subangman
post Apr 6 2011, 05:48 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(xy_heng @ Jan 28 2010, 09:02 PM)
Hello there,
i am learning guzheng too,and i am from Penang.nice to meet u all~
i learned from MR.Lai Ah Lai for years and now i am taking up guzheng major degree at Beijing CCOM,
learning frm Yuansha.
If u can read chinese,maybe these websites can help u  smile.gif

http://www.qinzheng.org/index.php

http://www.guzheng.cn/
xy_heng :- congrats to u gal for winning the Silver medal in the 2nd International Guzheng Competition (Malaysia Region).
Unkel just realised its u ... sori ah.
Hope u will bring back the gold from Hong Kong and let ur Kampung mates proud.

If u won't mind may i post ur competition work piece here .... (YES/NO).... I'll wait for ur green light.
Btw:- u got a very good teacher and principle.

Buzz me when u r back in KampungKUL..... we go havoc wit our buddies...user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 6 2011, 05:57 PM
subangman
post Apr 18 2011, 10:02 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Apr 17 2011, 12:05 AM)
1) DunHuang 694K (Peacock Pattern 孔雀图案). Found an online seller. 2nd hand asking RM1k (original price how much? unsure.gif )

2) Chun Mei guzheng (Peony flower pattern) from Nanjing 南京春梅古筝. My teacher's student wanna let go this unit. Unable to find the model from their website. http://www.njchumei.com/products.asp?classcode=0&pageno=1. 2nd hand asking 2k (I was told that the original price is 3k+ blink.gif ).
Any comments about these gu zheng?
Bella :

Dunhuang #696KK Rosewood shpuld b around RM2,200max . Pretty good GZ. If the previous ownner wans to release a RM1k should b fine
but pls check the soundboard, corners and bridges condition. Most of the students,centres using it as the teaching and learning instrument and in fact CCMA
using it as exam instrument too.
Strings dun worry much as u need to change every now and then.

Chun Mei guzheng (Peony flower pattern) from Nanjing 南京春梅古筝 haven't heard much about it.... from photos it looks like quite similiar to
Yangchow style... oven torch dried. ... 2K is abit steep I can say for 2nd hand one.

But will do some researh for u.... pls hold ur horses.

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 18 2011, 11:01 AM
subangman
post Apr 18 2011, 10:26 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 17 2011, 01:53 AM)
La Bella...I suggest you dont bother paying mroe than Rm1k for a Guzheng. Unless you are Mei-Mei's standard...then different la.

Go for the cheaper guzheng.

Thx Empire bru for the high praise on Mei-mei. notworthy.gif

But i have a different opinion towards buying a cheap GZ unless one intends to play-play wit it.

Mei-mei started to learn GZ about 5yrs ago with the 21strings... and less than 5yrs she is now she will be sitting for G8 exam in August.. mayb due to her strong foundation in music.
Bella ... u too got a very strong background in music and I'm sure within a short duration u too will excel greatly. By then u will find something not correct
wit ur GZ.
My 2cents advise... GO wit ur heart and remember to measure how deep is ur pocket.

Mei-mei initial 21strings GZ is one of the better ones from YangChow with hand carved decorative and she loves tis GZ better after I've changed the initial
strings from normal DunHuang to a Type B DunHuang.
But after I got her the SB#10B she loves the SB too as the sound produced is another league. Its bass is very roboast and mellow.

So the moral of the story is be slightly generous wit yourself..... u r a classical guitar player.... try to compare a Kapok wit Admira. thumbup.gif

Added on April 18, 2011, 10:33 am
QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 18 2011, 09:32 AM)
laBella,
DunHuang peacock I seen a lot in my school. It is entry level. As to the original price today it may be around 2k. If the instrument is bought before 2007 then it is probably something like 1.2k only. This is because there had been several major gas hike form 2007 till now causing transportation cost to go up.

NanJing Zheng I am very skeptical. Some of my classmates seems to have problems. We call it made by a furniture maker as oppose to zheng makers. Furthermore, dark sound board is a great turn off to me.

Where is the online seller for DunHuang peacock? If familiar location, I can go with you to see it. Maybe if Subang is around can join also after that we go find St James Gate smile.gif
Faceless bru :
Bella's learning centre is in fact very near to my office area...... and I know a few joints selling cheap St James gate... RM50 for 4 full pints.

As long as her class is on week days ... we can go have a meetup before and even after her class.. La Bella; right ?

Added on April 18, 2011, 10:38 am
QUOTE(la bella @ Apr 18 2011, 10:08 AM)
Thanks faceless and subang, I'm going to have a look of the dunhuang peacock guzheng. The seller located in SS2.
SS2 .. very likely the GZ is from Alan's place or bought from him.

Try to nego to less than 1.5K.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I might have spent a few ringgits in buying GZs for Mei-mei but until now the returns from it quite good. Eventhough its all to Mei-mei's piggy.
If your teacher or 'buddy' invites you for performances ...pls dun reject as its time the pay back for ur investment. thumbup.gif
Empire bru :-> brows.gif u short of a GZ player right? I'm a fair guy.... RM50/performance should b ok right if the player can play wit both hands ... laugh.gif

I can say its more rewarding than doing dancesport such as latin or ballroom...... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 18 2011, 10:56 AM
subangman
post Apr 18 2011, 11:28 AM

562 posts

La Bella :

i got some idea ... mayb one fine day i bring mei-mei out for meetup wit u .

Both of u can exchange info and coach each other ... u brush up her guitar ... she brush up ur guzheng. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

subangman
post Apr 19 2011, 06:39 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Apr 19 2011, 10:11 AM)
Good news...

Yesterday I went to the 2nd hand dunhuang peacock gz seller place in ss2, the gz was not bought from alan, she got it from her hometown seremban. The gz looks fine, 4-5 years old, the strings are rusted. After nego, I got an offer for 750 and finally I brought it home.  biggrin.gif The gz is mine now. I managed to tune the strings, after tuned I noticed there's string buzz on 2 treble strings, hmm..

Where can I get a whole set of new strings?
Glad to hear tat u cart ur GZ away wit just RM750... rclxm9.gif ...

the whole complete set of strings not $$ ... starting from string #1 just RM3.50 to #21 about RM7.50. If buy complete set even cheaper.
(tat's the price for normal DunHuang .....NOT Type A nor B).

Added on April 19, 2011, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 19 2011, 02:44 PM)
Empire,
You guzheng that cant be tuned. Was the problems solved when you cut the strings?
Faceless.. Empire's GZ can be tune ... Mei-mei got one similiar to tat also ...

Added on April 19, 2011, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(la bella @ Apr 19 2011, 03:14 PM)
faceless,
Thanks for the info about the strings. The thinner strings are all rusted. When I play I often hit the wrong note cos I can't see the green strings as note 5. I can hear the buzz that comes from the slot near tuning peg. Btw, I already expected some imperfection for 2nd hand instrument, and for this price i can't complain much.

Ouch... yesterday my dad helped me to clean the dust on the soundboard and he used a damp cloth to wipe it. doh.gif

2 week ago I read from guang ming newspaper, there's a full page interview of Alan & his wife and the winner of the recent m'sia gz competition. They talked about competition, music school, their story and ambition.
Dun worry much about it Bella..... i advise u to change the complete 21strings and start all over again.... "lembu ada tali tak ada ... apalah sister ?" doh.gif

If budget tight ... just play wit it for awhile until budget dah.... else I see wat can i do for u lor.

if i get from alan ... it will be cheaper than u approach him as Mei mei used to b her student... ada sikit2 discount.... tats for normal type.

for better ones.. like Dunhuang A and B ... Soundofasia no more stock... only www.sogoeo.com ... nOt even Singapore Eason.

for Zhueque professional grade strings ... sorry very hard unless Carol let u have them.

for info... the Professional strings are all made from Germany. ... last longer and their diameter or gauge slightly bigger... louder sound.

During the 4weeks of Mei-mei competitions .. she snapped 4 of #1 string , 1 of #5 and 1 of #17..... she got at least 2 complete set of Type B.. but
now her string #1 is a normal one as 雪山春曉 got a lot of pressing on #1. ... snapped very easy if used 'cow strength'.

honestly if u really wan to have it i can get someone to bring them back from hongkong after the 2nd International Grand Guzheng competition.
but if u beh tahan.... i can pass mei-mei last Dunhuang final set to u .. Dunhuang Type B.

--------------------------------------------------

for info about Alan & Huey Joo as well as the 2nd International Guzheng Competition (KampungKUL region)...
try tis site :- http://www.guzheng.com.my/

go to all the pages esp. the photos .. u can see that at least i can say 70% of the GZ there are from Dunhuang.

... photos can be view from here .....
http://www.guzheng.com.my/index.php?option...id=99&Itemid=20

Added on April 19, 2011, 8:32 pm
QUOTE(la bella @ Apr 19 2011, 03:14 PM)
faceless,
Thanks for the info about the strings. The thinner strings are all rusted. When I play I often hit the wrong note cos I can't see the green strings as note 5. I can hear the buzz that comes from the slot near tuning peg. Btw, I already expected some imperfection for 2nd hand instrument, and for this price i can't complain much.

Ouch... yesterday my dad helped me to clean the dust on the soundboard and he used a damp cloth to wipe it. doh.gif

2 week ago I read from guang ming newspaper, there's a full page interview of Alan & his wife and the winner of the recent m'sia gz competition. They talked about competition, music school, their story and ambition.

If the buzz sound from the slot near the tuning peg ... before you re-string the new one pls check ... if so let me know.

Your Dad really HELPS u a great deal doh.gif using a damp cloth to wipe the dust........ user posted image ... NOT tat bad lar... no serious damage.. *scare u onli*

the easiest way is using the GZ dust brush... its a 1ft long cloth brush .. something looks like a long bottle brush.... cheap lar if buy from China ... <RM10.

else u can remove all the bridges and wipe it clean wit a soft cloth and re-install back the bridges and tune again.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Alan do service GZ .. cost dun know lar...... but SS2 'DunHuang' charge >RM80 .. user posted image

i service all Mei-mei GZ. .... keep the $ for user posted image

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 19 2011, 11:35 PM
subangman
post Apr 20 2011, 11:46 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Apr 20 2011, 11:14 AM)
subangman,
I have a budget of 100 for a complete set of strings, would it be cheaper if bring the strings back from hk? Could you do me the favor?  biggrin.gif I want better quality strings, and I can wait for it.  smile.gif

faceless, 
I have solved the buzz problem. My guzheng has this small "white plastic hand" on the box (on the right side of the picture below). After I removed the "plastic hand", the buzz gone.  rclxm9.gif
Bella.

Just bear wit me for awhile ... I will ship in some high grade strings for mei-mei .... u just pay for the strings while i take care the postage fees.

As for the 2 nos. of white plastic hands are more a decorative from previous ownner... just remove it lar and patch back wit some wood filler and color it
back wit some brown stain.

Added on April 20, 2011, 11:47 am
QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 20 2011, 09:20 AM)
I know the contestant that won 7th place with 90.33 marks  rclxm9.gif
i think you got the wrong one bru.... it should be no 8.

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 20 2011, 12:00 PM
subangman
post Apr 20 2011, 04:08 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Apr 20 2011, 02:03 PM)
SUbang...can I also order 1 set of of good GZ strings?
sure ... nod.gif

Added on April 20, 2011, 11:58 pm biggrin.gif
nod.gif nod.gif

FACELESS / LA BELLA ... below link worth to watch.... courtesy from one of my GZ pal... Edwin Liew.

WORTH to watch

http://youtu.be/75AasDbCfPQ thumbup.gif

I tried to paste it correctly but couldn't find the URL . The original was from China ... the link to watch it was horrible lag.
I've download it to youtube for easy viewing.

It's a 18:48 min clip.

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 21 2011, 12:27 AM
subangman
post Apr 21 2011, 05:55 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 21 2011, 02:50 PM)
Pretty girl wub.gif but I dont hear mandrin too well. From the demo it seems like basic termelo techniques. Keep arm align or get tried for prolong strokes. If over done can ache  the next day. Like shoulders hurt after vigorous badminton.

Got anything on sweep shaking and pluck shaking? Especially the pluck shaking I like to see in slow motion.
Faceless :-

why ... u tis banana dun know how to hear meh ?

Actually tis is for Bella one.. not u ... u took off alridi...

why ... very tiring meh.... mayb ur age catchin up wit u... user posted image

why u need sweeping, shaking and pluck shaking ahhhhhh... some more in slow motion.... got ... but need user posted image

ohhh yeah.. its in man-da-lin moh.... u can understand ah? doh.gif

subangman
post Apr 27 2011, 03:14 PM

562 posts

well... it's time of the year.

subangman
post Apr 28 2011, 07:49 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 27 2011, 03:56 PM)
So mei mei doing grade 8 for this year?
yeap.... in august... one of the most hectic month for her tis year. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on April 28, 2011, 7:50 am
QUOTE(empire @ Apr 27 2011, 05:25 PM)
I wonder if we can plan a Concert that will be hosted by Shanghai Angels and a few more invited guests like Mei-Mei. Maybe have it in a smaller Venue like Bentley building near the Curve.
hahaha... good on u bru.

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 28 2011, 07:50 AM
subangman
post Apr 28 2011, 01:26 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 28 2011, 09:31 AM)
Good idea. You need and help (back stage workers, make reading materials, ...) I offer you free service.

Subang,
G8 is the last exam right? Like that then concert empire is planing should be just in time.
Bru... still got G9 and G10 which is the performance grade.
she's targeting to sit G9 next exam and completes the entire thing b4 persuing her degree n Medical Sc.

subangman
post May 3 2011, 10:27 PM

562 posts

SUPER SALES IN TOWN for Chinese Classical Instrument.....

https://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/pro...0053735&sk=wall

subangman
post May 6 2011, 12:11 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(JieXian @ May 4 2011, 10:40 PM)
Waaa very interesting maybe next year's sale I can buy. Or when I convince my mother to learn gu zheng so that I don't need to pay for one biggrin.gif But that 1 hard a bit la she not very proud of chinese stuff.

If got empire that performance cheap I want to go biggrin.gif

From what I see than keejan place not for beginners right? Like all performance recording only.
no.. u r wrong mate.. doh.gif

Mei mei started her CCMA syllabus wit them for nearly 2yrs b4 shifing back to Subang as her driver cannot
tahan waking up b4 8am on every Sun morning. notworthy.gif

Both husband and wife are well known persons in GZ in Malaysia.

Go to the shop.. and check it out . U might b very surprised wat u see.

Btw... few shops away there is a local small nice cafe (Blossom deli) that sells good muffins and cheese cake/tart. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by subangman: May 6 2011, 12:16 AM
subangman
post May 9 2011, 09:51 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(empire @ May 8 2011, 05:08 PM)
This time Subangman should bring his pretty daugther to demo a few tunes. AFter that leh...all of us no need to bother playing guzheng d. Hehehe....cos Mei-Mei's standard is too high lo!
I hope Mei-mei can make it as nowdays her sch packed with her other stuff like latin & ballroom competitions.. rclxub.gif

but honestly if she is around then my chances having a nice drink will b blown away. doh.gif shakehead.gif
subangman
post May 13 2011, 11:29 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 13 2011, 09:18 AM)
That is like next Tuesday. I hope people can response in time. I am in.
I take this comment  as an insult. I had put up with similar comment previously but I am not putting up with it anymore. Now just tell me you are going for Wesak Day. If you are then I will not go. You have just got into my iggy list. That does not only apply to on the internet but in real life. This is what an old man got to say about you, "Your father never taught you manners!"
Cool down bru... user posted image...

Young man .. I think u owe Unkel faceless an apology ... the last time we met up .. he took the hardest way to bring the GZ from home via LRT
to Kelana. Its not easy man to travel from one end to the other end of the LRT line wit a BIG green 'coffin' .... and its not easy to learn & master the GZ yet he tried to break the ice by doing his best on tat day.

"Wa if got keng gu zheng player I'm very interested! But must remind her to bring her own stand later she complain shaky. XD"

Honestly i do offended by tis remark from u ..... r u trying to hint tat u only wan to join in if there is a performance by a well known person .. else dun waste ur time.
If u r tryin somment about the last meetup , read the above para... or if u tryin to hint the keng GZ player whom Brudder Empire mentioned; Mei2
...well is not easy to get her out for such meetup as she rathers go doing her stuff like dancing or revision her studies.

U must remember we come from different back ground and age gap... a little appreciation and sincereness walks a long way in friendship.

=========================================================================================

I just got back last nite after been away from internet for couple of days.. glad to hear tat u all r organising a get along seassion...
but honsetly I can't make it as will b busy tat day. Om mani pad me hum.

If you guys really wans to meetup say in mid June ... come to my tiny cubicle house .. got 4 GZs to play wit... May is another hectic month as busy
with exams, competitions and frds coming visiting from OZ.

Faceless; mayb tis will tame u down as u can fiddle wit the highly praise SB #10B.and my bar will be open to u thumbup.gif rclxms.gif whistling.gif user posted image

This post has been edited by subangman: May 13 2011, 11:34 AM
subangman
post May 24 2011, 11:35 AM

562 posts

WHERE IS EVERYBODY... SO QUIET ??????
subangman
post Jun 11 2011, 04:14 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Jun 8 2011, 11:57 AM)
I thought Nuzul Al-Quran is for Selangor only? My place is in KL. I remember last year I don't have such public holiday. By the way, I have 1 week holiday for hari raya. If possible we can meet during hari raya.
waaahhh... so free .. tarak balik kampung wit ah boy ah ? rclxms.gif

Added on June 11, 2011, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 8 2011, 02:59 PM)
Yup KL no such holiday.

Quoran reading day had always been a state holiday and it varies according to state. It is also call different names at different state. I am not really an expert on this. I can remember that Kelantan calls it by a different name but it is still quoran reading day.

So  Empire, your place is open Adil Fitri for gathering?
Bru... tis time no wu liang yeh alridi..... air syrup merah wit susu or limau nipis ... u ok ? rclxms.gif

Added on June 11, 2011, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(empire @ Jun 8 2011, 04:26 PM)
Faceless...yes. Can we meet in my hosue? Or perhaps Subangman can open his house so that we can see all those delicious instruments? I think after me...he is the next person to have so many instruments. Of course...I also wanna see his pretty daughter blow us away with her Guzheng playing...if she's ok with it la.  rclxm9.gif
bru.... u look me so high .... BIG thank you oh ! brows.gif

I only got a few instruments which the famili enjoys ... prvt usage... urs to cari makan one... mana boleh timbang sama. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Good buddy of mine.... will b going to Hongkong and make us proud for Bolehland !

Added on June 11, 2011, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(xy_heng @ Jan 28 2010, 09:02 PM)
Hello there,
i am learning guzheng too,and i am from Penang.nice to meet u all~
i learned from MR.Lai Ah Lai for years and now i am taking up guzheng major degree at Beijing CCOM,
learning frm Yuansha.
If u can read chinese,maybe these websites can help u  smile.gif

http://www.qinzheng.org/index.php

http://www.guzheng.cn/
xy_heng... this is for u gal.

Make us proud while carrying our flag to Hong Kong. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by subangman: Jun 11 2011, 10:46 PM
subangman
post Jun 13 2011, 08:09 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 13 2011, 09:14 AM)
Subang, your house muslim rule meh? Bottle/can stout cannot consume? I plain water also will do.
normally i dun drink at home..... thumbup.gif
subangman
post Jun 15 2011, 09:44 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 14 2011, 09:42 AM)
We will make up for that with good food  smile.gif  Maybe I will make something to eat. Empire you are a good cook. I am sure you can delight our stomach  biggrin.gif la Bella got any secret recipe for us to sample or not? We can make a little pot luck cum jamming session.
little pot luck so more can cum ...... hahahaha

This post has been edited by subangman: Jun 15 2011, 09:56 PM
subangman
post Jun 16 2011, 03:29 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(leoyew @ Jun 16 2011, 10:07 AM)
lol gu zheng = =, rarely music in current age
Empire/ Faceless :- he is tryin to hint tat we are all still in JURASSIC ERA. !!! tongue.gif

But leoyew :- let UNKEL enlighten u... most of us come from non Chinese educated background but the passion
for Chinese Classical Arts and Culture is not lesser than any Chinese educated ones.

For WE know and appreciate OUR ROOTS and will continue to enrich our next generation and the generations thereafter
towards this ancient art of ours ; for Arts is one of the main core of culture.

Wat is civilsation without Arts, Culture and history !!!!!!! *sigh *user posted image

This post has been edited by subangman: Jun 16 2011, 03:32 PM

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:47 AM