Transition Lens, how to identify

licia
post Aug 1 2011, 01:38 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Aug 1 2011, 10:49 AM)
do u mind to share what is your power?  I got my pretty expensive  sweat.gif 

my astig is high (400), was told that the high astig lenses are expensive, is it true?
I am below 250 around same price as niel.
It is more exp for your case, like my sister lens

This post has been edited by licia: Aug 1 2011, 01:40 PM
klaatu08
post Aug 1 2011, 01:44 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(licia @ Aug 1 2011, 01:38 PM)
I am below 250 around same price as niel.
It is more exp for your case, like my sister lens
ic, so is true that high astig lenses are more expensive.

Kelv
post Aug 1 2011, 03:31 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Just to share, I got my transition lens recently.
Power is around 375 each side. Using 1.6 index.
The price of the lens is around RM750+-, brand is Essilor.
kiathoong
post Aug 10 2011, 11:01 AM

545 posts

Actually you guys can request for the Transition lens boxes. It always have different company produce transition lens. One of them is Younger Optics.
And of cos Transition lens is expensive because of the cost of making it. They do have photochromic lens in the market. You just need to find the right optical shops.

Cheers mate.
From Optical line smile.gif

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:03 amIn order to identify whether you guys get the genuine transition lens... Bring it to outdoor with sun UV for 5 minutes, and bring it back to indoor. If the lens turn out to be all white.. its the genuine.

This post has been edited by kiathoong: Aug 10 2011, 11:03 AM
liewmasai
post Aug 14 2011, 05:51 PM

If not mistaken Transition provide the coating to lens maker like Hoya, Carl Z etc. etc. Lens price much more expensive in malaysia than in USA. In USA you can get Trasition even from Walmart store. No kidding!

If you guys are from Selangor try dropping in Eye Care Eentre in SEGI's UC at Kota Damansara (there Segi offer degree in optometry). Make your spec there. You can even bring a frame that you fancy as frame selection there may not like be your liking. Made my spec in JB with Transition with 1.5 index essilor progressive lens. RM800+. Said to be best offer!.

Those who finally done their specs in Segi UC please put up a post.
klaatu08
post Aug 15 2011, 09:58 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(liewmasai @ Aug 14 2011, 05:51 PM)
If not mistaken Transition provide the coating to lens maker like Hoya, Carl Z etc. etc. Lens price much more expensive in malaysia than in USA. In USA you can get Trasition even from Walmart store. No kidding!

If you guys are from Selangor try dropping in Eye Care Eentre in SEGI's UC at Kota Damansara (there Segi offer degree in optometry). Make your spec there. You can even bring a frame that you fancy as frame selection there may not like be your liking. Made my spec in JB with Transition with 1.5 index essilor progressive lens. RM800+. Said to be best offer!.

Those who finally done their specs in Segi UC please put up a post.
may I know which mode of essilor progressive lens u bought?

Becoz the price I paid is very much different from yours.........maybe I was conned kao kao doh.gif

liewmasai
post Aug 15 2011, 09:51 PM

QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Aug 15 2011, 09:58 AM)
may I know which mode of essilor progressive lens u bought?

Becoz the price I paid is very much different from yours.........maybe I was conned kao kao  doh.gif
Transition Essilor progressive lens, Adaptar 2 1.5 index Crizal A2. How much you kena for yours?.
klaatu08
post Aug 15 2011, 10:04 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(liewmasai @ Aug 15 2011, 09:51 PM)
Transition Essilor progressive lens, Adaptar 2 1.5 index Crizal A2. How much you kena for yours?.
mine is Essilor Varilux Comfort progressive lens with transition, 1.59 index, my astig is high at 400. Kena at 1.7K
liewmasai
post Aug 16 2011, 08:08 PM

QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Aug 15 2011, 10:04 PM)
mine is Essilor Varilux Comfort progressive lens with transition, 1.59 index, my astig is high at 400.  Kena at 1.7K
Your being Essilor Varilux lens and 1.6index should cost, at least, another RM400. Maybe your frame is higher end. My frame about RM210. Therefore lens is nearly RM630. Like I said, those in Selangor should try to do their spec in Segi UC.
klaatu08
post Aug 16 2011, 08:14 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(liewmasai @ Aug 16 2011, 08:08 PM)
Your being Essilor Varilux lens and 1.6index should cost, at least, another RM400. Maybe your frame is higher end. My frame about RM210. Therefore lens is nearly RM630. Like I said, those in Selangor should try to do their spec in Segi UC.
1.7K just for the lens, I use back my existing frame. Ya, but too bad I already did mine, will check out Segi UC next time

yeelin04
post Aug 17 2011, 11:10 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

Hmm, just go for a new full frame specs without transition, checked my eye power, still remained same, no increase at all and he is a good optician, well recommended
klaatu08
post Aug 17 2011, 11:50 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Aug 17 2011, 11:10 PM)
Hmm, just go for a new full frame specs without transition, checked my eye power, still remained same, no increase at all and he is a good optician, well recommended
sorry, who is he?
yeelin04
post Aug 17 2011, 11:59 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Aug 17 2011, 11:50 PM)
sorry, who is he?
just PM you smile.gif
zgmf-x20a
post Aug 24 2011, 10:35 AM

96 posts

any1 can advise the price for the following spec?

Left eye
power =325-350
shortsight =100

Left eye
power =100
shortsight =325-350

no branded frame + transition + normal index

I am not sure which lense is better since I am using Hoya lense for 6 years ago until now.
yeelin04
post Aug 24 2011, 09:40 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(zgmf-x20a @ Aug 24 2011, 10:35 AM)
any1 can advise the price for the following spec?

Left eye
power =325-350
shortsight =100

Left eye
power =100
shortsight =325-350

no branded frame + transition + normal index

I am not sure which lense is better since I am using Hoya lense for 6 years ago until now.
my estimation around RM700-800++ not confirm though.

the world best lens is Carl Zeis, its better to get carl zeiss lens for your transition ^^
reign226
post Sep 30 2011, 08:56 PM

804 posts

Just got a hi index transitions lens with frame for about RM550. My power is about 500 for both eyes astig around 100-150.
ksp_tech
post Oct 12 2011, 04:05 AM

49 posts

anyone selling this in lowyat?
imgaylord
post Nov 3 2011, 09:12 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Sep 30 2011, 08:56 PM)
Just got a hi index transitions lens with frame for about RM550. My power is about 500 for both eyes astig around 100-150.
May I know what is the index value? 1.6, 1.71, etc?
What is the manufacturer? Essilor, Hoya, etc?
Which optometrist?

cdspins
post Nov 28 2011, 11:15 AM

2,714 posts

Bought my transition lens, Essilor 1.6 index, power is 450 + 100 astimagtise, price of lens is 660. Consider expensive?
kiathoong
post Dec 10 2011, 09:36 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Nov 28 2011, 11:15 AM)
Bought my transition lens, Essilor 1.6 index, power is 450 + 100 astimagtise, price of lens is 660. Consider expensive?
Cheappppp

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:03 PM