25 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Acer Aspire 5740G-524G50 New! Rm 2999. Worth it?, Core i5-520M, 512MB HD 5470, 4GB, 500GB.

highwind85
post Feb 3 2010, 10:42 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Feb 3 2010, 05:22 PM)
Bear in mind the resolution you game at also makes a difference on the GPU load.
yeah right...i put 1280 x 720...everything high/highest except anti-alias...GPU peaked at 90degC after 4-5 hrs of gameplay without cooler..
Loki[D.d.G]
post Feb 4 2010, 10:12 AM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:42 PM)
yeah right...i put 1280 x 720...everything high/highest except anti-alias...GPU peaked at 90degC after 4-5 hrs of gameplay without cooler..
Mine was at 1920x1200 tongue.gif
Gebs
post Feb 4 2010, 05:05 PM

49 posts

johnyp91
post Feb 5 2010, 08:34 PM

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Feb 3 2010, 04:24 PM)
Wait till more enemies appear on the screen. Like in Redcliffe.

Even my quad core PC with a HD4870 lagged then... but that was with 8xAA I think.
Dragon Age works fine + no lag at Redcliffe. Ah forgot to take sceen >.<

This post has been edited by johnyp91: Feb 5 2010, 08:35 PM
oec88
post Feb 6 2010, 11:37 AM

385 posts

Just got myself this baby today. biggrin.gif

Really happy with the performance, and the screen color is just nice, some kind of light blue-ish, looks fresh.

What I like about this laptop is the numpad on the keyboard. If I'm not mistaken, seldom laptop come with numpad together with the keyboard.

the100308
post Feb 6 2010, 11:41 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(oec88 @ Feb 6 2010, 11:37 AM)
Just got myself this baby today. biggrin.gif

Really happy with the performance, and the screen color is just nice, some kind of light blue-ish, looks fresh.

What I like about this laptop is the numpad on the keyboard. If I'm not mistaken, seldom laptop come with numpad together with the keyboard.
which make us hard to buy a keypad protector haha
oec88
post Feb 6 2010, 11:46 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(the100308 @ Feb 6 2010, 11:41 AM)
which make us hard to buy a keypad protector haha
That's why, but I won't put keyboard protector on my own laptop. I will just go and buy a kind of sticky product that comes from Apple, it can helps you to clean out the dust inside the keyboard.
malakus
post Feb 6 2010, 05:21 PM

234 posts

Hmm... I'm thinking of buying this laptop... seem to be fairly cheap for the specs.. though it might take a while... budget might be off since i hit a treler with my kancil... i_i

How about heat? does this thing heat up easily? O.o

edit: hmm... don't want to make another post so.. does the laptop only comes in Blue? or is there any other colour

This post has been edited by malakus: Feb 6 2010, 06:17 PM
the100308
post Feb 6 2010, 05:31 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(malakus @ Feb 6 2010, 05:21 PM)
Hmm... I'm thinking of buying this laptop... seem to be fairly cheap for the specs.. though it might take a while... budget might be off since i hit a treler with my kancil... i_i

Depend, if u are a gamer.. then it will get warm
Omnitricks
post Feb 6 2010, 07:25 PM

21 posts

so based on what other people has already posted this won't be so good for those who game a lot? in that cases in terms of gaming would the dell studio 15 be better?
lee_what2004
post Feb 6 2010, 07:32 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(malakus @ Feb 6 2010, 05:21 PM)

edit: hmm... don't want to make another post so.. does the laptop only comes in Blue? or is there any other colour
Only blue.

QUOTE(Omnitricks @ Feb 6 2010, 07:25 PM)
so based on what other people has already posted this won't be so good for those who game a lot? in that cases in terms of gaming would the dell studio 15 be better?
Its not like that, for any performance notebook ,you should expect some heat from it,
in term of gaming performance, the dell studio 15 would have similar performance since the ATi HD5470 is just a rebranded from ATi HD4570...
Najmods
post Feb 6 2010, 08:01 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 6 2010, 07:32 PM)
in term of gaming performance, the dell studio 15 would have similar performance since the ATi HD5470 is just a rebranded from ATi HD4570...
Its not a mere rebadge; HD5470 support DX11 (although it doesn't matter much because its entry level) and have higher core clock, 750MHz vs 680MHz on HD4570. The memory clock so far is the same, which is 800MHz DDR3 although it could support GDDR5 memory but I doubt any manufacturer will used it to save costs
::suMMer::
post Feb 6 2010, 08:28 PM

rm2999 included genuine windows and microsoft office ma? and if acer laptop got problem who should we refer to?

sorry if i'm asking stupid questions.. i'm new icon_question.gif
lee_what2004
post Feb 6 2010, 08:32 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Only windows
Office need to buy separate.
Refer to Highpoint
::suMMer::
post Feb 6 2010, 08:42 PM

how about its after sales service? bcoz i'm going to buy a laptop.. this laptop seems not bad, but many ppl giving bad feedback about acer.. well u know...
lee_what2004
post Feb 6 2010, 08:46 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Well, I can't comment much as I had never send my Acer to a service center before...
Loki[D.d.G]
post Feb 7 2010, 10:53 AM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 6 2010, 08:32 PM)
Office need to buy separate.
There are open source alternatives to MS Office. Try Open Office for starters. Free and pretty darn useful
the100308
post Feb 7 2010, 05:33 PM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:42 PM)
U got GPU sensor?
lee_what2004
post Feb 7 2010, 05:42 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

you can use hwmonitor(if support) or gpu-z or everest to check the gpu temp...
the100308
post Feb 7 2010, 07:23 PM

1,849 posts

my 5740 dun have GPU sensor.. cant detect or wat

25 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:07 AM