Only 27.7kg mah
SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!
May 13 2010, 11:23 AM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Only 27.7kg mah
May 13 2010, 02:58 PM
May 13 2010, 05:51 PM
Thinking of letting go my display unit of PC12-Plus (never been used) to make way for other new subs as I am running out of space.
Probably keeping PB13-Ultra, PB12-Plus and PB12-NSD and a PC12-NSD. Then, shall have SB10-NSD, SB12-NSD, and SB13-Plus along with BOA-TA150 pwr amp and new S-02 series bipole surr spkrs. |
May 13 2010, 11:10 PM
Ok, done. Tq
May 14 2010, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(klimal @ May 14 2010, 09:36 AM) Can I trade in my unit for the PC-12+ ?? Can trade in. Pls chk ur PM In any casr, pls pm me your best price. Can dipoles be used in a 7.1 system as side surrounds? Last night, my dog toppled one of my side surround speakers and the tweeter is now badly dented. Thanks. Still can as your rear is front firing type. Added on May 18, 2010, 12:20 pmUpdates on pre-order : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1188994/+20 This post has been edited by htkaki: May 18 2010, 12:20 PM |
May 31 2010, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(mpyw @ May 31 2010, 10:11 AM) This unit is one of the few 'prototype' and good enough to see production in near future. B&O gave some inputs on the improvement on it and tweaks have been done on this unit. More photos will be updated tomorrow on this BFS-1000TA 150W x 7 ICE power amp. You guys can sample this unit even on this weekend. mpyw, maybe I can 'loan' it to you for a few days after the press interview next week |
May 31 2010, 01:49 PM
No confirmation as to date. It would be around RM5.4K or lesser based on initial info.
Jun 2 2010, 04:58 PM
Just got this today direct from B&O
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jun 2 2010, 10:03 PM
There will be some minor tweaking. This unit is one of the few prototype units. The pre-order will be opening soon.
Jun 2 2010, 11:01 PM
Yes, it definitely will. This unit is being shipped directly from B&O HQ for the purpose of upcoming interview with NST for KLIAV.
It will make its way to the show (probably the finalized ver) along with complete S-02 series (a tad more expensive) and also the SB series except SB16-Ultra. There will be complete PC series there. No PB13-Ultra. Only PB12-Plus on demo. The room width is only 13'. Length is 26'. Not enough space to put all there. So, PB13-Ultra and PB12-NSD will be missing from the list along with the MTS-01 system. Added on June 2, 2010, 11:32 pmFirst impression on pwr amp : Pre-amp : Krell 400Xi This power amp is very punchy with tight bass. When using 400Xi, vol is abt 55-60 for music. On 1000TA, only at 45 and it's really loud. Very powerful. Now, need to check what is the output on stereo. It is forward sounding too but a bit dark. The Krell has an airy vocal while the SVS sounds a bit fatter and that probably makes Krell has better soundstage. As expected from a digital amp. Bass is really good. Will set it up for movies. This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 2 2010, 11:32 PM |
Jun 2 2010, 11:53 PM
SVS BFS-1000TA as power amp while Krell 400Xi as pre-amp. Comparison done against Krell 400Xi as integrated.
Jun 6 2010, 02:06 AM
What's the result? Any better?
Btw, I am selling my XPA-5. |
Jun 6 2010, 10:14 PM
A group of elite audiophile uncles came over today to test PB13-Ultra. One of them wanted it to partner his Watt Puppy
On another note, my XPA-5 has been 'retired'. |
Jun 7 2010, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jun 6 2010, 11:09 PM) A friend of the uncle showed me the photo of a setup of another audiophiles. Wilson Grand Slam, a fleet of Goldmunds, Revel Ultima Salon 2, and tonnes of elite gears I told him that my peasant shop will not up to his standard liao. Added on June 7, 2010, 12:21 pmHere's the review on SVS BFS-1000TA (150w X 7) Vs Emotiva XPA-5 (200w X 5). 1. Movie (Both connected to 5 channels only) Test materials : Terminator Salvation, DF & Friends, TDK SVS shines in HF. It exhibits clearer details. In TS' 7-11 scene, as Kyle walks into it, you can hear the finer details of the shoes grinding the earth. This is also noticable in DF as there is much HF details now. TDK also sounds crispier now. The vocal sounds as much the same. SVS seemingly a tad wider. The mid-bass punch is greater in SVS than Emo. It is tighter. This is only marginally better. On power, both also as similar with no distinct difference. Note that it is on power-hungry MTS-01 system. I thought that the 50W difference would yield a difference. I did not calibrate the channel level when switch to SVS. On Pure Direct : (Both being connected to 2 inputs only) Test materials : Planet Drum, Jennifer Warnes - The Hunter, Aaron Neville - Warm Your Heart, and Michael Buble - It's time. WOW! It sounds a whole lot louder than Emo. That's strange The SVS sounds larger than life. It is very forward sounding with the vocal being in front. The music pieces sounds large as well. Its bass attack is tight and fast. Sort of like Krell 300Xi's signature. A bit brutal. In Planet Drum, it excels as it is able to reproduce the bass with enough power. Jennifer Warnes' Somewhere Somebody is being reproduced in a wide soundstage and it never lacks the dynamic. It kind of make you to crank louder. The HF shines again for music. Emo has a tad better refinement in vocal. It is slightly more focus but it lacks the dynamic of SVS. It's kind of a bit laid back. Since this SVS is a prototype unit and some refinement will be done on the mass production unit, I am looking forward to have the final unit Not a bad start in power amp segment. Kudos to B&O and SVS This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 7 2010, 12:21 PM |
Jun 7 2010, 09:56 PM
I will let mpyw test this poison 1st
Jun 7 2010, 10:15 PM
Jun 8 2010, 09:58 PM
Jun 9 2010, 12:14 PM
Jun 21 2010, 08:50 AM
Updates : A few SB subs will eta early July.
Taukeh mpyw, I might bring the BFS-1000TA this week for you to test. Want to test cables / interconnects |
Jun 25 2010, 01:36 PM
| Change to: | 0.0418sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:09 PM |