Pioneer Kuro PDP-428XG/508XG, Is it still being sold?

TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 8 2010, 04:57 PM, updated 16y ago

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

Are there stores still selling it?

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Jan 8 2010, 04:58 PM
azbro
post Jan 8 2010, 05:13 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 8 2010, 04:57 PM)
Are there stores still selling it?
PDP-428XG Jusco...very expensive...Rm8888..still available..
IF can find in Senq its RM4XXX based on a members feedback.

PDP508XG Senq...goes for RM9XXX...not sure now...

ar188
post Jan 8 2010, 05:22 PM

9,206 posts

resolution too low. 1024x768... paying for 786k pixels feels shortchanged vs normal FullHD 2.07million pixels..
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 8 2010, 07:21 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 8 2010, 05:13 PM)
PDP-428XG Jusco...very expensive...Rm8888..still available..
IF can find in Senq its RM4XXX based on a members feedback.

PDP508XG Senq...goes for RM9XXX...not sure now...
Wow, so expensive still?? How about Desa Home Theater? Anyone checked that out yet?

QUOTE(ar188)
resolution too low. 1024x768... paying for 786k pixels feels shortchanged vs normal FullHD 2.07million pixels..

Resolution is quite low but then at 42", will that make such a big difference?

By the way, I am planning to pair it with a PS3 which is used mainly for BD movies. I plan to use it occasionally with my xbox too. Is that a good choice or should I gun for something else?

So far, I have also checked out the Pana G10 series. Looks really good! drool.gif
seui
post Jan 8 2010, 07:56 PM

235 posts

py800 still 4k too...
ar188
post Jan 8 2010, 08:05 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 8 2010, 07:21 PM)

Resolution is quite low but then at 42", will that make such a big difference?
B
yes if course important, or else why watch 2million pixel full HD BDs? just watch normal DVds if resolution is not a concern.. and way cheaper too.. biggrin.gif

arremie
post Jan 8 2010, 08:21 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

kuro got full hd?
jchong
post Jan 8 2010, 10:31 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 8 2010, 08:21 PM)
kuro got full hd?
Sure. Like the KRP-500A you saw at saprozeldo's place.
jchong
post Jan 8 2010, 10:37 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 8 2010, 05:22 PM)
resolution too low. 1024x768...
Odd how the resolution is 1024x768 (4:3 ratio) when the panel ratio is 16:9.
ar188
post Jan 8 2010, 10:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 8 2010, 08:21 PM)
kuro got full hd?
joking rite? best plasma around and dun have full HD??
arremie
post Jan 8 2010, 11:08 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2010, 10:31 PM)
Sure. Like the KRP-500A you saw at saprozeldo's place.
no wonder it looks fantastic

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 8 2010, 10:38 PM)
joking rite? best plasma around and dun have full HD??
no really no joke. i didnt know. last time i heard no full hd from kuro.

so krp-500a is the final model? kuro no longer in production right?
ar188
post Jan 8 2010, 11:16 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2010, 10:37 PM)
Odd how the resolution is 1024x768 (4:3 ratio) when the panel ratio is 16:9.
the pixels are stretched.. not square..

anyway you can feed it 16:9 video and the internal processor will adjust to make it 16:9 with only 1024x768 pixels..

Added on January 8, 2010, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 8 2010, 11:08 PM)
no wonder it looks fantastic
no really no joke. i didnt know. last time i heard no full hd from kuro.

so krp-500a is the final model? kuro no longer in production right?
full HD pioneers has been around long, but not sold in malaysia few years ago..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 8 2010, 11:17 PM
arremie
post Jan 8 2010, 11:23 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 8 2010, 11:16 PM)
full HD pioneers has been around long, but not sold in malaysia few years ago..
ah ok. thanks for the info. me peasant cant afford kuro blush.gif
ar188
post Jan 8 2010, 11:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 8 2010, 11:23 PM)
ah ok. thanks for the info. me peasant cant afford kuro blush.gif
now cheap cheap.. 4k + for the 428.. if can find.. biggrin.gif
anchovies93
post Jan 8 2010, 11:44 PM

902 posts

Here you go.

http://www.hlk2u.com/Plasma-TV-42-PIONEER-...=876&doit=order

Just buy one unit. I want it too. RM4399. Still cant decide if i should get this kuro or samsung LED. But i love the kuro.Always been a plasma fan....

Hope you enjoy it.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 9 2010, 01:46 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Jan 8 2010, 11:44 PM)
Here you go.

Just buy one unit. I want it too. RM4399. Still cant decide if i should get this kuro or samsung LED. But i love the kuro.Always been a plasma fan....

Hope you enjoy it.
Wah, damn tempting...Good price too.. thanks man..

Added on January 9, 2010, 1:48 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 8 2010, 08:05 PM)
yes if course important, or else why watch 2million pixel full HD BDs? just watch normal DVds if resolution is not a concern.. and way cheaper too..  biggrin.gif
Ummm, what I meant was is there a noticeable difference since it's only a 42". I once read that full HD and HD ready only has a difference on 50" tvs and above.

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Jan 9 2010, 01:48 AM
utellme
post Jan 9 2010, 01:56 AM

919 posts

Here you go.

Hope you enjoy it.
if most of the time the display device spent on Astro / astro HD programme, then PDP-428 is perfect buy for RM4399 and to consider RM3999 for the 50" Panasonic PV80HM which better buy option too. I've the 15 months old panasonic plasma 42PV80HM model come with 5 years warranty and it works very well for astro programme (SD or HD byond) and can display Byond HD picture very clear and nice. but do pick LED or LCD display device , if you often watch Bluray movies.
seui
post Jan 9 2010, 02:05 AM

235 posts

or extend budget to 12k and get that krp-500a....
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 02:13 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 9 2010, 01:56 AM)
if most of the time  the display device spent on Astro / astro HD programme, then PDP-428 is perfect buy for RM4399 and to consider RM3999 for the 50" Panasonic PV80HM which better buy option too. I've the 15 months old panasonic plasma 42PV80HM model come with 5 years warranty and it works very well for astro programme (SD or HD byond) and can display Byond HD picture very clear and nice.  but do pick LED or LCD display device , if you often watch Bluray movies.
if watch Bluray of course choose Plasma la.. why use LCD?
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 9 2010, 11:06 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

Here you go.

Hope you enjoy it.
I have a question, why is it so cheap at HLK? Display unit ah?

arremie
post Jan 9 2010, 11:22 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 9 2010, 02:13 AM)
if watch Bluray of course choose Plasma la.. why use LCD?
why cant use lcd?
putih
post Jan 9 2010, 11:25 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 9 2010, 11:06 AM)
I have a question, why is it so cheap at HLK? Display unit ah?
Desa HT sells 508XG at 8800 and KRP500A at RM13K. For 428XG, it's been discontinued but if you still can get new at RM4.5K or less, grab it. I paid full price at RM6999 more than a year ago. The picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today. Flagship AV in Kepong has full range Kuros and gives best deal also.

TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 9 2010, 11:54 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Jan 9 2010, 11:25 AM)
Desa HT sells 508XG at 8800 and KRP500A at RM13K. For 428XG, it's been discontinued but if you still can get new at RM4.5K or less, grab it. I paid full price at RM6999 more than a year ago. The picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today. Flagship AV in Kepong has full range Kuros and gives best deal also.
The only thing that's stopping me from getting it at this very moment is the fact that it's not Full HD. I am planning on using it for BD movies and I sit 6 feet from the tv (because it's gonna be in my bedroom). Do you think the resolution makes a difference in my case?
anchovies93
post Jan 9 2010, 12:47 PM

902 posts

Display unit or not, oklaaa. Even not full HD, its fantastic. i want one myself.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 9 2010, 01:08 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:47 PM)
Display unit or not, oklaaa. Even not full HD, its fantastic. i want one myself.
Display unit? Don't want la, if that's the case I'll go for the Panny 42" G10. But other places also might be selling at 4.5k so I think it's not a display set.
By the way, has anyone made comparisons between the 428XG and the Pana TH-P42G10K? I am actually torn between the two. Can someone give me their input?

Here are the specs for the Panny: Panasonic Viera TH-P42G10K Specs

ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 01:28 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:47 PM)
428, it's not even proper 720p HD.. dun waste your time on this la unless you firmly SD or DVD camp.. maybe 3years ago is fine without much 720p/1080i/p content, but not now.. with BDs and B'yond Astro
azbro
post Jan 9 2010, 06:29 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 9 2010, 11:54 AM)
The only thing that's stopping me from getting it at this very moment is the fact that it's not Full HD. I am planning on using it for BD movies and I sit 6 feet from the tv (because it's gonna be in my bedroom). Do you think the resolution makes a difference in my case?
6 feet I think 50inch might be larger than life...

Anyway, it put inside bedroom remember to install at a very slanting angle...if not neck and eyes pain
seui
post Jan 9 2010, 06:38 PM

235 posts

read somewhere that g10 black is on par or nearest to 8g pioneer. full hd too..
as per fellow forummers said, if you into BD then its FullHD. if you're astro/dvd then 428xg is among the best if you dont mind spending 4k+...

g10k is around 4.5-5k nowadays right?
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 09:25 PM

9,206 posts

the picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today.
casually on the shop floor I also thing the 428 looks super great..

but then I start noticing jagged lines instead of clean diagonal lines on fonts and logo and objects during demo and movie scenes, can pixel structure.. too distracting for my tastes..

so I cannot agree it's even better than a full HD S10 which is lowest costs at 3k.. ,if it can't resolve even half of the blu ray resolution...

it's like playing 720p PS3 games on composite 480i output instead of HD HDMI connection.. it just doesn't cut it..

Added on January 9, 2010, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 9 2010, 11:22 AM)
why cant use lcd?
read the response to the post below again..

"but do pick LED or LCD display device , if you often watch Bluray movies."

so it means plasma is not recommended over LCD/LED.. sure or not?

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 9 2010, 09:27 PM
gocitygo
post Jan 9 2010, 09:54 PM

397 posts

First time saw the 508XG. Despite not Full HD, I speechless, the picture quality so real and awesome and with '3D' feel. BTW, found one shop is clearing the Display Set for RM7999 (comes with 5 yrs warranty). Really itchy liao... Is this a worth buy for 8th Gen display? Is there any 50" TV comes close to the 508XG's PQ for $8k?
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 10:00 PM

9,206 posts

508 should be ok.. seen mpyw's one many times, very good!..
arremie
post Jan 9 2010, 10:02 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 9 2010, 09:25 PM)
read the response to the post below again..

"but do pick LED or LCD display device , if you often watch Bluray movies."

so it means plasma is not recommended over LCD/LED.. sure or not?
donno coz im not the one who said that. for me it's a matter of personal preference. i prefer lcd over plasma but im not saying lcd is better smile.gif
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 10:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 9 2010, 10:02 PM)
donno coz im not the one who said that. for me it's a matter of personal preference. i prefer lcd over plasma but im not saying lcd is better smile.gif
I'm merely answering your question on why I said that (cos someone suggest LCD/LED).. not whether I'm interested to know if you prefer LCD or plasma.. biggrin.gif
arremie
post Jan 9 2010, 10:19 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 9 2010, 10:10 PM)
I'm merely answering your question on why I said that (cos someone suggest LCD/LED).. not whether I'm interested to know if you prefer LCD or plasma..  biggrin.gif
....and im just asking back why u said if watch bd use plasma n not lcd...why...why... laugh.gif
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 11:12 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 9 2010, 10:19 PM)
....and im just asking back why u said if watch bd use plasma n not lcd...why...why... laugh.gif
u ask why anfielddude got a Plasma instead of LCD la.. I'm sure his answer is very agreeable to me.. (after all he got calibrator eyes) biggrin.gif

arremie
post Jan 9 2010, 11:34 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

laugh.gif i rest my case then. never want to argue with sifu tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 10 2010, 12:00 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 9 2010, 11:34 PM)
laugh.gif i rest my case then. never want to argue with sifu tongue.gif
I saw our kawan yesterday,.. we should meet up together soon.. biggrin.gif

saprozeldo
post Jan 10 2010, 12:08 AM

113 posts

just got mine a couple weeks back.. DesaHT, go see Chin.. can get better price than that but it was a cash deal tho.. 428XG and 508XG is HDReady but pic quality is still superb.. saw the latter at mpyw.. watching animation really give you that wow factor..
QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 9 2010, 01:08 PM)
Display unit? Don't want la, if that's the case I'll go for the Panny 42" G10. But other places also might be selling at 4.5k so I think it's not a display set.
By the way, has anyone made comparisons between the 428XG and the Pana TH-P42G10K? I am actually torn between the two. Can someone give me their input?
Here are the specs for the Panny: Panasonic Viera TH-P42G10K Specs
someone said if display pun, just get it.. kinda agree with him.. but nego further la.. you know, 428XG really extinct oredi.. kinda like collector's item oredi.. heheh.. even 508XG is running out.. you notice how you see used panny/samsung/sony/other always appearing on mudah for sale.. ever see a pioneer TV? i know none coz been monitoring for some time.. ANYWAYS, you go la bring your favorite bluray go to your favorite shop and ask them to play d bluray on d G10 and 8XGs.. let your eyes decide..

some ppl questions pioneer PQ since HDready at 720p (or shd i say 768p).. i used panny's 42LZ80 FullHD and 42S10 FullHD.. then made a trip to mpyw's pad and watched a couple of MKV and bluray demo on his 508XG.. decided there and then, when i got me some moolah, will get me a kuro..

so when i got my kuro, watched kungfu panda.. feels like am watching it for the first time all over again.. this is coming from a panny guy with LZ80 fullHD and S10 fullHD.. still keep my LZ80.. always reminding me how the PQ upgrade justify the premium i had to pay.. tongue.gif

Added on January 10, 2010, 12:18 am
QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 9 2010, 09:54 PM)
First time saw the 508XG. Despite not Full HD, I speechless, the picture quality so real and awesome and with '3D' feel. BTW, found one shop is clearing the Display Set for RM7999 (comes with 5 yrs warranty).  Really itchy liao...  Is this a worth buy for 8th Gen display?  Is there any 50" TV comes close to the 508XG's PQ for $8k?
i dun rep desaHT but fyi can get better than that price for New set from my sales guy at desaHT..

re PQ, think if you wait a couple months.. i think by then there may be some models challenging the 508XG.. but owning a kuro for namesake, think that is irreplaceable.. thought of the panny P50V11 before pioneer krp500.. unfortunately, that one you have to smuggle from singapore la.. panny not bringing into malaysia.. panny's p54z1 is in malaysia BUT its too expensive.. 19k vs 12k..

This post has been edited by saprozeldo: Jan 10 2010, 12:18 AM
gocitygo
post Jan 10 2010, 05:47 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Jan 10 2010, 12:08 AM)
i dun rep desaHT but fyi can get better than that price for New set from my sales guy at desaHT..

re PQ, think if you wait a couple months.. i think by then there may be some models challenging the 508XG.. but owning a kuro for namesake, think that is irreplaceable.. thought of the panny P50V11 before pioneer krp500.. unfortunately, that one you have to smuggle from singapore la.. panny not bringing into malaysia.. panny's p54z1 is in malaysia BUT its too expensive.. 19k vs 12k..
Bro, too bad i'm from north. Any idea how much is new set for 508XG @ Desa HT? drool.gif
wkang
post Jan 10 2010, 08:36 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 10 2010, 05:47 AM)
Bro, too bad i'm from north.  Any idea how much is new set for 508XG @ Desa HT?  drool.gif
Not sure about Desa, was at Harvey Norman Mid Valley yesterday, IIRC even they were listing the price for a 508xg at RM8888.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 10 2010, 12:53 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

Anyone care to make comparisons between a 428/508XG with either a S10/G10?
I am currently torn between the S10/G10 and the 428/508. Help!!
gocitygo
post Jan 10 2010, 08:45 PM

397 posts

Bro Demon, it is better to bring yr favourite disc to test out @ yr normal viewing distance. Let yr eyes to decide. Do take note S10, G10 & 428/508 are different league lo... also the price...
arremie
post Jan 10 2010, 08:52 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

apple n orange?
se7enhafiz
post Jan 11 2010, 12:41 AM

155 posts

i now have pana g10..superb plasma for the price..4.5k..u'll get deep black depth n very good motion handling..n natural color..here in penang still can find pioneer 428xg..last time the price was 4599..for me..as for now..i think it is best to go for pana 42g10..if u can wait sometime..around 4 months time..pana will release new LED LCD TV..
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 09:04 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 10 2010, 08:45 PM)
Bro Demon, it is better to bring yr favourite disc to test out @ yr normal viewing distance.  Let yr eyes to decide.  Do take note S10, G10 & 428/508 are different league lo... also the price...
Different league? But same price range ma. Thanks, I plan to go check them all out.

Added on January 11, 2010, 9:08 am
QUOTE(se7enhafiz @ Jan 11 2010, 12:41 AM)
i now have pana g10..superb plasma for the price..4.5k..u'll get deep black depth n very good motion handling..n natural color..here in penang still can find pioneer 428xg..last time the price was 4599..for me..as for now..i think it is best to go for pana 42g10..if u can wait sometime..around 4 months time..pana will release new LED LCD TV..
I don't want an LED LCD TV. I prefer a plasma since I'm gonna use it for BD movies.

The G10 and the 428 have good black levels. Does the G10 better the 428 in this department? It's hard to see it in a shop because they are usually brightly lit so I need a owner's perspective.
The other main difference here is the resolution. Will it make a difference to a normal person? G10' full HD and 428XG is not.

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Jan 11 2010, 09:08 AM
mpyw
post Jan 11 2010, 09:12 AM

3,603 posts

G10 vs 428

I will take G10 for:-

newer tech
fullHD
428 is like produce in 2006/2007 ago sweat.gif

unless u go for KRP500/600, then I don't see why u don't want the Panny G series....
azbro
post Jan 11 2010, 09:15 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 09:04 AM)
Different league? But same price range ma. Thanks, I plan to go check them all out.

I don't want an LED LCD TV. I prefer a plasma since I'm gonna use it for BD movies.

Although I'm a plasma user and also loves to go around checking out new and good stuff, comparing this and that..

I personally find LEDLCD TV very attractive...especially Samsung series 7 & 8....and I meant it for movies...
anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 09:24 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 09:04 AM)

The G10 and the 428 have good black levels. Does the G10 better the 428 in this department? It's hard to see it in a shop because they are usually brightly lit so I need a owner's perspective. 
The other main difference here is the resolution. Will it make a difference to a normal person? G10' full HD and 428XG is not.
G10 does not reach the black levels of the 428. Nor does it have the colour accuracy of the 428. Another area where the 428 is better is the availibility of the 9 point gamma correction for better overall greyscale and gamma.

I believe the G10 and the 428 are pretty close in Lumens/Watt technology, however the G10 is slightly higher in that aspect since it was newer.

Resolution wise of course the G10 is Full HD vs 428 which is only 1024X768.

Will u notice the resolution difference, only u can tell. Ur viewing distance of 6ft comes into the territory of where u shd see the difference.

However, in my opinion on a 42in set, the pixels are already very close to each other, some people will not see a difference on moving pictures. On static images, difference will be there, again depending on how observant u r.

On ar188 comment, on scaling artefacts, I have not seen them on actual Blu Ray content but on actual test patterns it can be observed, albeit subtlely. There is no actual jagged edges, however, on 1080p test patterns, there are instances of loss of resolution.

I have also found that in my case to reduce the artefacts due to downscaling on test patterns, being able to output 720p from a capable Blu Ray player reduces these instances. Again, it does not seem to matter when viewing actual HD material, especially since the 428 is capable of accepting 1080p/24Hz and reproducing it at 72Hz. This is an area that I am not sure if the G addresses.

All in all, the decision is urs. In my opinion, if it is a 50in set, I think Full HD is important, on a 42in set, resolution is not the no 1 issue as the pixels are pretty close together. However, people differ in what they see and hear, and some people are more sensitive to things than others. So I would suggest u taking ur favourite Blu Ray Disc and get them to test it on both the sets and view it from ur viewing distance.

engseng
post Jan 11 2010, 10:09 AM

1,981 posts

How much different is the 508XG with the KRP-500A?
arremie
post Jan 11 2010, 10:20 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

about 4k?
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 10:59 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 09:24 AM)
G10 does not reach the black levels of the 428. Nor does it have the colour accuracy of the 428. Another area where the 428 is better is the availibility of the 9 point gamma correction for better overall greyscale and gamma.

I believe the G10 and the 428 are pretty close in Lumens/Watt technology, however the G10 is slightly higher in that aspect since it was newer.

Resolution wise of course the G10 is Full HD vs 428 which is only 1024X768.

Will u notice the resolution difference, only u can tell. Ur viewing distance of 6ft comes into the territory of where u shd see the difference.

However, in my opinion on a 42in set, the pixels are already very close to each other, some people will not see a difference on moving pictures. On static images, difference will be there, again depending on how observant u r.

On ar188 comment, on scaling artefacts, I have not seen them on actual Blu Ray content but on actual test patterns it can be observed, albeit subtlely. There is no actual jagged edges, however, on 1080p test patterns, there are instances of loss of resolution.

I have also found that in my case to reduce the artefacts due to downscaling on test patterns, being able to output 720p from a capable Blu Ray player reduces these instances. Again, it does not seem to matter when viewing actual HD material, especially since the 428 is capable of accepting 1080p/24Hz and reproducing it at 72Hz. This is an area that I am not sure if the G addresses.

All in all, the decision is urs. In my opinion, if it is a 50in set, I think Full HD is important, on a 42in set, resolution is not the no 1 issue as the pixels are pretty close together. However, people differ in what they see and hear, and some people are more sensitive to things than others. So I would suggest u taking ur favourite Blu Ray Disc and get them to test it on both the sets and view it from ur viewing distance.
Thanks mate!
I'll definitely bring my favourite BD (Dark Knight) when I go check out the G10 and the 428. Besides those, are there any other plasmas that are in the same price range that will give me comparable PQ?

Added on January 11, 2010, 11:09 amI found out that the PDP-LX508G is Full HD. Anyone know the price of this? It should be the cheapest full HD Pioneer around rite?

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Jan 11 2010, 11:09 AM
anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 11:13 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 10:59 AM)
Thanks mate!
I'll definitely bring my favourite BD (Dark Knight) when I go check out the G10 and the 428. Besides those, are there any other plasmas that are in the same price range that will give me comparable PQ?
Unfortunately, none.

Also, I would advise u to see if u can notice the differences between the Full HD and the HD Ready. This is the main factor. The other factor is there will be definately some lower energy consumption on the G10, but it is neglible. In all other areas, post calibration the 428 is superior. However, u might not be able to notice them in the showroom. The settings of the G10 and the Kuro are important.

One thing to note though, the Movie mode on the Kuro does not yield a very bright picture in the showroom however with Colour Space 2 it is the most accurate out of the box. Of course, to get brighter u need to enable the ISFccc modes that enable a brighter image without clipping. U can use User mode to compare, set colour space to 2, contrast around 28 and brigthness not more than 1. Set colour at around +3. Shut off all Noise Reduction. The 428 and the 508 have overscan by default and cannot be turned off. U will lose about 8 pixels of info on each side. Select the Full viewing mode.

The G10 using Standard will look brighter but the colour reproduction is innaccurate. However, post calibration the greyscale is pretty good. Only problem is the gamma curve is S shaped. What this will show is more details in shadow that shd not be visible. U can calibrate that out but u will end up with black crush. To compare use either Normal or Standard (I'm not sure) and set contrast around 80 and brightness at zero. Colour shd be around 58 or so. Swithc off Overscan. Select the Just viewing mode.

Happy choosing.
anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 11:14 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 10:59 AM)
Thanks mate!

Added on January 11, 2010, 11:09 amI found out that the PDP-LX508G is Full HD. Anyone know the price of this? It should be the cheapest full HD Pioneer around rite?
If u r going for the LX, might as well go for the KRP-500, I believe is around 13k. I doubt u can get a LX below RM10k.
gocitygo
post Jan 11 2010, 11:19 AM

397 posts

Bro Demon, with Dark Knight, you shall appreciate the dark scenes.

Why not 508XG? The resolution is higher at 1365 x 768, but still not a Full HD.

I don't think you can calibrate the color for S10 and G10. If you are serious about color accuracy, you should consider those TV with CMS.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 11:29 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 11:14 AM)
If u r going for the LX, might as well go for the KRP-500, I believe is around 13k. I doubt u can get a LX below RM10k.
Well, there goes the idea of getting the LX la. Hahaha..Thanks for your very valuable info. You have both the G10 and the Kuro i pressume? I've been asking around and most of my friends tell me that they are not able to notice the difference between Full HD and HD Ready, so I am more inclined to the Kuro at the moment.

Added on January 11, 2010, 11:31 am
QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 11 2010, 11:19 AM)
Bro Demon, with Dark Knight, you shall appreciate the dark scenes.

Why not 508XG?  The resolution is higher at 1365 x 768, but still not a Full HD.

I don't think you can calibrate the color for S10 and G10.  If you are serious about color accuracy, you should consider those TV with CMS.
I like the 508XG too. Do you happen to know the current price? It's listed as RM9999 in Pioneer's Malaysian website.

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Jan 11 2010, 11:31 AM
lightastral
post Jan 11 2010, 11:31 AM

220 posts

nods, the difference between 508xg and krp-500 is about 4k. nevertheless, its also worthwhile to check out what panasonic going to offer in a few more months.

though we always get the downgraded ones...

which is why my vote is with pioneer, tq for selling xg,lx and krp even at a premium.

This post has been edited by lightastral: Jan 11 2010, 11:32 AM
gocitygo
post Jan 11 2010, 11:35 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 11:29 AM)
Well, there goes the idea of getting the LX la. Hahaha..Thanks for your very valuable info. You have both the G10 and the Kuro i pressume? I've been asking around and most of my friends tell me that they are not able to notice the difference between Full HD and HD Ready, so I am more inclined to the Kuro at the moment.
Perhaps this might help. But again, use your own eyes.

When I watch 508XG for the first times, I was blown away with the superb picture quality, film like quality and didn't cross my mind what was the screen resolution. blink.gif

stardust
post Jan 11 2010, 11:48 AM

454 posts

i own a 428 pioneer. linked it with my xbox 360 , pc , dvd player.
still happy and satisfied with it performance.
anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 11:52 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 11:29 AM)

Added on January 11, 2010, 11:31 am

I like the 508XG too. Do you happen to know the current price? It's listed as RM9999 in Pioneer's Malaysian website.
I own the 428 and the 600M. I have calibrated numerous S10s, X10s (C10) and played around with a G10. I have not calibrated a G10 so am unsure of the true potential. However, I have seen teh calibrated numbers of a THX enabled G10 and I know that the differences between that and the S10 are not too much, except that it has better black levels. Asian G series does not have THX, so the only difference is increased levels of gradiation (different panel) and better blacks due to a mixture of panel and AR coating.

The V and the Z series have more accurate colours.

The 2010 V series will be the one to match the Kuros.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 11:59 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 11:52 AM)
I own the 428 and the 600M. I have calibrated numerous S10s, X10s (C10) and played around with a G10. I have not calibrated a G10 so am unsure of the true potential. However, I have seen teh calibrated numbers of a THX enabled G10 and I know that the differences between that and the S10 are not too much, except that it has better black levels. Asian G series does not have THX, so the only difference is increased levels of gradiation (different panel) and better blacks due to a mixture of panel and AR coating.

When you say that, do you mean the 428 or the latest Kuros? Do you happen to know the pricing for the 508XG? I think that would be a better option than the 428 rite? Since the resolution is better on the 508. Not considering the $$$ I would have to splash of course. tongue.gif
azbro
post Jan 11 2010, 11:59 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 11:52 AM)

What abt Samsungs LEDLCD TV...especially series8..have you calibrated that yet?....the images looks maybe too good to be true..whats your opinion?

braveheart
post Jan 11 2010, 12:08 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 11 2010, 11:59 AM)
What abt Samsungs LEDLCD TV...especially series8..have you calibrated that yet?....the images looks maybe too good to be true..whats your opinion?
Ah bro, you seem to have very deep interests in these units and I am sure one day you will get one of them.
Last week 2 of my friends were going to buy and they had viewed other brands and models etc etc and before putting the hammer down they came and viewed them for half an hour and then they placed orders for 2 units. Though still pricey but they had no qualms about it.

Sorry to tumpang this thread. Out of topic.

This post has been edited by braveheart: Jan 11 2010, 12:09 PM
azbro
post Jan 11 2010, 12:21 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(braveheart @ Jan 11 2010, 12:08 PM)
Ah bro, you seem to have very deep interests in these units and I am sure one day you will get one of them.
hehe.dun get me wrong...first is I hate Samsung brand what more of LCD colors...but I can't lie to myself...I've fallen in love with the Samsung LEDLCD series 8.
arremie
post Jan 11 2010, 12:29 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

yeah i dont like samsung brand also last time but now samsung series 8 really caught my attention
ar188
post Jan 11 2010, 12:43 PM

9,206 posts

8500.. very good!
azbro
post Jan 11 2010, 12:56 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 11 2010, 12:43 PM)
8500.. very good!
Estimate how much for 50inch one? hmm.gif
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 12:58 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 11 2010, 12:56 PM)
Estimate how much for 50inch one?  hmm.gif
I saw some forummers selling them. Forgot the price tho. Btw, anyone has any idea how much the 508XG costs? I've been looking around but found nothing.
azbro
post Jan 11 2010, 01:10 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 12:58 PM)
I saw some forummers selling them. Forgot the price tho. Btw, anyone has any idea how much the 508XG costs? I've been looking around but found nothing.
I think its RM9,999 at Senq...but dunno latest price now...if still available or not.
ar188
post Jan 11 2010, 01:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 11 2010, 12:56 PM)
Estimate how much for 50inch one?  hmm.gif
46inch is around 2.5k in US.. 55 will be more...

http://www.avguide.com/review/samsung-8500...ing-playback-26

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 11 2010, 01:20 PM
braveheart
post Jan 11 2010, 01:22 PM

208 posts

Taken off the official website already. Don't know why? Last time abt 3.6k for 55".
gocitygo
post Jan 11 2010, 01:32 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 12:58 PM)
SenQ is selling 508XG for RM7999 (Display set), calar a bit here n there on the plastic cover. No problem on the panel since its made of glass biggrin.gif. New set at Harvey for RM8999. If you don't mind about Display set, you can save RM1k brows.gif

I believe Pioneer wanted to clear all old model since their new Flagship Full HD plasma oledi in the market.

Anothing thing, the 508XG contrast spec is 16000:1 whereas the current Plasma oledi in millions:1. Is the latter one inflated no or different test mode? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by gocitygo: Jan 11 2010, 01:33 PM
ar188
post Jan 11 2010, 01:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 11 2010, 01:32 PM)
SenQ is selling 508XG for RM7999 (Display set), calar a bit here n there on the plastic cover.  No problem on the panel since its made of glass  biggrin.gif.  New set at Harvey for RM8999.  If you don't mind about Display set, you can save RM1k  brows.gif

I believe Pioneer wanted to clear all old model since their new Flagship Full HD plasma oledi in the market. 

still got new flagship plasma models???
low98944
post Jan 11 2010, 01:38 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

SenQ is selling 508XG for RM7999 (Display set), calar a bit here n there on the plastic cover.  No problem on the panel since its made of glass  biggrin.gif.  New set at Harvey for RM8999.  If you don't mind about Display set, you can save RM1k  brows.gif

Anothing thing, the 508XG contrast spec is 16000:1 whereas the current Plasma oledi in millions:1.  Is the latter one inflated no or different test mode?  rclxub.gif
16000:1 should be native contract where millions:1 is dynamic contract. tongue.gif Very interesting want to know the performance for 2010's Panasonic VT25 series so-called 5,000,000:1 native contract. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Jan 11 2010, 01:39 PM
gocitygo
post Jan 11 2010, 01:47 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 11 2010, 01:37 PM)
still got new flagship plasma models???
oopsss..should be current flagship. he he.

anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 01:48 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 11 2010, 11:59 AM)
I have calibrated the 950. The edge LED backlits are pretty good, but not as good as the 950.

The Sammys strengths are the colour accuracy post calibration with the 3D CMS. However, the greyscale and gamma is not that great. The calibrated contrast ratios will still be not as high as a plasma, however, for gaming will be good.

Also if u watch movies in the dark, they still leave a bit to be desired in black levels.

However, if I were to suggest to anyone to get a LCD, i would recommend a local dimming LED backlit set. Hence the 950. I believe Sammy is not planning to release the 8500 to Asian and European regions.

anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 01:50 PM

3,858 posts

Anothing thing, the 508XG contrast spec is 16000:1 whereas the current Plasma oledi in millions:1.  Is the latter one inflated no or different test mode?  rclxub.gif
I would suggest u contacting a LX dealer. There are a few left, if the dealer cares to find one. Be careful there are plenty of display sets around. My friend got one in November (new set) for RM8500.
saprozeldo
post Jan 11 2010, 01:54 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 10 2010, 05:47 AM)
Bro, too bad i'm from north.  Any idea how much is new set for 508XG @ Desa HT?  drool.gif
cash price, less than rm8k.. how much less depends on your nego skills..
gocitygo
post Jan 11 2010, 02:19 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 01:50 PM)
I would suggest u contacting a LX dealer. There are a few left, if the dealer cares to find one. Be careful there are plenty of display sets around. My friend got one in November (new set) for RM8500.
LX508 for RM8500. drool.gif Do you have any contact @ Penang? TQ.

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Jan 11 2010, 01:54 PM)
TQ.
ar188
post Jan 11 2010, 02:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Jan 11 2010, 01:54 PM)
need to "show me the money" technique ? biggrin.gif
anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 02:28 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 11 2010, 02:19 PM)
LX508 for RM8500.  drool.gif  Do you have any contact @ Penang?  TQ.
TQ.
Forgive me if I confused you. Contact a LX dealer. Then get them to quote the XG. The price was for a 508XG and not a LX508G. The only dealers that can carry Pioneer stuff are LX dealers. I was told that Pioneer has taken control of all its remaining stocks to clear the last batch.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 02:35 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

Wah, that's nearly double the price of the 428XG! HLK is selling the 428 for 4400. Would that be a display item since the website only states that there are 4 units available?
Source: http://www.hlk2u.com/Plasma-TV-42-PIONEER-...=876&doit=order
anfieldude
post Jan 11 2010, 02:43 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 02:35 PM)
Wah, that's nearly double the price of the 428XG! HLK is selling the 428 for 4400. Would that be a display item since the website only states that there are 4 units available?
Watch out, there seems to be many display sets out there.

Do u know how to check the hours? Else PM I will let u know.
ar188
post Jan 11 2010, 02:48 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 02:35 PM)
428 = non HD panel, not even 720p
508 = HD panel..

I would think based on that alone it's preferable to get the HD panel one..
gocitygo
post Jan 11 2010, 02:55 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 02:43 PM)

Bro, can you PM me how to check the hours. TQ
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 03:27 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 11 2010, 02:43 PM)

Is it possible for me to check the hours before I buy it? Won't they get offended? I'm sure the salesperson will tell me that it's brand new even if it's a display set.
ronnt88
post Jan 11 2010, 03:29 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 03:27 PM)
Is it possible for me to check the hours before I buy it? Won't they get offended? I'm sure the salesperson will tell me that it's brand new even if it's a display set.
who cares if they get offended? doh.gif

do they care when they tell u it's new but u find out later it's a display unit???

This post has been edited by ronnt88: Jan 11 2010, 03:30 PM
azbro
post Jan 11 2010, 03:31 PM

4,403 posts

Actually, you've got a right to know if he is selling you a demo set..or a new one...some ppl dun mind demo set..but ask for discounts.
TSDemonTweakZ
post Jan 11 2010, 03:52 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

Anfieldude,
Could you give me a comparison between the G10 and the S10? Those two are my 2nd and 3rd choice respectively. If the 428 is going to be a display model, I won't get it. I would rather get the G10 or the S10. I would also appreciate opinions from anyone else.
kayly
post Jan 16 2010, 03:05 PM

68 posts

G10 definately better in my eyesight, try to go to harvey norman midvalley whereby they compare side by side among G10, X10 and lcd panel..
norazwan79
post Jan 16 2010, 06:00 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 11 2010, 03:27 PM)
check the hours
saprozeldo
post Jan 17 2010, 09:31 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jan 16 2010, 06:00 PM)
so bro norazwan79, did you get your kuro? good price? how do you find your kuro experience? worth the premium?
azbro
post Jan 17 2010, 11:24 AM

4,403 posts

I think that Desa electronic store is having a sale, those interested should check it out...they should Pioneer TV in their Adverts
anfieldude
post Jan 17 2010, 04:57 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jan 16 2010, 06:00 PM)
This is for 9G and is outdated. For 8G u can check using the remote.
norazwan79
post Jan 19 2010, 12:32 AM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Jan 17 2010, 09:31 AM)
so bro norazwan79, did you get your kuro? good price? how do you find your kuro experience? worth the premium?
Bought krp500A @RM11.5k. Very satisfied with the performance compared to my old LCD TV.
3 HDMI input used for ps3, dvico player and desktop pc.
The PQ of pc at 1920x1080 resolution superb! unbelievable! shocking.gif
I never expect plasma tv can do better like this, close to lcd monitor PQ. Sharp fonts, no blurrish etc....
Really worth for money. thumbup.gif
Thanks bro saprozeldo for ur shop suggestion. biggrin.gif
mie77
post Jan 19 2010, 12:53 AM

19 posts

Don't mind me askin, where did u bought the KURO?Here in KK very hard to get that sort of pricing..most of the shops here quoted me RM13K plus...
anfieldude
post Jan 19 2010, 10:21 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:32 AM)
Bought krp500A @RM11.5k. Very satisfied with the performance compared to my old LCD TV.
The PQ of pc at 1920x1080 resolution superb! unbelievable!  shocking.gif
I never expect plasma tv can do better like this, close to lcd monitor PQ. Sharp fonts, no blurrish etc....
Thanks bro saprozeldo for ur shop suggestion.  biggrin.gif
For the 500A with the ISFccc u can get a brighter more accurate image post calibration. Above 50ftL with no clipping!
ronnt88
post Jan 19 2010, 11:17 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:32 AM)
The PQ of pc at 1920x1080 resolution superb! unbelievable!  shocking.gif
Thanks bro saprozeldo for ur shop suggestion.  biggrin.gif
damn good price bro.... wonder wat's the latest price for KRP600M hmm.gif
lightastral
post Jan 19 2010, 11:43 AM

220 posts

good price bro. nice bargain.wonder it'll drop under 10k in the next few months. LG also has launched led sl90. dunno the price though...
norazwan79
post Jan 19 2010, 11:46 AM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 19 2010, 11:17 AM)
RM23k
C.T. Seong
post Jan 19 2010, 11:50 AM

494 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:17 PM)
ar188
post Jan 19 2010, 12:11 PM

9,206 posts

I wonder how much elite anfield bought it ?
anfieldude
post Jan 19 2010, 12:43 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:11 PM)
I wonder how much elite anfield bought it ?
I bought mine at a bundle with some friends who purchased the older 8G (428XG, 508XG). I bought it around RM23k+ with 5 yr warranty (bundle price 5 months ago). At that time, the MSRP was RM35k, selling price was between RM25-27k depending on where u asked.

Not elite lah...

CT.Seong,
Is the price at 21.9K with 5 yr warranty.

I think if anyone can get it at the current price is pretty good. From what I heard, there are limited units left for the 600M. There are more units of the KRP-500A left at the moment.

From what I have heard the M series calibrates slightly better than the A, but I doubt the eye could actually see it.

Also the 500 series is rumored to be slightly "blacker" as the incorporated some of the 10G advancements that they did that did not make it to the 60in, except possibly the last batch.

Added on January 19, 2010, 12:51 pm
Another note:

I for one was really not sure how much more the last gen Pioneers would improve of the 8G 428XG/508XG. However, the black levels improvements are pretty clear when compared. I did some quick cals (non ISFccc) to get the greyscale close. The Ms have the "Pure" mode. Without too much changes the greyscale was tracking below DE1976 of 1! Gamma was tracking at 2.25 and was flat. Colours were almost perfect within the CIE1931 coordinates. DE1994 on most colours below 3. Slightly higher DE on blue as it was slightly in the CIE triangle. Nighttime viewing using a bias lighting behind the set, I cannot distinguish the bezel from the black (2.35:1) bars. I set it for 20ftL only as the set only has 90hrs or viewing on them

The sets will improve after the 50hr mark, drastic improvements after the 200hr mark. The picture will deteriote from 200hr - 270+hrs. Then it will become better after that. Black levels will continue to improve until the 700hr mark, where it will be as black as that going forward.

However, no set is perfect and there are some flaws that were there even on the 8G Kuros.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jan 19 2010, 12:51 PM
ar188
post Jan 19 2010, 01:06 PM

9,206 posts

wah it cost x2 of the wira in my house.. not elite ar?
anfieldude
post Jan 19 2010, 01:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 19 2010, 01:06 PM)
wah it cost x2 of the wira in my house.. not elite ar?
My friend, based on the constant rumors abt u, this one display cannot match ur other sports car and ur numerous almost erotic relationship with swiss watches.... biggrin.gif

Ur the true elite, its just that ur interests have moved on to greener pastures

ar188
post Jan 19 2010, 01:53 PM

9,206 posts

I only have S10 plasma.. bought for slightly over rm3k , peasant status.. biggrin.gif

Added on January 19, 2010, 1:54 pmhopefully, we can meet up when you down in KL... maybe at taiko's mpyw place.. would be great!

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 19 2010, 01:54 PM
Boon3
post Jan 19 2010, 01:55 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 19 2010, 01:32 PM)
My friend, based on the constant rumors abt u, this one display cannot match ur other sports car and ur numerous almost erotic relationship with swiss watches.... biggrin.gif

Ur the true elite, its just that ur interests have moved on to greener pastures
No wonder everone calls you taukeh! tongue.gif

anfieldude
post Jan 19 2010, 01:55 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 19 2010, 01:53 PM)
I only have S10 plasma.. bought for slightly over rm3k  , peasant status..  biggrin.gif
Not to mention a older panny projector that at the time that u bought it was an arm and a leg! biggrin.gif

But we digress and before someone comes over and asks us to shut up, we shd.

Added on January 19, 2010, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 19 2010, 01:53 PM)
I only have S10 plasma.. bought for slightly over rm3k  , peasant status..  biggrin.gif

Added on January 19, 2010, 1:54 pmhopefully, we can meet up when you down in KL... maybe at taiko's mpyw place.. would be great!
Yeah, my next trip, will also bring over the CMS box, tested it briefly, very impressed. Will send it back for an upgrade to the Pro version.

BTW, u can check out the CMS box as the NDA is already lifted, Its called VideoEQ by AVFoundry. There is a clip over at YouTube on the unveiling at CES. I will try to start a thread on it.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jan 19 2010, 01:57 PM
ar188
post Jan 19 2010, 01:57 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 19 2010, 01:55 PM)
Not to mention a older panny projector that at the time that u bought it was an arm and a leg! biggrin.gif

But we digress and before someone comes over and asks us to shut up, we shd.
biggrin.gif it's still going strong on 1st bulb 2+k hours!!!

gocitygo
post Jan 29 2010, 08:50 PM

397 posts

Went to audit 508XG display set today. From the service menu, already clocked 2800 hrs rclxub.gif If less than 500hrs, perhaps still can consider. Nevertheless, I still impress with the PQ, despite only HD ready.

The funny thing they hooked up the DVD player to this elite TV instead of Blu Ray player doh.gif . Since the demo video was in wide screen mode (with top/bottom black bar), I set the TV to full free and saw the burn-in at the top/bottom black bar area. doh.gif . I believe the video was played in wide screen mode for the last 2800hrs continuously. Not sure can it be cured?
anfieldude
post Jan 29 2010, 11:30 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 29 2010, 08:50 PM)
Went to audit 508XG display set today.  From the service menu, already clocked 2800 hrs  rclxub.gif  If less than 500hrs, perhaps still can consider.  Nevertheless, I still impress with the PQ, despite only HD ready.

The funny thing they hooked up the DVD player to this elite TV instead of Blu Ray player  doh.gif .  Since the demo video was in wide screen mode (with top/bottom black bar), I set the TV to full free and saw the burn-in at the top/bottom black bar area.  doh.gif .  I believe the video was played in wide screen mode for the last 2800hrs continuously.  Not sure can it be cured?
If they only played 2:35 aspect ratio all the time and they set it in dynamic mode, I doubt that can be cured, especially if they have been doing that for 2800hrs!

Was it on dynamic mode? Or movie mode? What was the contrast?
ar188
post Jan 29 2010, 11:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 29 2010, 08:50 PM)
Went to audit 508XG display set today.  From the service menu, already clocked 2800 hrs  rclxub.gif  If less than 500hrs, perhaps still can consider.  Nevertheless, I still impress with the PQ, despite only HD ready.

The funny thing they hooked up the DVD player to this elite TV instead of Blu Ray player  doh.gif .  Since the demo video was in wide screen mode (with top/bottom black bar), I set the TV to full free and saw the burn-in at the top/bottom black bar area.  doh.gif .  I believe the video was played in wide screen mode for the last 2800hrs continuously.  Not sure can it be cured?
then it's still ok if you use it to play 2.35:1 movies.. biggrin.gif
gocitygo
post Jan 30 2010, 07:47 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 29 2010, 11:30 PM)
If they only played 2:35 aspect ratio all the time and they set it in dynamic mode, I doubt that can be cured, especially if they have been doing that for 2800hrs!

Was it on dynamic mode? Or movie mode? What was the contrast?
Didn't check the TV setting. The SA try to use the built in Video pattern program but I doubt it will work.

BTW, the SA very impressed when I used the remote control to enter the Service Menu. Thanks for the tip. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 29 2010, 11:39 PM)
then it's still ok if you use it to play 2.35:1 movies..  biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Someone can have it but not me tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 30 2010, 09:32 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 30 2010, 07:47 AM)
Didn't check the TV setting.  The SA try to use the built in Video pattern program but I doubt it will work. 

they will be more impress if you show them how to turn on ISF-day color.. biggrin.gif
netken
post Feb 2 2010, 11:05 AM

1,298 posts

508XG is an excellent plasma .... =) checked my panel spanking new and after 5 days only 23Hrs - still burning in.

thanks anfield dude for advise = ) - what does panel click means? 36 times on off?

This post has been edited by netken: Feb 2 2010, 11:07 AM
anfieldude
post Feb 2 2010, 11:10 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 2 2010, 11:05 AM)
508XG is an excellent plasma .... =) checked my panel spanking new and after 5 days only 23Hrs - still burning in.

thanks anfield dude for advise = ) - what does panel click means? 36 times on off?
How many times the panel was switched on and off IIRC.
gocitygo
post Feb 2 2010, 12:06 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 2 2010, 11:05 AM)

netken, what a surprise to see you here. from icehifi to lowyat rclxms.gif

mind to PM me where you get the new 508XG? in penang, semua display sets. rclxub.gif
netken
post Feb 3 2010, 07:59 PM

1,298 posts

thanks to mnkh for his recommendation ..

u can get it here ... http://www.hiwaylaser.com/

look for kenny - he is well known in the home audio scene ...
fredyrockz
post Feb 4 2010, 04:37 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 3 2010, 07:59 PM)
thanks to mnkh for his recommendation ..

u can get it here ... http://www.hiwaylaser.com/

look for kenny - he is well known in the home audio scene ...
what price for 508xg there ? seems no price tag @ d site....
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Feb 4 2010, 08:49 PM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(fredyrockz @ Feb 4 2010, 04:37 PM)
what price for 508xg there ? seems no price tag @ d site....
RM 9.9 k (Call for lower price)
fredyrockz
post Feb 4 2010, 11:59 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Feb 4 2010, 08:49 PM)
RM 9.9 k (Call for lower price)
ok thanks... notworthy.gif
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Feb 5 2010, 12:44 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(fredyrockz @ Feb 4 2010, 11:59 PM)
ok thanks... notworthy.gif
You're welcome, but i do suggest you give them a call mate.. thumbup.gif
DigitalKL
post Feb 7 2010, 12:36 PM

1,360 posts

saw the KRP-500A selling at HN Sunway for 19999 yesterday. Then today at mid valley outlet the price is 13999. They can further reduce it down to 12999. Wonder if it comes with the color sensor. Cant ask the salesperson as they are blur. They told me the price doesnt come with the tunes media box. Wonder too if the M model can get it locally. Should be cheaper without the media box. Will this be the last kuro?
anchovies93
post Feb 8 2010, 01:12 AM

902 posts

Kuro is heaven.
arremie
post Feb 8 2010, 01:24 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

you've been there?
zerorulez
post Feb 8 2010, 12:32 PM

1,251 posts

QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Feb 8 2010, 01:12 AM)
Kuro is heaven.
got freebies tickets? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zerorulez: Feb 8 2010, 12:33 PM
lightastral
post Feb 12 2010, 08:12 PM

220 posts

lo there,
guys, wonder whats your setting for viewing beyond on 428xg.

tks.
anfieldude
post Feb 12 2010, 08:31 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 12 2010, 08:12 PM)
lo there,
guys, wonder whats your setting for viewing beyond on 428xg.

tks.
Ah....my 428 is not hooked up to B.yond, when I get a hdmi splitter, I will get some settings for Astro B.yond. However, it is not on my list now, so, it will take time
lightastral
post Feb 12 2010, 09:55 PM

220 posts

thanks bro, i can wait smile.gif

i tried out some of the settings in avsforum, end up need to tweak a bit more..to my eyes though..
index7
post Feb 16 2010, 11:06 PM

49 posts

Arrgghh... I've been looking for the 428XG all over the place. Anyone knows where else I can find it? Tried HLK and they don't have stock anymore. The 50 inch is too expensive for me.
lightastral
post Feb 17 2010, 10:55 AM

220 posts

one shop selling new set in kota damansara. but their price is high...quoted me 5.6k coz they can prove its new, will even show you the hours through the service menu.

last i checked, theres 2 shop that still have display set in shah alam back in jan...dunno whether its been sold or not. forgot the shops name too..

best bet is to wait for 508xg price to drop to 5-6k and haggle it out. theres a lot of 508xg display set still not selling..who knows you might get lucky.

or you can search for samsung b650, its quite good too...
jimmyteng18
post Feb 17 2010, 12:42 PM

669 posts

I've just found out that Penang's HN still got 10 new unopen units of Pioneer 508XG for sale at rm8999.

Is it a good price/buy?
lightastral
post Feb 17 2010, 02:34 PM

220 posts

nope, you better save up 1-2k more and wait and haggle for krp-500a.
someone bought it at 11.5k last month if i am not mistaken...

i think none in the market can beat krp-500a yet. havent see m with my own eyes so cant say much about that one.

index7
post Feb 17 2010, 03:08 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 17 2010, 10:55 AM)
one shop selling new set in kota damansara. but their price is high...quoted me 5.6k coz they can prove its new, will even show you the hours through the service menu.

last i checked, theres 2 shop that still have display set in shah alam back in jan...dunno whether its been sold or not. forgot the shops name too..

best bet is to wait for 508xg price to drop to 5-6k and haggle it out. theres a lot of 508xg display set still not selling..who knows you might get lucky.

or you can search for samsung b650, its quite good too...
Where is it in Damansara? ALso the ones in Shah Alm. If you don't have the shop names, you can tell me the location? Thanks Man!
lightastral
post Feb 17 2010, 03:37 PM

220 posts

the kota damansara shops name is derumah, you can get the contact through pioneer malaysia dealers list.

as for the shah alam...i forgot which one..sorry mate.
index7
post Feb 18 2010, 04:28 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 17 2010, 03:37 PM)
the kota damansara shops name is derumah, you can get the contact through pioneer malaysia dealers list.

as for the shah alam...i forgot which one..sorry mate.
Thanks! What's the power consumption like on these 428 ? I've heard the older plasmas consume a lot of energy - as compared ot the newer plasmas which consume less energy. I do understand that power consumptions depends on how bright or dark the scenes of the movies are.

EDIT: Got the answer already.

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 18 2010, 04:34 PM
arremie
post Feb 18 2010, 05:08 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 18 2010, 04:28 PM)
EDIT: Got the answer already.
what's the answer? tongue.gif
index7
post Feb 19 2010, 12:21 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 18 2010, 05:08 PM)
what's the answer? tongue.gif
298W for the 428XG
366W for the 508XG
386W for the 500A
417W for the LX508G
486W for the 600M
507W for the LX608G

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 19 2010, 12:24 AM
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 20 2010, 06:34 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 19 2010, 12:21 AM)
298W for the 428XG
366W for the 508XG
386W for the 500A
417W for the LX508G
486W for the 600M
507W for the LX608G
Dear fellow Pioneer enthusiasts,

I have just recently purchased the KRP-500A. Not an easy decision but well worth it thumbup.gif

I also own a Sammy 42" Plasma. Honestly, in terms of PQ you can't really compare it especially coupling it with Pioneer BDP-LX52 for Blu Ray movies.

As a matter of fact the combo manage to churn out really sharp pics from my collection of RM12 Blu-Ray D9 copies compared to my old Sammy Plasma/HT setup rclxm9.gif

Currently, still breaking in the unit using Optimum Mode. Once it has reached the 100hr mark, will calibrate it on Pure Mode. Supposed to be amazing, refer to the link below:

http://www.avforums.com/reviews/Pioneer-KRP-500A-Review.html

Btw - I have also heard a rumor that once Pioneer has managed to reduce their stock of their PDPs, prices are likely to soar again as these babies will be collector editions.

Get one while you can, think of it as a long term investment icon_idea.gif

To be honest, I have seen the new breeds of 600Mhz OLED or LCDs. Impressive at first, but after observing awhile you will notice that the smoothness is unnatural as I have read from some where that it is due to overclocking by a few milisecs. Besides, blurring is still a evident.

Rgds,

Nick

lightastral
post Feb 20 2010, 07:10 PM

220 posts

oh, didnt we should avoid optimum or i read it wrongly..

nevertheless, enjoy your purchase, agreed its worth every penny.

428xg performance on astro sd exceed my expectation, even my wife gave the nod.

astro hd is great, i just wish they would put up the subtitle..
anfieldude
post Feb 20 2010, 07:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 20 2010, 06:34 PM)
Dear fellow Pioneer enthusiasts,

I have just recently purchased the KRP-500A. Not an easy decision but well worth it  thumbup.gif

I also own a Sammy 42" Plasma. Honestly, in terms of PQ you can't really compare it especially coupling it with Pioneer BDP-LX52 for Blu Ray movies.

As a matter of fact the combo manage to churn out really sharp pics from my collection of RM12 Blu-Ray D9 copies compared to my old Sammy Plasma/HT setup  rclxm9.gif

Currently, still breaking in the unit using Optimum Mode. Once it has reached the 100hr mark, will calibrate it on Pure Mode. Supposed to be amazing, refer to the link below:

http://www.avforums.com/reviews/Pioneer-KRP-500A-Review.html

Btw - I have also heard a rumor that once Pioneer has managed to reduce their stock of their PDPs, prices are likely to soar again as these babies will be collector editions.

Get one while you can, think of it as a long term investment  icon_idea.gif

To be honest, I have seen the new breeds of 600Mhz OLED or LCDs. Impressive at first, but after observing awhile you will notice that the smoothness is unnatural as I have read from some where that it is due to overclocking by a few milisecs. Besides, blurring is still a evident.

Rgds,

Nick
The KRP-500A in Asia does not have Pure mode.

Only the Ms have Pure mode.

I would suggest not using optimum for now. Use movie mode to break in with reasonable contrast. Or if using the break in DVD then use sport.

Ur best bet is to calibrate it with the ISF modes. That shd be the best for you.
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 20 2010, 11:01 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 20 2010, 07:32 PM)
The KRP-500A in Asia does not have Pure mode.

Only the Ms have Pure mode.

I would suggest not using optimum for now. Use movie mode to break in with reasonable contrast. Or if using the break in DVD then use sport.

Ur best bet is to calibrate it with the ISF modes. That shd be the best for you.

Would certainly give Movie Mode a shot.

For ISF calibration, I was thinking getting a Spryder to do the job. Any other suggestions? hmm.gif

In addition, I also have a HTZ-LX61 as part of my HT setup. The sound is crisp, however, it is quite soft. Have to crank the volume up to 28-30 for movies. Another forumer mentioned about decoding sound as LPCM through HDMI to get the most of it. The BDP-LX52 does decode LPCM but not sure if I need to set it myself.

Another alternative is to get an AV Receiver to beef up the sound system. Any thoughts? icon_question.gif
index7
post Feb 20 2010, 11:24 PM

49 posts

I finally found a brand new 428XG set for RM6.4K. It's on the high side... there is one more unit left. Don't know if I should take the plunge? What do you guys think? Like most people say - I do know that there is a lot of 508XG stock lying about but it's at least 2-3K more expensive.
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 20 2010, 11:37 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:24 PM)
I finally found a brand new 428XG set for RM6.4K. It's on the high side... there is one more unit left. Don't know if I should take the plunge? What do you guys think? Like most people say - I do know that there is a lot of 508XG stock lying about but it's at least 2-3K more expensive.
Between these two TVs, 2-3K is a small price to pay for 8 extra inches. If you are sitting about 10ft +/- from the TV, 50 is prefect. My 42" was a bit small so it ended up in my guest room instead brows.gif

Remember..... we don't buy HDTV once in a blue moon and they don't have much resale value! Besides, within next 6 months you probably won't see many Pioneer Plasma's out there anymore.

Don't skimp if you can afford it. Make a wise choice!

You can thank me later whistling.gif
index7
post Feb 20 2010, 11:45 PM

49 posts

Hmmmm...dilemma sad.gif Currently in my hall, I am sitting about 5-6 feet away from the TV only. Is 42 inch enough ah?

Another thing of my concern is that there is only 7 years more support for the Pioneer plasma. The sales guy said that they all got a letter from Pioneer saying beyond that Pioneer will not be providing support anymore.

Lastly, how much power consumption jump did you see in your electric bill after buying the 50inch? Can you tell me the roughly how much time you use it daily? Thanks!

Cause I just started a house, 2-3K is quite a lot of money for me - cause can buy other furniture or eletrical appliances.... sigh sad.gif

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 20 2010, 11:47 PM
mpyw
post Feb 20 2010, 11:51 PM

3,603 posts

sitting 5-6 ft from the screen?
better get the FullHD unit, the 50" KRP500A is perfect for you...
u can see the full glory of 1080p with your sitting distance for 50"....
index7
post Feb 20 2010, 11:57 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 20 2010, 11:51 PM)
sitting 5-6 ft from the screen?
better get the FullHD unit, the 50" KRP500A is perfect for you...
u can see the full glory of 1080p with your sitting distance for 50"....
then have to eat maggi mee for the next 3 years.... cry.gif If I would upgrade to the 50 inch, it would only be the 508XG. Honestly I looked at both the screens side by side and I can hardly tell a difference.... unless I really look for it... but none of us do that in our normal viewing lah. Another thing, the PQ on this beats all the other brands although the other brands have Full HD. So I let my eyes decide loh... but second most important thing ... wallet also have to decide tongue.gif
mpyw
post Feb 20 2010, 11:59 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:57 PM)
then have to eat maggi mee for the next 3 years....  cry.gif    If I would upgrade to the 50 inch, it would only be the 508XG. Honestly I looked at both the screens side by side and I can hardly tell a difference.... unless I really look for it... but none of us do that in our normal viewing lah. Another thing, the PQ on this beats all the other brands although the other brands have Full HD. So I let my eyes decide loh... but second most important thing ... wallet also have to decide tongue.gif
Yup...the 508XG can beat lots of FullHD TV out there
Me wanted to buy the Panny fullHD (PY800) last time, but at side by side compare with the 508XG that time, even my wife ask me to get the Pioneer...no regret
index7
post Feb 21 2010, 12:14 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 20 2010, 11:59 PM)
Yup...the 508XG can beat lots of FullHD TV out there
Me wanted to buy the Panny fullHD (PY800) last time, but at side by side compare with the 508XG that time, even my wife ask me to get the Pioneer...no regret
Haha... my wife's reaction when I told her the price is "Wahhhh!!" So can I get your views on 2 things?

1. On average how much time you spend watching the Plasma? Roughly how much has your electric bill rise because of the Plasma?
2. Is there any screen burn in issues when you see astro, movies, etc?

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 21 2010, 12:15 AM
lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:19 AM

220 posts

bro, 6.4k is expensive for 428xg. i got mine albeit a display unit at sub-4k.

derumah sell one for 5.6k, at least thats the price they quoted me. if your budget is 6-7k, its better to wait for 508xg. i think by mac or april, it will drop as new models are coming in and the stores definitely need to clear it out.

reevaluate your requirements,needs and budget. do remember that dealers are hard put to sell 508xg due to its premium price. alternatively stretch it to 10k, show the cash and haggle for krp...

if i have 10k i would do that tongue.gif, alas my budget is only 4-4.5k...
mpyw
post Feb 21 2010, 12:19 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 21 2010, 12:14 AM)
Haha... my wife's reaction when I told her the price is "Wahhhh!!" So can I get your views on 2 things?

1. On average how much time you spend watching the Plasma? Roughly how much has your electric bill rise because of the Plasma?
2. Is there any screen burn in issues when you see astro, movies, etc?
1. Never monitor the electricity bill, most increases are due to my usage of the air-cond, not the plasma. If really want to count, maybe RM60 a yaer using the plasma TV? tongue.gif
2. No screen burn whatsoever even the TV are on for more than 8 hours during weekend watching Astro....just set the auto Orbitor on and you're done.

You wife say "Wahhh!" for current price? Imagine what she'll say if she knew how much I paid for it 1.5 years ago.... sweat.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 21 2010, 12:20 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:45 PM)
Hmmmm...dilemma sad.gif  Currently in my hall, I am sitting about 5-6 feet away from the TV only. Is 42 inch enough ah?

Another thing of my concern is that there is only 7 years more support for the Pioneer plasma. The sales guy said that they all got a letter from Pioneer saying beyond that Pioneer will not be providing support anymore.

Lastly, how much power consumption jump did you see in your electric bill after buying the 50inch? Can you tell me the roughly how much time you use it daily? Thanks!

Cause I just started a house, 2-3K is quite a lot of money for me - cause can buy other furniture or eletrical appliances.... sigh sad.gif
As mpyw has mentioned above, 50" would be ideal. Even sitting 10 ft away I find the viewing experience very pleasant as compared to 42".

Can't worry too much about the warranty. I believe you'll get 5yr warranty with a new purchase now. Even with 60,000 hrs lifespan. I seriously doubt many people will still be using their current HDTVs, say 10 yrs from now rolleyes.gif

If parts and warranty means more to you, perhaps you should consider a Panny or Sammy instead? Then again, you won't be owning the last batch of Pioneer PDPs ohmy.gif

I only watch say average 3 hrs a day I guess. Maybe a bit more over the weekend.

If you are moving into a new house it is even more important to consider how much space you have in your living room for your TV. Better not buy a small unit and regret later.... Decisions, decisions, decisions sweat.gif

Come to think of it consider us lucky that the Pioneer Plasmas is only within our reach now that it is discontinued! My 500A retail price when it came out about a year ago is about RM30K!!!! Else, I wound not even consider it, ever!!!

Not an easy choice to make......Do some soul searching. That's exactly what I did rolleyes.gif

Keep me posted.
index7
post Feb 21 2010, 12:30 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 21 2010, 12:19 AM)
bro, 6.4k is expensive for 428xg. i got mine albeit a display unit at sub-4k.

derumah sell one for 5.6k, at least thats the price they quoted me. if your budget is 6-7k, its better to wait for 508xg. i think by mac or april, it will drop as new models are coming in and the stores definitely need to clear it out.

reevaluate your requirements,needs and budget. do remember that dealers are hard put to sell 508xg due to its premium price. alternatively stretch it to 10k, show the cash and haggle for krp...

if i have 10k i would do that tongue.gif, alas my budget is only 4-4.5k...
My wife actually pushing me to buy ASAP the TV. I am leaning towards 508XG... but I would like the price to come down even more.. 6K++ would be ideal. So trying to wait and see.... but also scared that suddenly miss the boat. So it's all about timing loh right now. Having said this, where can I find such sets? I know Harvey Norman has a number of new sets currently selling at RM9K.

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 22 2010, 07:52 AM
lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:31 AM

220 posts

5 year warranty only applies to 508xg and krps and you have to register within 14 days of purchase.

for 428xg its 2 years if i am not mistaken...

one thing for sure, if your heart already set on kuro, dont buy something else...i almost went for a new g10k..did a 180 u turn and took the display set.

0.004 fL ftw.

index7
post Feb 21 2010, 12:40 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 21 2010, 12:31 AM)
5 year warranty only applies to 508xg and krps and you have to register within 14 days of purchase.

for 428xg its 2 years if i am not mistaken...

one thing for sure, if your heart already set on kuro, dont buy something else...i almost went for a new g10k..did a 180 u turn and took the display set.

0.004 fL ftw.
Yeah my heart is set on Kuro... just don't know if it's 42 or 50 inch. As it is 42 inch is stretching my budget already.

logy
post Feb 21 2010, 12:44 AM

37 posts

Hi all,
I stumbled into this interesting thread after googling for more information on kuro. After reading few reviews including this thread i've decided to buy kuro 508XG. yesterday i went to harvey norman mutiara damansara and being quoted rm8999 for the unit.
Is this a good price already or is anyone know other shops that selling cheaper. i want to survey further but my time is quite limited and i need new tv quite urgently as my current tv already not functioning well.
Any advice and info is highly appreciated.

SUSserendipity168
post Feb 21 2010, 12:46 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 21 2010, 12:40 AM)
Yeah my heart is set on Kuro... just don't know if it's 42 or 50 inch. As it is 42 inch is stretching my budget already.
Dude, for additional info refer to my earlier response above.

To ease your decision making process, if you already know where you're gonna place your tv and the viewing distance is say, around 7-8ft, just go with with 42".

If you are dead set on the 50", then pay 6K cash and 3K on your CC. Done! icon_idea.gif

lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:49 AM

220 posts

off my head, 2,3 shops in usj taipan. one in senq shah alam.

hn and best denkis too. but then its hard to bargain at these places..
logy
post Feb 21 2010, 04:08 AM

37 posts

rite, taipan got few tv shop there. maybe can shop around tomorrow. hopefully they open on sunday.
shah alam senq what section or which mall?
tq.
jchong
post Feb 21 2010, 08:24 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:45 PM)
I think you have already answered your own question about electricity. Earlier you posted the consumption figures for Pioneer.

298W for the 428XG
366W for the 508XG

So comparing 42" vs 50" the 50" consumes extra 68W per hour. Assuming you watch TV 3 hours per day, in one month the 50" will consume extra 68W x 3 x 30 = 6120W or roughly 6.12 kWh. One kWH is charged about RM0.286 by TNB, so extra payment = 6.12 x 0.286 = RM1.75 per month. Very small diff compared to 42". So go for the 50" smile.gif
anfieldude
post Feb 21 2010, 10:08 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:01 PM)

Would certainly give Movie Mode a shot.

For ISF calibration, I was thinking getting a Spryder to do the job. Any other suggestions?  hmm.gif

In addition, I also have a HTZ-LX61 as part of my HT setup. The sound is crisp, however, it is quite soft. Have to crank the volume up to 28-30 for movies. Another forumer mentioned about decoding sound as LPCM through HDMI to get the most of it. The BDP-LX52 does decode LPCM but not sure if I need to set it myself.

Another alternative is to get an AV Receiver to beef up the sound system. Any thoughts?  icon_question.gif
Pls get a Spyder 3 Pro and not the others. Also u need to buy controlcal to access the ISF modes, else u can only calibrate the normal modes.
lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:18 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(logy @ Feb 21 2010, 04:08 AM)
rite, taipan got few tv shop there. maybe can shop around tomorrow. hopefully they open on sunday.
shah alam senq what section or which mall?
tq.
senq sacc mall. happy hunting guys...
jimmyteng18
post Feb 21 2010, 07:55 PM

669 posts

I also leaning towards the kuro 508XG. Harvey Norman Penang quoted rm8999 for the unit. Since I'm not urgent to buy a new tv, I think I'll wait,hope the price drop when new others model launching.
anfieldude
post Feb 21 2010, 09:11 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Feb 21 2010, 07:55 PM)
I also leaning towards the kuro 508XG.  Harvey Norman Penang quoted rm8999 for the unit.  Since I'm not urgent to buy a new tv, I think I'll wait,hope the price drop when new others model launching.
U mean new models from Pioneer or other brands? Coz Pioneer will not release any more plasmas for now. They have exit the display industry. Also I would question whether HN sets are new or display or open box.
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 21 2010, 10:20 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 21 2010, 10:08 AM)
Pls get a Spyder 3 Pro and not the others. Also u need to buy controlcal to access the ISF modes, else u can only calibrate the normal modes.
I thought Spyder 3 Pro is meant for Photography while Spyder 3 TV is meant for calibrating TVs? hmm.gif
index7
post Feb 21 2010, 11:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Feb 21 2010, 07:55 PM)
I also leaning towards the kuro 508XG.  Harvey Norman Penang quoted rm8999 for the unit.  Since I'm not urgent to buy a new tv, I think I'll wait,hope the price drop when new others model launching.
Yup - when I looked at HN's stock - they have quite a bit of 508XG stock left - so no need to really hurry. I managed to look at their inventory system while I was enquiring on some other products.

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 21 2010, 11:46 PM
anfieldude
post Feb 22 2010, 06:21 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:20 PM)
I thought Spyder 3 Pro is meant for Photography while Spyder 3 TV is meant for calibrating TVs?  hmm.gif
Sorry, I meant the Spyder 3.
index7
post Feb 22 2010, 07:56 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 21 2010, 09:11 PM)
U mean new models from Pioneer or other brands? Coz Pioneer will not release any more plasmas for now. They have exit the display industry. Also I would question whether HN sets are new or display or open box.
For 508XG HN still has a number of new units, when I saw the breakdown in the Klang Valley store. I guess in a way ppl are still balking at the price of almost RM10K without full HD rolleyes.gif ...... if only they let their eyes decide rather than the spec sheet.
jimmyteng18
post Feb 22 2010, 08:41 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 21 2010, 09:11 PM)
Bro, I meant, other brands. I've confirmed that HN Penang has 10 new unopen units of 508XG and a few KRP500A.
Price for KRP500A is rm13999 and 508XG is rm8999 respectively.
lightastral
post Feb 22 2010, 11:28 AM

220 posts

bump into this while surfing around, its in japanese though. the main debate is on the comparison of input between component and hdmi and from the tests that they made, there are significant differences and component is coming out tops. (for japan 428hx though)

guess i ll buy a cheapo component cable to test this with astro beyond first and if the pq has significant improvement..hmm

kuro discussion

p.s explanation on the result from testing using the thx demo disc II is a nice read..
gocitygo
post Feb 22 2010, 12:28 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Feb 22 2010, 08:41 AM)
Bro, I meant, other brands. I've confirmed that HN Penang has 10 new unopen units of 508XG and a few KRP500A.
Price for KRP500A is rm13999 and 508XG is rm8999 respectively.
I did called up HN Penang and yes, the new unit still available and price is firm. RM8999 (no freebies). Check on Pioneer website, the RRP is RM9999

Just wondering is few Penang kia buy the 508XG together can get a better deal brows.gif

My viewing distance is about 9ft. Do I get the full benefits of Full HD or HD Ready (i.e. 508XG) is suffice...

jimmyteng18
post Feb 22 2010, 01:09 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Feb 22 2010, 12:28 PM)
I did called up HN Penang and yes, the new unit still available and price is firm.  RM8999 (no freebies).  Check on Pioneer website, the RRP is RM9999

Just wondering is few Penang kia buy the 508XG together can get a better deal  brows.gif

My viewing distance is about 9ft.  Do I get the full benefits of Full HD or HD Ready (i.e. 508XG) is suffice...
Gocitygo, how much do you think is reasonable for bulk buy for Penang kia? I'm interested but the price is too high for 508XG.
My viewing distance is around 6 to 7 feets. 508XG is not Full HD, so is it significant for my viewing distance?
index7
post Feb 22 2010, 01:39 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Feb 22 2010, 01:09 PM)
Gocitygo, how much do you think is reasonable for bulk buy for Penang kia? I'm interested but the price is too high for 508XG.
My viewing distance is around 6 to 7 feets. 508XG is not Full HD, so is it significant for my viewing distance?
I saw both the 508XG & 500A side by side... seriously I couldn't really tell the difference. So I am awaiting for the price to come down for the 508XG.
putih
post Feb 22 2010, 01:53 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 22 2010, 01:39 PM)
I saw both the 508XG & 500A side by side... seriously I couldn't really tell the difference. So I am awaiting for the price to come down for the 508XG.
And sometimes I feel that 508XG has more light output (brighter) hmm... rclxub.gif
jimmyteng18
post Feb 22 2010, 01:57 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 22 2010, 01:39 PM)
I saw only the 500A in HN Penang. Very natural and excellent video. Can't make comparison bcos 508XG was not in dislpay. I really hope the price will go down soon. So, Penang kia who are interested, pls update this list.

(1). Jimmyteng18
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 22 2010, 05:30 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Feb 22 2010, 01:53 PM)
And sometimes I feel that 508XG has more light output (brighter) hmm... rclxub.gif
Between 720p & 1080p, difference can be seen if you're seated around 7-8Ft. If you're seated further than that, our naked eyes can't tell the difference.

I believe resolution wise it has max out at 1080p. In other words, it should be future proof (fingers crossed) whistling.gif

Unlike the Philips Cinema 56PFL9954, that is scaled up to cover the 21:9 resolution. The top & bottom of the image is cropped, thus affecting PQ.

If PQ is not a concern, the resolution does offer a really good cinematic experience nod.gif
jchong
post Feb 22 2010, 07:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 22 2010, 05:30 PM)
I believe resolution wise it has max out at 1080p. In other words, it should be future proof (fingers crossed)  whistling.gif
Actually there is already talk of 4k resolution: http://hometheaterreview.com/five-times-th...inema-standard/

However, this will probably only make practical difference if you're using very large screen (maybe above 100"?).
anfieldude
post Feb 22 2010, 08:09 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Feb 22 2010, 01:53 PM)
This is inaccurate. The 9G Kuros can easily do ~50ft/L without clipping. The 8Gs cannot go above 36ft/L without clipping. However, this is in the ISF modes.
putih
post Feb 23 2010, 04:33 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 22 2010, 08:09 PM)
This is inaccurate. The 9G Kuros can easily do ~50ft/L without clipping. The 8Gs cannot go above 36ft/L without clipping. However, this is in the ISF modes.
It should be like that really.
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 24 2010, 11:54 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Feb 23 2010, 04:33 AM)
It should be like that really.
All,

Pioneer Plasma's soon to be collector's items. It seems a lot of people are interested in the 508XG units.

Thorough my contacts (kang tau), I might be able to get you a good deal, at least few hundred bucks from the standard retail price thumbup.gif

For serious buyers in the KL area, PM me your realistic budget.

Limited units available, the early bird catches the worm tongue.gif

Good luck!
index7
post Feb 24 2010, 03:50 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 24 2010, 11:54 AM)
All,

Pioneer Plasma's soon to be collector's items. It seems a lot of people are interested in the 508XG units.

Thorough my contacts (kang tau), I might be able to get you a good deal, at least few hundred bucks from the standard retail price  thumbup.gif

For serious buyers in the KL area, PM me your realistic budget.

Limited units available, the early bird catches the worm  tongue.gif 

Good luck!
PMed thumbup.gif
gocitygo
post Feb 24 2010, 03:56 PM

397 posts

Too bad. I'm from Penang not KL. What is the price indication @ KL?

Anyway check with Harvey Penang during lunch time, their price is firm (RM8999) even you buy few units together.
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 25 2010, 10:20 AM

179 posts

Last batch, only 2 brand new units left - RM8300 drool.gif
netken
post Feb 27 2010, 07:17 PM

1,298 posts

sifus'

can the 508XG suffer from plasma burn?

my unit has done about 100 hours or more ..

last nite watch letter from iwo jima for about 2hrs 30mins ..

it was the 16:9 - with top black lines and bottom black lines ...

today i viewed the plasma like normal but pyschologically worry lah ...

will there be any problem kah?

This post has been edited by netken: Feb 27 2010, 07:18 PM
anfieldude
post Feb 27 2010, 08:16 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 27 2010, 07:17 PM)
sifus'

Any plasma can if abused. However, the Kuros are quite resilient. Don't worry. R u using Movie mode for viewing movies? What contrast r u using?
netken
post Feb 27 2010, 08:58 PM

1,298 posts

helo afd,

its at 163 hours ...

Customised mode at :

Standard

Contrast 28
Brightness - 2
Color -2
Tint 0
Sharpness -2

is this okay?
gocitygo
post Feb 27 2010, 09:32 PM

397 posts

I personally saw the 508XG with burn-in problem. That one was Display unit @ TV shop, with 2.35:1 display mode for 2800hrs shocking.gif

Only after I pointed out the problem to them, they only switch to full screen mode for demo purpose doh.gif
anfieldude
post Feb 27 2010, 11:02 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 27 2010, 08:58 PM)
helo afd,

its at 163 hours ...

Customised mode at :

Standard

Contrast 28
Brightness - 2
Color -2
Tint 0
Sharpness -2

is this okay?
Shd be ok. But I recommend moving to Movie mode, Colour Space 2, Colour at +4, Brightness +1. Contrast at around 30. Gamma is more accurate with Movie mode and it is not as bright. Consider calibrating the ISF Modes as u get the higher contrast modes in that mode with 9 point gamma control.

Standard and User are pretty bright/high contrast. Better to use them for Astro. Also would advise for Astro and all, to keep contrast below 20 with User mode. After u pass the 200hrs mark, its more resilient.
lightastral
post Feb 28 2010, 12:18 AM

220 posts

like anfield said, dont worry, its quite resilient + it has the orbiter too...

8-12 hour astro content...hehe no problem at all.
jimmyteng18
post Mar 5 2010, 01:48 PM

669 posts

If I have to buy this 508XG with 5 yrs warranty:-

(1). What if the TV fails at year 3?
Is there any problem of gettings parts?

ie: panel, electronic boards..etc..,

since Pioneer has stopped manufacture the parts?
gocitygo
post Mar 5 2010, 05:36 PM

397 posts

Then opportunity comes... sue them....

On the serious note, normally big company like Pioneer will keep sufficient parts. If not, ask for free upgrade to KRP500 smile.gif

lightastral
post Mar 5 2010, 08:04 PM

220 posts

this is my first hdtv, my expectation is around 2-3 years of usage. if your electronics can last to 5 years that is considered very good already.

people are dishing 2.5k per year for new handphone or laptop...add another 1k and you'll get a 42" already..

of course this is my 2 cents and most of us would really want our purchases to last long....

just take good care of it i guess...i know i am tongue.gif
putih
post Mar 6 2010, 07:52 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Mar 5 2010, 08:04 PM)
this is my  first hdtv, my expectation is around 2-3 years of usage. if your electronics can last to 5 years that is considered very good already.

people are dishing 2.5k per year for new handphone or laptop...add another 1k and you'll get a 42" already..

of course this is my 2 cents and most of us would really want our purchases to last long....

just take good care of it i guess...i know i am tongue.gif
My 2nd gen aquos from Japan already passed the 5yr mark and on the 6th year now. Still working perfectly. And the pioneer looks more solid than the aquos and I believe most of them can pass 10 year mark. Pioneer, in a circular to all distributors, has guarantted availability of all Kuro parts until 2018. Need not to worrry.

lightastral
post Mar 6 2010, 09:10 AM

220 posts

rock on. 2018 is a long way...smile.gif.
jimmyteng18
post Mar 6 2010, 04:15 PM

669 posts

Good to know that, then I'm not worry about the spare parts.

SUSserendipity168
post Mar 8 2010, 09:41 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Mar 6 2010, 04:15 PM)
Good to know that, then I'm not worry about the spare parts.
Relax, Bro. I bought my KRP500A Dec last year as well as another forumer here.

Based on the current market price it's really worth picking up a unit.

Let us know when you are officially a proud owner, will gladly welcome you to our little KURO community below thumbup.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1340204
putih
post Mar 9 2010, 04:23 AM

293 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Mar 8 2010, 09:41 PM)
Relax, Bro. I bought my KRP500A Dec last year as well as another forumer here.

Based on the current market price it's really worth picking up a unit.

Let us know when you are officially a proud owner, will gladly welcome you to our little KURO community below  thumbup.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1340204
Waiting for injury time to tangkap krp500 or 600 smile.gif Hopefully can get "more affordable" price. I think we are almost in injury time already haha... Kuro memang best thumbup.gif
jimmyteng18
post Apr 14 2010, 09:46 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 21 2010, 11:46 PM)
Yup - when I looked at HN's stock - they have quite a bit of 508XG stock left - so no need to really hurry. I managed to look at their inventory system while I was enquiring on some other products.
Bad news, yesterday I went to HN Penang, all 508XG have been snapped up. Left only display unit of KRP-500A at rm13999, no discount. cry.gif
kalido
post Apr 14 2010, 10:06 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(netken @ Feb 27 2010, 07:17 PM)
sifus'

don't worry bro....haven't seen burn-in once in the last 2 years I've had them . The best plasmas ever, no issues whatsoever !
gocitygo
post Apr 14 2010, 11:03 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Apr 14 2010, 09:46 AM)
Bad news, yesterday I went to HN Penang, all 508XG have been snapped up. Left only display unit of KRP-500A at rm13999, no discount. cry.gif
I just came back from QueensBay HN and confirmed they still have 4 new units of 508XG @ their warehouse. I ordered one and left 3. Better fast before too late.

This post has been edited by gocitygo: Apr 14 2010, 01:39 PM
jimmyteng18
post Apr 14 2010, 04:15 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Apr 14 2010, 11:03 AM)
I just came back from QueensBay HN and confirmed they still have 4 new units of 508XG @ their warehouse.  I ordered one and left 3.  Better fast before too late.
Thks to gocitygo..for the info. I've ordered one, left 2..better act fast.....he..he.. icon_rolleyes.gif
anfieldude
post Apr 14 2010, 06:54 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Apr 14 2010, 11:03 AM)
I just came back from QueensBay HN and confirmed they still have 4 new units of 508XG @ their warehouse.  I ordered one and left 3.  Better fast before too late.
gocitygo,

A word of caution, the i2display might not work too well for the 8G/9G Kuro. PM me for details.
gocitygo
post Apr 14 2010, 08:19 PM

397 posts

Bro Anfield, thanks for the heads up. Hope to get the TV on this Sat and will run thru the setting as u suggested in the first 200hrs. BTW, you got PM.
g88
post Jun 11 2011, 12:34 AM

1,631 posts

Any place still have old stock of 508XG in KL ? Want brand new unit
Jase
post Apr 12 2016, 11:08 AM

100 posts

Any 428XG owners encounter your TV blue light blinking 8 times? Any contacts for repair besides Pioneer service center?

Pioneer gave me a guesstimate of around RM1K to replace PCB pending visit by technician to check the TV.

Searched online, found a few forums and Youtube providing details to replace an IC which probably cost 10% of the RM1K.
ktek
post Apr 12 2016, 12:44 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(Jase @ Apr 12 2016, 11:08 AM)

Any 428XG owners encounter your TV blue light blinking 8 times? Any contacts for repair besides Pioneer service center?

Pioneer gave me a guesstimate of around RM1K to replace PCB pending visit by technician to check the TV.

Searched online, found a few forums and Youtube providing details to replace an IC which probably cost 10% of the RM1K.
1k is more than half price for new 42" tv, not justified.
so probably diy is the better solution or upgrade bigger size if budget allow

0.0709sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:24 PM