Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

hihihehe
post Aug 15 2010, 11:13 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Aug 16 2010, 12:06 AM)
You guys are overreacting. Can we get back to answering questions about studying in Australia ?

If you still like to countinue your pissing contest I recommend opening up another thread.
That's what I want. Just that someone trying drag it for no reason.
I will stop here and let this thread contains only healthy discussion.
Sorry and just move on..
hihihehe
post Aug 16 2010, 09:51 AM

13,782 posts

fair enough..

but my university able to let me choose which to put first because of difference in other countries..
that's why i'm wondering should i put surname,last name or the other way round..or it really doesn't matter?( i know employer not stupid)
hihihehe
post Aug 16 2010, 07:08 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 16 2010, 02:42 PM)
Looks like most universities give their students a choice on what name to appear on their parchment. I suppose you could put "Darth Vader" on your graduation parchment and it'd probably go through. (Yes, it can be mind numbing entering all that graduation information into a database)

Well for member hihihehe I suppose it all comes down to your own preference. I know of a lawyer practicing in Malaysia  whose parchment reads the Ah Beng Tan way, with Tan being his surname. Never caused any issues for him. On the other hand if you're intending to work in Australia having your parchment given to a Mr Beng while your CV is for Mr Tan will raise a few eyebrows.

But as you said, employers are not stupid. I don't think the order of your name will affect you in any way employment wise. That, and the fact which ever way you choose to order the placement of your name, your surname/family name will usually be in upper caps.

Edit: Oh, and many happy returns of the day hihihehe. smile.gif
that sounds right..and thanks again nod.gif

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 16 2010, 07:14 PM)
This is going into too much detail... helpful yes, but a lot of them are pure nitpicking.

Chinese names are easy - Ah Beng TAN will usually solve the problem. Most people, including myself don't mind being called just the "Ah", but for those who are fussy you can always write it as AhBeng Tan in most non-official documents. Stick with Ah Beng TAN for official stuff.
Those with Christian names will usually get away with John Ah Beng TAN, or they'll just use John Tan for informal circumstances.

Malay and Indian names are a bit complicated as they don't have a typical family/surname... Most people which I know just use their dad's name as their surname and are never known to cause any hoohah.

So,
Mohammad Shukri MOHAMMAD ZAIN is pretty much self explanatory, same with Samundee Devan RAMASAMY.

If anyone's worried, just explain it... most Australians are used to exotic names and tend to understand / appreciate / accept our names as long as we highlight/caps / underline our surname.

My passport has my name in "Tan Ah Beng" format and no authorities have ever given me trouble after my explanation that Malaysian Chinese generally put their surname in front.
Again, the easiest way is to put your family/surname/dad's name (depending on your ethnicity) in caps or underline it.

For certificates, use Ah Beng Tan to make life easier... unless they really specify that they want TAN, Ah Beng.
ya,i also just remember they will put the surname with capital on it..so i guess that will clear up everything..thanks again
hihihehe
post Aug 20 2010, 01:58 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 20 2010, 01:50 PM)
how about rmit? i heard they have an entrance exam/ essay thingy...is it hard? any rmit students mind sharing some information? btw my cgpa for mass comm foundation is only 2.99...damn emo weyh...dunno can enter rmit or not now...T_T
not sure about entrance exam but i am RMIT student taking Bachelor of IT and all the students need to go through Skill Survey(a simple test) at orientation to evaluate your skill and then determine what course/subject you should take..

about the cgpa,mine is lower than yours(seriously malaysia is not an ideal place for me to study because of many friends around me) and i still managed to get in with some credits exempted..

hihihehe
post Aug 20 2010, 05:02 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 20 2010, 06:04 PM)
i've consulted aus ed agent just about 2 hours ago.. they ask me to filled up the given forms including the international student extra requirements and they will send it to aus for a offer reply. i didnt chose the unisa because i have family members in gold coast and melbourne...so i opted to be near my family members so that i wont feel so homesick. also i heard that rmit have really good job placement/internship programme that will eventually help me find a job in australia. this is because i might wanna migrate to australia later on...and i've been told that rmit internship programme is actually compulsory if u wanna complete ur degree there.
it really depends on your course..
internship is not compulsory and you can't get it if your GPA not sufficient..
and i nvr heard about supplementary that need to answer some question..
i think you should prepare all your documents and try to apply for it..and also try look the description of the course you want to take..

p/s: i'm now completing my degree without any internship and i've been told there is an option for internship but you must get certain GPA like above 3.0 or 3.5...
hihihehe
post Aug 20 2010, 08:47 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 20 2010, 10:41 PM)
i think the supplementary form is needed only for certain courses. not all the courses requires it. u can check this website to see whether your course is listed in it or not. http://www.rmit.edu.au/browse;ID=mwa63bn25wjbz. i think the main purpose of this supplementary form is to evaluate your command of english. but i hope i do well on it tho. hehee pray for me aight? btw hihihehe bro, dont mind me asking which pre-u u took b4 entering RMIT because as bro Hikari0307 mention i dunno whether taylors foundation is recognized or not.
not pre-u or foundation..

took diploma from KDU College and continue my degree at RMIT with credits excempted(3 years become 1.5 years)
hihihehe
post Aug 20 2010, 09:44 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(v2Rustie @ Aug 20 2010, 11:22 PM)
icic...so how do you find it studying in australia/rmit? is the quality of education there higher than malaysia? do you like it there?
i can say that there is no spoon-feed things at here comparing to malaysia..so prepare urself
hihihehe
post Oct 5 2010, 11:08 AM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(thechon @ Oct 5 2010, 04:34 AM)
Hello, I just received my COE, so I was thinking whether I should apply visa through the agent or self-apply. Please advice.

Another thing is, what's the difference between a e-visa and a visa applied through DIAC?

Let's say I renewed my passport in early 2009 and it will expire early 2014. However my course ends 31st December 2014. So do I renew my passport before I leave next year or I wait for another 2 years?
you can renew your passport on later date as long as before 6 months of the expired date(passport rules)
after you renew, you need to go immigration in australia or australia embassy in malaysia to verify your visa to your new passport...
hihihehe
post Mar 19 2011, 09:55 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 19 2011, 10:57 AM)
those in ade... what's the wage there like? for students wanting to work part time?
really depends..expect around $10 per hour for waiter/waitress
hihihehe
post Mar 20 2011, 09:27 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 20 2011, 01:37 AM)
that is below minimum wage, but chinese restaurants are well known to pay below that.......but it is unrecorded, so you don't need to pay tax......smile.gif
yup..is sort of illegal since they pay u by cash + without tax like my situation now(as temporary while sorting my visa)

QUOTE(zeke'stah @ Mar 20 2011, 07:54 PM)
alright!  thanks man. I'm 20 years old this year so what  amount should I be expecting?  Approximately?
around $16.70 per hour on last year..not sure about now

Added on March 20, 2011, 9:30 pm
QUOTE(buttergirl @ Mar 20 2011, 08:32 PM)
Normally in UK, most of the degree level would spent about 3 years to complete the entire program with honours statue.
Although that Australia was a great places to study as it provide a good environment but what are a downfall would be the duration to get the honours which normally require to spend 4 years instead of 3.
Do the maths, additional year to study in oversea require quite a lot of money compared to 3 years including living cost, tuition fee and other..
I know, three years of study in Australia will let you to obtain a degree without honours but let's face the world. Nowadays the company normally will hire someone who has a honours instead of non honours.

So, what should I do then, studying in Australia was my biggest wish but the education system really meake me kinda frustrated. sad.gif
to be honest, i don't see any company(IT industry) will choose honours instead of non honours...you have honours but not real world experience = put at the side first

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Mar 20 2011, 09:30 PM
hihihehe
post Mar 21 2011, 03:43 PM

13,782 posts

[quote=buttergirl,Mar 21 2011, 01:06 AM]

Added on March 20, 2011, 9:30 pm
to be honest, i don't see any company(IT industry) will choose honours instead of non honours...you have honours but not real world experience = put at the side first

[/quote]
so, do you guys continue on additional 1 year honours program after graduate ?

Added on March 20, 2011, 10:12 pm
do you mean that normally student will only complete its 3 year degree ?

the honours degree was just much alike postgraduate studies and students don't meant to continue ?

[/quote]
i can't/don't plan to go for honours as my study not that great until the university want to invite me and i prefer professional certificate for my IT related course...

bachelor degree is enough for now unless there is someone sponsor me tongue.gif
hihihehe
post Mar 21 2011, 08:33 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Mar 21 2011, 10:33 PM)
Just curious, what kind of professional certification are you looking at?
microsoft cert such as MCITP
hihihehe
post Apr 9 2011, 10:12 PM

13,782 posts

its like summer here in Melbourne these few days and it started to rain this afternoon..

well, weather in australia(or maybe melbourne only?) is unpredictable
hihihehe
post Apr 10 2011, 05:03 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Apr 10 2011, 04:50 AM)
I'm jealous of your weather now. But still, it's cold at night right?
don mind if cold at night(at least can hibernate inside quilt)

but inside my house always cold(even though is hot outside)
hihihehe
post May 6 2011, 10:55 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(zeke'stah @ Apr 28 2011, 11:48 PM)
it's been crazily HOT in Adelaide this few days.  forecast shows 8 celsius this weekend. looking forward to it..  ;D
you will regret wink.gif
hihihehe
post Jun 6 2011, 01:05 PM

13,782 posts

holding bridging visa B now and want to renew my passport while i still in malaysia.

the question is i can renew passport in malaysia then go australia embassy in KL to update/move the visa from old passport to new passport?
hihihehe
post Jul 10 2011, 04:40 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(gome @ Jul 6 2011, 11:27 PM)
I don't want to get into trouble, so no names here. But if you go to the suburb next to murdoch (kardinya), there's really only 1 pure chinese restaurant biggrin.gif.

Edit: I went back to the restaurant to get my pay and guess what - "Oh, we don't pay for just 1 day of work." And she sounded happy saying that. My fault, my fault. Maybe I should get nasty and contact the law enforcers hmm.gif
"cash on hand" job?

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Jul 10 2011, 04:40 PM
hihihehe
post Jul 13 2011, 09:59 AM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jul 12 2011, 03:17 PM)
lol who told you that?
banking in australia is similar or at least far more advanced than in msia.
we have deposit machines. we have app. for your ifon so you can transfer and check your balance thru ur fon. i rarely go to the counter. everything is done online.
i am using commonwealth bank btw.
Oh and yes, if you can please don't work for asians. I spent 2 years working for them cos it's closer to my uni and wasnt confident enough in scoring aussie jobs, and it was pretty hellish compare to what my current aussie boss pays and treats me.
i don't see any deposit machines for commonwealth bank around Melbourne CBD. so far i only see 1 deposit machine from NAB at corner of chinatown and russell street.

i go commonwealth bank at RMIT weekly to deposit money and luckily the counter not busy or need to queue/take ticket number for my turn. the downside is i only can deposit money in working hours doh.gif
hihihehe
post Aug 10 2011, 08:45 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 10 2011, 09:44 PM)
Please help! Is it possible to change from a Sim only plan (0 mths) to a phone plan (12/24months bb plan) on voda? BB phone drowned, and is dead. Wants to keep number. Advice appreciated. Thank you.
why not? you can go for either 12/24 months BB plan(new phone) and keep your same number too.
http://vodafone.com.au/personal/blackberry...biles/index.htm
hihihehe
post Aug 10 2011, 08:47 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Aug 7 2011, 02:38 PM)
I think each semester (each term, of which there are 2 per year) consists of 4 courses/units. If you choose to do the Bachelor of Commerce degree you can then major in one or more of Actuarial Science, Economics, or Finance, as well as Accounting, Business, Management, and Marketing.

If your degree lasts 3 years you would do 24 courses; 32 if your degree lasts 4 years.

In order to qualify for one or more majors you would need to pass or achieve a high grade in a certain set of courses relating to that major. Obviously to attain the overall degree you must also have passed/completed 24 or 32 courses, a certain number of which must be related to Commerce.

For example, if you chose/desired the Actuarial major, you might need to do Statistics, Economics, and Accounting, Financial Management and Mathematics. An Economics major would have to do Econometrics in addition to Economics and Statistics (and perhaps Economic History). A Finance major may have to do all of the above, or might only need to do Economics, Accounting, Finance, and Marketing.

Added on August 9, 2011, 7:59 pmAustralian temporary residents from Malaysia: Do you need a Tax File Number, and do you have to pay tax on interest?
if you are working in Australia(PR,TR,students,etc) then yes you need TFN to avoid higher tax(45% i think?) deduction from your income.

11 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.0423sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:16 PM