12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Seeking 42" Full HD LCD, need sifu recommendations!!!

darenlks
post Feb 8 2010, 05:36 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 8 2010, 04:59 PM)
The RGB gain and offset is the white balance/greyscale adjustments. Kudos to Toshiba for providing all the controls for calibration. Hopefully, when I calibrate a set for someone I can see how well they react. There are not many consumer sets that have both the greyscale and 3D CMS. Hopefully, they function well.

BTW cool whites are not accurate as per D65 standards. The correct D65 white will be slightly yellowish to ur eyes if u r used to whites that are bluish.

Contrast setting is an adjustment of luminance of the whites.
Tx for the clarification and you are right, I'm used to the bluish white as I like brighter display. Learnt something today from a real sifu here on the correct white balance rclxms.gif .
anfieldude
post Feb 8 2010, 05:51 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Feb 8 2010, 05:36 PM)
Tx for the clarification and you are right, I'm used to the bluish white as I like brighter display. Learnt something today from a real sifu here on the correct white balance  rclxms.gif .
Once calibrated to D65, u can get brighter whites. That's one of the advantages of calibration.
Bart-man
post Feb 8 2010, 06:14 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Feb 8 2010, 03:04 PM)
Why settle for medium range model if you have the budget to go for their latest flagship ZV series  wink.gif
Eh dun poison me la bro, I'm trying to convince myself to buy based on need not based on how much money I can afford to spend! sweat.gif

I have talked to more people about the 200Hz thing. Seems it really only matter most during live TV broadcast like football and other sports channel, which are captured in 50/60Hz. As for movies, even action films, the capture source is 24Hz and the best way to view it is in 24Hz itself. I have even seen recommendations to turn off those 100/120/200/240 enhancement while watching 24p film to avoid the unwanted "soap opera" effect.

Of course, ZV has the option to enable or disable Clearscan 200 as you wish, whereas RV doesn't have the option at all. But I think I can live without it since I seldom watch live sports channel.

I think I'm also not so worried about the 10-bit color processing since I did not find any banding issues with the display set at the shop.

As for Resolution+, I think it will become less important once everything starts moving to HD already.

So now, the only dealbreaker left is the glare panel vs matte panel. I haven't seen an actual ZV set before so I dunno, but the SA say I can refer to Samsung Series-6 and above to get an idea of glare panel. To me, it's true it looks nicer even when the TV is switched off. But the 25% price premium is still giving myself a lot of thinking to do for now rclxub.gif

If someone wants to sponsor me the 25% for sure I will grab ZV la drool.gif
darenlks
post Feb 8 2010, 06:22 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 8 2010, 05:51 PM)
Once calibrated to D65, u can get brighter whites. That's one of the advantages of calibration.
I wish I have such knowledge in base colors management to gain the most advantages out of it drool.gif. Now could only adjust them base on my bare eyes until I'm satisfied with the end result blush.gif

Added on February 8, 2010, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(Bart-man @ Feb 8 2010, 06:14 PM)
Eh dun poison me la bro, I'm trying to convince myself to buy based on need not based on how much money I can afford to spend!  sweat.gif

I have talked to more people about the 200Hz thing. Seems it really only matter most during live TV broadcast like football and other sports channel, which are captured in 50/60Hz. As for movies, even action films, the capture source is 24Hz and the best way to view it is in 24Hz itself. I have even seen recommendations to turn off those 100/120/200/240 enhancement while watching 24p film to avoid the unwanted "soap opera" effect.

Of course, ZV has the option to enable or disable Clearscan 200 as you wish, whereas RV doesn't have the option at all. But I think I can live without it since I seldom watch live sports channel.

I think I'm also not so worried about the 10-bit color processing since I did not find any banding issues with the display set at the shop.

As for Resolution+, I think it will become less important once everything starts moving to HD already.

So now, the only dealbreaker left is the glare panel vs matte panel. I haven't seen an actual ZV set before so I dunno, but the SA say I can refer to Samsung Series-6 and above to get an idea of glare panel. To me, it's true it looks nicer even when the TV is switched off. But the 25% price premium is still giving myself a lot of thinking to do for now  rclxub.gif

If someone wants to sponsor me the 25% for sure I will grab ZV la  drool.gif
Your SA is correct, the glare panel looks similar to those glare type of Samsung 6 series and above. Why don't you go to other shops to check it out yourself as I believe one of these shops should have it as display unit kua

No body could poison you lah if you already know exactly what you want tongue.gif . Since you don't fancy all these features in the ZV series then the RV should be good enough for you as 25% price premium may not sound justifiable just for the glare panel. wink.gif

Try to ask your family members to share share lah since everyone will be watching the same tv brows.gif

This post has been edited by darenlks: Feb 8 2010, 08:57 PM
Bart-man
post Feb 8 2010, 11:41 PM

73 posts

Yeah! Bought already! No need to crack my head anymore! laugh.gif

My 42RV600E arriving tomorrow! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Thanks for all your recommendations! notworthy.gif
darenlks
post Feb 9 2010, 01:05 AM

639 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Feb 8 2010, 11:41 PM)
Yeah! Bought already! No need to crack my head anymore!  laugh.gif

My 42RV600E arriving tomorrow!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Thanks for all your recommendations!  notworthy.gif
Congrats bro and enjoy your new tv rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by darenlks: Feb 9 2010, 01:05 AM
karheng
post Feb 9 2010, 08:46 AM

934 posts

gald to hear that.
cyanide
post Feb 9 2010, 01:36 PM

193 posts

how much ar???

eMKs
post Feb 9 2010, 02:15 PM

647 posts

Congrats.. rclxms.gif 35% less power consumption than 42ZV600E
Save the planet thumbup.gif
Bart-man
post Feb 9 2010, 03:07 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ Feb 9 2010, 01:36 PM)
how much ar???
RM3000 inclusive of wall bracket and installation. Lowest price I could find at Penang laugh.gif

Added on February 9, 2010, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(eMKs @ Feb 9 2010, 02:15 PM)
Congrats..  rclxms.gif  35% less power consumption than 42ZV600E
Save the planet  thumbup.gif
Yeah, one of the reason that helped me settle on my final decision laugh.gif

And thanks to all, this thread has given me all the confidence I need to get a Toshiba LCD TV. I will definitely enjoy my new TV! Arriving anytime now... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Bart-man: Feb 9 2010, 03:15 PM
Bart-man
post Feb 10 2010, 06:16 PM

73 posts

Got my 42RV600E yesterday and spent whole night setting it up and enjoying it. Love it very much! laugh.gif

Many people told me that analog TV reception using aerial is very poor quality for LCD TV compared to CRT, but this set has no such problem! I dun have astro yet, so I got TV1, TV2, TV3, NTV7, 8TV and TV9 all tuned in via analog aerial. All are very clear, no noise at all, basically comparable to astro output! rclxm9.gif

Upscaling from SD content is great for this set as well despite the lack of Resolution+ like the ZV series. The best part is the "Super Live" feature, making all my 4:3 content appear full screen without looking "fat"! Totally impressed by the technology! notworthy.gif

Wish I could post some photos but LYN is having some upload issue now sweat.gif later lah...
eMKs
post Feb 10 2010, 06:27 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Feb 10 2010, 06:16 PM)
Got my 42RV600E yesterday and spent whole night setting it up and enjoying it. Love it very much!  laugh.gif

Many people told me that analog TV reception using aerial is very poor quality for LCD TV compared to CRT, but this set has no such problem! I dun have astro yet, so I got TV1, TV2, TV3, NTV7, 8TV and TV9 all tuned in via analog aerial. All are very clear, no noise at all, basically comparable to astro output!  rclxm9.gif

Upscaling from SD content is great for this set as well despite the lack of Resolution+ like the ZV series. The best part is the "Super Live" feature, making all my 4:3 content appear full screen without looking "fat"! Totally impressed by the technology!  notworthy.gif

Wish I could post some photos but LYN is having some upload issue now  sweat.gif  later lah...
Glad to hear that, enjoy your TV.
Actually, if you can receive TV signal clearly using normal TV antenna, it's better than Astro SD channel on LCD TV. (from my observation)
So, this is time to get Astro Byond... brows.gif

This post has been edited by eMKs: Feb 10 2010, 06:28 PM
VeeJay
post Feb 10 2010, 11:32 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(toyotarave @ Jan 11 2010, 08:36 AM)
Got my L42S10K for RM2499 with 3 years Panasonic standard warranty last week (register online) - to me Panasonic gives more natural picture - dont believe all those color management, whatever technology thingy - as long as the skin tone of the actors is what it should be and the picture is sharp then thats the best way to watch - I find the other brands depend on a lot of confusing terms to hide the fact that a picture should be as close to natural as it can be.
Glad to see someone who speaks my language! Many just dont understand...enhancement colors are just a mask or makeups, natural color is what one oughta look for. thumbup.gif
darenlks
post Feb 11 2010, 12:14 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 10 2010, 11:32 PM)
Glad to see someone who speaks my language! Many just dont understand...enhancement colors are just a mask or makeups, natural color is what one oughta look for.  thumbup.gif
Are you from Mars ? tongue.gif

Most of the tvs now could produce natural color with billion or even trillion of colors they could display, it's just up to the owner to tweak the base color to the right level for the desired output
kuanhon
post Feb 11 2010, 08:14 PM

190 posts

tempted to get 42RV600E too.. but at the same time i'm considering panasonic TH-L42S18k.. anyone with the later can provide some advice? thanks!
Bart-man
post Feb 12 2010, 04:48 PM

73 posts

Here is a photo of my new TV wink.gif

izwan810
post Feb 12 2010, 04:51 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Bart-man @ Feb 12 2010, 04:48 PM)
Here is a photo of my new TV  wink.gif

clean and nice!!!
prominen
post Feb 12 2010, 05:13 PM

290 posts

how is the motion flow? 100 hz capable?
jimmydotnet
post Feb 12 2010, 05:14 PM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

so clean...but i prefer panasonic....panny-fanboy
Bart-man
post Feb 12 2010, 05:20 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(izwan810 @ Feb 12 2010, 04:51 PM)
clean and nice!!!
Thanks! But that's becoz it's rather empty now... time to get some game console, media player, sleek HTPC... drool.gif

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:32 PM