is it true that it's not good take bath at night?, wondering.. for teenagers

TSh_n_s
post Dec 14 2009, 08:21 PM, updated 15y ago

294 posts

hyeps..
i just wanna ask you..
is it true that if we take bath late such as more than 8.00 pm ,is not good to our body especially when we old soon?
i just want to know,cause a few people talk about this..
SUSslimey
post Dec 14 2009, 08:32 PM

6,914 posts

why should you trust the few people who talk about this?
just think rationally, bathing is just cleaning of the body's external surface how does that affect us?
i would say almost none.
if you want to talk about water temperature, cold water stimulates us and refreshes us maybe make us harder to sleep. warm water relaxes us so easier to sleep.
but, different people have different sleep wake cycle and i think most people nowadays sleep later than 10 pm so the 8 pm rule sounds like rubbish to me.

i bath when ever i want.
laksaUTARA
post Dec 14 2009, 08:32 PM

59 posts

i heard 'bout tis on national TV (MHI), the doctor said that it wouldn't cause pneumia... to healthy people but to un'healty' people it will cause harm... i also like to mandi malam2...

whoever against it .. malas mandi la tuh

This post has been edited by laksaUTARA: Dec 14 2009, 08:35 PM
eddy_87
post Dec 14 2009, 08:34 PM

78 posts

I have bronchial phenomia when i was a kid, its a big NO for me to take bath at night at that time...not sure how it affect or does it really affect or really just a myth.
laksaUTARA
post Dec 14 2009, 08:36 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(eddy_87 @ Dec 14 2009, 08:34 PM)
I have bronchial phenomia when i was a kid, its a big NO for me to take bath at night at that time...not sure how it affect or does it really affect or really just a myth.
It's True.....
SUSslimey
post Dec 14 2009, 08:37 PM

6,914 posts

we have heaters nowadays....
anyway water temperature between day and night isn't much difference in malaysia.
i think as long as the water temperature is comfortable there wouldn't be any side effect regardless of when you bath

bronchial pneumonia is a disease caused by bacteria in lungs. it's the cold water that might lower the immune level(by temporary lower body temperature) which may prolong the sickness. this is because the ability to adapt to change in environment factors of sick people is less than that of healthy individual. so its the temperature of the water not the time to take bath

This post has been edited by slimey: Dec 14 2009, 08:44 PM
laksaUTARA
post Dec 14 2009, 08:46 PM

59 posts

have to use heaters carefully, because when we using hot water then our blood vessel expanding.. chaging temperature can make u pitam/ pengsan/blackout.........................
SUSslimey
post Dec 14 2009, 08:51 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(laksaUTARA @ Dec 14 2009, 08:46 PM)
have to use heaters carefully, because when we using hot water then  our blood vessel expanding.. chaging temperature can make u  pitam/ pengsan/blackout.........................
lol . as long as water temperature is comfortable........
laksaUTARA
post Dec 14 2009, 08:53 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 14 2009, 08:51 PM)
lol . as long as water temperature is comfortable........
ya but this thing does happen

This post has been edited by laksaUTARA: Dec 14 2009, 08:56 PM
wansirpunk
post Dec 14 2009, 08:54 PM

369 posts

my lecturer have a face muscle prob where she have a prob to smile

and doctor said it because she like to take a bath at night...
SUSslimey
post Dec 14 2009, 09:00 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(wansirpunk @ Dec 14 2009, 08:54 PM)
my lecturer have a face muscle prob where she have a prob to smile

and doctor said it because she like to take a bath at night...
i don't see the link between the two.
anymore info to support your claim???
Learjet35
post Dec 14 2009, 09:03 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

maybe because your body temp a bit warm n the water at nigh is cold.
so maybe u can get fever from there.but if got heater,i think no harm to your body.. smile.gif
smallbug
post Dec 14 2009, 09:03 PM

874 posts

I've been having a few midnight baths already... I felt quite relaxed, because I feel the temperature going down, which makes it easier for me to sleep.
nandayryu
post Dec 14 2009, 09:04 PM

1,072 posts

Yeah,i heard the same too,accroading to ancient chinese ppl ,they said taking bath at night is just unhealthy daily routine 2 be practiced.so,apparently we should fllw the rules,"old ppl knows better"
laksaUTARA
post Dec 14 2009, 09:12 PM

59 posts

one Q - Does it true that ancient chinese people said not good mandi early in the morning .. it'l make u become slow/ lembap/lembam

whistling.gif
SUSf4tE
post Dec 14 2009, 09:24 PM

1,605 posts

laksa, ancient chinese ppl where got say cannot bath morning? only night la.. and its true not good bath at night. the mechanism of how it affects your health is not so simple as the temperature only. alot of factors comes into play and need extensive research. however old people have seen life more than u eat rice so from their observation, it is not good for the health. every research starts with an observation and further studies to prove the observation.
SUSslimey
post Dec 14 2009, 09:32 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Dec 14 2009, 09:24 PM)
laksa, ancient chinese ppl where got say cannot bath morning? only night la.. and its true not good bath at night. the mechanism of how it affects your health is not so simple as the temperature only. alot of factors comes into play and need extensive research. however old people have seen life more than u eat rice so from their observation, it is not good for the health. every research starts with an observation and further studies to prove the observation.
why don't you shed some light in this matter?
ks_kore
post Dec 14 2009, 09:54 PM

134 posts

u will know it when u r getting older
munkeyflo
post Dec 14 2009, 10:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

f4te, agree with slimey.
would like to know too how bathing at night can affect our health.
i am one person who likes to have a shower before i sleep around midnight. when the weather is hot, i like to take cold shower before i sleep somemore. very relaxing for me. if i dont shower before i sleep, i'll feel like my body very dirty even if i showered about 2 hours ago.
laksaUTARA
post Dec 14 2009, 10:27 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(ks_kore @ Dec 14 2009, 09:54 PM)
u will know it when u r getting older
then..have to wait 30 more years? :hmm:
leyley
post Dec 14 2009, 10:27 PM

2,096 posts

You will get flu easily if bath at midnight too oftenly.
munkeyflo
post Dec 14 2009, 11:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

^err. i dont think that's true for me.
yeezai
post Dec 15 2009, 01:32 AM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

old ppl say bathing at night especially in cold water will get fung sap when old...
kian27
post Dec 15 2009, 02:49 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Dec 14 2009, 10:05 PM)
f4te, agree with slimey.
would like to know too how bathing at night can affect our health.
i am one person who likes to have a shower before i sleep around midnight.  when the weather is hot, i like to take cold shower before i sleep somemore. very relaxing for me. if i dont shower before i sleep, i'll feel like my body very dirty even if i showered about 2 hours ago.
yeah nod.gif ....me too....

my parent owaz tell me nt to bath at midnight too cuz will get Rheumatism(fung sap)& say when u old den u know especially when raining day rclxub.gif ...i oso blur redi...
nw i live outside owaz bath at late night den sleep.. laugh.gif ...isit true o nt bath at night nt good?? hmm.gif
when i was a kids my leg owaz feel masam(cantoense call kio xun)..i oso dunno y..but nw seldom redi...

This post has been edited by kian27: Dec 15 2009, 02:56 AM
munkeyflo
post Dec 15 2009, 09:19 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

ah i see. so can get fung sap in the future.
but how does taking bath at night and getting fung sap when you're old relates?
taking warm bath also will get fung sap next time?
san88
post Dec 15 2009, 09:19 AM

284 posts

so late night bath can get 风湿 or not
wansirpunk
post Dec 15 2009, 09:34 AM

369 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 14 2009, 09:00 PM)
i don't see the link between the two.
anymore info to support your claim???
donno lar...it just wat my lec told me

people that donno her will say she a cold person coz always 'masam muka'

btw the prob just not permanent and she alright now
TSh_n_s
post Dec 15 2009, 01:01 PM

294 posts

can i know,what is fung sap?
huhu

Added on December 15, 2009, 1:02 pmquite confuse here.. sad.gif
can take bath or not?
hoho

This post has been edited by h_n_s: Dec 15 2009, 01:02 PM
leyley
post Dec 15 2009, 02:22 PM

2,096 posts

Flu easily if u bath at midnight oftenly
kian27
post Dec 15 2009, 04:50 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Dec 15 2009, 09:19 AM)
i oso dunno..that's wat they told only...
sameer27
post Dec 15 2009, 05:23 PM

PlanTheFutureForABetterPast
684 posts

I heard that taking a cold bath at night is not healthy as it makes your bones weaker? WTF rite?
When I get old, I may regret it but what the heck right?
When my gf told me that I was like, "Yeah, whatever. I'm still going to shower before sleeping"
yeezai
post Dec 15 2009, 05:56 PM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Dec 15 2009, 09:19 AM)
warm bath is fine but not cold water at night....my mother last time after birth didnt take care of her body always bath cold water at nite now old oredi got fung sap for many yrs liao
TSh_n_s
post Dec 15 2009, 08:12 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(sameer27 @ Dec 15 2009, 05:23 PM)
I heard that taking a cold bath at night is not healthy as it makes your bones weaker? WTF rite?
When I get old, I may regret it but what the heck right?
When my gf told me that I was like, "Yeah, whatever. I'm still going to shower before sleeping"
haha..
tongue.gif

Added on December 15, 2009, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(yeezai @ Dec 15 2009, 05:56 PM)
warm bath is fine but not cold water at night....my mother last time after birth didnt take care of her body always bath cold water at nite now old oredi got fung sap for many yrs liao
hmm..
so its only fung sap is the effect if take bath at night?
or weaker bone?
is it weaker bone is true?

This post has been edited by h_n_s: Dec 15 2009, 08:13 PM
C-Note
post Dec 15 2009, 11:58 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

duno wor...heard alot of conmen/chinese herbalists say its bad because you'll get 'fong sap' (something like a weather-forecast leg kinda symptoms.

lol how unscientific can chinese get
SUSslimey
post Dec 16 2009, 02:10 AM

6,914 posts

fung sap is arthritis.

found some info on it and how weather affects it
[/QUOTE]Arthritis Special Report
Does Weather Affect Arthritis Pain?

Johns Hopkins Health Alerts Arthritis Arthritis Pain and Weather

If you have arthritis, you may be among those people (and there are many) who feel that their arthritis pain is influenced by the weather—specifically, that they experience more arthritis pain on cold, rainy days and less arthritis pain on warm, dry days.

But research studies (including two recent reports) on whether climate really does affect arthritis pain have produced conflicting results.

What the Research on Arthritis Pain Shows
The first study looked for a relationship between weather and arthritis pain in 151 people with osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, or fibromyalgia (a rheumatic disorder that causes joint pain) as well as 32 people without arthritis. All participants lived in Cordoba City, Argentina, which has a warm climate. Participants kept a journal for one year recording the presence and features of any pain, and these daily reports were matched with weather conditions such as temperature, barometric pressure, and relative humidity.

Patients in all three groups experienced more pain on days when the temperature was low, while people in the control group were unaffected by any of the weather conditions. In addition, patients with rheumatoid arthritis were affected by high humidity and high pressure; osteoarthritis patients by high humidity; and those with fibromyalgia by high pressure. However, the associations were not strong enough to allow pain to predict weather, or vice versa.

The other study looked at 154 people (average age 72) who lived in Florida and had osteoarthritis of the neck, hand, shoulder, knee, or foot. Participants reported their arthritis pain scores for up to two years, then researchers matched the scores with the daily temperature, barometric pressure, and precipitation status. No significant associations were found between any of the weather conditions and osteoarthritis pain at any site, except for a slight association between rising barometric pressure and hand pain in women.

A Mild Case for Warmer Weather
Although some evidence exists that people living in warmer, drier climates experience fewer episodes of arthritis pain, climate does not affect the course of the disease. At most, it may affect symptoms of arthritis pain.

One theory holds that a drop in air pressure (which often accompanies cold, rainy weather) allows tissues in the body to expand to fill the space, meaning that already inflamed tissue can swell even more and cause increased arthritis pain. Other possibilities: Pain thresholds drop in colder weather; cold, rainy days affect mood; and during colder weather people are less likely to be outside and get the exercise that normally helps keep arthritis pain in check.

So does this possible link between cold, rainy weather and arthritis pain mean that people with arthritis should you should move to a dry, warm climate like Arizona? Not necessarily, especially if it means leaving your family, friends, doctors, and support system behind. If you are thinking of moving, first spend a considerable amount of time in your new location to see if the weather affects your arthritis pain symptoms.

But bear in mind that no environment is arthritis-proof: Even though the people in these research studies live in warm climates, they still struggle with arthritis pain. Similarly, it’s possible to get relief from arthritis pain in any climate. For example, even if cold weather means you can’t spend time outdoors, you can still get valuable exercise in a gym or heated pool.

# For more arthritis articles, please visit the Arthritis Topic Page

Medical Disclaimer: This information is not intended to substitute for the advice of a physician. Click here for additional information: Johns Hopkins Health Alerts Disclaimer

Posted in Arthritis on November 17, 2005
Reviewed July 2009
[QUOTE]

source: http://www.johnshopkinshealthalerts.com/re...ritis/44-1.html

current studies suggest that arthritis is not caused by bathing with cold water. the likely culprit is accumulation of uric salts at joints (due to overconsumption of meat product).

so old people who have arthritis feel the pain when cold so ask young generation not to use cold water to bath.....

This post has been edited by slimey: Dec 16 2009, 02:15 AM
TSh_n_s
post Dec 16 2009, 12:15 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 16 2009, 02:10 AM)
fung sap is arthritis.

found some info on it and how weather affects it
Arthritis Special Report
Does Weather Affect Arthritis Pain?

Johns Hopkins Health Alerts Arthritis Arthritis Pain and Weather

If you have arthritis, you may be among those people (and there are many) who feel that their arthritis pain is influenced by the weather—specifically, that they experience more arthritis pain on cold, rainy days and less arthritis pain on warm, dry days.

But research studies (including two recent reports) on whether climate really does affect arthritis pain have produced conflicting results.

What the Research on Arthritis Pain Shows
The first study looked for a relationship between weather and arthritis pain in 151 people with osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, or fibromyalgia (a rheumatic disorder that causes joint pain) as well as 32 people without arthritis. All participants lived in Cordoba City, Argentina, which has a warm climate. Participants kept a journal for one year recording the presence and features of any pain, and these daily reports were matched with weather conditions such as temperature, barometric pressure, and relative humidity.

Patients in all three groups experienced more pain on days when the temperature was low, while people in the control group were unaffected by any of the weather conditions. In addition, patients with rheumatoid arthritis were affected by high humidity and high pressure; osteoarthritis patients by high humidity; and those with fibromyalgia by high pressure. However, the associations were not strong enough to allow pain to predict weather, or vice versa.

The other study looked at 154 people (average age 72) who lived in Florida and had osteoarthritis of the neck, hand, shoulder, knee, or foot. Participants reported their arthritis pain scores for up to two years, then researchers matched the scores with the daily temperature, barometric pressure, and precipitation status. No significant associations were found between any of the weather conditions and osteoarthritis pain at any site, except for a slight association between rising barometric pressure and hand pain in women.

A Mild Case for Warmer Weather
Although some evidence exists that people living in warmer, drier climates experience fewer episodes of arthritis pain, climate does not affect the course of the disease. At most, it may affect symptoms of arthritis pain.

One theory holds that a drop in air pressure (which often accompanies cold, rainy weather) allows tissues in the body to expand to fill the space, meaning that already inflamed tissue can swell even more and cause increased arthritis pain. Other possibilities: Pain thresholds drop in colder weather; cold, rainy days affect mood; and during colder weather people are less likely to be outside and get the exercise that normally helps keep arthritis pain in check.

So does this possible link between cold, rainy weather and arthritis pain mean that people with arthritis should you should move to a dry, warm climate like Arizona? Not necessarily, especially if it means leaving your family, friends, doctors, and support system behind. If you are thinking of moving, first spend a considerable amount of time in your new location to see if the weather affects your arthritis pain symptoms.

But bear in mind that no environment is arthritis-proof: Even though the people in these research studies live in warm climates, they still struggle with arthritis pain. Similarly, it’s possible to get relief from arthritis pain in any climate. For example, even if cold weather means you can’t spend time outdoors, you can still get valuable exercise in a gym or heated pool.

# For more arthritis articles, please visit the Arthritis Topic Page

Medical Disclaimer: This information is not intended to substitute for the advice of a physician. Click here for additional information: Johns Hopkins Health Alerts Disclaimer
Posted in Arthritis on November 17, 2005
Reviewed July 2009

source: http://www.johnshopkinshealthalerts.com/re...ritis/44-1.html
current studies suggest that arthritis is not caused by bathing with cold water. the likely culprit is accumulation of uric salts at joints (due to overconsumption of meat product).

so old people who have arthritis feel the pain when cold so ask young generation not to use cold water to bath.....
thanks for da info.. smile.gif
weib
post Dec 16 2009, 12:40 PM

461 posts

old people say peep at girl, will get sore eyes.
But we know with medical advances that it is an infection.

Its old wives tale.

If you're getting sick easily and coincidentally having baths at night, you'd be better checking your immunity levels and overall lifestyle.
TSh_n_s
post Dec 16 2009, 01:15 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(weib @ Dec 16 2009, 12:40 PM)
old people say peep at girl, will get sore eyes.
But we know with medical advances that it is an infection.

Its old wives tale.

If you're getting sick easily and coincidentally having baths at night, you'd be better checking your immunity levels and overall lifestyle.
yeah.. thats right..
thanks k.. smile.gif
any opinion?
Cloud9Nos3
post Dec 16 2009, 05:05 PM

Stay Happy ~
1,189 posts

My mum doesn allow me to bath at night but i still bath at midnight. So far so good , they said we going to have bone pain in future if we keep bathing at midnight.
TSh_n_s
post Dec 16 2009, 08:22 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(Cloud9Nos3 @ Dec 16 2009, 05:05 PM)
My mum doesn allow me to bath at night but i still bath at midnight. So far so good , they said we going to have bone pain in future if we keep bathing at midnight.
worried about the future..
huhu
nobody knows..
sad.gif
weib
post Dec 16 2009, 08:59 PM

461 posts

the world will end in 2012.
so why bother right? lol

Comm`on there is no evidence to show that contact with water in the night will cause anything problems.
That said, then if its at night in malaysia where you are born and raised for 20 years, and you travel to the USA which is the day, then we can only bath at night due to the time difference?

ridiculous isn't it? well thats the same crazy when you believe in such stuff.

This post has been edited by weib: Dec 16 2009, 09:00 PM
C-Note
post Dec 17 2009, 12:30 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

no harm listening to it right? Science can't explain wtf is yin and yang but yet its true, in shaolin terms. Can science explain wtf is ghost?
junxian898
post Dec 17 2009, 01:40 AM

210 posts

QUOTE(weib @ Dec 16 2009, 08:59 PM)
so why bother right? lol

Comm`on there is no evidence to show that contact with water in the night will cause anything problems.
That said, then if its at night in malaysia where you are born and raised for 20 years, and you travel to the USA which is the day, then we can only bath at night due to the time difference?

lol
yeezai
post Dec 17 2009, 09:57 AM

2,531 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 17 2009, 12:30 AM)
no harm listening to it right? Science can't explain wtf is yin and yang but yet its true, in shaolin terms. Can science explain wtf is ghost?
before science becomes science there are myth also...sometimes science will make mistakes too...
TSh_n_s
post Dec 17 2009, 10:36 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 17 2009, 12:30 AM)
yea..
science can't explain everyting...
kianweic
post Dec 17 2009, 10:51 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

Taking a shower at night won't kill you.

Not taking a shower at all will make you stink.

Therefore, the question should be:

1. Would you take a shower at night?

Or

2. Would you rather stink while you get laid or sleep?
TSh_n_s
post Dec 17 2009, 10:56 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Dec 17 2009, 10:51 AM)
Taking a shower at night won't kill you.

Not taking a shower at all will make you stink.

Therefore, the question should be:

1. Would you take a shower at night?

Or

2. Would you rather stink while you get laid or sleep?
nope..
the question is,what is the effect of bath late at night..?
thats all...
kianweic
post Dec 17 2009, 11:03 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

QUOTE(h_n_s @ Dec 17 2009, 10:56 AM)
nope..
thats all...
How about what is the effect of not taking a shower late at night?

You must have not shower in the evening or early night, if you need to shower late at night.
TSh_n_s
post Dec 17 2009, 11:37 AM

294 posts

lol..
its up to me laa...
im the one who WTA,not u..
if u want,just open new topic.

Added on December 17, 2009, 11:38 am
QUOTE(weib @ Dec 16 2009, 08:59 PM)
so why bother right? lol

LOL

This post has been edited by h_n_s: Dec 17 2009, 11:38 AM
accitzone
post Dec 17 2009, 11:39 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Dec 14 2009, 10:27 PM)
You will get flu easily if bath at midnight too oftenly.
oni for those who have weak antibodies

QUOTE(h_n_s @ Dec 17 2009, 10:56 AM)
nope..
thats all...
1. you feel cleaner
2. you'll have a good nite sleep

i like to hv bath late at night, coz cant sleep without bath, even after short mamak session... after a hot shower, the night's sleep will be the best.

This post has been edited by accitzone: Dec 17 2009, 11:41 AM
Mr HellAngelOfFire
post Dec 17 2009, 11:45 AM

183 posts

i agree that it is not good to bath at night but surely the effects will take a long time to be found sleep.gif
TSh_n_s
post Dec 17 2009, 11:46 AM

294 posts

QUOTE(Mr HellAngelOfFire @ Dec 17 2009, 11:45 AM)
i agree that it is not good to bath at night but surely the effects will take a long time to be found sleep.gif
yea..
i do think so..

kianweic
post Dec 17 2009, 11:50 AM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

What do you define as late at night?

9pm? 10pm? 11pm? Midnight?
Darren
post Dec 17 2009, 01:24 PM

1,324 posts

LOL...

Funny, really funny. Why were you bother at all? Honestly, there are so many pantang larang from those old days. Drink water must be warm instead of cold, no aircond, bla bla bla. Its a never ending list. Just live happily and you probably end up living a longer life when you one less thing to worry about.
Mr HellAngelOfFire
post Dec 17 2009, 08:39 PM

183 posts

i agree with you
TSh_n_s
post Dec 19 2009, 02:23 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Dec 17 2009, 01:24 PM)
LOL...

Funny, really funny. Why were you bother at all? Honestly, there are so many pantang larang from those old days. Drink water must be warm instead of cold, no aircond, bla bla bla. Its a never ending list. Just live happily and you probably end up living a longer life when you one less thing to worry about.
agreed.. tongue.gif
munkeyflo
post Dec 19 2009, 03:40 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

I have an aunty who has fung sap. she's around 60+, loves to gamble since young. she sleeps like before 10pm, have dinner around 6.30pm and does not take bath after dinner.

while i have another aunty who sleeps like 3 or 4am and takes a cold shower before she sleep. this aunty exercise and do house chores regularly, is almost 65 years old and does not have fung sap. can still take care of my 95 year old half paralyzed grandma.

so whatever it is, i'm still taking bath before i sleep everynight.
myremi
post Dec 19 2009, 08:53 PM

1,846 posts

The next time someone ever asks this question, we should reply back with the question : how do Eskimos bath since the water is perpetually cold anyway? Or the indigenous people living in the jungle where there's no heated water?

TSh_n_s
post Dec 20 2009, 04:47 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Dec 19 2009, 08:53 PM)
The next time someone ever asks this question, we should reply back with the question : how do Eskimos bath since the water is perpetually cold anyway? Or the indigenous people living in the jungle where there's no heated water?
hmm...
Bubbletea12321
post Dec 22 2009, 02:21 PM

21 posts

For normal healthy individuals, it's ok to take a bath even late into the night. But make sure that u dry your hair before u sleep bcos GERMS like moisture. They need moisture to thrive!

We don't want to have germs all over our pillows and hair, right?! What if the germs get into our eyes and we may get an eye infection overnight.

For those of u who get a cold easily once the weather turns cooler, it is advisable NOT to do so bcos your immune system just isn't strong enough to withstand the rapid change in temperature.
cynachen
post Dec 22 2009, 03:04 PM

221 posts

Thanks bubbletea for the explaination. wink.gif
kanzakicyn
post Dec 22 2009, 03:27 PM

449 posts

I baths daily at night, at 11pm to 12am. Still normal.
IcyDarling
post Dec 22 2009, 06:27 PM

1,372 posts

maybe night time will catch cold. Anyway, i always bath at nite. Before i sleep. Coz i very lazy to bath. Morning bath, if stay at home also wont bath. Go outside, night time only come back. So basicly, i bath at average time of 11pm-12am. Dont see i kena any problem also
C-Note
post Dec 22 2009, 11:12 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Bubbletea12321 @ Dec 22 2009, 02:21 PM)
For normal healthy individuals, it's ok to take a bath even late into the night. But make sure that u dry your hair before u sleep bcos GERMS like moisture. They need moisture to thrive!

We don't want to have germs all over our pillows and hair, right?! What if the germs get into our eyes and we may get an eye infection overnight.

For those of u who get a cold easily once the weather turns cooler, it is advisable NOT to do so bcos your immune system just isn't strong enough to withstand the rapid change in temperature.
Yeah. Especially when so many people I know of don't even blowdry their hair after shower, which leaves me wondering all the time.
soujiro_seta
post Dec 22 2009, 11:16 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Dec 22 2009, 06:27 PM)
maybe night time will catch cold. Anyway, i always bath at nite. Before i sleep. Coz i very lazy to bath. Morning bath, if stay at home also wont bath. Go outside, night time only come back. So basicly, i bath at average time of 11pm-12am. Dont see i kena any problem also
wah.then u r lucky.last time, i have a friend who normally took bath late at nite to make him awake for study, later kne paru2 berair.
munkeyflo
post Dec 23 2009, 12:00 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

people also say its bad to blow dry your hair with hair dryer everyday cause will dry out the hair. lol.

but if i wash hair during the day time and just towel dry it, also not good?

whats paru2 berair?

my parents say as long as not shower with cold water then it should be alright.
SUSslimey
post Dec 23 2009, 04:39 AM

6,914 posts

i think paru paru berair is pneumonia.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pneumonia

but there's so many causes of pneumonia.... cannot just blame it on bathing late night. the time to take bath does not matter.

This post has been edited by slimey: Dec 23 2009, 04:42 AM
TSh_n_s
post Dec 23 2009, 03:16 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(soujiro_seta @ Dec 22 2009, 11:16 PM)
wah.then u r lucky.last time, i have a friend who normally took bath late at nite to make him awake for study, later kne paru2 berair.
waa...
so serious..
huu~

hazairi
post Dec 23 2009, 08:58 PM

2,694 posts

I always try to avoid bathing around 10pm - 6am. It ain't good for your health..
TSh_n_s
post Dec 24 2009, 01:11 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Dec 23 2009, 08:58 PM)
I always try to avoid bathing around 10pm - 6am. It ain't good for your health..
what make u say that?

breaker84
post Dec 24 2009, 01:14 PM

\\//\\//\\//\\//
1,713 posts

later got paru2 berair....
munkeyflo
post Dec 24 2009, 08:48 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Dec 24 2009, 01:14 PM)
later got paru2 berair....
any reference or source on this?
irene_yin2
post Dec 29 2009, 09:51 AM

50 posts

i agree with hazairi.... the latest i take my bath is 9pm.. no after 10pm... even i am sweaty..

cos according to chinese medical..
taking bath at night will cause arithmetic and bone problem...("fong se" in chinese)
u may not feel it when u are good... the problem only come when u are older..

so it is better to prevent... then cure...
butterflydarling
post Dec 29 2009, 09:53 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Dec 14 2009, 08:32 PM)
why should you trust the few people who talk about this?
just think rationally, bathing is just cleaning of the body's external surface how does that affect us?
i would say almost none.
if you want to talk about water temperature, cold water stimulates us and refreshes us maybe make us harder to sleep. warm water relaxes us so easier to sleep.
but, different people have different sleep wake cycle and i think most people nowadays sleep later than 10 pm so the 8 pm rule sounds like rubbish to me.

i bath when ever i want.
thats what my dad will tell me. i am the kind of person who can't sleep if i don't bathe. so even when i am back late at night i will still shower. like 2 - 4 am?
irene_yin2
post Dec 29 2009, 09:54 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 22 2009, 11:12 PM)
Yeah. Especially when so many people I know of don't even blowdry their hair after shower, which leaves me wondering all the time.
i dont blow my hair after shower.. and let it dry naturally...cos blowing ur hair will harm the hair

but mostly i wash duing the day... when the heat will dry my hair..

if i wash at night which is ard 8pm.. then i will blow..

not good to have wet hair at night
ajai_fza
post Dec 29 2009, 11:05 AM

96 posts

you can bath anytime you want but if during late night i don't suggest that you take shower frequently. it should not be your night routine. i don't have any reference for that. and if you think you are all right until now even with taking bath every midnight, go on. proceed what you love to do. my mom told me not to take bath at midnight, and i trust that she mentioned about pneumonia.

some things are unexplainable through science or research, but if you have seen it by your eyes, you will believe it. plus, you don't sweat every night before sleep don't you? take shower just to clean yourself up. its no harm i suppose. i do midnight futsal and took shower after games anyway. just to clean the sticky sweat.
SUSP1Maggot
post Dec 30 2009, 11:08 AM

39 posts

i used to take bath before going to sleep iregardless warm or cold water back in 20 years ago till i reach 30.

when i was around 27, all sort of problem start kicking-in. i tend to have body ache, muscle pain, bone pain, joins pain, difficulty in breathing. I see a doctor first and therapist later when i was 30. I was advice to stop taking cold or hot shower at night before sleep and i did.

Now i had stop taking shower before sleep for like 2 years now...no more back pain, body ache, joints pain or shoulder pain.

i immediately take shower after reach home and dinner which is 8pm.

FYI: Many peoples in my current age now share same similiarity.
gannabathy
post Sep 23 2011, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(h_n_s @ Dec 16 2009, 09:22 PM)
worried about the future..
huhu
nobody knows..
sad.gif
I HAVE BEEN BATHING LATE FOR A LONG TIME,
SO FAR SO GOOD sweat.gif
IM 45 thumbup.gif
H4XF4XTOR
post Sep 23 2011, 10:02 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

the same thing ive heard since i was a kid is paru berair and mostly female mandi mlm...
vinesh22
post Sep 24 2011, 02:19 PM

Eat.Fly.Lift.Party.Love.Sleep
546 posts

I've been bathing even at ungodly hours for years now and I'm still standing. Cold/hot/warm water, doesn't matter. I guess its down to the person, I mean, if some one is used to it, then your body will learn to adapt.
sotong1992
post Sep 24 2011, 07:47 PM

Fight For Stars
1,000 posts

Paru2 berair is what I heard from malay friends but not from chinese people.

Btw, prevention is better than cure.

day2dayshopaholic
post Sep 24 2011, 08:34 PM

53 posts

I also hard to accept this.
scoop7
post Sep 24 2011, 09:38 PM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

Gone la ... how to sleep after my nite runs n cycling?
damn smelly n sticky
sotong1992
post Sep 24 2011, 09:55 PM

Fight For Stars
1,000 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Sep 24 2011, 09:38 PM)
Gone la ... how to sleep after my nite runs n cycling?
damn smelly n sticky
Agree with you.

Feel irritating....
TSh_n_s
post Sep 27 2011, 11:45 PM

294 posts

i think it's all depends on our own body.
body temperature etc..
mIssfROGY
post Oct 1 2011, 01:42 AM

2,155 posts

Agree la, most of the times i mandi 11-12pm, infact i just mandi just now at 1am. During confinement i mandi everyday.... Usually they say will masuk angin, chinese blif cannot mandi 1 month... Tak de pun.

I suspect the mandi during confinement or too late at night pantang pantang coz rite chinese r from china ma. China weather got cold weather one leh n last time where got such thing as heater or warm water. So if they mandi like us sure kena penyakit lerr
MSS
post Oct 1 2011, 05:34 PM

1 Malaysia
1,294 posts

mandi is very good.
normally i mandi warm water at night.
what you need is only water heater.
i think more suitable because we can choose the temp of water.
i means for comfort our body when mandi.
Cattitude
post Oct 4 2011, 07:34 AM

527 posts

Unfortunately, I cant sleep if I not bath before I sleep. Sorry to elders advise and sorry to my health. My hygiene need cant compromise with it. laugh.gif
Unnameme
post Oct 4 2011, 08:58 AM

65 posts

No its perfectly fine. however, you must make sure your hair is totally dry before you go to sleep. to avoid ''foong sap'' (headache)
MSS
post Aug 10 2012, 09:50 PM

1 Malaysia
1,294 posts

QUOTE(Unnameme @ Oct 4 2011, 08:58 AM)
No its perfectly fine. however, you must make sure your hair is totally dry before you go to sleep. to avoid ''foong sap'' (headache)
That's true.
Not only hair, for women, must dry the ***** before wear the panties to avoid foong saap.
Mac Man @ LYF
post Aug 10 2012, 11:43 PM

433 posts

Speaking about hair drying, try to get those hair dryer that can chose hot & cool air.

Too much hot air will damage the hair.

My hair stylist told me so, dunno true or not. whistling.gif
darklight79
post Aug 11 2012, 12:16 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

I don't know what planet you people come from. I know it's hard to get the big picture when you have a small screen but the intelligent people of planet Earth take showers anytime of the day.

0.0425sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:42 AM