Which card you'll keep due to RM50 service tax, See which bank c.c. is most likely kept

Darkmage12
post Dec 14 2009, 02:50 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

Why no SCB in the list? their platinum got free access to KLIA Premier Lounge brows.gif
Darkmage12
post Dec 15 2009, 12:19 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 14 2009, 04:21 PM)
only the infinite visa but not the debit card rite? can infinite visa be exempted from tax? else i'd like to own one too T_T
I'm not very sure but I have platinum mastercard and visa which both have access to the lounge. As for the exemption from the service tax I was told by the CS that they will absorbed it

QUOTE(elru @ Dec 14 2009, 11:32 PM)
i think the best is tax should be imposed from the 2nd card onwards, if it really was meant for the well being of us citizens. but if the only one card also kena, means the government seriously squeezing $$ from us.
Agreed. Well there are rumours about supp cards service taxes being cancelled but so far no news
Darkmage12
post Dec 15 2009, 06:39 PM

17,053 posts

Yes citibank does have the largest issuer of CC in Malaysia. It's strange that even with the least amount of branches they can still manage haha.
Darkmage12
post Dec 15 2009, 09:43 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 15 2009, 08:25 PM)
It is the largest credit card issuer by sales. Maybank has the most cards in circulation.
Is there a press release stating banks are not allowed to "absorb" the tax on their customers' behalf ? There are many conflicting reports on this.
Immediately after the budget was announced. There was an article about it. The problem is how are they going to regulate it?
Darkmage12
post Dec 16 2009, 12:35 AM

17,053 posts

Please read their TnC before commenting.
Darkmage12
post Dec 16 2009, 07:13 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Dec 16 2009, 05:13 PM)
i guess we will know whats going to happen in 2 more weeks....alot of clients keeps canceling their cards...wonder how the banks wan to counter dis problem...cant those big banks complain to bnm ?
They can always come out with ways to keep their customers. There is nothing to complain actually as there will be some who would still use credit cards like the person few posts earlier. Not everyone will cancel all their cards
Darkmage12
post Dec 17 2009, 09:41 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(barra @ Dec 16 2009, 10:35 PM)
I think mbb cards are strong because of 2 cards

PETRONAS and Amex Gold. 5x Points for Petronas and 9% p.a. for Amex Gold.
Both cards are targeted at day to day usage market (PETRONAS for obvious reason, Amex gold cos of 5x MR points on petrol, groceries, phone bills...etc.).

Yes, CIMB got PETRONAS too but for some reason, I think it's no where near MBB. my 2 cents.

Citibank Shell and Giant Card is similar but I think the poll shows that people are not keeping it mainly due to lack of repayment branches/facilities, due to government restrictions on foreign bank expansion and what not.

RHB Tesco Card is clearly targeted to same segment, the day to day usage market, but come on, how many Tesco outlets are there compare to PETRONAS kiosks. Plus, the fact remains that RHB was and never is a strong player in the c.c. market.

What is surprising is HSBC, even with the lack of co-brand card (petronas, shell, MTV, Man U,...etc) they are still doing strong. As seen by the poll people actually want to keep the HSBC card....
You forget to add that RHB service is very bad. The waiting time is too long
Darkmage12
post Dec 18 2009, 01:18 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(buysell @ Dec 17 2009, 10:06 PM)
If you owe them money but refuse to pay up they deduct your saving/FD money straight, I dont see wrong about that. hmm.gif
Haven't seen them do that before but maybe because I never tried defaulting before tongue.gif

Anyway unless you pledged FD to get a card they don't normally do this right?
Darkmage12
post Dec 22 2009, 03:01 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Dec 21 2009, 01:11 PM)
PBB DEFINATELY...
PBB cards only got cash mega bonus and now even less already
Darkmage12
post Dec 22 2009, 09:06 PM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(inspiron @ Dec 22 2009, 08:43 PM)
What attract me in the ad is the 0% for 12 mths and no rm50 service charge but after reading the TnC:

Should the CardMember’s monthly spending on his/her MBF card be less than RM300 in any month during the 12 month period, a service charge of RM20 will be levied to his/her MBF card account for that particular month.

whistling.gif
They also did mention about balance transfer right? 300/month is nothing compared to that
Darkmage12
post Dec 23 2009, 12:52 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(T630 @ Dec 22 2009, 09:50 PM)
i'll keep citibank, branded mar...  sweat.gif
Less problems when you're at overseas?
Darkmage12
post Jan 14 2010, 01:12 AM

17,053 posts

QUOTE(powerbiz @ Jan 12 2010, 11:06 AM)
PB credit card got 8% cash rebet....the best
the cash rebate maximum is only 50 per month and only for a short promotional period so basically it's peanuts

0.0504sec    0.96    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:17 PM