Food Satay in Malaysia recommendation

DarkNite
post Jan 22 2011, 05:14 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 22 2011, 11:18 AM)
There are Lotsa Singaporean claiming that Malaysian Satay & even the famous one in kajang are not as great as those in Singapore.

Well, I can't really comment this because I have yet to taste any Singaporean Satay. One day maybe...
I tried a few in Sinkapo but very different taste la. Maybe it is b'cos some of their spices they use not fresh! Most dun use fresh santan or fresh serai but their beef is real AUSSIE beef instead of Indian buffalo meat which most Malaysia satay seller use! doh.gif
The kajang famous ones have slack very much since they b'cum famous. So now, if they go try famous Kajang satay of course la, is sux!

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Jan 22 2011, 05:16 PM
Icehart
post Jan 23 2011, 05:04 PM

14,904 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 21 2011, 06:14 PM)
Satay is one of my favourite food. Surprisingly, I do not see any satay thread in here. Oh well..time to one to be opened for satay fans.

Here are some good satay location (in no particular order):

- suzi's corner satay (ampang)
- haji samuri (kajang, kesas highway reststop) - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sate_Kajang_Haji_Samuri
- duck satay kepong (but shifted already and don't know where) (nasi himpit sucks...though)

Please add more....
Erm Kesas Highway rest the Samuri Satay? When was the last time you visited them?
That's because me and my friend went there for satay and it wasn't really satisfying. The Satays are hard and dry.
DarkNite
post Jan 23 2011, 05:38 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 23 2011, 05:04 PM)
Erm Kesas Highway rest the Samuri Satay? When was the last time you visited them?
That's because me and my friend went there for satay and it wasn't really satisfying. The Satays are hard and dry.
laugh.gif you also got sux satay?

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 21 2011, 08:58 PM)
haji samuri at kesas highway reststop is VERY sucky! mad.gif
wat happen la, did they change management or their cook run away??!?!?
Icehart
post Jan 23 2011, 06:55 PM

14,904 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 23 2011, 05:38 PM)
laugh.gif you also got sux satay?
It's one the worst satay I've ever tasted. Hard like rock.
exentric_nova
post Jan 23 2011, 07:04 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jan 21 2011, 06:18 PM)
satay willy....kajang..

(^__^)
The one in Sg Ramal right? Good one there.

As a Kajang-ians myself let me say a little something about 'Satay Kajang'. The ones in that centre or whatever that place is called nearby the dewan, aren't so great. Same goes to Hj Samuri. Hj Samuri has gone franchise and the taste got lost along the way. My advice go for the smaller stalls. Those usually taste better. A good example would be Willy in Sg Ramal.

Another one of my fav is in Prima Saujana foodcourt. It's the one in the middle. Intifadh or something I think it's called. They used to be located near courts mammoth kajang. If you're a Kajang-ians I'm sure you can attest to how much people are there even though the place itself doesn't look like much.

Oh and, FYI, I myself have never step foot into that Satay Centre rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Jan 23 2011, 07:05 PM
Icehart
post Jan 23 2011, 08:00 PM

14,904 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Jan 23 2011, 07:04 PM)
As a Kajang-ians myself let me say a little something about 'Satay Kajang'. The ones in that centre or whatever that place is called nearby the dewan, aren't so great. Same goes to Hj Samuri. Hj Samuri has gone franchise and the taste got lost along the way. My advice go for the smaller stalls. Those usually taste better. A good example would be Willy in Sg Ramal.
I see and thanks for the information. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Icehart: Jan 23 2011, 08:00 PM
C-Note
post Jan 23 2011, 09:50 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

whats the best in KL? I find the kajang one(in a food court wan) overrated.
DarkNite
post Jan 24 2011, 12:41 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Jan 23 2011, 07:04 PM)
... Hj Samuri has gone franchise and the taste got lost along the way.
cos the cook also got lost along the way. laugh.gif
mugenz
post Jan 24 2011, 03:42 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

kajang one i usually go is located at Restoran Malaysia, just right opposite of the balai nearby.

Last time the taste and the meat is good.. but now its deteriorated. But still my best place for satay...
abubin
post Jan 25 2011, 03:02 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 23 2011, 05:04 PM)
The last I went is many years ago. Maybe around 5 years ago. After that, I did hear people saying it is not that good anymore but didn't realize it to be so lousy now.

Also, the Kajang Stadium satay is not that good also. Last I went is 3 years ago.

Anymore satay around KL area? Not those expensive restaurants please.

BTW, anyone know where the duck satay of Kepong shifted to?

This post has been edited by abubin: Jan 25 2011, 03:09 PM
Xforged
post Jan 25 2011, 05:15 PM

226 posts

do checkout;
1) satay melaka @ Keramat AU5. one word..awesome!
2) satay station @ Kg Pandan. 'kuah' to die for.

To note, i'm not associated with any of the abovementioned satay stores/place whatsoever. just trying to pass the word around. eat, enjoy, eat, enjoy! biggrin.gif
post Apr 24 2011, 09:57 AM

837 posts

anyone got contacts for satay ?

i need 120 sticks of chicken and 30 sticks of beef today by 6pm
Mr.CoMoT
post Apr 27 2011, 03:33 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

satay sentul...morning that place is market...night satay place...and their taste..without 'kuah' is GODDING!
CarmenC
post Apr 28 2011, 10:14 AM

73 posts

zaini satay, the hawker center next to SPCA, tmn TAR, Ampang/ Ulu Klang.
2nd generation, father formerly Majid Satay in Campbell rd.
ken_hidaibuki
post May 13 2011, 02:11 AM

265 posts

I think I noe 1 satay shop, that suitable with my tastebud, it is located near to giant ulu kelang exectly behind the giant from the ulu kelang roads.. go trough the taman perumahan then u will see two petrol pump, the shop is located at the right of the roads , same side with petrol pump , the leftest shop.. The satay is quite nice but the kuah kacang can be rated 6 out of 10.. Come and try it. I didn't remeber the shop name.. The satay daging was so tender and juicy...
torreto
post May 17 2011, 11:17 PM

659 posts

satay suria from kebun sultan kelantan, best of the best. trust me
etigge
post May 18 2011, 11:40 AM

295 posts

When I have satay, I like 'satay daging' meaning beef satay. Off course I add some chicken satay too. Long time ago when there was only local beef available, 'satay daging' is good and tasty. thumbup.gif We are not talking about imported beef off course. Nowadays, although we still have local beef but preference goes to the imported buffalo meat from India because they are cheaper and easier to source. So, 'satay daging' tends to be very tough nowadays if the maker don't know how to tenderise them.

So now it becomes like 'roti chanai'. You have good rotis but bad gravy and good gravy bad roti. rclxub.gif Same with satay, you have good satay bad gravy and vice versa. For me satay is still Restoren Malaysia in Kajang or just any satay I see in the coffee shop. Just to 'lepas gian' only. I do like Satay Ria formerly. icon_rolleyes.gif Sometimes, I reminisce on those Indonesians who peddles satay with a hot charcoal stove behind their bicycles and REAL ketupat and not compressed rice in plastic.

PS/ I heard from friends, beef satay is best in Singapore thumbup.gif . They use imported New Zealand or Australian beef. Salivating now thinking about it.

This post has been edited by etigge: May 18 2011, 11:42 AM
DarkNite
post May 18 2011, 12:00 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 18 2011, 11:40 AM)
... For me satay is still Restoren Malaysia in Kajang ...
GPS coordinates? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
etigge
post May 18 2011, 01:52 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 18 2011, 12:00 PM)
GPS coordinates? drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

N 2 59.56415 E 101 47.37414

The restaurant is also known as Nyok Lan Kajang Satay. It is diagonally in front of the Kajang police station. I frequent here during my youth times as I know a the two sisters who works for their aunt who owns this restaurant. The restaurant didn't change at all since then. Although a chinese outlet they are halal and alot of malay patrons too. Try their duck satay laugh.gif

icon_idea.gif There used to another chinese satay outlet a few doors from Restoren Malaysia which in my opinion was even better. Due to a rumour that the gravy was blessed or cursed (whichever way you see it) by putting in an "aunty's pad" laugh.gif It was closed after the rumour was published in a daily.
TommyTan
post May 25 2011, 06:51 PM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 18 2011, 01:52 PM)
It was closed after the rumour was published in a daily.
Well wouldn't taht be like admission of guilt??!!!

i eat nyoklan before many yrs ago... seldom go kajang, no business there laugh.gif

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0289sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:31 AM