Cooking, For those who cook

samantha88
post Jul 18 2010, 12:13 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(jayxunned @ Jul 14 2010, 04:43 PM)
any1 knows how to make the thick Chee Cheong Fan sauce?

I just know how to make those thinner one like chinese ppl eat in Dim Sum,
Just add 4 table spoon of sugar, 2 table spoon sesame oil, 4 tablespoon of water and 4 table spoon of soy sauce and then stir well, there you have the sauce.

The sauce also can be use in chicken rice as the sauce
the sweet thick sauce is actually hoisin sauce, i suppose u can get it in chinatown( if overseas)

Added on July 18, 2010, 12:13 am
QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Jul 16 2010, 08:54 AM)
with the sugar price increase, still making desserts?
haha....it doesn't affect me
coz all my desserts are low sugar biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Jul 18 2010, 12:13 AM
samantha88
post Oct 18 2010, 02:23 PM

114 posts

i think sandwich and salad is the easiest
can reheat sandwich if there's a sandwich maker in your office

long time never come here edy...weekends are usually occupied and no time to cook no more :$
samantha88
post Mar 22 2011, 03:23 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 10 2011, 08:13 AM)
Eh how come nobody posting recipe and pictures anymore? *stares*

Home-Cured Salmon that almost tastes like smoked salmon!

Very easy to do, so 'too busy' isn't an excuse. Full story here!
OMG....i m drooling already
samantha88
post Mar 22 2011, 03:53 PM

114 posts

Baked this last weekend, bf said he wanna eat banana cheesecake
so i google for the recipe, this is my first time trying out this recipe
the cake turned out nice, ppl who love bananas should try wink.gif

Baked Banana cheesecake

I got the recipe from the link below:

http://en.petitchef.com/recipes/baked-bana...cake-fid-278956

Ingredient:

1. I forgot to buy digestive biscuits...so i made my own biscuit base.
using the same method as in the apple tart, but i add some sugar
and lemon rind.
-125g flour + 110g butter+dash of vanilla essence,
a spoonful of sugar, pinch of salt, rind from half a lemon
200°C until golden brown.

2. Mashed banana together with lemon juice. There's no lemon juice
in the original recipe, but i prefer the cake to be a bit sourish,
so i add in juice from half a lemon.

3.Beat cream cheese and dump in everything except the eggs.
The eggs have to beat in one by one, or else the mixture will not
come together.

Bake the cake over hot water bath. I used 200°C for 60mins.
I forgot to keep an eye on the oven, so i think it's a bit over
baked, the top is a bit too brown, and cracked.
So remember to watch the temperature, baking time should be around
50mins-60mins, depending on how's ur oven working.

Result:

*the cake is best serve chilled. No uummpphhh if eaten fresh from oven.
sorry...the pic a bit cacat, no time to decorate the cake coz in a hurry that day, rushing uphill to watch Sammi tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 22 2011, 03:57 PM
samantha88
post Mar 22 2011, 03:58 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 22 2011, 03:34 PM)
@beeder/samantha try try try! if your'e worried about germs, use sashimi-grade salmon (cos then it would've been eaten raw anyway). But I just used normal salmon fillet bought from cold storage.

salt + suger = base ingredients for the curing process, everything else adds flavour. if you find a great ingredient combo I'll also try it biggrin.gif
i will definitely try the recipe ...salmon's my favourite fish tongue.gif
samantha88
post Mar 24 2011, 03:41 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 23 2011, 10:30 PM)
We should have a 'LYN cooking thread' "iron chef" cookout one of these days ... lol
i dun dare to challenge master deodorant...
you're so pro...tongue.gif

Added on March 24, 2011, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(babybb @ Mar 24 2011, 02:33 AM)
Baked this last few weeks & found it it taste quite nice too. Most important it was simple & easy as ABC..

Chilled Oreo Cheesecake

hehe...nice one~~~
i nvr made oreo cheesecake before, i always make lemon and strawberry only
will try this recipe next time

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 24 2011, 03:46 PM
samantha88
post Mar 31 2011, 12:01 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Mar 24 2011, 11:13 PM)
I wanna ask for induction cooker, is a non-stick saute pan or steel (not the non-stick type, the shiny metal type) pan better? I'm using a non-stick saute pan now, and after 2-3 times cooking, the non stick layer started peeling out and some even got stuck to the induction top (my whole pan is black, including the bottom of the pan).  I'm using a bamboo spatula for saute.

any suggestions? I'm hoping to keep it below RM50 as I just cook simple food at home only....

Usually what temperature do you set for cooking? For me frying egg - 140-180C, meat 200C-240C. My cooker defaults at 300C but I feel my food hangus very fast at that temp sweat.gif
No induction cooker at home, the only time I had my hands on an induction cooker was at my bestie's house
It's new to both of us...we use normal pan and the pan wouldn't heat up langsung
in the end, we smell something burning and its from the cooker...we both broke the thing even w/o cooking once with it
Maybe becoz we did not use the right pan, or she bought the budget induction cooker

Added on March 31, 2011, 12:08 am
QUOTE(munak991 @ Mar 29 2011, 11:59 PM)
My Home make Pizza.

Hihi, what is cake flour n bread flour?

I like funghi pizza...always wanted to try making pizza at home
But hav bad experience kneading dough...knead until hand ache still can't achive the smooth and non sticky surface...u got tips

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 31 2011, 12:08 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

1.5378sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:20 AM