24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

TShtkaki
post Jun 25 2010, 02:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It's KEF iQ series :

http://www.hiwaylaser.com/index.php?option...=216&Itemid=181

Avr is Marantz SR6004. Sub cable is XLO.
TShtkaki
post Jun 26 2010, 07:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

jchong, welcome to SVS club. Glad to hear that you like the PB13-Ultra smile.gif

Hopefully, it would even better after you fine tune it.
TShtkaki
post Jun 27 2010, 10:28 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It is indeed a pain to move this 71kg sub. I did not do the sub crawl method since too lazy to move it for such a distant. Just plonked in EQ1 to do the job.

Still hooking up with F15? Anfieldude is looking forward to test out the Ultra.
TShtkaki
post Jun 27 2010, 10:51 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

There is one PB-U in Penang. He is not a lyn member. I'd informed anfieldude to do calibration for his display panel and also to audition the PB-U. Took 3 guys to lift the sub to the 1st floor.

TShtkaki
post Jun 27 2010, 10:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I have a couple of elite audiophiles at my shop today. Very high-end setup. They spent a few good hours at my demo room. All agreed that PB13-Ultra is very good value-for-money for its outstanding performance. Powerful, tight and yet well controlled.

One of them is thinking of getting one to complement his Wilson Audio Watt Puppy. The other elite uncle said that it is better than a RM15K 13" sealed sub that is available locally for music and even movie. Erm, all in all 3 kena poisoned liao. LOL....
TShtkaki
post Jun 27 2010, 11:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 27 2010, 11:02 PM)
Was he referring to F113?

Glad to know your poison is expanding. Good for biz.
You mentioned it and I didn't tongue.gif

Both of them, having auditioned the said sealed sub came to the same conclusion. Now, I knew why the 3rd elite uncle set his eyes on the PB13-Ultra to do the LFE for his music.

We tested songs after songs with the PB13-Ultra in 'sealed' configuration. Volume range from -12dB right up to -5dB. I guess they want to know whether distortion is an issue when being driven loud. It holds well and balanced. Next, I shall take the SVS sub over to their hi-fi room to test out. By then, the poison has gone one step further blush.gif

We did test out the sub in 'sealed' setting for concerts esp DF & Friends. They like it very much. One of them commented that the vocals are very clear and that the sound is very well calibrated. I am flattered lah blush.gif Learned some useful tips from these sifus today notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 28 2010, 08:57 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 28 2010, 08:24 AM)
should be the Submersive?
but it's 35% more expensive than the PB-13U....
Definitely Submersive smile.gif . The only sub that can topple it is Sub25. Then again, it is more expensive.

They want to buy something that are available locally to save all the hassle if sh*t happens (touch wood).

PB-13 Ultra is a brutal beast. It'll give you lot of punch above the tuning freq (high SPL). The only issue is below tuning freq, it will roll off steeper and higher distortion. For HT, PB-13 Ultra pricing is hard to beat.

In Terminator Salvation's 7 Eleven scene, the PB13-Ultra really shows its might. In 15Hz setting, it will stomps with massive bass weight. 10Hz setting is not so advisable as the distortion increase dramatically. At 15Hz, distortion is still very low even at high vol.

Just for comparison purpose :

And abt its harmonic distortion graph :

http://www.avtalk.co.uk/showthread.php?t=19271

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 28 2010, 08:59 AM
TShtkaki
post Jun 28 2010, 09:16 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You are on 15Hz setting, right? IIRC, it is 20Hz when it is being designed. Compression : Off.

Technical notes: Smoothed, quasi-anechoic frequency response: Measured with high resolution instrumentation via "ground plane" technique, outdoors, at two meters' distance, a minimum of 70 feet from reflective boundaries. 20 and 15Hz, 10 and sealed modes indicated.

15 Hz, 10 Hz, and sealed FRs are deliberately over damped in order to provide a gentle roll-off when measured under quasi-anechoic conditions. This increases available system headroom, and also makes better use of available "room gain" (i.e., the acoustic transfer function of the room) to achieve a flatter in-room response.

In-room extension, with corner placement, will typically yield 3-5Hz greater linear extension than shown. Results will vary based on room size, seat distance from your SVS sub, and subwoofer location in the room. Chart does not depict maximum output of this model and is not directly comparable to other SVS models except for frequency response.

TShtkaki
post Jun 28 2010, 11:52 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yesterday, tested out the PB13-Ultra in sealed setting for TS. It definitely loses out the tactile feeling and bass weight as compares to 15Hz setting. Halfway, paused it. Changed it back to 15Hz with 1 port block and resumed the scene. The uncle immediately said, "This is a whole better for movie. You can feel the robot's weight stomping the ground."
TShtkaki
post Jun 29 2010, 09:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am using Gramma for my PB13-Ultra. It helps to minimize vibration. This makes the bass a bit tighter with better definition.
TShtkaki
post Jul 1 2010, 08:50 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jun 30 2010, 10:04 PM)
SB10-NSD vs Velodyne CHT-10Q, which one is better?
CHT-10Q is a ported sub while SB10-NSD is a sealed sub. One gears towards movie and the other for pace and cleanliness (music). I have not get the SB10-NSD yet so it's a hard judgement.

Given past records, I think for low end grunt might go to SVS as Velo tends to roll-off way earlier before it hits its claimed lowest freq response.

My setup is in the living room, so there is only 1 place for the sub.

Your concern has been 'addressed'. UGPM wink.gif whistling.gif
TShtkaki
post Jul 1 2010, 10:40 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jul 1 2010, 09:42 PM)
Bro, can I come kacau you again this weekend? Would you be free?
I am earger to feel you dual sub set up  biggrin.gif
Seems like someone is keen on dual subs setup whistling.gif tongue.gif

I've been talking abt dual sub setup but never actually go and set it up. Maybe have to lug one of the sub into my ht room and hook it up this Sun.
TShtkaki
post Jul 2 2010, 09:46 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Jul 2 2010, 08:21 AM)
Sooner or later, most of us here will own 2 subs and start discussing about them. This will become a common thing to do 7.2 set-up, hmmmm.........
Will try 4 subs setup. Each at a corner. Let me see..... 2x 13-Ultra in front and 2x 12-Plus at the back. Enough subs to do that biggrin.gif

If I do set it up, I'll ring up ronaldjoe to come and test whistling.gif
TShtkaki
post Jul 2 2010, 02:03 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jul 2 2010, 10:08 AM)
htkaki,

Try with 3 subs for now. Try putting the 3rd one halfway in the room. If I come around, we can check with REW.
2 in front in equidistant and the 3rd right smack in the middle of the room?

ya me to please test music sound hehe notworthy.gif

And upload it to youtube for you? rclxub.gif unsure.gif
TShtkaki
post Jul 2 2010, 02:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh ronnt, when want to come over and audition?
TShtkaki
post Jul 2 2010, 02:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 2 2010, 02:41 PM)
when is kliav again? brows.gif
Coming down ? smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1383495
TShtkaki
post Jul 2 2010, 05:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

aiyoyo... I am lost in translation.
TShtkaki
post Jul 2 2010, 05:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh, at least a quick summary for us lah....

Let me tembak coz I can understand a lil bit of mandarin ( a necessity to tackle Chinese Ed girls during my schooling years blush.gif ) :

The ED could match the PB13. Both also as good with its own strengths. Boils down personal preference?

TShtkaki
post Jul 4 2010, 02:23 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, it is better to go for same model for dual subs setup.
TShtkaki
post Jul 5 2010, 05:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It will be on demo during KLIAV along with SB12-NSD, SB12-Plus and SB13-Plus smile.gif

24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0423sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:31 PM