Star Trek Online, MMORPG of the ST Universe | Feb 2nd

TSfiredauz
post Dec 23 2009, 08:46 PM, updated 16y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Source: http://www.startrekonline.com/
Nimoy Reprising Spock in Star Trek Online

Atari, Inc. and MMO developer Cryptic Studios announced today that Leonard Nimoy, the actor who originated the legendary and beloved "Star Trek" character of Spock more than 40 years ago, has joined the cast of "Star Trek Online," the first massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) ever set in the "Star Trek" universe.

Nimoy, who recently reprised his role as Spock in 2009's Star Trek movie, will voice the introduction for "Star Trek Online." Nimoy's voice, known to millions of fans all over the world, will also be heard during key scenes and events in-game.

"I am happy to be involved with 'Star Trek Online.' In this game, the essence of 'Star Trek' – exploration and adventure – lives long and prospers," said Nimoy. "I'm pleased that a whole new generation of fans will be able to discover new frontiers in the 'Star Trek' universe."

"Mr. Nimoy's participation in 'Star Trek Online' brings the game to a whole new level," said Jim Wilson, President and CEO of Atari, Inc. "When 'Star Trek' fans hear his voice they will know that 'Star Trek Online' truly is part of the 'Star Trek' universe."

Set in the year 2409, "Star Trek Online" boasts extraordinary features and lets fans both new and old experience unparalleled adventures. Offering space and ground game play, players will have the opportunity to become a high-ranking Starfleet officer and will participate in missions that will take them into the depths of space, across exotic planets, and even inside other starships. "Star Trek Online" offers total customization where every ship player's command can be customized, from color to construction. Additionally, anyone can create their own species in "Star Trek Online," as well as customize the look of their avatar's uniform.

For more information on the game, visit the official site: http://www.startrekonline.com/
and for a preview, go here: http://www.gamerevolution.com/preview/pc/star-trek-online

The game will be available starting February 2.

RoloTomasi
post Dec 24 2009, 02:19 PM

77 posts

any trekkie here? so far i'm the only one asking about this game at subang parade. the will order this game for me.

i'll play this game when i'm done with Aion. maybe in april the earliest. or june if my aion guild function properly. the latest is when sw:tor release. i bet only loyal fan will stay.

preview at mmorppg: http://www.mmorpg.com/gamelist.cfm/game/35...w-Part-One.html
TristanX
post Dec 24 2009, 05:15 PM

Where is my stars?
24,354 posts

Already apped for beta and waiting for it. Hopefuly I can get it.
RoloTomasi
post Dec 28 2009, 12:48 PM

77 posts

nice to see ppl i know interested in this game.

will you pay for it? and which side? klingon or fed? http://www.tentonhammer.com/node/78574/page/2

i register with them b4 warharmmer. i doubt i can get in beta test unless pre-order.

This post has been edited by RoloTomasi: Dec 28 2009, 03:12 PM
frega
post Jan 3 2010, 02:30 PM

396 posts

im kinda waiting for this. wow is so boring now.

i'll be a fed. i might do direct2drive or steam or something. not sure yet, since i need to install windows on my mac to play this.
mrhulk
post Jan 3 2010, 03:04 PM

131 posts

is this STO gonna be theme-park or sandbox MMO?
frega
post Jan 4 2010, 05:12 AM

396 posts

sandbox i think. if i understand what sandbox is.

one "server", instanced like eve.

Added on January 4, 2010, 11:45 am
QUOTE(RoloTomasi @ Dec 24 2009, 02:19 PM)
any trekkie here? so far i'm the only one asking about this game at subang parade. the will order this game for me.

i'll play this game when i'm done with Aion. maybe in april the earliest. or june if my aion guild function properly. the latest is when sw:tor release. i bet only loyal fan will stay.

preview at mmorppg: http://www.mmorpg.com/gamelist.cfm/game/35...w-Part-One.html
when will your order arrive?

PCgame.com.my isnt carrying it it seems.

This post has been edited by frega: Jan 4 2010, 11:45 AM
RoloTomasi
post Jan 4 2010, 12:31 PM

77 posts

@ frega: they say they going to call me when available.

@mrhulk: fed have more pve and story line. klingon more pvp incline. you need to choose a faction between them and pvp each other. you cannot go fed zone and pvp. but you can pvp fed in neutral zone. no info about pvp death penalty yet. looks like theme park.

new mmo feature: in solo pve instance you can pause anytime(u need to control 5 char). grouping instance 45 sec cooldown.
xyber_matrix
post Jan 4 2010, 01:38 PM

Woo! Good to know that there's gonna be some Malaysians in game smile.gif. I'm gonna get mine from gamestop. Digital Deluxe Edition biggrin.gif.

Anyone else gonna preorder?

Ah and for those curious about the pricing its, USD 49.99 for a standard game edition and USD 59.99 for the Deluxe Edition

Links:
Standard
http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDet...roduct_id=73923
Deluxe
http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDet...roduct_id=76783

And does anyone by chance know someone in UK? Its going for a wee bit cheaper there than in the US.
Morpheus2be
post Jan 4 2010, 02:35 PM

464 posts

Buying my copy from Direct2Drive.

See you guys in the Alpha Quadrant!
frega
post Jan 4 2010, 04:48 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Jan 4 2010, 02:35 PM)
Buying my copy from Direct2Drive.

See you guys in the Alpha Quadrant!
How does D2D download work? I'm unfamiliar.

Say if youre downloading and get dc'd, will it just resume? I'm looking at this Download Manager 2.0...seems like a browser download manager. Compared that to Steam's...

Added on January 4, 2010, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(xyber_matrix @ Jan 4 2010, 01:38 PM)
Woo! Good to know that there's gonna be some Malaysians in game smile.gif. I'm gonna get mine from gamestop. Digital Deluxe Edition biggrin.gif.

Anyone else gonna preorder?

Ah and for those curious about the pricing its, USD 49.99 for a standard game edition and USD 59.99 for the Deluxe Edition

Links:
Standard
http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDet...roduct_id=73923
Deluxe
http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDet...roduct_id=76783

And does anyone by chance know someone in UK? Its going for a wee bit cheaper there than in the US.
How much is the shipping?

Amazon was gonna charge me USD35 I was like f*** that.

This post has been edited by frega: Jan 4 2010, 05:37 PM
Morpheus2be
post Jan 4 2010, 06:36 PM

464 posts

D2D is just like Steam. Its tied to your GameSpyID. You can resume downloads or re-download at any time.
xyber_matrix
post Jan 4 2010, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(frega @ Jan 4 2010, 04:48 PM)
How does D2D download work? I'm unfamiliar.

Say if youre downloading and get dc'd, will it just resume? I'm looking at this Download Manager 2.0...seems like a browser download manager. Compared that to Steam's...

Added on January 4, 2010, 4:49 pm
How much is the shipping?

Amazon was gonna charge me USD35 I was like f*** that.
LoL I felt the same way when I checked out Amazon. The links that I gave are digital downloads, so no shipping costs will be involved in the transaction. D2D recently made their STO available for worldwide purchase as well.

You should also note, different retailers provide different pre-order bonuses. So it'd probably be a good idea to check them out before purchasing from either D2D or gamestop.

It sucks that Amazon doesn't have the DDE version or any digital means for obtaining STO, their pre-order bonus is IMO the best bonus.

@Morpheus2be, do you happen to know any particulars about the D2D bonus? The "Multi-Spatial Personal Sheild"? I prefer D2D for their reliability but I prefer the TOS Constitution Class ship bonus. Decisions, decisions.

P.S. Even if you're not too sure on the details of the item, I'd value any views you may have on the topic.
frega
post Jan 5 2010, 03:50 AM

396 posts

Yea no, the TOS connie is only used as a starter ship... it'll be useless after.
xyber_matrix
post Jan 5 2010, 06:36 AM

QUOTE(frega @ Jan 5 2010, 03:50 AM)
Yea no, the TOS connie is only used as a starter ship... it'll be useless after.
So is the Multi-Spatial Shield isn't it? Its only a starting bonus. But at least the TOS Connie has some collectors value, you can show it off at events, etc.
frega
post Jan 5 2010, 03:17 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(xyber_matrix @ Jan 5 2010, 06:36 AM)
So is the Multi-Spatial Shield isn't it? Its only a starting bonus. But at least the TOS Connie has some collectors value, you can show it off at events, etc.
Well, not really. It's an exclusive item and is quite good. We have the stats from the Steam version.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/9900

Chronodynamic Armor
6.1% Physical Resistance
6.1% Kinetic Resistance
2.6% Energy Resistance
+15% Critical Damage (seems quite good)
+5% Critical Chance
+3% Energy Damage

We don't know itemization yet so we cant tell if its good till late game. So unless you get a BETTER armor from late game with better stats than that, you're gonna be using it.

The best is Joined Trill (DDE) with exclusive race traits and Borg Bridge Officer (Amazon). Those 2 will be good forever, till endgame. Connie might be a Tier 0 ship (starter ship). I'll be piloting a Miranda, you'll be on a Connie till we get to Tier 1 ships.

I don't really give a crap about Trill since I wanna make a Betazoid(with telekinesis). But I do want the Borg Officer. Huge voyager fan. Damn Amazon for not having digital download version. DAMN THEM TO HECK.

This post has been edited by frega: Jan 5 2010, 03:20 PM
Morpheus2be
post Jan 5 2010, 03:39 PM

464 posts

The interesting thing about joined Trill is the multiple lifespan experience bonus. Wonder how that turns out. Borg bridge officer could be interesting too.

I chose D2D simply because it was 1st to allow international download purchase. My usual haunt is TSB, but when I asked them, they said distributor hasn't indicated whether STO will be available in SEA region.

http: // www. tsb. com. my/

This post has been edited by Morpheus2be: Jan 5 2010, 06:18 PM
frega
post Jan 5 2010, 04:15 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Jan 5 2010, 03:39 PM)
The interesting thing about joined Trill is the multiple lifespan experience bonus. Wonder how that turns out. Borg bridge officer could be interesting too.

I chose D2D simply because it was 1st to allow international download purchase. My usual haunt is TSB, but when I asked them, they said distributor hasn't indicated whether STO will be available in SEA region.
TSB?

I usually get games (both wow expansions) from pcgame.com.my. They delivered both on time (the day before official release). But they didnt even have STO listed and Champions Online is outta stock. No luck there!

This post has been edited by frega: Jan 5 2010, 04:20 PM
xyber_matrix
post Jan 5 2010, 09:50 PM

QUOTE(frega @ Jan 5 2010, 03:17 PM)
Well, not really. It's an exclusive item and is quite good. We have the stats from the Steam version.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/9900

Chronodynamic Armor
6.1% Physical Resistance
6.1% Kinetic Resistance
2.6% Energy Resistance
+15% Critical Damage (seems quite good)
+5% Critical Chance
+3% Energy Damage

We don't know itemization yet so we cant tell if its good till late game. So unless you get a BETTER armor from late game with better stats than that,  you're gonna be using it.

The best is Joined Trill (DDE) with exclusive race traits and Borg Bridge Officer (Amazon). Those 2 will be good forever, till endgame. Connie might be a Tier 0 ship (starter ship). I'll be piloting a Miranda, you'll be on a Connie till we get to Tier 1 ships.

I don't really give a crap about Trill since I wanna make a Betazoid(with telekinesis). But I do want the Borg Officer. Huge voyager fan. Damn Amazon for not having digital download version. DAMN THEM TO HECK.
I can totally relate! I love Voyager too, where's my Seven of Nine! Why Amazon?! Why?!

LoL, coming back to the topic at hand, I saw the Chronodynamic Armor on Steam as well. Do think that's a better bonus than the one from D2D? It's apparantly a constantly regenerating personal shield which also heals you.

With regards to race, I'll probably make a unique race, or just go human for their unique racial trait (I believe it's Leadership, a passive +5% damage? to the crew). Hmm, about your decision to make a Betazoid with telekinesis, is that a concept? or for the ability? TK doesnt seem to do much, 7ft knockback on a 1 min cooldown.

BTW, here's a link the list of traits you can choose, it however does not list unique racial traits (such as my example earlier, Human Leadership)

http://img44.imageshack.us/img44/4107/stotraits1.jpg

Oh and you guys should check out STOked on youtube for some inside beta info. And here's their forum, for those of you who are interested www.jupitercolony.com

RoloTomasi
post Jan 6 2010, 10:41 AM

77 posts

@frega: where to get info of all available race trait & specials? which race is best for engineering class?

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0239sec    1.02    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:31 PM