4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

anfieldude
post Jul 25 2010, 08:23 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Jul 25 2010, 07:43 AM)
bro i am confused with your 'straight from the factory' STA-1000D DSP amp which is not being programmed yet to maximize its potential' statement... u mean that amp is not ready to be used yet? y did they give u a unit that is not ready in a big event like this? shakehead.gif
Bro,

Its a pre-production release amp. The internal DSPs were not optimized yet. The good thing is that I believe we are the 1st country in the world to see the potential of the new lineup that SVS is going to release in the coming months.

And Ron (SVS President) is a very down to earth guy and extremely honest. That means a lot to some people. He was just not pushing the stuff, he genuinely loves what he is doing.
anfieldude
post Jul 25 2010, 11:16 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jul 24 2010, 09:17 AM)
Hi Anfield, given that u hav heard all of them, how would u rate pb13, sb13 and submersive over each other?
The sealed vs ported sound signature is different at least to my ears. The ported have the bass overhang that in my opinion is essential for movies and the big bang.

I listened to the SB13 very briefly and liked what I heard. However, I don't think it is fair to compare that to the seaton submersive, as its a different price range. But its good.

The PB13 is a beast, that I can confirm. The amount of air it pushes is tremendous. As is the PC-13. The one that was not setup to its optimum with the room problems was also pretty good.

I think if u want to go local any one of the SVSs are great and thats a fact. I've so far heard the PB12NSD, SB12, SB10, SB13, PB12, PC12 and all of them sound great. Work towards ur budget and it there shd be something for everyone of u.

The Seatons are a different class. I believe the upcoming SB16 will put up a fight. But in terms of raw power the PB13U can easily match the raw SPL of the Seaton. Its just different sound characteristics.

I would ask those who have small rooms and are looking for their 1st sub and can wait, to check out the upcoming SB10. That for its small footprint and wallet friendly prices is my pick for best budget sub with a big heart. I liked how that sub sounded. In my opinion, the sound signature, seems to be able to match some of the more established brands at slightly cheaper.
anfieldude
post Jul 25 2010, 05:05 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(asherteoh @ Jul 25 2010, 04:08 PM)
since u have heard my sunfire... is it worth to change to an svs? maybe sb series?
Worth is in the ears of the beholder. The sunfire worked well in ur room and seemed to integrate well. If u r looking for something to upgrade to, yes the SB series would be a good place to start. However, u would probably need to look at the SB13 onwards.
anfieldude
post Jul 25 2010, 08:35 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jul 25 2010, 08:17 PM)
bro anfield.. why you cabuts so fast on friday?  biggrin.gif  was there in the evening and few kakis say you left early on..
I was there till 4...Had to pick the wifey up from her meeting, us northeners just cannot get used to the KL jams man...Next time, we will meet up. 2-3weeks time...
anfieldude
post Jul 27 2010, 05:04 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 27 2010, 04:50 PM)
Bro, it's in pale comparison (at the show) to the setup at our demo room. Anyone who has been to my demo room would have agree. The PC13-Ultra sounds weaker than PB12-NSD at the show.

klimal, kiam, anfieldude, jchong, mpyw, butter finger, and the rest of SVS owners also commented that the LFE just wasn't there due to room acoustic. Please come to our shop to audition it.
While I admit that the PC13U was nowhere near its optimum (based on my experience with the PB13Us), the 3 sealed subs, were properly set and showed its mettle when htkaki ran the sealed only for concerts. It was clean and no overhang. And the little 10in bugger was really impressive, loads of output and still very clean!
anfieldude
post Jul 27 2010, 09:52 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jul 27 2010, 07:07 PM)
hi guy,

want to asked in my denon 1909 there is 2 option for subwoofer have LFE and LFE+Main so which should i choose? also phase option on the SVS sub should set to 0 value right?

Use LFE only. Phase start with 0 then run Audyssey, Audyssey will take care of the phase.

Added on July 27, 2010, 10:03 pm
QUOTE(logit85 @ Jul 27 2010, 09:37 PM)
\
stop stupid logitech speaker not stable i dont like
4x z-5500 stop that stupid logitech speakers my z-5500 already problem 6ch direct not working please stop logitech stuff computer speakers ok
i watched ur video very blur and sound is crap  sad.gif  u are using headphone record camera sigh
please use Digital camera with clear and wil be sound clear with bass pickup too
i have one song with bass deep and boomy can test with youtube ???
htkaki answeer lah
My friend, what is this new invention called headphone record camera?

And I like ur suggestion that the digital camera will sound clear with bass pickup too... but "headphone" record camera is crap!

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jul 27 2010, 10:03 PM
anfieldude
post Jul 28 2010, 09:36 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jul 28 2010, 09:12 PM)
hi guy,

want to ask i have calibrate my rooms with Audyssey on my denon 1909 and it set my sub on 9.5db which i believed is too high and so i set down until 4.5db so should i keep the setting 9.5db or what is recommend setting u guy used?

Reduce the gain on the sub and rerun Audyssey...
anfieldude
post Aug 1 2010, 11:31 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jmdibr @ Aug 1 2010, 11:16 AM)
bos, which scene?
Pod emerging scene and laser blaster scene...
anfieldude
post Aug 3 2010, 07:43 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 3 2010, 05:49 PM)
Can I pair a SB10-NSD with the PC12-NSD?
Will it be a mismatch or will they complement each other?
Pairing a sealed with a ported for movies, concerts primarily I presume? Shd be no problem, make sure u run Audyssey with both turned on. Of course if u have a AS-EQ1 it would do all for u.

For 2 channel music, not really recommended. Unless u can find the optimum placement for both and u can ensure u cannot localize the subs. The sealed will be easier to integrate.
anfieldude
post Aug 4 2010, 07:57 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Aug 4 2010, 06:09 PM)
hi maxx,

how much SVS speaker front and center cost thinks of changing my PSB speaker front and center next year..heheh
Thats the spirit!

How is ur new sub whacking ur old subbie....the old one run far far away
anfieldude
post Aug 8 2010, 08:04 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Aug 8 2010, 01:08 AM)
I am not getting anything from HTleg... in fact I am not using SVS or anything from HTleg....
I am just giving some honest opinion based on standard information that you can get anywhere, also available online if you search....
Ultimately its your ears and wallet that make the decision for you... and we can just write our silly stuff for you to laugh about....
As you started on the SVS way, then might as well go all the way with SVS......
As now can get everything under one HTLeg.. might as well do so.... anything not right.. look him out and set your frustation there....
As to whether bookshelf is sufficient enough? that depend on you.... remember... the wallet is your limit... in fact I am using satellite....
Look up HTLeg and listen to what he has.... then only plan... I would suggest to decide on your speaker first and not let logistic be main criteria.
This is provided you can work around logistic, not like some of us with WAF, crazy shape rooms, weird neighbour, condo constraint etc....
Of course... ultimate constraint.... thickness of wallet... which HTLeg hinted that yours about 1 feet thick.....
rx is kiddinglah!.....Thats how he is....Don't take it so seriously.

Added on August 8, 2010, 8:05 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 7 2010, 05:53 PM)
Nabeh... Scsoo, how much commission htkaki give u to poison kaw me ar? sad.gif

Btw, u think the bookshelf is sufficient enough? Since it can fit
With a good subwoofer, a good bookshelf is sufficient.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Aug 8 2010, 08:05 AM
anfieldude
post Aug 9 2010, 10:55 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 9 2010, 10:15 AM)
anfiel, what has the sub got anything to do with the bookshelf? kindly elaborate

mpyw, will be using listening to the jamos in my toilet wen im pang sai-ing

nabeh, surround speaker also need to change? 2 more bookshelf??? tunaseng... how much the cheapest sub?
Maybe i misunderstood ur statement when u said bookshelf ok or not. The main issue with most bookshelves is the low end,hence my statement that if paired wth a proper sub shd be ok.
anfieldude
post Aug 17 2010, 10:10 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Aug 17 2010, 09:48 PM)
where to buy and anyone selling in this forum?

Penang u can get from Watts Hi-Fi.
anfieldude
post Aug 18 2010, 10:01 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 18 2010, 09:17 PM)
Checked with SPL meter right after Audyssey.

I thought it is Onkyo's characteristic, which it is quite renowned. Denon is more balance. 1008 makes me feel like in a cinema since everything seems larger than life while 4310 makes you feel at home, in this case home theater. The vocal is quite expansive than 4310, which I do not quite fancy. I prefer vocal to be tighter.

The 'pow wow' of Onkyo makes movie watching quite suspenseful.

I am thinking of getting one for the showroom in near future since a lot of ppl prefers dynamic and punchy sound.

It would have to wait for now as I am in the search for a pre/power for hi-fi.
And I know one fellow avid HT hobbyist here that will have 2 PB13-Ultras by early Sept.

A month or 2 down the road, there will be another member here having a new SB13-Plus with probably new PB13-Ultra.

Speaking of which, dual subs kakis seem to be on the rise  thumbup.gif
The Onkyos definately work well for movies. Not too good for music.

2 subs is the way to go, for sure.

Also, this is one thing. So far, I hv heard the following subs, eD a7s-650, Rythmik F15, Seaton Submersive, SB13U, PB13U, PC12, Dali IkonSub, Sunfire, Velo DD12, Velo CHT series and some others.

There is nothing that I know that comes close to the the max SPL of PB13U for movies except the Seaton (but it sounds different).

The sealed subs, get as loud and work very well for music, but for movies that port build up sound and the sheer raw power of the PB13U are very difficult to beat. Get a pair with an AS-EQ1, u shd be in bass heaven...
anfieldude
post Aug 26 2010, 06:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 26 2010, 11:22 AM)
I am thinking of dual sub setup and I have a few Q's
Will these new PC12-NSD be different from the current bash amp fitted ones?
If dual sub set-up, integration will be problem or not since they will have different characteristics for sure.
Can retrofit the new dsp amp?

Got special pre-order price for the new NSD?
Returning customer get an extra discount on top of that or not?  whistling.gif
Dual sub is the way to go....and oh, get an AS-EQ1 as well. The sound signature shd not change too much with the amps, as the internals of the cabinet and drivers are all the same. The DPS amps allow more tweaking (not for the user) to attempt to push more out of the driver but the BASH amps are no pushover either.

anfieldude
post Sep 7 2010, 09:43 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 7 2010, 08:47 AM)
everytime using a single sub, i feel something is missing lah sweat.gif Now, I am worried that I poisoned myself and ended up with more than 2 subs. LOL.... biggrin.gif

Will set up dual sealed subs (SB12-NSD) in the 'foyer' along with the S-02 loudspeakers. The dedicated HT room will still be using the M series wt PC13-Ultra for the mean time (even all being sold as owner is building a detached HT room now) along with PB12-Plus until next weekend. Then, have to wait for the new loudspeakers to arrive.

This week, going to shop for a good integrated amp and CDP to drive the new floorstanders as hifi system.
My advise get a pre/power, the difference is worth it.
anfieldude
post Sep 24 2010, 05:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Sep 24 2010, 04:19 PM)
-10dB ??? nope i said how many dB reach louder like SPL to showing reach dB like explan 100dB like that
so SB13 How many dB SPL reach for louder
PB13-Ultra how many dB SPL reach for louder
not avr

HTKAKI Tolong lah answeer me i am waiting
saya mahu 130dB over atau 140dB over mesti mahu bising bass usage 7hours or 10hours for bising bass
saya tak mahu woofer broke tolong lah mesti mahu woofer kuat stable bising bass

saya sedih lah  sad.gif  tak de bass
U want 140dB, go stand in the runway when the plane is landing....
anfieldude
post Oct 20 2010, 04:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(logit85 @ Oct 20 2010, 04:01 PM)
yah lah but i mahu play songs mesti mahu bising
apa macam GSC Cinemas banyak bising bass menang bagus lah
GSC bass is crap so don't give this nonsense. The bass u get fron svs will rock ur behind.So pls spare us this torture and buy one from htkaki since he has been putting up with ur you tube bass auditioning for so long!
anfieldude
post Mar 14 2011, 11:03 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 14 2011, 01:07 AM)
It's okay, I enjoy the audition too, I might drop by again next time and bring my own CD to do more further test smile.gif I'm still couldn't forget the ATC speakers that make my heart almost pop up when playing deep bass many years ago. Of course the ATC costs an arm and leg and not fair to compare to SVS or Rythmik.
SVS's PB13U is a fantastic subwoofer with no questions. They are loud and with the right extension go low as well. If u can afford it, they are great for movies and multiples are even better.

I hv to spend sometime with one to see how it sounds for music shd u plug the holes. Sealing a vented sub technically makes it a aperiodic sub so I would need to hear to see if the port noises can be heard. But for movies, it shd be close to the king of subs.
anfieldude
post Mar 14 2011, 11:27 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Mar 14 2011, 11:18 AM)
Which sub is the king of subs  hmm.gif
The kings of subs is always relative, as it depends on the price range and others. A lot of DIY can beat most commercial subs pretty easily as its a function of the size and amp power as well as enclosure size.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0426sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:48 PM