Why is WoW asking for Blizzard Authenticator?

TSxpresside
post Jan 4 2010, 06:59 PM, updated 16y ago

1,982 posts

Please activate the Blizzard Authenticator product attached to this account, and enter the six-digit digital code that it generates.

Authenticator Code

?? How come suddenly it's asking me to enter this code? This afternoon I log in never ask. Suddenly for the first time this evening it is asking me that.
TaufanX
post Jan 4 2010, 09:30 PM

24 posts

try check your main account in wow account page, and check under your account name,
kadS
post Jan 4 2010, 10:23 PM

344 posts

omg i hope its not ur acc been hacked.

this happen to a friend of mine, when he try to log into the game the authenticator thingy pop up..same when he try to access acc mgt from website.
and he got a few emails from blizz said that hes been suspended for spam chat promote gold thingy..

are u happen to click any link from wow forum?

Instant_noodle
post Jan 4 2010, 11:48 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

might be someone had already got your account information?

maybe you should try access you account, on the same time scan your pc for any infection that cause you your account information being leaked.

talking about infection, my pc kena oleli losing to 1 nokia hp's storage device. now imposing 1 week quarantine to all 3 pcs, all volatile storage devices being put into pc would banned from using outside and limit access to non instant messaging service such as forums to restricting it from spreading.

see ya guys in game after this week.
TSxpresside
post Jan 5 2010, 12:41 AM

1,982 posts

when i want to log into WoW Account management also it is asking for the code. I never click any links related to wow from my email.
spacelion
post Jan 5 2010, 03:03 AM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

your account has been hacked and is linked to an authenticator by the hacker.
TSxpresside
post Jan 5 2010, 04:18 AM

1,982 posts

I wrote them an email, sent to wowaccountadmin and billing. so now what? i just wait for them to reply?

i called their billing call line but the operator said "extremely heavy" calls and my que is over 1 hour. so i hung up.

what are the infos needed to de associate this blizzard authenticator?
Yue
post Jan 5 2010, 09:18 AM

387 posts

1. Did you click any WoW related link be it on e-mail, forums or any hyperlinked pages including your Instant Messenger.
2. Did you download any mods/add-on from any sites on the day or a few day before this event occur.
3. Did any "Blizzard" like e-mail arrive at one of your mail boxes asking for any account related statement.
4. DO you previously log in to your WoW account (be it in-game, Battle.net or forum) in a Cyber Cafe or any foreign places that you rarely or never been to?
5. Does your WoW account password share the same password with all the other program that you are using. be it paypal, e-mail, forums, steam or other related program.

Higher probability that your account have been hacked, your item have been compromised. do mail back to Blizzard and wait for reply. Hoping you could get your item back.
Imbecile
post Jan 5 2010, 10:11 AM

26 posts

sound exactly like another of the LYN poster who said he been hack
and the hacker put the Blizzard Authenticator in his account. sealing him from his own account, he can't do anything much.
have your check your armory yet? and your alt as well(above lvl10 ones)
its is best email the link from the official wow forum and wait for them to respond.
i know blizzard aware of this and trying to figure out which account is been hack and which one is not(goldfarmer a/c).
only untill they can find a solution, then they will reply to you.
or they will just give you the standard"we are well aware of this problem and apology for the inconvinion. please delete your WTF folder and may the light guide you on your journey".
arcbound
post Jan 5 2010, 10:37 AM

71 posts

I got this before. The hacker subscribed for an authenticator and it totally locked my account out. As the mobile authenticator is cheap (below USD2 i think), the hackers now have a way to get full control of your account and you are not able to change your password in time.

Took me around a week to get the authenticator removed.
I needed to provide secret question, secret answer, WOW original CD key and some other details in order for them to validate that it is your account and remove the authenticator.

Shortly after providing them the info, they removed the authenticator and i'm able to log in and play back. I heard that some hackers managed to get database from blizzard thus compromising a lot of the accounts. At one point a lot of people got the ban hammer for economy exploitation.
xiaopuyo
post Jan 5 2010, 11:50 AM

~UR Rarity~
1,928 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Jan 4 2010, 06:59 PM)
Please activate the Blizzard Authenticator product attached to this account, and enter the six-digit digital code that it generates.
Authenticator Code

?? How come suddenly it's asking me to enter this code? This afternoon I log in never ask. Suddenly for the first time this evening it is asking me that.
Clearly said, your account been PIMPED! My God!

SAY NO TO INTERNET CAFE, NO TO FOREIGN !
Better stay home connect and play
with safety antiviruses on, malware byte on and spybot S&D!

This post has been edited by xiaopuyo: Jan 5 2010, 12:30 PM
TSxpresside
post Jan 5 2010, 12:55 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(Yue @ Jan 5 2010, 09:18 AM)
1. Did you click any WoW related link be it on e-mail, forums or any hyperlinked pages including your Instant Messenger.
2. Did you download any mods/add-on from any sites on the day or a few day before this event occur.
3. Did any "Blizzard" like e-mail arrive at one of your mail boxes asking for any account related statement.
4. DO you previously log in to your WoW account (be it in-game, Battle.net or forum) in a Cyber Cafe or any foreign places that you rarely or never been to?
5. Does your WoW account password share the same password with all the other program that you are using. be it paypal, e-mail, forums, steam or other related program.

Higher probability that your account have been hacked, your item have been compromised. do mail back to Blizzard and wait for reply. Hoping you could get your item back.
1. No, but recently I got an e-mail after I got the Authenticator code error
Hello Mohamad,

The character transfer listed below has been canceled as of 1/4/2010.  The character listed is immediately available for play on the character's original realm and account XPRESSIDE.

- DAIJOUBU - Level 80 Tauren Warrior, on Frostmourne

Your credit card will not be charged for this transfer.  If you would like to set up another transfer for this character or any others, we welcome you to do so by signing into your Account Management page and clicking the "Paid Character Transfer" button:
http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/account

A history of Paid Character Transfers, including past and pending transactions, can be reviewed by signing into the Transactions page at this link:
https://www.worldofwarcraft.com/account/cha...fer-status.html

which I clearly did not do
2.I update my mods from Curse client only
3.No, the emails I got from Blizzard were asking me to merge my account to Battle.net
4.The only place I log in WoW is from my room and office, which I usually do for the past year.
5.Share the same password but different username.

Added on January 5, 2010, 12:56 pm
QUOTE(arcbound @ Jan 5 2010, 10:37 AM)
I got this before. The hacker subscribed for an authenticator and it totally locked my account out. As the mobile authenticator is cheap (below USD2 i think), the hackers now have a way to get full control of your account and you are not able to change your password in time.

Took me around a week to get the authenticator removed.
I needed to provide secret question, secret answer, WOW original CD key and some other details in order for them to validate that it is your account and remove the authenticator.

Shortly after providing them the info, they removed the authenticator and i'm able to log in and play back. I heard that some hackers managed to get database from blizzard thus compromising a lot of the accounts. At one point a lot of people got the ban hammer for economy exploitation.
Thanks, but do we need to provide them our ID/IC and fax it to them?

Added on January 5, 2010, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(Imbecile @ Jan 5 2010, 10:11 AM)
sound exactly like another of the LYN poster who said he been hack
and the hacker put the Blizzard Authenticator in his account. sealing him from his own account, he can't do anything much.
have your check your armory yet? and your alt as well(above lvl10 ones)
its is best email the link from the official wow forum and wait for them to respond.
i know blizzard aware of this and trying to figure out which account is been hack and which one is not(goldfarmer a/c).
only untill they can find a solution, then they will reply to you.
or they will just give you the standard"we are well aware of this problem and apology for the inconvinion. please delete your WTF folder and may the light guide you on your journey".
My druid got 4 stuff missing, other characters I armory still got their stuff but not sure about the stuff in the bags cry.gif
I changed my password immediately after I got the authenticator message. I've did in-depth virus scan, nothing suspicios, deleted addon folder,cache,wtf folder

Waiting for blizzard to reply..
anyone knows any other number to call beside the international billing department?we can't call singapore's number?

This post has been edited by xpresside: Jan 5 2010, 12:59 PM
arcbound
post Jan 5 2010, 05:25 PM

71 posts

Perhaps you manage to reset the pw in time before the hacker manages to do more damage to your account. I actually stopped playing for a couple of months. The suddenly I got an email stating that I have transfered my character to Blood Furnace and Gorefiend.

Then out of curiosity I try to log in my account since if someone made the transfer it should've been active. To my surprise same password but got the authenticator message. Went to reset my password and wrote to blizzard about account being compromised. They were quick in restoring my items that were sold/deleted, and kept sending feedback mails to me.

But I still could not log into my account due to the authenticator. Wrote to them explaining about the entire situation, then someone from blizzard dealt directly with me via email. Took a few mails to verify stuff to ensure that the account was indeed mine and not some random fella trying to steal account, had to give a few personal details like secret answer, Ori WoW CD Key. Nothing about my IC/ID etc. Few days later, got mail about authenticator removed and I could log in. The hacker had subscribed 1 month with his own C/C I guess, so I played that 1 month. Now that C/C is not valid so I'm just on my own lol...
frega
post Jan 5 2010, 07:08 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(xpresside @ Jan 5 2010, 04:18 AM)
I wrote them an email, sent to wowaccountadmin and billing. so now what? i just wait for them to reply?

i called their billing call line but the operator said "extremely heavy" calls and my que is over 1 hour. so i hung up.

what are the infos needed to de associate this blizzard authenticator?
i see wowaccountadmin.

looks like you got hacked. NO email from blizzard starts with wowaccountadmin.
TSxpresside
post Jan 5 2010, 08:25 PM

1,982 posts

QUOTE(frega @ Jan 5 2010, 07:08 PM)
i see wowaccountadmin.

looks like you got hacked. NO email from blizzard starts with wowaccountadmin.
says who?
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.h...318909866&sid=1
3.2 Helpful Submission Tips

For faxes:

o Make a black & white photocopy of your information, this way everything is already in gray scale
          o Enlarge the ID by about 100% and up its brightness
          o Ensure that the writing is legible; use block letting if necessary
          o Have all pages go through in one submission; multiple, consecutive submissions will not count
          o Fax a copy of your submission to yourself first to see how the pages will look once sent; adjust size, writing, and brightness accordingly
          o If, after 48 hours, you haven’t heard back, email wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com and resend

frega
post Jan 6 2010, 07:37 AM

396 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1277904
did you get an email from wowaccountadmin?

This post has been edited by frega: Jan 6 2010, 07:38 AM
Zepx
post Jan 6 2010, 11:49 AM

1,232 posts

Like what Frega said, I think you send your emails to wowaccountadmin, but they won't be using that email address to reply you.
arcbound
post Jan 6 2010, 12:12 PM

71 posts

Howdy!

Thank you for replying with the serial number for the Authenticator currently attached to this account.

As we are able to correctly verify the requested information, I have removed the Authenticator from the account xxxxx as requested. You should now be able to access the account without inputting the Authenticator code.

If you have any questions about this process, feel free to reply to this email. Alternatively, you may also reach our Billing and Account Services team via phone for live assistance. Billing representatives are on hand to take your call between 8 am and 8 pm Pacific Time, 7 days a week at 1-800-59-BLIZZARD (800-592-5499). Customers in Australia should call 1-800-041-378.

Regards,

Matthew K.
Billing & Account Services
Blizzard Entertainment
www.worldofwarcraft.com

The above is the email reply from Matthew K from their Billings team. The email he used to write to me is from:
"wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com" <wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com>

Definitely a genuine one as it resolved my authenticator issue. Check your email headers to ensure that the sender is not spoofed. Sometimes hacker can spoof the sender mail but when you reply its to a different email. As long as its XXX@blizzard.com should be fine. Not XXX@BIizzard.com or Blizzerd.com etc...
TSxpresside
post Jan 6 2010, 03:28 PM

1,982 posts

thanks everyone,
i called the billing department yesterday. 12 midnight..
was on hold for 20mins and talked with trevor..
he asked for my first and last name
my email address and my secret answer to my secret question
after that he removed the authenticator code

so later i told him i've just downloaded the mobile authenticator thing and he suggested that i gave him the serial number for him to link the authenticator to my account right away.
before that he told me that i'll get an email from blizzard to reset my account once again.

told him that i noticed that my druid items were missing and he said to address that issue to a GM
but u know what? after i logged in, i notice all my stuff are already restored in the mail. no need to petition a gm or wait for anything.
and i got my core hound pet!

now i know with the authenticator, the code will change every 30seconds..wow so secure hahaha
arcbound
post Jan 6 2010, 04:45 PM

71 posts

I'm tempted to get the mobile authenticator. Searched their website but doesnt include N80 in their list.

Glad you manage to get your account back. Blizzard staff are really getting more and more prompt in customer service.

0.0549sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:45 AM