post Jan 15 2010, 12:19 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Jan 15 2010, 12:16 AM)
u can buy first then sell to me tongue.gif
How much you want? RM400? whistling.gif laugh.gif

My initial budget was 2k... then became 2.6k... then 3.3k.... looks like it might just go above 4k...... sweat.gif

Haven't tell my wife yet..... sweat.gif She will probably pengsan first then I will pengsan later (when she wake up later and knock me on the head) laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 15 2010, 12:20 AM
kmarc
post Jan 15 2010, 10:53 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 15 2010, 12:19 AM)
u already have a kitlens right??u shd try to play around with it..after awhile..u'll know what u really need...

on another hand..if u dont have any lens now..then maybe u can consider to get a zoom as what others suggested..or get a prime(if u know what u r doing)
Nope. I don't have a kitlens or even a DSLR!!!! sweat.gif I have a digital compact camera that cost me RM799..... whistling.gif

Basically, I never used a DSLR before.... I'm still a virgin..... laugh.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 15 2010, 03:04 AM)
kmarc: The point of the 50mm is that it's F1.8 and lets you avoid using flash in low light. However it's not for group shots. You'll still need the kit lens at least.

Thanx for the clarification. That lens would be good for taking my baby's picture.

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jan 15 2010, 10:14 AM)
He's considering A550, since that's body only. he'll need to find a lense.

Kmarc
You're buying to shoot your kid. Forget about the 50mm, go for the kit 1855 + F20 flash. Then worry about other things.

Can't remember who was asking why 1855 instead of 1870, because 1855 is newer mar.. tongue.gif It's also slightly better right? Personally I don't know since I only had the 1870.
Right. After all the poisoning and advices (which I really appreciate notworthy.gif ), I have decided to get this (unless I changed my mind again):
1) A550
2) The 50 mm f1.8
3) The 1855
4) F20 flash

Any other poison for me? cry.gif Anyway, I still have one week before the stock comes to Sibu. Still have time to poison me.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 15 2010, 10:55 AM
kmarc
post Jan 15 2010, 04:44 PM

14,576 posts

Woo hoo! Finally got my baby to take my baby's picture!!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Kena poisoned until wanna pengsan, then go to the Sony centre, kena poison kaw kaw!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

1) Sony alpha 550 - RM2999
2) SAL18250 - RM 1700 (minus another RM100 as display set, dunno when will stock come, I cannot tahan already)
3) Flash HVL-F20AM - FOC
4) Sony bag - minus RM100 as I downgraded the bag
5) Extended warranty 2 years - RM200

Size of hole in pocket = 4.7k (from my initial budget of 2k sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif)

I couldn't get the new Sony Time 2010 promotion as the shop hasn't receive the new promotion/stock yet. Had to go with the older promotion. However, the guy was very helpful and after haggling and because I paid cash, managed to get the flash FOC and some discounts here and there.

What do you guys think? Is it a good bargain, considering I'm in Sibu and I don't have the luxury to go KL to buy. hmm.gif

Ermmm... how long to charge battery? 8 hours?
kmarc
post Jan 15 2010, 05:25 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Jan 15 2010, 04:46 PM)
Ahaks. Congrats on the purchase.  You already have a good lens to start with.
Thx. Wanted to get the SAL50f18 and 18-55mm but the sony centre didn't have the 18-55. Also got poisoned to buy this lens.

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Jan 15 2010, 04:49 PM)
congrat for ur pocket hole tongue.gif  rclxms.gif

its consider ok la becoz ur at sibu.  btw i think no need to charge 8 hours, its about 3 hours aredi full (after the LED off) then add another 1 hour to fully recharge.

i know, i know.. u not sabar to play2 wit ur new toys kan?  hahaaa biggrin.gif
Another 4 hours... hmmm.... that means I can start playing at 9pm!!! rclxm9.gif

Ya, can't wait. Now cannot do anything else!!! laugh.gif Wanna skip dinner but kena scolded by wife..... sweat.gif

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 15 2010, 04:51 PM)
kmarc, congratulations! Yeah sounds like a good deal. Remember not to put the F20AM on the body when putting it in the bag (it can break by sideways shearing; this is in the warning on the instruction manual.)
Thx for the advice. thumbup.gif

Anyway, thank you all for the advices. I think I would need more advices once I start shooting!!!

Haiyaa... forget to buy LCD protector..... doh.gif
kmarc
post Jan 15 2010, 08:23 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Jan 15 2010, 05:45 PM)
Congratulation bro kmarc on your new toys. Nice haul.  rclxms.gif

Dont forget to PM bro amadeo to include you in the A550 owner list smile.gif
Post some of your 1st pictures...  smile.gif
Ok. Will pm him.

Ulppp! Better not post the 1st few pictures as I'm still a virgin..... laugh.gif

QUOTE(likito @ Jan 15 2010, 06:37 PM)
congra ... wait i back sibu then we can have a gathering and sharing experience ...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Errrmm..... I'm a noob leh. You'll probably have to give me ALL your experience + share share your gear brows.gif

QUOTE(ieR @ Jan 15 2010, 06:52 PM)
go back poison him with cz1680, 70200G, 135stf, F58, and many more... LOL
Arggghhhh!!! Not going to spend another penny more!

(Hmmm.... still haven't got my lens protector, flash diffuser, flash gel...... hmm.gif )

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Jan 15 2010, 08:02 PM)
If i buy an a550 standard package, do i need to prepare xtra $$$ for basic things like pouches, lens cap and straps?  icon_question.gif
I bought from Sony centre. For the old promotion, I got the SAL18250 + pouch package for RM1700. It comes with the lens cap and the camera comes with the straps.

For the new promotion, there is free printer. drool.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 15 2010, 08:23 PM
kmarc
post Jan 15 2010, 09:59 PM

14,576 posts

Aikes! Was trying out my a550 and noticed that there is a dead pixel on the LCD!!!!! doh.gif

The funny thing is, it is only present on Live view. On picture playback, the LCD looks perfect..... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 15 2010, 10:07 PM
kmarc
post Jan 15 2010, 11:48 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Jan 15 2010, 10:17 PM)
that is not dead pixel, i think that is a dust between liveview sensor to mirror.
QUOTE(marauderz @ Jan 15 2010, 11:21 PM)
Could be a dead pixel on the live view camera. Or dust on the Live View camera. It won't affect image taking, so it's up to you on how to deal with it.
It's a blue dot only in live view. No defects in MF check LV or in playback mode..... rclxub.gif

Anyway, will ask my vendor tomorrow to see what he says.....
kmarc
post Jan 16 2010, 12:09 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 16 2010, 04:58 AM)
kmarc: Use the Pixel Mapping function in your A550 menu.
Woo hoo! You're my saviour! Saved me a trip to the Sony centre! Thx!!! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(likito @ Jan 16 2010, 06:36 AM)
ur gear better than me .  rclxms.gif XD
QUOTE(neo_lam @ Jan 16 2010, 06:54 AM)
no loh...ur 50mm and 28mm should be sharper than 18250...
See see... your gear better! tongue.gif

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 16 2010, 12:04 PM)
kmarc, I also have the problem on my A550 only appear in A550 liveview mode...doesn't seems to affect final picture output..

albnok, hmm does pixel mapping the lcd affect teh final output?? or its just to solve the pixel thingy on screen?? since its under warranty wouldn't it be better to bring back sony to fix the one pixel??
It only appears in live view and not on playback or MF check LV. The pictures taken, when viewed on the computer, is also perfect without any defects. If yours is the same condition, then use the pixel mapping like what albnok said. Make sure your lens cap is on. I did the lens mapping and the blue dot is gone!!! What a relieved! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 16 2010, 12:10 PM
kmarc
post Jan 16 2010, 12:46 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 16 2010, 12:21 PM)
yup exectly like your case.......just did it also..and its gone too..but wondering wats the cause of this dot.......hmmm though can exercise my "warranty"
I think it should not be a problem as long as your pictures are perfect. I initially thought is was the LCD with a dead pixel....
kmarc
post Jan 16 2010, 08:36 PM

14,576 posts

If I were to take my DSLR into an aircon room to do some shooting, what is the best way to take the camera out of the room after shooting? I'm sure if I took it out immediately, the lens would get condensation right? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 16 2010, 08:37 PM
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 07:38 AM

14,576 posts

Anybody knows where I can get a good deal for the Tamron 1750 f2.8 for my a550?

Shasinki is selling it for RM1,550...... rclxub.gif

I've got the SAL18250 but thinking of getting a better portrait/group lens that has a better "f"...... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 17 2010, 07:42 AM
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 07:52 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Jan 17 2010, 07:42 AM)
wahh, kmarc, 2 days only with A550+18250. now jump to another lens? hahaha

Added on January 17, 2010, 7:47 am

if u able to claim consumer/tourist tax... so it become tax-free biggrin.gif

even u bring ur camera to aust (or laptop) u have to bring every receipt... they sometime NBTD will check u, and ask for it.
You la, poison me until everyday thinking of DLSR and lenses and filter and dry box and and and..... laugh.gif

The 18250 is quite adequate but going to look around for this lens. No hurry to buy..... I hope...... whistling.gif
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 08:00 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 17 2010, 07:57 AM)
aiyo..if u buy tammy..then ur 18250 abit wasted already..might as well get tammy n beercan since the start..  whistling.gif
18250 on promotion ma..... errmmm, beercan? I don't drink beers, thx...... laugh.gif (have to google what a "beercan" is..... blush.gif)

Anyway, gotta go to work... sad.gif be back later!
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 10:36 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 17 2010, 08:04 AM)
NO~Don google..else u'd fall in love with it.. =p
Ahhh... too late..... it's the minolta AF 70-210 F4!!! drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 17 2010, 08:34 AM)
wah so quick u're bored with the range already?
that's the best walkaround lens u can get in hands maaa..
u have to make use of it..  1 week, 1 months will make u understand that the biggest aperture (smallest 'F') isnt the best option all the time..
everyone is heading for a constant aperture nowadays..
yah the legendary beercan.. minolta 70-210 F4 lens..
kmarc, dont google it at work.. danger2 ha ha ha
Right, let me understand this properly. I have the SAL18250 f3.6-6.3. It would have been better if I got the Tamron 1750 f2.8 + minolta AF 40-210 F4.

As I understand it, my lens would be equivalent to those two lenses except that my best "f" would be 3.6 instead of the better f2.8 for the tamron. Are there any other advantages of having those two lenses as compared to the SAL?

What if I got myself a 50mm f1.8? Would it be adequate if I have SAL18250 + 50mm f1.8? hmm.gif (keeping in mind my main objective is to take pictures of my baby. The SAL18250 can do that but I want bigger aperture!!! cool2.gif) Other types of photo taking is secondary at the moment. Next time maybe buy macro lens... haha.... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 17 2010, 10:38 AM
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 10:58 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 17 2010, 10:55 AM)
y dont u tell us earlier?
well, 50mm should serve u well.. and if u can afford more then 85mm is a comfortable range.. or even go for 135mm (but for babies i dont think so)
prime lens FTW! and if ur baby is in the age where they keep running and hopping and jumping and falling then this range is quite adequate..
I did ask you all previously. Just that I was a super noob (and didn't understand much, and still AM a super noob) and the SAL18250 was under promotion so I grabbed that. I was thinking the SAL50f1.8 would be a cheaper alternative, then I can alternate between the SAL18250 and the SAL50f1.4.

Just a bit more poison for me sweat.gif , would a 50mm lens f1.4 be much much better or f1.8 would be adequate.... hmm.gif (and why is 85mm better?)

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jan 17 2010, 11:01 AM
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 11:59 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 17 2010, 11:22 AM)
85mm is longer so it'll be sharper if u can take the shots from a longer range, his/her body shots.. when she's running, etc etc
F1.4 and F1.8 wont give u as much different if ur still trying..
u should get one. but for IMHO, go for F1.8 and if u feels lke the range is comfortable to you then u can go on with F1.4 if u still think u need the aperture..
and, dont worry 50mm F1.8 sangat laku.. u'll be able to sell it later very fast..

I see. Thx for the info.

I'm thinking of going back to the Sony centre and try to get the promotional package for the SAL50f18 which comes with the A550 camera for RM300. See see how..... drool.gif
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 12:53 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jan 17 2010, 12:19 PM)
U meant this one  laugh.gif
free photo printer also  thumbup.gif

~now just using my T900 only  cry.gif
Yup. That's the one but Sibu doesn't have that promotion yet!!!! doh.gif They are still using the older promotion. sweat.gif

kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 04:08 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ Jan 17 2010, 01:28 PM)
but haven't u already got a550 + 18250 (on ur siggy)
planning get another one?? drool.gif
Wei, my pocket got big hole already la. My head also got big bump too, kena my wife ketuk my kepala for spending so much..... haha.... sweat.gif

No, what I meant was that I hope the Sony Centre would be kind enough to sell me the lens for RM300 (like in the promotion) without buying an alpha as I have bought the a550 from them previously .......

QUOTE(Quickerzranoid @ Jan 17 2010, 03:21 PM)
i just check out the a380 last weekend.. and im kinda poisoned by this camera. im going to buy a DSLR by end of this month. but before the a380, i saw a nikon d3000 (at times square) which the cost is around rm2300. can anyone of sifus here tell me which 1 shud i go for? my budget is around rm2000 - rm2500. and im not DSLR user (*YET*). besides, i heard sony lenses are more expensive than other brand like nikon/canon. is that real? Help me.. im kinda confused.. thanks
I did some research to compare sony alpha with canon and nikon models. The thing about sony alpha is that it has excellent live view function and steady shot (image stabilizer) in the body and not on the lens (which should make lenses cheaper) which is suitable for noob like me as I came from a point-and-shoot camera.

QUOTE(achew @ Jan 17 2010, 03:45 PM)
buy 50mm F1.8 would do..for group shot..u can stil use ur zoom lens..u wont be using F1.4~F4 to shoot group shot anyway..the DoF is too shallow to cover all the people..
Yeah, that's what I'm thinking. I can still switch between lenses......
kmarc
post Jan 17 2010, 07:31 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Quickerzranoid @ Jan 17 2010, 06:14 PM)
Noted! Very convincing! Thanks a lot~! Will consider a380.. or any new alpha coming out? around my budget? tongue.gif thanks again...
Errmmm.... if specifically the a380, it is supposedly not as good as the a350. Furthermore it is still using the old CCD sensor as compared to the a550. Yeah, maybe you should wait for something ilke the a450..... smile.gif
kmarc
post Jan 18 2010, 12:02 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Jan 17 2010, 10:55 PM)

kmarc: Yes, the 18-250mm and 50mm F1.8 makes a good duo.

Thx! I read some reviews of the 18250 and is reassured of it's good lens. At least I didn't blunder too much on my first DSLR.... whistling.gif

QUOTE(Braynumb @ Jan 17 2010, 11:05 PM)

bro, where do you get your Alpha stuff in Sibu? i thought sony center in Delta Mall don't have alpha???

Yup. I bought it from the Sony centre in Delta Mall. They do carry the alpha models but don't have many stocks. The guy there "Lawrence" said that they have ordered stocks long time ago but never came.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0513sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:12 AM