25 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Acer Aspire 5740G-524G50 New! Rm 2999. Worth it?, Core i5-520M, 512MB HD 5470, 4GB, 500GB.

admnovsk
post Feb 7 2010, 07:24 PM

244 posts

hey guys....need your opinion..

im not really a gamer, but is this laptop good enough? jz now i went to lowyat and the shop agree to sell it to me for 2900...i might go n buy it in 2-3 days.

i mainly play heroes of newerth, thats all really haha.im jz a bit concerned becouse the graphic card in this laptop is jz an entry level card.
leyley
post Feb 7 2010, 10:01 PM

2,096 posts

Maybe can play in normal settings hmm.gif
Loki[D.d.G]
post Feb 8 2010, 06:03 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(admnovsk @ Feb 7 2010, 07:24 PM)

im not really a gamer, but is this laptop good enough? jz now i went to lowyat and the shop agree to sell it to me for 2900...i might go n buy it in 2-3 days.

i mainly play heroes of newerth, thats all really haha.im jz a bit concerned becouse the graphic card in this laptop is jz an entry level card.
I wouldn't call it entry level. More like a lower-mid range GPU. Still quite capable though
skeleton202
post Feb 9 2010, 03:21 AM

Perdana Malaysia ke-9
1,132 posts

same price with shop i found
the100308
post Feb 9 2010, 11:50 AM

1,849 posts

2900, where u got it?
nothing_nth
post Feb 9 2010, 12:37 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(admnovsk @ Feb 7 2010, 07:24 PM)

Lol..HON only requires slightly higher graphic processor thn dota...mayb same as L4D...therefore... tis lappy confirm can handle...HON...FYI...even my Ati4570 can set max setting... flex.gif
the100308
post Feb 9 2010, 01:26 PM

1,849 posts

anyone knwo wer to get keyboard skin for 5740?
shogunkeron
post Feb 9 2010, 04:08 PM

53 posts

so conclusion , is tis lappy really worth the price we throw to it???

look like i'm the another ppl to buy tis thing =.='
cyberian
post Feb 9 2010, 04:14 PM

491 posts

just got his lappy yesterday... price 2980 + 250 for extended 1+2 year warranty

This post has been edited by cyberian: Feb 9 2010, 04:52 PM
Dragonrider
post Feb 9 2010, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(shogunkeron @ Feb 9 2010, 04:08 PM)
so conclusion , is tis lappy really worth the price we throw to it???

look like i'm the another ppl to buy tis thing =.='
Yes, absolutely!

This laptop is a gem to me, well at least after 2 weeks of using it. Really stoked at how responsive a.k.a fast it is, especially when I have photoshop, winamp, microsoft word/powerpoint, and downloads running simultaneously, all at the same time.

Heatwise, doesn't get warm enough to burn my palm or fingers. I consider this a really "cold" lappie well at least after the huge leap of upgrade that i had from my previous one....that was bad, stuffed up badly on the hardware etc but that's another story...tee hee .

Gaming...I reckon, i've got a reputation as a casual one, not hardcore. I play some not-so-demanding games such as machinarium, chrysis, and kung fu panda. They display pretty mint on the 5740..havent got any problem with it so far, my only issue is that the sounds system isn't as loud as i thought it would be when i hv the headphones one, but delivers nicely when the lappie's speakers are turned on.

Overall, pretty SATISFIED with this baby biggrin.gif

cyberian
post Feb 9 2010, 05:42 PM

491 posts

anyone have the picture of the laptop bag come with this lappy? I bought the lappy but have to wait for the bag :-s
Dragonrider
post Feb 9 2010, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(cyberian @ Feb 9 2010, 05:42 PM)
anyone have the picture of the laptop bag come with this lappy? I bought the lappy but have to wait for the bag :-s
HAHA! The store's salesmen gave me an ACER bag for my 5740 but when i tried placing the notebook in...didn't fit cuz lappie was tad huge. Went back and exchanged it for a HP bag instead. Din't bother much as I wouldn't use my bag as much.
limht1986
post Feb 9 2010, 07:01 PM

Before this i was thinking to buy HP (Attractive design) or ACER (On site service) but...Siao liao, after spent time reading this thread ! Confirm wanna buy this baby adi !

ACER ASPIRE 5740G i wanna bring u back !
kemhse
post Feb 10 2010, 08:20 AM

Going off topic, any Ipoh or Penang members know where to get the 3 year RM298 acer extended warranty? Have asked quite a number of shops but they only have the RM198 warranty.

This post has been edited by kemhse: Feb 10 2010, 08:21 AM
cyberian
post Feb 10 2010, 06:09 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(kemhse @ Feb 10 2010, 08:20 AM)
Going off topic, any Ipoh or Penang members know where to get the 3 year RM298 acer extended warranty? Have asked quite a number of shops but they only have the RM198 warranty.
What i know for laptop under RM2500 Acer extended warranty is Rm198, for laptop above Rm2500 have to purchase RM298 extended warranty
kemhse
post Feb 10 2010, 08:43 PM

Yes, bought the 5740g on Saturday but the dealer only had the RM198 - seems like they'll only get the RM298 warranty next week.
SaintX6
post Feb 11 2010, 03:49 AM

91 posts

Hey guys,
can you guys recommend me wheres among the best place to get this laptop?
the100308
post Feb 11 2010, 08:35 PM

1,849 posts

Guys, I just installed Need For Speed Shift for a few days, the 1st few days was smooth and good in normal graphic setting but today, i donou why, The FPS of the game seem to be lowered ( I feel, no prove) and It took sometime for the screen to response to my key..

So what should I do? I mean what setting
faidz85
post Feb 11 2010, 08:39 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Is your laptop plugged in?
the100308
post Feb 11 2010, 08:53 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Feb 11 2010, 08:39 PM)
Is your laptop plugged in?