post Jan 14 2010, 06:07 PM

114 posts

this thread makes me wanna bake some cakes n post here...kakaka
samantha88
post Jan 15 2010, 02:00 PM

114 posts

wokay, if not working this sunday, will go jusco n get the ingredients.
samantha88
post Jan 17 2010, 08:46 PM

114 posts

I'm back, did the Triple C cake today
The last time I baked was like one year ago...so today a bit kelam kabut tongue.gif

Triple C (Cheddar Cheese Cake)

Ingredients : 4 pcs cheddar cheese, 3 eggs (seperate yolk), 100ml milk (full cream better), 50g sugar, 50g butter, 50g flour, 1/4 tsp tartar powder

1. Melt cheese, butter in the milk. Double boil in the pan, do not put in on direct heat, will burn the butter.
After everything dissolved, leave heat and set aside t cool down.

2. Seperate egg white from yolk, add tartar powder.

mix with low speed for few second, until you see big bubbles like in the pic above.

add half of the sugar and continue beating with medium speed, until you see smaller bubbles like in the pic above.

add the remaining sugar and beat with high speed, until the egg white turn stiff, it will not drop even if you turn the bowl upside down.

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 21 2010, 09:17 PM
samantha88
post Jan 17 2010, 09:06 PM

114 posts

3. Add the egg yolks into the cheese mixture. Mix well

4. Add half of the egg white into the cheese mixture, mix well, gently.

5. Sift the flour into the cheese mixture & mix well, gently.

6. Slowly, fold the cheese mixture into the remaining egg white.

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 21 2010, 09:20 PM
samantha88
post Jan 17 2010, 09:15 PM

114 posts

7. Pour the batter into a 20cm mould, put the mould over the hot bath.
This is to retain the moisture of the cake while baking.

8. Bake in a preheated oven, 150-170°C, 50-60mins. Prick the cake with a toothpick to check whether it's fully cook.
If it's cook, toothpick is clean when pull out.

9. Cool the cake upside down to prevent it from sinking.

And the final result:

yummy, decorated with homegrown mulberries icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 21 2010, 09:22 PM
samantha88
post Jan 18 2010, 10:16 PM

114 posts

TQ. I did a lot of things with this tiny oven.
Will try to show more recipe in the future (when i'm not feeling lazy tongue.gif)
samantha88
post Jan 22 2010, 02:21 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Jan 21 2010, 09:56 PM)
After saw vey99 sharing i decided to share my one

Samurai Sushi

Can anyone recommend which brand of yeast to make white bread?
I try used the brand "Nur" active dry yeast, but the bread failed to grow/expand blink.gif
Good yo, more ppl coming in ^^
can't see photo in my office, will check them out when i got home

I'm very bad at making sushi, i always put too much rice & when i roll it up, it will be so gigantic >.<

And for the yeast, i can't remember which brand i used, that time i was making bagels
i just follow the instruction attached on the packaging.
Need to activate the yeast with some sugar+warm water+flour beforehand, when u see bubbles, then only mix into the rest of the dough
Tempreature & humidity also playing important role.
samantha88
post Jan 22 2010, 02:24 PM

114 posts

Since CNY is just around the corner, the next recipe I would like to try out is Bak kua ^^

But have to wait till next weekend, this weekend I'm away smile.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Jan 22 2010, 02:24 PM
samantha88
post Jan 30 2010, 03:40 PM

114 posts

popcorn, sushi wub.gif

but don't make raw seafood at home....coz afraid of bacteria

and for the carrot...maybe you can cut it into slimmer stripes, softer but still crunchy. You can try cucumber too. Just cut it into stripes,take away the seeds; or can preserve in vinegar+sugar for 1 day.

samantha88
post Jan 31 2010, 10:50 PM

114 posts

Hihi~~~~
made Bak Kua today, it's my first time blush.gif

Bak Kua

Ingredient: 600g minced meat, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp fish sauce, 1 tbsp MeiGui Lu (chinese rose wine), 3 tbsp sugar, 1 tbsp honey,
1/2 tbsp oil, 1/4 tsp five spice powder

1. Mix everything in the same direction.

2. Spread the meat on a tray and dry under hot sun, until the meat is 70% dry.

3. Cut into squares & bake in preheated oven, 130-150°C for 10mins, then 180°C for another 10-15mins (or until brown).

Result:

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 21 2010, 09:26 PM
samantha88
post Jan 31 2010, 10:57 PM

114 posts

I tried it with pork slices too

Result:

Pork slices, minced meat, remaining meat using biscuit cutter

Behind the scene:

If anyone of you wishing to try out the recipe, maybe can exclude the five spice powder. I personally thinks it would be better w/o it.
And also, do it early in the morning when the sun is high and hot. Today when it started raining just as soon as i put it out under the sun.
So with no choice, i had to dry it under ceiling fan & with hair dryer sweat.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 21 2010, 09:28 PM
samantha88
post Feb 1 2010, 12:41 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:00 AM)
whao greattt job samantha88!!!

but i really LOL at put up at car....hm...i is can try liao if got time biggrin.gif
add more sugar, cut down the fish sauce...
my bro said not sweet enuff

if u make chicken bak gua...maybe a 1 tsp dark soy sauce...coz mine were a bit pale

Added on February 1, 2010, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(vey99 @ Feb 1 2010, 11:42 AM)
samamtha is rich fella stay banglo one whistling.gif
i'm veli poor.... cry.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Feb 1 2010, 12:42 PM
samantha88
post Mar 17 2010, 05:34 PM

114 posts

used to cook for my ex, but then as time goes by
ppl taking it for granted n not appreciating anymore

i dun cook anymore these days, just baking or making snacks once in a blue moon

Added on March 17, 2010, 5:48 pm
QUOTE(icehart85 @ Mar 16 2010, 07:18 PM)
cannot see the pic liao. no pic cannot make.  sad.gif
maybe kimages not working
will see how...might upload to photobucket later

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 17 2010, 05:48 PM
samantha88
post Mar 21 2010, 09:57 PM

114 posts

Made Bak kua again on saturday...it's for a friend which is suppose to come over on saturday
But too bad he didn't make it, so will keep in freezer until his next visit...or maybe give to another friend who's coming next saturday brows.gif

This time i cut down on fish sauce n rose wine, i add more sugar n soy sauce. It turned out nicer than the previous one

From freezer, kept frozen overnight. The white particles are frozen fats sweat.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: Mar 21 2010, 09:59 PM
samantha88
post Mar 21 2010, 10:11 PM

114 posts

Then i made cheesecake cheese squares too
Was suppose to make cheesecake, since i have 2 pieces of cream cheese, but last minute decided to use one piece for cheese squares and the other one for cream cheese jelly.

Strawberry cheese squares

Ingredient: 150g oreo biscuit( w/o the cream), 75g butter, 250g cream cheese, juice of 1 1/2 lemon, strawberries cut into cubes, sugar enough to taste, a bit of lemon rind

1. to make the biscuit base, crush the biscuit into crumbs, add the melted butter, mix well and press it firmly on the mould, put into freezer to let it set.

2. The beat the cream cheese until soft n creamy, add in lemon juice and beat well. Add sugar bits by bits and adjust the sweetness to your own liking. Add in lomon rind n strawberries. Mix well.

3. Pour the cheese mixture onto the biscuit base and chilled over night.

Result:

samantha88
post Mar 21 2010, 10:21 PM

114 posts

my cream cheese jelly....phailed....but still very yummy
a bit cacat-ed
but ok lar for first timer...hehehe

the ingredients: 250g cream cheese, 5g konyaku jelly, pinch of malic acid, 400ml water, juice of half a lemon, sugar enough to taste, strawberry cubes

1. Beat cream cheese until soft n creamy, add lemon juice, beat well, add sugar to the sweetness of yout own liking, add strawberry cubes, set aside. (important that this mixture is not too cold, best is to be in room tempreature)

2. Boil 400ml of water, then add the konyaku jelly powder and stir till dissolve. Off the heat, add in acid n stir well.

3. Pour the jelly solution into the cheese mixture gradually, and stir well.

4. Quickly pour the the jelly mixture into moulds n set aside to cool, and later chilled in the fridge.
samantha88
post Mar 21 2010, 10:25 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 21 2010, 10:15 PM)
Samantha u are so legend i really want to met u and be make friends wub.gif
but I iz no haz siham for u whistling.gif
samantha88
post Mar 22 2010, 12:24 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(SyedBrix @ Mar 21 2010, 11:27 PM)
jelly is for gutterfood blog
sad sad...look ugly only, but taste yummy

QUOTE(crystalism @ Mar 22 2010, 02:51 AM)
samantha, the strawberry cheese square looks good! i'm gonna try it probably next week if i'm free~

if the mould u're using is proper cake mould (20cm), then u might need to add more biscuits. U line the biscuits on the base of the mould, the amount u need is about one and a half layer...if u like thicker base then add more. The amount of butter u need is equal to half the weight of the biscuit (eg: biscuit 200g= butter 100g)

Recipe for simple dinner? I got a lot, used to cook for myself...
Will try to load some up later smile.gif

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 22 2010, 07:55 AM)
wat u did wif the oreo cream?

did u stack ALL of it into one stack and put into one biscuit? brows.gif
I dun like the cream, normally i throw it away
but for this cake, the beat the cream together with the cheese, it's like the substitute to the sugar.

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 22 2010, 07:56 AM)
ah sam when can i eated ur food wub.gif
next time when i cook again lor smile.gif

QUOTE(Cas @ Mar 22 2010, 09:05 AM)
Samantha your strawberry cheese squares looks SO yummy!
Thanks...hehehe
your chicken chop looks very appetizing too
samantha88
post Mar 31 2010, 12:23 PM

114 posts

vey always cook nice nice food...
kenot liao...i wanna cook oso
next entry will do grill chicken thigh
but have to wait till after my monthly closing
samantha88
post Apr 1 2010, 12:08 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 31 2010, 12:26 PM)
Huhu checking in!

I cooked up some rib eye and sirloin steaks! Unfortunately I got no skill to estimate cooking time so the steaks ranged from medium rare to medium well depending on batch, haha sad.gif
the char mark very nice. what's that dish on the upeer left corner? cucumber salad?
i dunno how to cook beef, never tried before. Only know how to cook chicken & pork

0.0225sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:58 PM