11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Pioneer Kuro PDP-428XG/508XG, Is it still being sold?

SUSserendipity168
post Feb 20 2010, 11:01 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 20 2010, 07:32 PM)
The KRP-500A in Asia does not have Pure mode.

Only the Ms have Pure mode.

I would suggest not using optimum for now. Use movie mode to break in with reasonable contrast. Or if using the break in DVD then use sport.

Ur best bet is to calibrate it with the ISF modes. That shd be the best for you.

Would certainly give Movie Mode a shot.

For ISF calibration, I was thinking getting a Spryder to do the job. Any other suggestions? hmm.gif

In addition, I also have a HTZ-LX61 as part of my HT setup. The sound is crisp, however, it is quite soft. Have to crank the volume up to 28-30 for movies. Another forumer mentioned about decoding sound as LPCM through HDMI to get the most of it. The BDP-LX52 does decode LPCM but not sure if I need to set it myself.

Another alternative is to get an AV Receiver to beef up the sound system. Any thoughts? icon_question.gif
index7
post Feb 20 2010, 11:24 PM

49 posts

I finally found a brand new 428XG set for RM6.4K. It's on the high side... there is one more unit left. Don't know if I should take the plunge? What do you guys think? Like most people say - I do know that there is a lot of 508XG stock lying about but it's at least 2-3K more expensive.
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 20 2010, 11:37 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:24 PM)
I finally found a brand new 428XG set for RM6.4K. It's on the high side... there is one more unit left. Don't know if I should take the plunge? What do you guys think? Like most people say - I do know that there is a lot of 508XG stock lying about but it's at least 2-3K more expensive.
Between these two TVs, 2-3K is a small price to pay for 8 extra inches. If you are sitting about 10ft +/- from the TV, 50 is prefect. My 42" was a bit small so it ended up in my guest room instead brows.gif

Remember..... we don't buy HDTV once in a blue moon and they don't have much resale value! Besides, within next 6 months you probably won't see many Pioneer Plasma's out there anymore.

Don't skimp if you can afford it. Make a wise choice!

You can thank me later whistling.gif
index7
post Feb 20 2010, 11:45 PM

49 posts

Hmmmm...dilemma sad.gif Currently in my hall, I am sitting about 5-6 feet away from the TV only. Is 42 inch enough ah?

Another thing of my concern is that there is only 7 years more support for the Pioneer plasma. The sales guy said that they all got a letter from Pioneer saying beyond that Pioneer will not be providing support anymore.

Lastly, how much power consumption jump did you see in your electric bill after buying the 50inch? Can you tell me the roughly how much time you use it daily? Thanks!

Cause I just started a house, 2-3K is quite a lot of money for me - cause can buy other furniture or eletrical appliances.... sigh sad.gif

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 20 2010, 11:47 PM
mpyw
post Feb 20 2010, 11:51 PM

3,603 posts

sitting 5-6 ft from the screen?
better get the FullHD unit, the 50" KRP500A is perfect for you...
u can see the full glory of 1080p with your sitting distance for 50"....
index7
post Feb 20 2010, 11:57 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 20 2010, 11:51 PM)
sitting 5-6 ft from the screen?
better get the FullHD unit, the 50" KRP500A is perfect for you...
u can see the full glory of 1080p with your sitting distance for 50"....
then have to eat maggi mee for the next 3 years.... cry.gif If I would upgrade to the 50 inch, it would only be the 508XG. Honestly I looked at both the screens side by side and I can hardly tell a difference.... unless I really look for it... but none of us do that in our normal viewing lah. Another thing, the PQ on this beats all the other brands although the other brands have Full HD. So I let my eyes decide loh... but second most important thing ... wallet also have to decide tongue.gif
mpyw
post Feb 20 2010, 11:59 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:57 PM)
then have to eat maggi mee for the next 3 years....  cry.gif    If I would upgrade to the 50 inch, it would only be the 508XG. Honestly I looked at both the screens side by side and I can hardly tell a difference.... unless I really look for it... but none of us do that in our normal viewing lah. Another thing, the PQ on this beats all the other brands although the other brands have Full HD. So I let my eyes decide loh... but second most important thing ... wallet also have to decide tongue.gif
Yup...the 508XG can beat lots of FullHD TV out there
Me wanted to buy the Panny fullHD (PY800) last time, but at side by side compare with the 508XG that time, even my wife ask me to get the Pioneer...no regret
index7
post Feb 21 2010, 12:14 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 20 2010, 11:59 PM)
Yup...the 508XG can beat lots of FullHD TV out there
Me wanted to buy the Panny fullHD (PY800) last time, but at side by side compare with the 508XG that time, even my wife ask me to get the Pioneer...no regret
Haha... my wife's reaction when I told her the price is "Wahhhh!!" So can I get your views on 2 things?

1. On average how much time you spend watching the Plasma? Roughly how much has your electric bill rise because of the Plasma?
2. Is there any screen burn in issues when you see astro, movies, etc?

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 21 2010, 12:15 AM
lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:19 AM

220 posts

bro, 6.4k is expensive for 428xg. i got mine albeit a display unit at sub-4k.

derumah sell one for 5.6k, at least thats the price they quoted me. if your budget is 6-7k, its better to wait for 508xg. i think by mac or april, it will drop as new models are coming in and the stores definitely need to clear it out.

reevaluate your requirements,needs and budget. do remember that dealers are hard put to sell 508xg due to its premium price. alternatively stretch it to 10k, show the cash and haggle for krp...

if i have 10k i would do that tongue.gif, alas my budget is only 4-4.5k...
mpyw
post Feb 21 2010, 12:19 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 21 2010, 12:14 AM)
Haha... my wife's reaction when I told her the price is "Wahhhh!!" So can I get your views on 2 things?

1. On average how much time you spend watching the Plasma? Roughly how much has your electric bill rise because of the Plasma?
2. Is there any screen burn in issues when you see astro, movies, etc?
1. Never monitor the electricity bill, most increases are due to my usage of the air-cond, not the plasma. If really want to count, maybe RM60 a yaer using the plasma TV? tongue.gif
2. No screen burn whatsoever even the TV are on for more than 8 hours during weekend watching Astro....just set the auto Orbitor on and you're done.

You wife say "Wahhh!" for current price? Imagine what she'll say if she knew how much I paid for it 1.5 years ago.... sweat.gif
SUSserendipity168
post Feb 21 2010, 12:20 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:45 PM)
Hmmmm...dilemma sad.gif  Currently in my hall, I am sitting about 5-6 feet away from the TV only. Is 42 inch enough ah?

Another thing of my concern is that there is only 7 years more support for the Pioneer plasma. The sales guy said that they all got a letter from Pioneer saying beyond that Pioneer will not be providing support anymore.

Lastly, how much power consumption jump did you see in your electric bill after buying the 50inch? Can you tell me the roughly how much time you use it daily? Thanks!

Cause I just started a house, 2-3K is quite a lot of money for me - cause can buy other furniture or eletrical appliances.... sigh sad.gif
As mpyw has mentioned above, 50" would be ideal. Even sitting 10 ft away I find the viewing experience very pleasant as compared to 42".

Can't worry too much about the warranty. I believe you'll get 5yr warranty with a new purchase now. Even with 60,000 hrs lifespan. I seriously doubt many people will still be using their current HDTVs, say 10 yrs from now rolleyes.gif

If parts and warranty means more to you, perhaps you should consider a Panny or Sammy instead? Then again, you won't be owning the last batch of Pioneer PDPs ohmy.gif

I only watch say average 3 hrs a day I guess. Maybe a bit more over the weekend.

If you are moving into a new house it is even more important to consider how much space you have in your living room for your TV. Better not buy a small unit and regret later.... Decisions, decisions, decisions sweat.gif

Come to think of it consider us lucky that the Pioneer Plasmas is only within our reach now that it is discontinued! My 500A retail price when it came out about a year ago is about RM30K!!!! Else, I wound not even consider it, ever!!!

Not an easy choice to make......Do some soul searching. That's exactly what I did rolleyes.gif

Keep me posted.
index7
post Feb 21 2010, 12:30 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 21 2010, 12:19 AM)
bro, 6.4k is expensive for 428xg. i got mine albeit a display unit at sub-4k.

derumah sell one for 5.6k, at least thats the price they quoted me. if your budget is 6-7k, its better to wait for 508xg. i think by mac or april, it will drop as new models are coming in and the stores definitely need to clear it out.

reevaluate your requirements,needs and budget. do remember that dealers are hard put to sell 508xg due to its premium price. alternatively stretch it to 10k, show the cash and haggle for krp...

if i have 10k i would do that tongue.gif, alas my budget is only 4-4.5k...
My wife actually pushing me to buy ASAP the TV. I am leaning towards 508XG... but I would like the price to come down even more.. 6K++ would be ideal. So trying to wait and see.... but also scared that suddenly miss the boat. So it's all about timing loh right now. Having said this, where can I find such sets? I know Harvey Norman has a number of new sets currently selling at RM9K.

This post has been edited by index7: Feb 22 2010, 07:52 AM
lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:31 AM

220 posts

5 year warranty only applies to 508xg and krps and you have to register within 14 days of purchase.

for 428xg its 2 years if i am not mistaken...

one thing for sure, if your heart already set on kuro, dont buy something else...i almost went for a new g10k..did a 180 u turn and took the display set.

0.004 fL ftw.

index7
post Feb 21 2010, 12:40 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Feb 21 2010, 12:31 AM)
5 year warranty only applies to 508xg and krps and you have to register within 14 days of purchase.

for 428xg its 2 years if i am not mistaken...

one thing for sure, if your heart already set on kuro, dont buy something else...i almost went for a new g10k..did a 180 u turn and took the display set.

0.004 fL ftw.
Yeah my heart is set on Kuro... just don't know if it's 42 or 50 inch. As it is 42 inch is stretching my budget already.

logy
post Feb 21 2010, 12:44 AM

37 posts

Hi all,
I stumbled into this interesting thread after googling for more information on kuro. After reading few reviews including this thread i've decided to buy kuro 508XG. yesterday i went to harvey norman mutiara damansara and being quoted rm8999 for the unit.
Is this a good price already or is anyone know other shops that selling cheaper. i want to survey further but my time is quite limited and i need new tv quite urgently as my current tv already not functioning well.
Any advice and info is highly appreciated.

SUSserendipity168
post Feb 21 2010, 12:46 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 21 2010, 12:40 AM)
Yeah my heart is set on Kuro... just don't know if it's 42 or 50 inch. As it is 42 inch is stretching my budget already.
Dude, for additional info refer to my earlier response above.

To ease your decision making process, if you already know where you're gonna place your tv and the viewing distance is say, around 7-8ft, just go with with 42".

If you are dead set on the 50", then pay 6K cash and 3K on your CC. Done! icon_idea.gif

lightastral
post Feb 21 2010, 12:49 AM

220 posts

off my head, 2,3 shops in usj taipan. one in senq shah alam.

hn and best denkis too. but then its hard to bargain at these places..
logy
post Feb 21 2010, 04:08 AM

37 posts

rite, taipan got few tv shop there. maybe can shop around tomorrow. hopefully they open on sunday.
shah alam senq what section or which mall?
tq.
jchong
post Feb 21 2010, 08:24 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(index7 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:45 PM)
I think you have already answered your own question about electricity. Earlier you posted the consumption figures for Pioneer.

298W for the 428XG
366W for the 508XG

So comparing 42" vs 50" the 50" consumes extra 68W per hour. Assuming you watch TV 3 hours per day, in one month the 50" will consume extra 68W x 3 x 30 = 6120W or roughly 6.12 kWh. One kWH is charged about RM0.286 by TNB, so extra payment = 6.12 x 0.286 = RM1.75 per month. Very small diff compared to 42". So go for the 50" smile.gif
anfieldude
post Feb 21 2010, 10:08 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(serendipity168 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:01 PM)

Would certainly give Movie Mode a shot.

For ISF calibration, I was thinking getting a Spryder to do the job. Any other suggestions?  hmm.gif

In addition, I also have a HTZ-LX61 as part of my HT setup. The sound is crisp, however, it is quite soft. Have to crank the volume up to 28-30 for movies. Another forumer mentioned about decoding sound as LPCM through HDMI to get the most of it. The BDP-LX52 does decode LPCM but not sure if I need to set it myself.

Another alternative is to get an AV Receiver to beef up the sound system. Any thoughts?  icon_question.gif
Pls get a Spyder 3 Pro and not the others. Also u need to buy controlcal to access the ISF modes, else u can only calibrate the normal modes.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:42 AM