- No more graphics gritch issue, all is running fine now.

What is not working:
- The extra widget always download failure, I can view it but unable to download it.

When this ROM could be as Final:
- Bluetooth fully working.
- Radio working (since already can tune channel, I believe this is comign soon)
- More smoother performance especially when using live wallpaper.

Andrewtst
post Mar 21 2010, 04:31 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

CyanogenMod 5.0.5-N1 Review

user posted image user posted image

Pros:
  • The most smoother experience I ever get in Nexus One.
  • Ability to show full screen and hide visual zoom button in browser is awesome.
  • Black background in Message is cool, but I more prefer Handcent.
  • Apps2SD is fully functioning, bravo! as you can seen in above screenshot my SD card secondary size is reducing.
  • Battery percentage showing is awesome.
  • Track ball wake up is awesome.
  • Not much major issue found.

Cons:
  • "Seeds of Life" live wallpaper still randomly FC.
  • Aldiko still having issue on not saving the last page you read and can't display book title in recent view main page.

Above screenshot is taken with status bar customization done by David1171. Link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=640707
Andrewtst
post Mar 22 2010, 12:06 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

CyanogenMod 5.0.5.1-N1 Updates Review

•Showing album art in widget is damn cool! Love it!
•The About Phone now show correctly the build number as EPE54B.

* Temporary don't use the HelixLauncher2 v0.6 (system app) as it will make your phone less smooth, you will notice a bit lagging everywhere. Need wait the author after settle his own stuff and continue update this great HelixLauncher2. Not sure about the standalone version as I not test it yet.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 22 2010, 12:11 PM
Andrewtst
post Mar 22 2010, 01:55 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(davidwyl @ Mar 22 2010, 01:37 PM)
Cyanogen Mod 5 (CM5) is your baby smile.gif
shahz, i have 1 question with the cyanogenmod.
if i not mistaken i read somewhere said FM radio is not working.
is the FM radio work with CyanogenMod?
Nexus out of the box don't have FM radio which means CynogenMOD ROM don't have as well at the moment.

Paul Desire ROM is trying to on back the FM radio, at the moment, his change log mention can find channel but no sound out.

* GSMARENA has mention Nexus actually have FM radio but not implemented yet by Google Android.

Added on March 22, 2010, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(shahz @ Mar 21 2010, 08:24 PM)
I'm hoping cyanogen will release his version of Desire ROM..That would be great..
I hoping as well, if release by Cyanogen, the Desire ROM sure FLY!!!

Added on March 22, 2010, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(ivanlmh @ Mar 21 2010, 07:52 PM)
Flashed to 5.05 as well. Totally agree with andew..love the track ball wake and seems faster and faster...
If the trackball can do both job together then more great! tongue.gif

Now can only choose either one:
- Trackball wake up or
- Trackball music playback next track.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 22 2010, 01:59 PM
Andrewtst
post Mar 24 2010, 10:03 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(Slekerz @ Mar 24 2010, 05:06 AM)
If you guys like me want to customize everything on N1, you should download metamorph apps from market, from metamorph you  can customize your status bar, keypad and everything, here i show my theme, you guys can download theme at forum.xda-developer.com, android rocks rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif
Nice rclxms.gif

Some question:
- any drawback of metamorph?
- would it slowing down the system?
- after use, possible to revert back to original?

Added on March 24, 2010, 10:54 amVersion 5.0.5.3-N1 is out.

Change Log:
- Fix issue with backuptool not formatting /system
- Fix NPE crash in music app

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 24 2010, 10:54 AM
Andrewtst
post Mar 24 2010, 11:12 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(Slekerz @ Mar 24 2010, 11:04 AM)
Pros of metamorph
You don't have to go to RA amro to flash your theme
Just put your theme on android theme folder
Go to metamorph apps, pick your theme and flash
Your system will not slow down

Cons
If you want to go back to original theme
You have to go to recovery image and flash back your original theme
Thanks a lot smile.gif will try soon smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Mar 24 2010, 12:32 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(korengger @ Mar 24 2010, 11:00 AM)
Hi, is flashing the radio necessary for CM5.0.5.2? Can I simply skip that procedure? Reason is, I have read many problems from users who have tried to flash their radios (not able to start, hang at boot, etc).

Also, been doing a bit of reading but cant seem to find an answer for this. Whats included inside Google Addon. I understand its optional, but what are the benefits should I choose to flash it into my N1?

Shahz, how is the 3G reception on CM5.0.5.2?

And CM5.0.5.3 just came out...whoa.
Radio is not neccessary if you never facing any signal issue, anyway current latest radio seems no different also.

Google Addon is a must for Cyanogen ROM, or else you might facing cannot login to google account.

Added on March 24, 2010, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(larkowen @ Mar 24 2010, 12:19 PM)
Wanna ask what is actually the BUILD NUMBER ?

Mine is ERE36B..

By changing it, better performance? Please advice.
ERE36B and EPE54B is basically same. Not much different.

At the moment, only CyanogenROM version 5.0.5.1 and above (latest is 5.0.5.3) can show correctly the build number as EPE54B.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 24 2010, 12:35 PM
Andrewtst
post Mar 25 2010, 09:38 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

Successful overclocking my Nexus One to 1.113Ghz smile.gif

Go below for instruction smile.gif

http://forum.legendroid.com/roms-firmwares...ne-to-1-113ghz/
Andrewtst
post Mar 26 2010, 09:06 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(musz78 @ Mar 25 2010, 11:32 PM)
Bro how u set to adb?? coz i cant detect devices
Did your Android SDK working before, and adb work at phone on not at bootloader area.
Andrewtst
post Mar 28 2010, 01:02 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 27 2010, 10:28 PM)
guys, sad thing just happened... my nexus was stolen =(
So sorry to hear about that. Just be carefull next time and always remember don't ever put any electrical or any value for money things inside the truck when away.
Andrewtst
post Mar 28 2010, 02:13 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(dEvILrOx @ Mar 28 2010, 10:30 AM)
sad.gif Astro pop up suddenly say beta will be end in 3 days :S means we need to pay already ?
I also notice that and I went over to market and just knew the latest version 2.24 is beta and it clearly mention it will expired on 31/March/2010. sad.gif
Andrewtst
post Mar 28 2010, 02:34 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Mar 28 2010, 02:29 PM)
The only way to buy the Astro File Manager is online with credit card?
Sad~ 3 days more~

from soo
They is no paid app yet at the moment, maybe it just beta, maybe nope, need to wait the author updates 1st then we just knew.

If paid apps, then I can't purchase, the Market (even after fake it) don't have country as Malaysia to choose at credit card part.

And the SlideMe don't have Astro File Manager also (and SlideMe seems updates slowly than market, their software list there is not the latest version most of it)
Andrewtst
post Mar 28 2010, 09:25 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 28 2010, 04:45 PM)
I have bought so far 6 apps thro marketplace. You have to set up a account at GoogleCheckout ( safer ) : https://checkout.google.com/

I use my Paypal account ( tied to Msia Maybank credit card)

When you transact on the phone, the payment is auto done and you need not key in any personal details. Just make sure your GMail address is same as that in your Google checkout account. So far all the transactions very fast within half minute apps downloaded
Thanks Benny 888 biggrin.gif So Happy biggrin.gif

Going to try out now biggrin.gif

How to use PayPal account? I don't see an option for that.

Success added my VISA card biggrin.gif not sure why it decline my Master card. Weired.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Mar 28 2010, 10:00 PM
Andrewtst
post Mar 29 2010, 02:42 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 29 2010, 11:17 AM)
You can only see PayPal option if you have a paypal account already ; I have been buying a lot of stuffs on the internet and I always use Paypal which is much safer ; keying in your card details all over over several seller's sites just seems very insecure to me. The account setup at Paypal is very easy and is free : https://www.paypal.com. I was very suprise when Maybank even call me to verify  for my first transcation US1.49 using Google Checkout. She explained this was my first time using GoogleCheckout and just wanted to verify
I got PayPal account, but how do I integrate on GoogleCheckout?
Andrewtst
post Mar 29 2010, 04:24 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(ebernie @ Mar 29 2010, 02:58 PM)
I actually use a fake billing address to get pass the registration. After that, I switched my address to Malaysia and it still works. So you may wanna try that. Already bought a couple of applications and games smile.gif
Is ok, I already bought few also. Forget of PayPal (it charge to my CC also anyway)
Andrewtst
post Mar 30 2010, 04:33 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

Just install and subscribe to lost.fm

USD $ 3.00 per mth. You can try for 3 days if you are not subscribe.

love it biggrin.gif

I can stream the song (high quality) without any drop at all. biggrin.gif

No choice use Pandora, so alternative using last.fm then.

I know VPN can make Pandora work, too troublesome for me this, forget it.
Andrewtst
post Mar 30 2010, 04:52 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(kc_soo @ Mar 30 2010, 04:49 PM)
Good News for all ASTRO File Manager lover~ (^^)

Latest version 2.3.0 Beta just released for update~ Next expired date is 31 May 2010. (^^)

from soo
Yalo, they are too free, I just notice all Astro version is beta with expired date.
Andrewtst
post Apr 1 2010, 11:24 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(shahz @ Mar 31 2010, 01:50 AM)
Its typically a iPoison. Crappy device still gains publicity because its used by everyone. If no one advertises Android, no one will see the potential. We have a big proof here that our Nexus One owns better than that iPoison. I'm sick of that device really!

I had expectations from Digi at least although I am not a Digi user. If Digi would've started Android promo, I would buy Digi line too to support them!
Agree! even Singapore also not advertise on it. all cellular there never sell any unit of Nexus One, Milestone, X10 or upcoming Desire.

Android needs more publicity, still too many people thought the best is still iPhone.. what so fantastic about that?
Andrewtst
post Apr 2 2010, 08:28 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 2 2010, 10:28 AM)
i read in Desire thread they are mentioning that many current Nexus user will jump to Desire once it is release..

so anyone here is confirm to do so?

i myself not sure bout it yet, but in terms of design, for me desire looks a bit unbalanced because of it's lower button positioned.. and nexus one looks way sexier than the desire..

but i really like Sense UI and i guess my next move is depends on whether Paul or other devs manage to fully port the desire's sense ui into the nexus ..
I definately wont, what the point changing from Nexus One to Desire?

The different is too little and Desire don't have noise cancellation.

If you ask me whether I interesting on changing from Nexus One to HTC EVO, then Yes I will thought about it and think, but percentage is low.

For me, both Nexus One UI and Sense UI got it own beauty. smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Apr 4 2010, 01:58 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,769 posts

QUOTE(ochinchoon @ Apr 3 2010, 02:33 AM)
hahahahahaha okie?
why do u say nexus is is performance over customization..?
tot both also android same platform what legend can do nexus also can do?

very tempted on getting nexus with its 480x800 WVGA resolution but dun really like the trackball...=P

Added on April 3, 2010, 2:55 amanyhow hows the gps lockdown time. is it very long?
Both phone is android 2.1, true but both in different specification, hardware on Nexus One is far far better than Legend.

Nexus One
- 1Ghz processor
- 480 x 800 resolution
- 512MB RAM

HTC Legend
- 600 Mhz (0.6Ghz) processor
- 320 x 480 resolution
- 384MB RAM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top