Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

cheez
post Dec 21 2009, 01:03 PM

On my way to? -> Holland?
593 posts

Calling CIMB to confirm my cancellation.
Have been waiting for at least 20 minutes and counting.....

wow, they're busy. sweat.gif
cheez
post Dec 21 2009, 02:03 PM

593 posts

[quote=muscaa,Dec 21 2009, 01:39 PM]
my experience with credit cards cancellation (I go to their branches & terminate it):

UOB - efficient
Maybank - very slow (the credit card balance is still there in maybank2u after cancellation - makes me wonder whether they terminate it properly)
CIMB (DA) - ok (but the credit card balance is still there in cimbclicks after cancellation - same lousy as maybank sad.gif )
HSBC - slow service in their branch but the hsbc.com.my account was terminated immediately
Alliance - lousy & slow bank officer
Public bank - efficient, internet account will be terminated after 4-5 days cancellation of cards at branch
Citibank - very efficient (but they will persuade you till maximum level before you terminate it) - citibank online account will be terminated immediately
EON bank - efficient (internet account was terminated too)

I'm a user of EON, HLB and CIMB cards.
Well, CIMB is having the worst rating in terms of customer service.
I don't understand why is it so hard to get in touch with them.
Hung up my call after 35 minutes of waiting just now.
Sent them an email to request for an immediate reply.

Bad CIMB bad.... shakehead.gif
cheez
post Dec 26 2009, 11:58 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Dec 26 2009, 11:26 AM)
anyone of you guys plan to cancel CC due to the the 50 bucks GST issue?
i may cancel two of  mine soon... one from a lousy provider. keep sending a cc replacement after cancellation!  yawn.gif

btw, posting a question on behalf of a friend which s married for a year but for some reason which is only known to him, he is going to apply for another credit card soon and wanted to put his marital status as 'single'. he'd been using his old credit card for years....
will the marital status affect his application?
urm.. i think all Malaysians will have the intention to cancel cc due to the RM50 tax, sweat.gif but whether they're able to is another question. haha. laugh.gif

I've got my CIMB canceled. Confirmed by email. So now only having 1 left. smile.gif

I don't think that'll be a problem. Fill in the particulars accordingly and get the existing cc photocopied to get approval faster. nod.gif
cheez
post Dec 30 2009, 09:02 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 30 2009, 07:50 AM)
Today's Chinese newspaper Sin Chew reported that for HLB cardholders who possess their cards before 2008,you need 7,000 points only to waive the RM50 service tax. On the contrary, those having their cards after 2008 would require 12,000 points for the trade-off.
If RM1=1 point, then you'll need to spend at least RM1k/mth in order to get the 12k points to trade off. laugh.gif
For those who are not spending as much, I'd recommend to cancel HLB then. sweat.gif

cheez
post Dec 30 2009, 09:25 AM

593 posts

lol... Just canceled my CIMB card.
No regret after cancel, but was very disappointed with the service. =.=

What's the point of having a Platinum when the service sucks?
I'd rather go for a Gold with good service than a Platinum with lousy service. laugh.gif
cheez
post Dec 30 2009, 09:33 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Dec 30 2009, 09:27 AM)
Not only that. For HLB, you need to use approximately 12,500 points to redeem a RM50 gift voucher. Further, rewards points expire every 3 years and extension request is not negotiable.
same goes to CIMB. the points expires. tarak point if it expires.
so I canceled and didn't redeem even if I had few thousands points inside. Reason? Have to pay for the courier fees. sweat.gif doh.gif
Now waiting for them to refund me my RM50 which I had credit with them. tongue.gif
cheez
post Dec 31 2009, 10:20 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 30 2009, 11:51 PM)
special hotline, airport lounge, insurance on tickets and purchase, get better service when you pay using plat (waiter will look at you differently)  ++
Well, you don't pay until after the meal. So what kinda better service do you get? Better bill collection service by the waiter?

If I am to be offered Platinum, I'd focus more on the benefit rather than status. Nowadays, many can get Platinum cards. sweat.gif
cheez
post Jan 6 2010, 01:35 PM

593 posts

I think most of the workforce are too busy handling the cancellations.

I've sent request for HSBC's application but no one entertain me. laugh.gif
cheez
post Jan 7 2010, 04:42 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(ngcw11 @ Jan 7 2010, 02:46 PM)
if ur statement date is 5th of january, when the public bank only will start charge for ur late repaid?
Refer to the due date on your statement.
It'll answer your question. wink.gif
cheez
post Jan 12 2010, 11:20 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(zeroexz @ Jan 10 2010, 08:59 AM)
wanna share something here, apparently a friend of mine has signed up a cc from a big name bank...the card was unused at all and it was stored in the safe once he received the card

what happend is, some barger in maxis and the bank colluded, they set up my friend by unknowingly bar my friend hp line when he was in China, and divert his hp line to another person. The another person use the line and call the bank to report lost of card and demand for a reissuance. A new card was reisssued. The hp line was restored when he is back in m'sia

But 1 day, he told me his line got bar again and we went to maxis in klang together, and maxis said he ask to bar it, we was like huh???? and they dunno how to restore it =..=.

and the next thing is, he got a called from the bank asking did he went to ipoh to swipe 70k of jewelery over the evening? of coz not coz we were in klang for the whole evening. but the bank claim that my friend is in liable and so he shud pay.

now when we subsequently talk to the bank personnel, they told us that the card was reissued coz the person who called to ask for a new card has all the verification info of my friend. and they said they did call the so called "card owner" upon swiping the 70k jewelery, and he so called card owner said yes (which i presumes my friend line has been diverted to the "card owner")

we reported to the police and we only intend to pay rm250 but the bank sent my friend letter of demand and calll everyday. we got a lawyer friend to sent the bank a letter, from tat day onwards they still send letter to my friend but with the word without prejudice....as far as i know the bank is trying to get a deal with my friend to share the liability equally. btw, he is not listed in CTOS....
Bro, care to enlighten us which bank is this?
since u're telling the truth, no harms done in revealing the bank's name.

OT: Another reason y i dun use overcharged maxis service. smile.gif
cheez
post Jan 12 2010, 12:38 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jan 12 2010, 12:16 PM)
overcharged as in?

Global Roaming you meant?
Nope. The overall service charges.
Compared to Celcom and Digi, Maxis is not having a competitive plan.

It's totally subjective and this is off topic.
So i think I should stop here.

peace.
cheez
post Jan 12 2010, 02:03 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(zeroexz @ Jan 12 2010, 01:59 PM)
its a bank which offer air asia card...u guys shud know bout tat

anyway, to answer ur queries...

1.) line is totally barred, n no phone received or call is allowed at all. not the type of bar we get if we use > CL
2.) there is no complete number change, my friend line just turn out normal after a while when he came back to m'sia and the maxis service centre cant explain why
3.) i agree, both maxis and citibank have backup call. they deny to provide us the records to show that it wasnt my friend who called to request a card lost
4.) 5.)  the replacement card was collected by the fraudster, i have no idea how he get it

anyhow it really doesnt matter to my friend if the bank treat it as a fraud or not, the fact is when the card was swipe in Ipoh:-

- he is in klang, and its in my office premises with CCTV records can be used as evidence
- we went to maxis centre together, hence they shud have our records
- the card he has is in the safe, and it was never used at all

the bank will still call my friend once a while to ask for payment, but we dont think its our fault n not gonna pay
Thanks for the info.

Well, moral of the story, never apply for anything that you don't need. wink.gif
cheez
post Jan 12 2010, 06:16 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 12 2010, 05:58 PM)
Quite true. @zeroexz story is probably a good example of a well organized cc fraud. I'll be keen to see how that story will end. OT, I find it rather weird that Maxis is unable to trace their logs unless the inside person actually took some additional efforts to change their internal logs as well. Probably harder to check who access the guys bank's information coz within the bank probably hundreds of people could have the power to view the personal details.

Well ... not to speculate on things and back to the main topic.
OT again.
Just to strengthen your POV, my fren working in a bank with a simple/basic post of credit controller has the power/authority to view the customers' details.

So, sometimes when ppl wana get your details, actually it's quite easy. smile.gif
cheez
post Jan 18 2010, 11:04 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jan 18 2010, 10:03 AM)
Isn't DA plat CS 03-62047979?

Now I call early morning also engaged  sweat.gif
Now almost every bank also engaged starting early morning. laugh.gif
Especially CIMB. They still owe me my excess credit. Waiting for the cheque to arrive. rclxms.gif
cheez
post Jan 18 2010, 11:27 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jan 18 2010, 11:18 AM)
Early as in 6am wor  sweat.gif
Haha...then that's very early.

So many ppl are canceling their CIMB cards nowadays.
Somemore their service is damn slow. It took me 1-2 mths to effectively terminate my card and that was after numerous of calls (>10 times).
It wouldn't be a surprise if their lines are occupied everyday. laugh.gif
cheez
post Jan 18 2010, 11:44 AM

593 posts

Just head to the branch for a fast cancellation. wink.gif

If the Gomen din impose the service tax, I'd be getting my AMEX by now.
Now only keeping 1 card as it gives me a savings that exceeds the tax. laugh.gif
cheez
post Jan 18 2010, 12:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Jan 18 2010, 11:57 AM)
same to my uob, i walked in to branch to cancel myself at early of dec, found it is still alive last week, then called to double check, asked me to fax in the termination letter. ok fine, followed their instruction, today still find the card is active in my internet banking!  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
I LOLed at your case. laugh.gif

Anyway, I've sent an email to ask them confirm my cancellation.
So I have proof of them saying my card was canceled.
If there's any future arguments, at least I have it in written. wink.gif
cheez
post Jan 18 2010, 01:54 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Jan 18 2010, 01:42 PM)
For CIMB cards, the bank will send u a sms that your cards have been cancelled smile.gif.
Well, for my card, I didn't receive any sms.
Just an email.

Since my card expires on May, so if I still receive statement next mth den i knw wat to do. laugh.gif
cheez
post Jan 18 2010, 02:34 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 18 2010, 02:23 PM)
Maybank will send us a notification that the card has been successfully canceled while CIMB Bank will send a statement.
I got the confirmation for the cancellation by mid December but my latest statement didn't show any cancellation notice.
Haha.. somemore they owe me money which I overpaid. tongue.gif
So I should wait till next statement right?
cheez
post Jan 19 2010, 05:00 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jan 18 2010, 10:28 PM)
I got hardcopy statement for my DA cancellation.

Added on January 19, 2010, 9:01 amJust checked my Jan 2010 statement, I do not see RM50 tax charged... my card anniversary month is 01, however I applied the card on July 2009 and received the card on Aug 2009, could this be the reason I'm not being charged yet?
When did you activate your card?
By right, your card's anniversary should be July/Aug rather than Jan.

0.0587sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:10 PM