Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

RAMChYLD
post Jan 19 2010, 01:44 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ady_1413 @ Jan 19 2010, 01:42 PM)
sumer dah tukar.. lg truk dri astro yg dulu.
Alignment macam mana? Ada align dengan betul tak? Wayar macam mana? Mungkin wayar terlalu tua (10 tahun lalu punye wayar tak boleh guna, tahun lepas punya boleh) atau ada sambungan dlm tidak disambung dengan betul.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 19 2010, 01:44 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 20 2010, 04:34 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Jan 20 2010, 11:38 AM)
Was going to release this when I got home tonight but since you asked

http://stinkyfruit.wordpress.com/2010/01/2...b-yond-decoder/

As a beta tester and an astro employee I'll try and do a few blog posts dedicated to B.yond and try and wrap up most of the major questions that are being repeated on here.

I don't work in our programming or marketing devisions so I'm sorry I'm not able to answer questions about installers, channel line up and pricing. Plus it just wouldn't be appropriate for me to do so. I will, when I get the chance, answer questions related to broadcast and tech. Drop a question on my blog if you like and I'll try to cover that topic in future posts
Cheers
Justin
Ok, I have a few questions. If I'm using HDMI, sometimes the TV will fail to show picture/sound. If switch to composite, okay. Had to switch off mains and switch back on. I think few users here also have that problem. Is it a problem with the decoder?

Another question: Can implement feature to allow HTPC owners to integrate their HTPC with the b.yond? I'm having a hard time because I have a Dell 24" Full HD (biggest screen in my room) + 5.1 kit setup on my HTPC but there's apparently no way to take full potential of the setup. BlackMagic Intensity Pro doesn't support HDCP and AVerMedia HD DVR supports HDCP but cannot support 50Hz mode b.yond box output.

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Jan 20 2010, 04:16 PM)
831 as usual base ch 811.i think 832 folow 812.
No guarantee. You sure 831 base on 811? I dun have sports package, but see the EPG guide different only?

QUOTE(syxx @ Jan 20 2010, 04:16 PM)
help!!!  icon_question.gif

going to buy plasma tv for astro byond...

either 42inch panasonic S series full Full HD

or

50 inch panasonic X series HD

which is the best for Astro Byond...!

rclxub.gif
Do you have a Blu-Ray player or plan to get one? If you plan to use/Have BD as well get Full HD set will get slightly better picture from BD movies that have 1080p encoding. If size matters instead, 50" will be okay.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 20 2010, 04:44 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 20 2010, 05:36 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 20 2010, 05:29 PM)
Go for Full HD will be better. Byond native resolution is 1080i, it's more sharper than 720p. Then you'll get full potential of byond.
HD Ready = 720p/1080i. Full HD=1080p. HD Ready more than enough if you're only going to use for b.yond. But if you're going to also use PS3/XBox360/HTPC/Blu-Ray player/HD Media player, 1080P is a better investment.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 20 2010, 05:38 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 09:21 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 20 2010, 05:52 PM)
for VIERA TH-P50X10K,
Moving Picture Resolution = 720 lines
Number of Pixels 1,049,088 (1,366 x 768) pixels

HD Ready means it accept Full HD signal, but wil display in 'Screen Resolution'
In this case, it will downscale 1080 to 720
HD Ready not necessarily will support 1080p. Some can some cannot. for example, my Sharp LC19A35M cannot support 1080p even though it's HD Ready. Max it can support is 1080i. The pixel count is exactly the same as the Viera TH-P50X10K, only it has smaller 19" screen as opposed to 50" screen. Full HD, on the other hand, guarantees that the TV will support 1080p.

QUOTE(TallJustin @ Jan 20 2010, 06:49 PM)
So you want to record an un encrypted HD signal do ya?
No. For record I can wait for B.Yond DVR function. My problem is my preferred display is a Dell 245WFP screen, which is the biggest in my room and is also conveniently positioned in front of my bed, and I have a SonicGear Enzo 4000 5.1 speaker system, which is analog only. Both are connected to my HTPC. I want to link my Astro to HTPC just to output to the screen. No switches, no wire changing, no fuss. Just want to be able to press MCE button on computer's remote and watch History HD or Nat Geo HD, and then real-time pause when I have to go answer phone. I can do that with SD using composite->RF, but because HD get downsampled to SD on that line picture not so good (I'm trying to be kind here, the picture is next to horrible actually because of interference noise from god-knows-where), especially on 24" display.

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 20 2010, 07:48 PM)
i am watching b.yond HD using Avermedia HD card, but cant record of course
Can meh? The Avermedia people tell me that the card cannot support 50Hz signal. Why ah? They tipu me so I won't import card? Baka betul. Already waste money on the Intensity Pro and work on research halfway...

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 20 2010, 11:11 PM)
Im now praying for my mother will allow me to buy an LCD tc to enjoy B.yond fully.. Please god,,,
Credit card + 1 year ansuran = win.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 10:18 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 09:52 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Jan 21 2010, 09:46 AM)
Does it work with Windows Media Center?
According to Avermedia website the card comes with MCE plugin to allow it to work in MCE.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 11:54 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(agc188 @ Jan 21 2010, 11:41 AM)
to all sifu, my question is simple, is it worth to get astro beyond now or wait until there is more HD contents made available by astro? i am using 42 full HD LCD now...
Do you have subscription to either Movie, Learning or Sports package? No point getting now if you don't have subscription to any of the said packages, since you won't get HD channels anyway (all HD channels require subscription to the corresponding SD packages, the RM30/month is a "HD enabler" price). Otoh, if you have either one of the packages particularly the Learning package, get it now, don't wait. Nat Geo HD and History HD is absolutely breathtaking.

Heck, even if you don't have any of the packages mentioned above, just add in Learning package and go for beyond. It's very worth it.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 11:59 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 12:14 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 21 2010, 12:04 PM)
as far as i can see it cannot work coz the connection i am using is displayport because i am using 3008wfp which support hdcp in displayport, there's no displayport or for that matter HDMI connection in MCE..not sure about the plugin ramchyld mentioned..will check it out tonight.but i can definately watch HD channel using the card , but for 1080i kinda of lagging i noticed, so i set to 720p

Update: just checked the website there is MCE plugin but for vista, not sure will work on my windows 7 64bit , will try tonight.
3008WFP is monitor or card?

Point is try to connect HDMI of byond to HDMI card on PC (i.e. Avermedia HD DVR) use MCE to relay to screen and speakers and control like TiVO. If connect direct to DVI surely can one, although for me doing that means have to unscrew/rescrew DVI all the time (plus also need a HDMI to DVI cable, which I have, luckily) and that is what I'm trying to avoid in the first place (245WFP only have one HDCP-enabled DVI and one VGA port, very ma huan), plus I won't get real-time pause/rewind that way.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 12:21 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 01:39 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 21 2010, 12:33 PM)
3008wfp is dell monitor ...my graphic card using displayport also, mmm hdmi of beyond to hdmi tv tuner card? dont think can work that way wor..
Can work that way only if the HDMI tuner card support HDCP. Of course, only one model of Avermedia card is known to support HDCP (in fact, appears to be only HDMI card in market to support HDCP) and it's not compatible with 50Hz signal mad.gif vmad.gif

QUOTE(dsubra @ Jan 21 2010, 12:58 PM)
YES! You're right.
True. So just also add in the learning package if you dun have any of the package with HD channels, many of us drooling over Nat Geo HD and History HD tongue.gif

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 01:42 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 01:50 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 21 2010, 01:44 PM)
Waiting for Discovery HD, Asian Food Channel HD, Reavel & living HD, CNN HD, BBC HD & more....others 2ndary to me..Dreaming again......
half of the channels you mention doesn't even exist sweat.gif

And upscaling existing channels on Astro's end then calling them HD brings no benefit and eat up Measat bandwidth only. Might as well let the decoder do upscaling for you.

Unless Astro retransmit those as H264 with DVB-S2 as well for beyond users, which will improve picture quality marginally. And even that the signal is still not HD. Just HQ (high quality tongue.gif )

aih... when ESPN HD will come? still waiting for it....

We need a pin up saying that general belief is that ESPN HD coming by end of January 2010 yawn.gif
Astro has 10 more days to fulfill the dateline.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 01:52 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 02:50 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 21 2010, 02:48 PM)
The February Mag is out,there is NO mention of ESPN HD . Astro must be thinking of having their own HD channels they buy selected HD content and give a rojak channel more money less costs ! Just like Supersport HD instead of giving ASN channel itself  ! whistling.gif
So they pushing it forward. But hopefully launch before FIFA World Cup 2010?
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 04:09 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 21 2010, 03:52 PM)
I believe there was never a Dell monitor with that number yet. There is the 2407wfp, 2408wfp and 2405fpw (which does not support HDCP through DVI)... from your statement sI guess your monitor is the 2407wfp which does not have HDMI input....
You're probably right. I remember the 245WFP from a CD-ROM that came with the dell tho.
--
Ok, called my aunt to go dig up the receipt. It's a Dell E248WFP.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 04:54 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(lkhoe @ Jan 21 2010, 04:36 PM)
Guys, if my current setup is one downstairs shared with two tv upstairs, will this still work if i change my decoder downstairs to byond?
Depend on how you shared the connection before. If using RF like most people, have to get a composite-to-RF converter, which almost every supermarket got sell. If using S-Video like one unique case here, have to get a component-to-S-Video converter, which is harder to find. If using three wire composite(yellow video + red and white sound) then it will still work without needing additional devices. The decoder can output in HD and SD at the same time (when watching HD channel, HDMI will output HD while composite and component will output downsampled SD simultaneously). But cannot output 5.1 and 2.0 sound at the same time. If you enable 5.1 sound then only coaxial digital will be enabled, all other outputs will become disabled. On 2.0 all outputs are enabled. So if you use splitting you need to improvise (i.e. turn on 5.1 manually when watching movie and remember to turn it back off when finished).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 05:02 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 21 2010, 05:29 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(lkhoe @ Jan 21 2010, 05:05 PM)
Cool. But can the astro installer help me do this? Or do I need to engage those from Onking shops?
You can do yourself. First you need to find out how the split is done at the moment (hopefully it's RF or composite. S-Video difficult a bit because the converter very expensive online and is almost impossible to find in shops). Astro person can tell you how it's currently split. After that, you just need to get the required device and set it up. If in doubt, get Astro person, then get the contractor who wired your splitting for you.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 21 2010, 05:32 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 22 2010, 11:59 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 22 2010, 07:03 AM)
Which shop? .... and if possible how much...
Kk, try and tell us if it works. Because the Avermedia support I e-mailed say the device does not support 50Hz signal, meaning it cannot support 576i, 720p25 or 1080i50 or any PAL signal. Why I ended up cancelling my order from Amazon (using vPost relay) as soon as I received the reply. But that guy could be talking through his ass to dissuade people from importing card.

PS: also let us know if the card can do HDCP. I only assume it can because the card's webpage mentions that it can capture cable and satellite, which I assume through HDMI as well. Surely if it can do that it can do HDCP, unless Avermedia twisting their words around.

Doesn't really matter tho, already give Astro ultimatum. Will terminate my account by end of month if they don't bring in the channels I asked and the salesman promised by then. Anger instigated by someone at another forum yesterday evening.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 22 2010, 12:35 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 22 2010, 01:36 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 22 2010, 01:01 PM)
why wanna import the card, the local distributor here selling the card here also what, saw their booth at PCfair last december
Q:  Why third party software show only black screen on HDMI input (Example: Microsoft Media Encoder)? 
A:  Based on HD Video Content Protection (HDCP) definition of HDMI input for the copyright HD video, AVerMedia application only allow to display but not support recording function.  If running with other applications at this kind of input source, the video will be blocked directly in our device due to copyright consideration. 

gotta use their sofware to playback...anyway sure can play using their sofware both 720/1080 also can confirm since i using the card already..not sure about MCE though
They have the card? rclxub.gif I searched Low Yat Plaza and Cineleisure. Cannot find. Also no mention of it on Avermedia Asia website.

Anyways it doesn't matter lah. Project progressed enough already to working state, and I'm going to go into a boycott now and will cancel my Astro by end of month if they don't give me the channels the salesman promised and bring back BBCE.
RAMChYLD
post Jan 22 2010, 03:40 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Jan 22 2010, 03:36 PM)
Ouch.. that hurts.. Well, I do own a HT but it doesn't support optical. It only have a red and white audio in.
HD enabler? Macam my word je. lol. Anyways, RM30? RM20 rite?
Should be RM20 (my sub also RM20). But then someone here say they kena RM30?

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 22 2010, 03:41 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 24 2010, 09:36 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(twL @ Jan 24 2010, 08:10 PM)
yesterday,
i got my replacement dvd recorder after i sent for warranty.

i connected my astro b.yond to my recorder via composite video cable,
and component cable in between tv and recorder,
i tried to watch any HD channel like HBO HD,
i realized that the picture will have black color border on the top and bottom,
and my screen appeared "copy protection failed".

very surprise still can watch it via composite cable..  smile.gif
Funny leh. I thought Copy Protection Failed error only occurs when using HDMI. When nothing connected to HDMI port usually no problem one. Unless you have a poor quality/broken HDMI cable connected to the TV as well or the TV has damaged HDCP chip.

But yeah, in this case, on the HDMI screen, the screen go black with copy protection failed screen, but on the composite screen it will still show picture with an irritating "Copy Protection Failed" box if set to fullscreen or "Copy Protection Failed" error on the top letterbox bar if the decoder is set to output downscaled widescreen HD in letterbox mode.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 24 2010, 09:38 PM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 25 2010, 09:43 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(twL @ Jan 24 2010, 11:56 PM)
actually i don understand y i got the message.

now my b.yond decorder connect to tv via hdmi and dvd recorder via composite cable,
is it the reason i got the message: copy protection failed?
Funny leh. Last time I got the message was when I connected the byond to a Blackmagic Intensity Pro directly while a VCR is connected via composite cable with TV chained to VCR via composite. As soon as I unplug the HDMI the error goes away. And when I moved the HDMI to a second TV but still leave VCR connected to composite and TV connected to VCR, problem goes away. So... maybe the problem is that the TV will cause HDCP to fail if it's HDMI is connected and it changes input to non-HDCP source?

QUOTE(satiash04 @ Jan 25 2010, 09:29 AM)
iniatially when istalled astro beyond, there were no sound when i switch to HDMI mode....after few days it was ok...now it started back again...no sound...i seriously don't know whats the problem...i have checked the sound setting in astro....its in surround but still got no sound.
If you want sound through HDMI then you must only use Stereo. They disable surround sound through HDMI. They have two reasons: the stupid reason is that the HDMI Dolby Surround sound is flawed and distorted, and the not so stupid reason is that most HDMI-enabled TVs cannot decode Dolby Surround through HDMI port anyway, only LPCM, only high-end TVs support Dolby Surround through HDMI. In surround mode sound will only be sent through the coaxial connector. Set sound to Stereo and it should work.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 25 2010, 09:53 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 25 2010, 11:06 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(satiash04 @ Jan 25 2010, 10:04 AM)
i had tried changing the sound setting to both stereo and Dolby...both not working....before it was OK via stereo...suddenly dono wats wrong..
Then call Astro and ask. Maybe your decoder defective...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 25 2010, 11:07 AM
RAMChYLD
post Jan 25 2010, 10:49 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 25 2010, 10:23 PM)
Hope what she said will be true la.. Sometime I also don't know what else can I expect from the CS after I called so many times just to get my latest statement emailed or fax to me.
After TallJustin's correction post... nod.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0511sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:39 AM