Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 02:44 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Jan 16 2010, 02:33 AM)
Oh, that is not component cable. That is err, I know it as a PlayStation 2 or PlayStation 3 default cable. It's low quality coz the yellow cable carries all the visual signals while the red and white cable carries right and left sound respectively (stereo).

Component cable is capable of displaying visuals up to 1080i while the 'default PS2/PS3' cable can only do 480i/p and/or 560i/p? Kinda.. But the point is component is better. Way better. (But of course no match to HDMI) And yes, the colors of component cable is Red, Green and Blue which means it carry the signals of the cable color (Red cable carry red color signal only, Blue etc etc) which means it is much more specific rather than the 'default PS2/PS3' yellow cable that does all the visuals. Sound must be brought only with that red and white cables (which means you will get a stereo sound output) or use the digital outwadljfagrihna oh whatever the name is if you want 5.1 channel surround sound (I can't use 'em coz my sound system only accept red n white input..  sad.gif

Hope u get what I mean.

I'm looking forward to A*s-throw byond. (reminds me of PS3 ads, PLAY B3YOND)
Actually dun need so difficult. Standard yellow-red-white cable also can use for component. Just plug yellow into green, red to red and white to blue. Then use another just red and white cable for audio. The color coding is just for convenience. Copper cable is copper cable.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 03:32 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jan 16 2010, 03:25 AM)
i want to ask, my new house already split out the video from old astro decoder output to 5 lcd ( 1 room 1 lcd.. ) by connect s-video and RCA audio cable. if i get the b.yond can make it connect them back on?
B.yond has no S-Video. So most likely no. You can have the RCA audio tho. Or if you can find some way to downsample component to S-Video.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 16 2010, 03:33 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 03:52 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jan 16 2010, 03:48 AM)
i no understand recently .. got the picture to make it clear??
The b.yond has no S-Video out. If you need to use S-Video, you have to find for a device that converts component video to S-Video.
Something like this: http://www.svideo.com/appletv2tv.html

It's not cheap tho. I think better idea to rewire the TVs to use component if you emphasize quality.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 16 2010, 03:56 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 03:58 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jan 16 2010, 03:57 AM)
impossible ask me change all my wall wiring to the component cable lar..
there already fix with the s-video cable connect well as using old decoder...
meanwhile i no chance to go for b.yond  cry.gif
Well, you can still go for b.yond, if you can find that component to S-Video converter. Look into Pasar Road, maybe they have converter at cheaper price.

Of course, understand that even using this way, you can only get HD on the main TV (which need to have HDMI connector), the one in the same room with the b.yond. All other TVs will receive SD picture.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 16 2010, 04:00 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 04:18 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jan 16 2010, 04:03 AM)
ooo, b.yond can output the screen by using hdmi and component together at the sametime???  drool.gif
and if i connect the hdmi directly to lcd got sound from tv ?? it still required to connect the amp?
Can. But the decoder will only output 5.1 through coaxial digital audio. And HD only comes out through HDMI.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 16 2010, 04:25 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 12:21 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jan 16 2010, 07:54 AM)
Are you talking about the B.yond decoder or HDMI in general? Because I've heard from other users that they use the B.yond->Receiver->HDTV HDMI connection and they can get DD 5.1

For the record, HDMI 1.3, which is what B.yond has, can support Multichannel PCM 7.1, Dolby TrueHD 7.1 bitstream and DTS HDMA bitstream. So logically, it supports DD and DTS bitstreams as well.
For longer splits, you need to convert the HDMI signal to CAT5 cabling and then back again.
I was sleepy when I posted that and I took Wikipedia too seriously, sorry. You're right.

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 16 2010, 09:22 AM)
I thought HDMI can accept any signal you throw to it? What about those DD TrueHD or DTS HDMA?

It's the accepting equipment (TV, AVR) etc that must have the capability to decode the signal that's carried by the HDMI cable. So, for the Astro Byond case, you can't set to DD 5.1 when your TV can't decode DD 5.1, thus no sound come out. Even some AVR with the HDMI connection just act as switch function but can't decode the DD5.1 signal carried by the HDMI.
True.

QUOTE(silbii @ Jan 16 2010, 10:49 AM)
i've used both proper component and those el-cheapo red white and yellow cables and i can't see any difference....but maybe that's just my poor vision tongue.gif
I'm currently using yellow-red-white cable for component and another red-white only cable for sound from b.yond to VGA box. Works fine. But then, when the output is only 576i, hard to tell any difference.

QUOTE(pirateguy @ Jan 16 2010, 12:09 PM)
I haven't try the digital audio but is it can be used with normal coax cable or do I have to use a higher grade cable to prevent loss of digital signal ?
Normal RCA coax should be fine. I used one from my DVD player to a SoundBlaster Extigy.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 16 2010, 12:23 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 16 2010, 12:29 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jan 16 2010, 12:26 PM)
Sooooooooooooooooo sad
and a bit pi***d off mad.gif

today Byond installer called me at 9 am
say today want to come and install
then 930 am they call and say want to come now
940 they arrived
i open the gates
then waited for like 10 minute
the 2 installer never came out of their van
Finally one of them came out and said they cant install yet
seems that astro messed up the decoder serial number form
it did not match the decoder serial number
the installer said cant be done today
office close
damn..
was so close to enjoying football in HD tonite..
Astro screwed up..AGAIN
lat wednesday, installer came to install my 2nd decoder without bringing the decoder..
luckily the nice fella came back 2 hours later at 7pm to install
N now the Byond problem
So saaaadddddddd
sad.gif
You can still call Astro CS and bising to them. I think they're open on Saturday.

These people probably too lonely in call center. That's why screw things up so people will call them and give them company lol.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 16 2010, 12:30 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 17 2010, 12:59 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 16 2010, 02:03 PM)
Is that normal when i first booted the decoder and after booting there is message: STB starting up... then the decoder is on....
Normal. Mine does that if I turn on TV before the b.yond box too.

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 16 2010, 03:59 PM)
Comparison to Japan's Cable 1080i to Astro's Satellite B.yond 1080i (did not manage to test JP satellites' broadcast):

Astro handles fast moving sea/water/stream flow compression much better than JP's cable provider. 1080i on JP's shows up as blocks... Byond some blocks but very miniscule.

Though JP's cable adds lots of information to their video feed, Real-time weather/forecast for local and all of Japan.... multiple languages/multiple translations... and lots of functoinal interactive stuff.
Maybe Japan's system still using MPEG-2. Astro actually made smart move to wait a bit for DVB-S2 and H.264 to stabilize before deploying.

Edit: Got backup info that Japan's system using MPEG-2. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISDB:
The core standards of ISDB are ISDB-S (satellite television), ISDB-T(terrestrial), ISDB-C (cable) and 2.6GHz band mobile broadcasting which are all based on MPEG-2 video and audio coding as well as the transport stream described by the MPEG-2 standard, and are capable of high definition television (HDTV). ISDB-T and ISDB-Tsb are for mobile reception in TV bands. 1seg is the name of an ISDB-T service for reception on cell phones, laptop computers and vehicles.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 17 2010, 01:13 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 17 2010, 01:56 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jan 17 2010, 01:53 AM)
can I call astro b'yond tmrrw? coz use the website submition, almost 2 weeks no reply or call
Definitely. Astro must be pushed a lot if you want your b.yond faster.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 17 2010, 07:19 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 17 2010, 05:28 AM)
Besides answer from dxjb, typing in full CAPITAL letters are rude!
Doubly agree. Please read about net etiquette before posting in forums, thanks.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 17 2010, 11:50 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 17 2010, 09:24 AM)
That also happen with me as well..
Mine a bit different. Using first code for Sharp TV. When press power, first thing that happen is remote sends a '1' button keypress to TV. Must quickly press again to power TV off or TV will switch to Preset 1 (which is tuned to my VCR RF because I have no indoor antenna).
RAMChYLD
post Jan 17 2010, 08:55 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jan 17 2010, 01:33 PM)
The "mute" button also send to TV and not to B.yond box to mute the sound  sad.gif
Mine doesn't. Mute signal only goes to b.yond box.

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 17 2010, 06:35 PM)
QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 17 2010, 04:40 PM)

Can anyone confirm that the B.yond channels do not have any static station logos?
HD channel do have their static logo.
Confirm HD channel does have static logo.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 17 2010, 09:27 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 17 2010, 09:23 PM)
let's fill up the b.yond article in wikipedia...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Astro_B.yond
I suggest integrating it to the main Astro article. That's what happened to the Max article.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 18 2010, 09:13 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 18 2010, 12:09 AM)
the old method is to plug it to VCR..  biggrin.gif  (VCR got RF in and RCA out)
Well, most electrical shops got. Afaik Tesco, Jusco and Giant got.

Price vary from RM15 to RM35. Naturally more expensive one is better.

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Jan 18 2010, 08:52 AM)
nope.just a period time..

like me 1 month..then 'KO'.other forumer around 4 day.
my fren never watch.depend on ur lucky.

promote maaa biggrin.gif
Mine lasted one month also.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 18 2010, 09:53 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 18 2010, 09:50 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Jan 18 2010, 09:42 AM)
less 2 week to keep their promise espn hd..plz dun delay
when watch la liga game..can imagine watch epl in HD
like in heaven..wakaka
They already put up on their webpage. If they dun fulfill can sue them.

The channels I asked for on the other hand... shakehead.gif
RAMChYLD
post Jan 18 2010, 02:03 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Jan 18 2010, 02:01 PM)
guys how many days actually u all getting byond ??
its says 10 days (working days i presume)
now mine is aredi 11 days...how bout u guys ??
cannot wait maa...

can sue them ??? laugh.gif
Some people already wait one month. If you want faster, you must kacau CS more frequently. People who get fast one here usually call like everyday to 2-3 times a day.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 18 2010, 02:04 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 19 2010, 09:14 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(animekingz @ Jan 18 2010, 11:50 PM)
for my tv is working fine. no distortion, just nice. the 2 hd channel very nice  rclxms.gif

its not mine anyway, my dad's  biggrin.gif
i hope they will add hallmark , animax and axn hd channels soon.
Cannot ask for channels that dun exist yet. AXN HD, exists, but I doubt the existence of Hallmark HD and Animax HD. If they upscale standard channels no point, might as well just transmit SD and let the decoder upscale like they're doing now.

QUOTE(dxjb @ Jan 19 2010, 01:18 AM)
on saturday byond installer come to my house
suddenly he checked and see the decoder serial number on the form not the same with decoder serial number he bring..
he say he cannot install on saturday la since office closed..
today also nothing..he didnt come or call
should i call astro cs n ask if he does not come tomorrow?
If this happens definitely must call Astro CD. Not to ask, but to complain. Bising and give them earfull.

QUOTE(fizzy15 @ Jan 19 2010, 02:25 AM)
mine HD not full HD, currently using 1080i since 720p picture not that sharp.. do not know y..
I think it depends on your TV's native resolution and upscaling circuit. Theorically, if the TV is 1920x1080 (full HD) and you give it 720p(1280x720) it must upscale. If TV is 1366x768 then it will downscale 1920x1080(i) to the 1366x768. Downscale always sharper than upscale.

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 19 2010, 08:23 AM)
u guys notice that on Geo HD, the 5.1 sound a bit blur with lots of noise in the back ground (like the wind blowing into the recording mic) and the narration is a bit soft?

The History & sports HD are OK though....
Never test. Need to try plugging it into ye olde Soundblaster Extigy and see how's the output. Also, need to look for yet another 5.1 kit for the Extigy to drive. Currently the Extigy is driving three pairs of pathetic Aiwa speakers.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 19 2010, 09:24 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 19 2010, 09:21 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(edmundq @ Jan 19 2010, 09:17 AM)
watched Nat Geo HD's "Inside" (Freedom of the Seas) at 9.30pm last night and ASTRO forgot to censor the f***-ing word. Was a subtitle cause the highly 'high' woman was murmuring and without the subs, we wont have a clue of what she is saying.

Was ASTRO caught napping?
More like Nat Geo napping. Astro is most likely not allow to temper with the incoming video stream. I had a colleague who worked with Astro back when I was working for a college in 2006, and she said that Astro is not allowed to censor the video, only relay. Censoring is done by source (i.e. HBO, Nat Geo). If they even so cut off a programming to insert advertisements at wrong time, they can get into trouble.

Why would you complain tho? Shows that our country is finally progressing forward.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 19 2010, 09:25 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 19 2010, 10:04 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(edmundq @ Jan 19 2010, 09:42 AM)
Just want to gauge feedback from the community, isn't astro even allowed to blur the word, instead of snipping the whole video frame out?
Not really sure. Haven't met said friend in ages. I left the college in 2007. But I think the general point is they're not allowed to temper with the video.

QUOTE(lowyard @ Jan 19 2010, 09:49 AM)
Darn.. I applied through online on Sunday and yesterday, I didn't notice Astro have called me twice!! Then I immediately call their CS to tell them to call me back.. but until now, still didn't get any call.. Sigh.. My mistake.
Must aggressive a bit. If they don't call you, you must call back.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 19 2010, 10:06 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 19 2010, 01:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ady_1413 @ Jan 19 2010, 12:55 PM)
astro byond aku ujan skit je mlm td trus xdapat..cam hampeh mad.gif
Mrk ada tukar you punya dish tak? Astro b.yond ada piring yang lebih besar dari Astro biasa. Tapi ada installer yang tak tukar dish kerana "out of stock". Jika dish tak tukar kena call Astro CS dan request.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0415sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:53 PM