12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

❤~((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER v6 )))~❤, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

Juztiny
post Mar 24 2010, 02:26 PM

1,276 posts

Just 4 days past since I took their picture on Sat , now the Sheltie babies fur changed quite a lot. At today they are exactly 3 weeks old. See their recent pictures here:-

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Mar 24 2010, 02:27 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Juztiny
post Mar 25 2010, 01:55 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Mar 25 2010, 01:47 AM)
hey anyone interested to sell their cages? i am looking for a new cage for my GPs. biggrin.gif
I have several cages wanted to sell off. What sort of cages you are looking?
Juztiny
post Mar 25 2010, 02:20 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 25 2010, 09:46 AM)
Yea.. I think i need to get a new bathroom mat liao.. Current one 10% chew off.. And not very good where d holes is too small and too little.. hence my gp belly fur tend to get yellowish stain from d pee.. Hsh.. Mind showin how urs bathroom mat look like.. Plan to get bigger holes de.. But afraid their feet might get stuck..
I think the one in black color is an ideal size.

Juztiny
post Mar 25 2010, 11:33 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Mar 25 2010, 07:07 PM)
i use the green one noe since i cant find the smaller gap one in my area..so far no problem la, hope it will stay that way...

um guys i'm going to work in Cyberjaya starting May...i wil need to find a room to live there...i wonder usually house owner will not allow pets right? do you think i'll have a chance to find a room/apartment that will let me bring my gps along? i dun wanna let them go for adoption... cry.gif

um btw this is my first time attempt to live on my own/rent a room..
You can also rent house in Dengkil area, I think the rental would be even cheaper. Dengkil to Cyberjaya is very very near, less than 2 min drive.

Added on March 25, 2010, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(asiuol @ Mar 25 2010, 08:59 PM)
Agree! biggrin.gif  But the price for Hagen is a tad on the high side.
I'm getting it ~RM20.
Hagen considered the cheapest among all the acceptable quality gp pellets. Actually I still can get RM16 for a 5 lb packet.

If you could afford, you should switch to Kaytee or Oxbow. Based on my experience these 2 brands provide better nutrition for my gps than Hagen.

Added on March 25, 2010, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 25 2010, 05:29 PM)
how much r those? seem like the 1 sold at jusco.. hehe ..last time i check it was rm12.5 or 16.5 forget liao..
I can't remember, but the quality is better, it is in a harder plastic type.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Mar 25 2010, 11:42 PM
Juztiny
post Mar 26 2010, 11:37 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(imvinceong @ Mar 26 2010, 12:54 AM)
I guess depends on the location of where you stay too, frankly I never seen Timothy hay before, went to almost all of the pet shops in Melaka, no one sells them, unless the new Jusco has this purple pack Hagen pellets.
You can buy online from the following sites:

http://www.petshack.com.my
http://www.chubbypetsgarden.com
Juztiny
post Mar 27 2010, 01:11 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(asiuol @ Mar 26 2010, 11:50 AM)
Juztiny, was wondering if you know where to get Hagen at RM16?
I saw from the mudah.com, someone from SS2 sell at RM17.
Juztiny
post Mar 30 2010, 10:49 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(hermozo09 @ Mar 29 2010, 10:39 PM)
HELP!! my 4 month old female GP is fighting wit my 2 months old GP! wat to do n why is this happening? is this some sort of courtship?

Added on March 29, 2010, 10:47 pm

Your 2 months old is male? Senior girl doesn't like junior boy. Need to separate for a while, wait till the male is 5 months old turning to a handsome man, then your girl will only could accept him.
Juztiny
post Mar 31 2010, 11:25 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(serene1314520 @ Mar 31 2010, 08:36 AM)
wat u all usually give food to gp?...everyday fruit and vege?.......petstore food some have kuaci and hard thing....as u all know de...gp love eat very fast 1...how if the kuaci or hard thing make it tercekik?? or prefer everyday feed it with hagen or owbox
You can refer to the 1st page of this thread. All the necessary handy tips are there.
Juztiny
post Apr 1 2010, 10:42 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 1 2010, 09:39 PM)
Hi guys. My aby female GP already estimated pregnant from 2 month plus edi but still not yet deliver. Begin so worry. Her tummy is so gigantic. Don't know got how many babies inside... might be 4 or more... last time my short hair female gp dont have so big also can give birth to 4 babies. If she pregnant over 3 months and still not yet deliver how? Should i bring her to the vet for check up?
Are you sure your date calculation correct?

If really overdue and still no sign of births, the SOW may die eventually. This is what I experienced from my hamster.

And sometimes overdue, the babies would be still birth too.

Added on April 1, 2010, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(imvinceong @ Apr 1 2010, 10:18 PM)
About various types of pellet, can we feed rabbit pellets too, or just specifically guinea pigs?
Well..feeding rabbit pellets, your gp may lost weight instead. I did try that before (just a week, as run out of GP pellets stock), not good actually.

For those DIY users, here are some pictures on DIY to share with you all:-

http://jebitrabbitry.wordpress.com/2010/03...nice-diy-setup/

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 2 2010, 03:09 AM
Juztiny
post Apr 5 2010, 01:07 AM

1,276 posts

Hey People,

Actually got Texel gp in Malaysia. See this advert:-

http://www.mudah.my/Branded-guinea-pigs-5711385.htm

But the price is way out of my budget.

Juztiny
post Apr 7 2010, 01:53 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Apr 7 2010, 09:53 AM)
i realise my Yuki getting more and more hyperactive day by day  rclxub.gif  she loved to stands up and stumble around the cage... rclxub.gif  yesterday i realise her pee pee got very very yellowish ... is it normal??
Yellowish pee is quite normal. As long as your Yuki is active and not losing weight then is still in healthy stage.
Juztiny
post Apr 8 2010, 11:31 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Apr 7 2010, 02:01 PM)
Anyone of you breeding himalaya?
I would love to have one, but I don't think there is any in Malaysia.

Added on April 8, 2010, 11:41 am
QUOTE(hermozo09 @ Apr 8 2010, 10:05 AM)
hi, does the hot weather causes GP to last appetite? i notice mine is not eating as much as last time but she is chewing hays most of the time.
Yes, heat does have impact on them. They may lost appetite and shed more fur too. Can feed more fresh veg as alternative, but if your gp is too young (below 3 months old) then don't feed too much.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 8 2010, 11:41 AM
Juztiny
post Apr 9 2010, 01:30 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Apr 9 2010, 10:38 AM)
Anyone have bring Guinea Pig to cold area... for example Genting Highland???
Should be no problem, after all, Genting Highland is no longer consider cold. Your gp is long fur, nothing to worry about. If it is a furless gp then, you need to worry.

Anyway, anyone interested on furless (naked) gp? I know someone can import this breed in.

Added on April 9, 2010, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(hermozo09 @ Apr 9 2010, 12:28 PM)
help!! my GP just hurt themselves, is there any medication i can put on or it will heal themselves?
Depending how deep is the cut, if just small wound, it could heal by itself. Put minyak kayu putih.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 9 2010, 01:31 PM
Juztiny
post Apr 10 2010, 01:55 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Apr 9 2010, 01:43 PM)
herm ok den .. cause planning to bring her along for the trip there .. cause i ish heart broken to leave her at home

anyway Juztiny when she is with you what pellets she ate and does she eat pellets?? she recently learn a new 'skill' which is take all the pellets out of the bowl and start wheeking wan food ...  sweat.gif making the cage is scattered with pellets and she barely eating it.. haiz .. i scare she not enough vitamins
I fed the babies with Kaytee brand and Hagen brand. May be you can try Kaytee.

Added on April 10, 2010, 2:10 am
QUOTE(HxHKilluA @ Apr 9 2010, 01:59 PM)
hi just wanna share my experience..i contact the person at mudah labeled branded guinea pigs..

he is selling peruvian,sheltie,taxel and even hairless which he call it as hippo..actually he got all the breeds jumbled up sheltie is peruvian and so on..that seller didnt post up the hairless breed in mudah

selling ast 400 each and he offer to sell me the hippo less than 400 a pair which are babies...the pictures he sent me they dont look like they are at tip top condition and looks pretty crouded in the cage..the price itself is bit too much what more if the price is not worth what you're paying for

if the hairless gp seller is what u claim to be the person u know who can import the breed i suggest u guys better dont get from that mudah person
No...no...not the same person, but I am not interested on the furless gp actually, find it very "geli". The only breed I wish to have is "Himalayan". I will buy if the selling price is right at my budget (not more than RM250 each).

Ya...the mudah that seller's stocks look like from backyard breeder farm. The condition is very filthy looking. I bet they feed those corn pellets for chicken. I won't dare to buy from such seller even the price is cheap, as the gp sure won't live long.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 10 2010, 02:16 AM
Juztiny
post Apr 10 2010, 02:50 AM

1,276 posts

Just to share my last batch baby Peruvian that I kept. Now is getting beautiful, the color is very unique. No longer appears as dark grey, at times look like dark brown too, fur inner coat is lighter shed. Really like this color, very unique.

My another Sheltie SOW is pregnant, but only 1 baby inside. If it is female, I will not sell. Now I have 4 male, 3 female Shelties, so I need to have 1 more female to pair up.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 10 2010, 02:52 AM

Juztiny
post Apr 11 2010, 12:40 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 10 2010, 09:49 PM)
got such thing meh? lol maybe your abby isn't fat enough >.<
Ya...where got such thing? I didn't see any different.
Juztiny
post Apr 15 2010, 01:49 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Apr 14 2010, 04:12 PM)
haha since i will start giving her vege and fruits soon... i guess it will be good that the tricks lesson starts the same time .. wan a carrot .. u need to roll round round  laugh.gif
I enjoyed reading your story on Yuki, glad that she brings so much joy into your life.

Added on April 15, 2010, 1:55 am
QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 14 2010, 02:30 PM)
This batch babis color very very easy to pronounce. that is ........................... BLACK! ...... The 2 baby ( which is dead) also got many black color... One of the baby's color is whole black and got 1 white sock on 1 leg only while the 2nd 1 is black and white. But too pity they cannot survive. Only this pure black aby survive.
Wow...really "O O". Unique!!!

Luckily the baby survived! Sorry that I just read the post today, could not offer help when you needed most. Luckily got others to give you some tips. Next time if the SOW inexperience to feed the baby, you can put the baby's mouth to the SOW's nipple, keep introducing the baby where to find its mom's nipple. Once the baby recognised the mom's scent, it will go after the mom. Sure the mom will not resist. Unless the baby is a weak surviver that the mom refused to feed, then you have to manually force the mom to feed the baby. Meaning that you hold mom one hand, another hand hold the baby, then force the mom to be stilled for baby to suck milk.

I am now on business trip to India, away from home for 4 days already, will be coming back home on Friday. I'm wondering whether my agouti SOW has given birth or not. Missed my pets very much, not sure how are they doing without my daily supervision and care. Kind of worrying that my maid forgot to refill the water bottle etc. sweat.gif

Added on April 15, 2010, 2:15 am
QUOTE(yueyi5730 @ Apr 14 2010, 02:58 PM)
hey guys...wanna ask guinea pig owners here about this issue..
i got it from here...wanna ask about the bacteria that can infect gps..how true izit..anyone ask vets about it?
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Can_guinea_pigs_...n_the_same_cage

Rabbits and guinea pigs should not be housed together and here are the following reasons why:

* Rabbits are a lot stronger than guinea pigs, they can easily hurt/kill a guinea pig without meaning to, simply by kicking out with their back legs. Also rabbits do tend to bully guinea pigs.
    * They also have differing dietary requirements, so unless you intend to feed them separately you will be neglecting one pet's needs: Guinea pigs need additional Vitamin C in their diets or they can become sick. But rabbits don't, and too much vitamin C can make a rabbit ill.
    * This is the most important reason. Rabbits carry bordatella, a disease which is fatal to guinea pigs.

As for the Bordatella bacteria issue, I guess that very much depending on the hygeine condition of your pet keeping practice. I believed such problem will surface more on those farm breeding environment. If you do have a regular hygenic practice on daily maintenance, then such bacteria problem rarely encounter.

Last time I used to help foster abandon rabbits, and I did house the rabbit and gp together before for nearly 8 months. Nothing happen to my GPs. But I would strongly suggest to separate GP and Rabbit, due to the pellet food consumption is different. And adult female rabbit tends to be more dominant over territory, which might show aggressiveness towards the gp.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 15 2010, 02:15 AM
Juztiny
post Apr 16 2010, 04:02 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 15 2010, 08:35 PM)
please please becarefull if u cutting their teeth DIY. There is a forumer gp's tooth just drop out after she DIY cut her gp's tooth. So u must be very experience and have done it before.
Yeah...better try on dead animal first, and honestly not easy to DIY, better send to vet to do the job.

Added on April 16, 2010, 4:05 pmCame back home today. My maid told me the pregnant Agouti SOW given birth to 3 Abbyruvian babies yesterday, all quite big size, 2 long fur, but those 2 died, left only 1 survived. The one survived looks like normal Abby only. sad.gif

Also 1 rabbit died....sigh.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 16 2010, 04:08 PM
Juztiny
post Apr 16 2010, 07:53 PM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Apr 16 2010, 05:28 PM)
when is the right time to start mixing alfalfa and timothy so she get used to timothy??
You can feed one day Alfafa, and another day Timothy. No restriction on the amount of the hay, no need to worry, it won't cause diarrhea.
Juztiny
post Apr 19 2010, 12:48 AM

1,276 posts

QUOTE(Crys_Crys @ Apr 19 2010, 12:26 AM)
Hihi, I'm Yuki and i wanna tell u my little adventure i have following my mommy~~~

Last week mommy bring me to office smile.gif so i wont be always too lonely always at home when mommy working sad.gif ... and i have been a good girl i help mommy at work!!! I learn to type keyboard!!  icon_rolleyes.gif

Mommy told me my hair ish getting longer and i need to tied it up or i'll be a clumsy piggy always bang wall woh ... so mommy got me a hair clip clip to clip my long hair ... wub.gif

Can you see my clip clip?? here i give you a better pose  blush.gif

That's my adventure temporary for now ~~ Thanks for viewing my little adventure.. time to sleep with mommy ~~ night night!!  laugh.gif  yawn.gif
Such a cutey with a pink clip. Your colleagues didn't complain?

Today I bath the juniors (not all, just managed to bath 10 today), and now showing some of their pictures. The first picture is Peruvian juniors and the rest are Abby and hybrid Abbys.

This post has been edited by Juztiny: Apr 19 2010, 12:53 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0531sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:24 AM