6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V7, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

celciuz
post Mar 15 2010, 06:56 AM

14,037 posts

Nice gathering! Was around KL yesterday, but went to Bird Park for shooting then J-One after being poisoned by the 70-200 f/2.8L IS and the 70-200 f/2.8 VR2 LOL.
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 07:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 16 2010, 12:31 AM)
Oi guys got people going to GACC melaka ah?
Me and my group will be invading GACC on the Sunday tongue.gif.

QUOTE(SkyBlue99 @ Mar 16 2010, 01:49 AM)
For me it's ok without vc as I also rarely use it
then must have tried the older one with motor. The one without is fast! icon_idea.gif

Added on March 16, 2010, 1:51 am
Get prime and force yourself move your ass. Quote from DA regarding composition biggrin.gif
I've noticed, lens without any form of image stabilization requires fast shutter >.< Noticed it when I use my 50mm. ._. Slow shutter hit rate not high dry.gif, need shoot a few for it one :S. So I would go for the one with VC if I were to get one.

Zoom lens are good for lazy bumps like me tongue.gif. hahaha!
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 08:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Mar 16 2010, 08:11 AM)
if i'm getting a d5000 for a start, which lens should i get if not getting the kit lens?
What is your budget?

You may consider Tamron 17-50 VC, or 17-55 DX for IQ.

Or one of the 18-200 for versatility.
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 09:15 AM

14,037 posts

Still need a budget from you, but if it is really tight it is best to stick with the kit lens. 18-55mm is good kit lens smile.gif.
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 09:33 AM

14,037 posts

If top up RM200-300, 18-55 is your best bet for now. Its a good lens despite being a kit lens.
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 11:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Faint @ Mar 16 2010, 10:33 AM)
17-55 DX means non VC ? Is that has better in term of IQ compare with VC version ?
QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 16 2010, 11:03 AM)
1755 is nikkor. F2.8 and no VR. IQ superb but price sweat.gif
17-55 is the Nikon's DX, probably the best DX lens for crop sensor. Have to admit, it has superb IQ. But then you lack of the VR unfortunately. Price also quite sweat.gif
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 02:49 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 16 2010, 01:49 PM)
do u still need VR for this range?
Initially I thought no need, but then when I use my 50mm prime, also hit rate not high when I go about 1/30 shutter :S.
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 04:54 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 16 2010, 03:57 PM)
almost same like me... but mine can go lowest 15... after dat sweat.gif
Shoot is can shoot, but its like I need to do a few tries. Maybe 1 would be sharp, the rest probably affected by hand shake. 200mm with VR2 can do 1/8s sharp tho tongue.gif.
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 05:25 PM

14,037 posts

The 'N' does not help in VR de ma.. just some coating to reduce flare isn't it? But I'm thinking Nikon is starting to copy Canon's L style.. L lens.. N lens.. haha!
celciuz
post Mar 16 2010, 06:12 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Mar 16 2010, 05:36 PM)
Different thing mah, Canon's L indicate premium lens, Nikon's N refers to lenses with Nano Crystal Coating, not all premium lens have Nano Crystal Coating le. And G which means no more aperture ring on the lens mah, only thing follow is just the gold ring on the premium lens while Canon's red.
The new premium lens from Nikon all has the 'N' wording lo. All has the Nano Crystal Coating. 14-24, 24-70, 70-200 and 105VR are one of the few I know has Nano Crystal Coating.
celciuz
post Mar 17 2010, 09:14 AM

14,037 posts

I use CaptureNX most of the time, only use Photoshop/Lightroom when I can't do the same output with CaptureNX.
celciuz
post Mar 17 2010, 10:12 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(noobie1 @ Mar 17 2010, 10:10 AM)
video?? i dint use that function much thou i have that function...having my dslr for almost half year, i think i only use it twice... whistling.gif
Totally agree, video function is good to have. But rarely uses it. I think I only used a few times until now...
celciuz
post Mar 18 2010, 12:18 AM

14,037 posts

The '70-200 VRII' is more of a '70-200 VR' II instead of '70-200 VR II'. Meaning the 2 refers the second revision of the lens, and not specifically using second generation VR or something isn't it?
celciuz
post Mar 21 2010, 06:07 PM

14,037 posts

I do CaptureNX and if that doesn't do, Lightroom and if really need to do a little more stuffs.. I resort to Photoshop =/
celciuz
post Mar 23 2010, 02:49 PM

14,037 posts

AFAIK, Nikon lens warranty are international. So yes you should have the warranty from Nikon itself.
celciuz
post Mar 24 2010, 08:17 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(tun @ Mar 24 2010, 12:07 AM)
cannot deicde to choose 35mm f1.8 afs or 50mm f1.8 without afs
35mm because you cannot AF with 50mm f/1.8.

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 24 2010, 04:46 AM)
Is Sigmalux 50mm f/1.4 better than Nikkor 50mm f/1.4??
Why Sigmalux more expensive than Nikkor? Even I asked Fotokem they also tell me the same blink.gif
Better elements inside? Well that lens has a thread size of 72mm. Giant among the 50mm primes.
celciuz
post Mar 24 2010, 02:57 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(reveur @ Mar 24 2010, 09:41 AM)
I am giving chance to anybody here that wanna poison me with Zoom and Wide lens. Any takers?

Added on March 24, 2010, 9:46 am

Whats the site name? Care to share?
Maybe 70-200 f/2.8 VR II? tongue.gif
celciuz
post Mar 24 2010, 05:29 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 24 2010, 04:55 PM)

hang out with my friend . who are using canon
zorex? Not many 50D users around lol. Plus in Melaka drool.gif
celciuz
post Mar 24 2010, 05:53 PM

14,037 posts

Wah, the more pricey G losing out to the older/cheaper D... Weird... Something went wrong with Nikon's engineering.
celciuz
post Mar 24 2010, 09:04 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Mar 24 2010, 07:08 PM)
Most probably is because of the built in motor for AF in G lor. But i heard something about G that it doesn't have aperture ring? What is that?
Yeap, aperture ring is for those older lens. 50mm f/1.4D for example, you can adjust the aperture manually on the lens itself. G -> Gelded or something, they removed the aperture ring which means it is not compatible with the old camera bodies.

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Mar 24 2010, 07:30 PM)
What is battery grip for o.0?
Vertical grip! Extra grip! And last of all... show off! doh.gif Just joking tongue.gif.

I bought the vertical grip cause it was hell and strain on my hands when I take vertical shots with the SB-900 fitted sad.gif.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Mar 24 2010, 08:01 PM)
yes . beside him is the taiko.
Beside him is who? Another 50D? Teddie? laugh.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0454sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:57 PM