US stock discussion v2

danmooncake
post May 11 2010, 09:01 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 11 2010, 08:12 PM)
yesterday huh-hah that 1 trillion enough, today say aiyoooh, salah kira. Where got enough? So market down. Like tat oso can. Still, MM/MOMO profit, last nite all SHORT. My short of ING pre-market no hit. Waiting....
Sure.. 1 trillion is not going to solve their problem if they continue to party and be care free nation.
Therefore, they got 2nd thought. Buckle up and let see how it goes..

Lots of good opportunities for some badly battered good stocks to go long here. biggrin.gif

Update: Someone asked me what are some of those longs that I would be looking at during market panic:

Here's what I'm looking at some of these, holding them over much longer timeframe (quarters/years):
AAPL, CSCO, CAT, TM, YUM, MCD, KMP, GE, GLD, VTI.

I don't swing or daytrade those above.. just accumulate during big dips - like last Thursday/Friday.
Every quarter, I project that we may have up to 5% to 15% pullback from the highs (Dow/SPX). Just calculate a price point relative to the general index and set a BUY order (in small position by scaling in) for them.

I'll be adding C to the above list soon (if it can maintain price over $4 over at least two quarters).

I'm also looking at BP - finally broke down below $50 - way over sold now.
If it is closing to 52weeks low (approx $4 from here), I'm a buyer. brows.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 12 2010, 09:37 AM
zamans98
post May 11 2010, 10:43 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 11 2010, 09:01 PM)

If it touch close to 52weeks low (approx $4 from here), I'm a buyer.  brows.gif
I'm with you for good stock for long haul, but the W shape is coming as many have seen. Data came out are not that solid yet to hold long position more than 2 Q
danmooncake
post May 11 2010, 11:44 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 11 2010, 10:43 PM)
I'm with you for good stock for long haul, but the W shape is coming as many have seen. Data came out are not that solid yet to hold long position more than 2 Q
The 2nd V shape - difficult to predict when. Just leave some ammo on the table and be prepare to use 'em.
Just scale in the position - don't get tempted to push BUY all now. There's always another trap door beyond the first one. biggrin.gif

epalbee3
post May 12 2010, 12:05 AM

1,345 posts

It should be bull till Friday..

Still locked there.. not far away..
zamans98
post May 12 2010, 12:31 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

hmm. looks like GREEN closing, so are we uptrend till 11000?
danmooncake
post May 12 2010, 04:11 AM

10,125 posts

Closing update
Dow 10748.26 -36.88 -0.34%
Nasdaq 2375.31 +0.64 +0.03%
S&P 500 1155.77 -3.96 -0.34%

Well, the market gave back some today after the big gains yesterday.
Not a whole lot but still good enough to start a base.

But, materials and mining gave back half of that they've taken. Partly because most of them have gained over 10%. biggrin.gif

Except for Gold stock (GLD), it rallies really good today. That's means fears still in the market. nod.gif

Erroralot
post May 12 2010, 08:37 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 11 2010, 09:01 PM)
Sure.. 1 trillion is not going to solve their problem if they continue to party and be care free nation.
Therefore, they got 2nd thought. Buckle up and let see how it goes..

Lots of good opportunities for some badly battered good stocks to go long here.  biggrin.gif

Update: Someone asked me what are some of those longs that I would be looking at during market panic:

Here's what I'm looking at some of these, holding them over much longer timeframe (quarters/years):
AAPL, CSCO, CAT, TM, YUM, MCD, KMP, GE, GLD, VTI. 

I don't swing or daytrade those above.. just accumulate during big dips - like last Thursday/Friday.
Every quarter, I project that we may have up to 5% to 15% pullback from the highs (Dow/SPX). Just calculate a price point relative to the general index and set a BUY order (in small position by scaling in) for them.

I'll be adding C to the above list soon (if it can maintain price over $4 over at least two quarters).

If it touch close to 52weeks low (approx $4 from here), I'm a buyer.  brows.gif
QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 11 2010, 10:43 PM)
Yeah, I got some AAPL at 230 last Friday. Pretty sweet deal smile.gif

Am looking into BP as well but am wondering when will it really bottom? So much negative press on it.

So guys, what's your take for tonight? smile.gif Oil inventories to look good? thumbup.gif
danmooncake
post May 12 2010, 09:39 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(Erroralot @ May 12 2010, 08:37 AM)
Yeah, I got some AAPL at 230 last Friday. Pretty sweet deal smile.gif

Am looking into BP as well but am wondering when will it really bottom? So much negative press on it.

So guys, what's your take for tonight? smile.gif Oil inventories to look good?  thumbup.gif
IMO, Oil is a buy at this price $75-$80. Below $75 is even a better buy.
If over $80, with the uncertainty in Europe persisting, probably not.

I think BP may touch $45 or $46.. I'll nip some there. nod.gif

By the way, I've watched Mary Shapiro (head of SEC) testified at the House Financial Services subcommitte.
They still do not know exactly what has caused the massive flash plunge last Thursday. doh.gif

Perhaps the Anti-PPT sneaked in and sabotaged the market.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 12 2010, 09:45 AM
SKY 1809
post May 12 2010, 10:50 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 12 2010, 09:39 AM)

I think BP may touch $45 or $46.. I'll nip some there.  nod.gif

By the way, I've watched Mary Shapiro (head of SEC) testified at the House Financial Services subcommitte.
They still do not know exactly what has caused the massive flash plunge last Thursday.  doh.gif

Perhaps the Anti-PPT sneaked in and sabotaged the market..  biggrin.gif
That sounds very risky.

I still wonder WHY the computers are so stupid to sell down a stock from US $ 40 to a penny stock.

And the systems just allowed to let it to pass through.

Something more is cooking.

Could be another fairy tale likes the Princess Diana.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: May 12 2010, 12:35 PM
AnonyNite
post May 12 2010, 10:52 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 12 2010, 09:39 AM)

I think BP may touch $45 or $46.. I'll nip some there.  nod.gif

They still do not know exactly what has caused the massive flash plunge last Thursday.  doh.gif

Perhaps the Anti-PPT sneaked in and sabotaged the market..  biggrin.gif
yea, i'm quite surprised till now they have no idea what happened on thursday, they should have all trade data available; order, confirmation, cancellation, etc from all the securities, shouldn't be hard to piece out what happened from those data. or maybe they know the reason, but don't wanna tell.
zamans98
post May 12 2010, 04:31 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ May 12 2010, 10:50 AM)
That sounds very risky.

I still wonder WHY  the computers are so stupid to sell down a stock from US $ 40 to a penny stock.

And the systems just allowed to let it to pass through.

Something more is cooking.

Could be another fairy tale likes the Princess Diana.
QUOTE(AnonyNite @ May 12 2010, 10:52 AM)
yea, i'm quite surprised till now they have no idea what happened on thursday, they should have all trade data available; order, confirmation, cancellation, etc from all the securities, shouldn't be hard to piece out what happened from those data. or maybe they know the reason, but don't wanna tell.
Come on. Not at Princess Diana's level. You need to understand how Investment Bankers work and provide liquidity in the market.

Something wrong, yes - everyone agreed but no final solid answer can be given. Do read certified professional write-up over the net.

Several factors already identified. CME did their own investigation, which shown no liquidity was present, aka no market makers in the whole system.

On any given day, there are 50 platforms from major MM (IB) to provide liquidity (buyers/sellers), inclusive ECN. However, the missing 8 minutes (some call 15 minutes) most platforms "disengaged" or "disconnected" from the market. So the market (NYSE-ACRA, AMEX, NASDAQ) don't talk to each others. So, what ever platform exist in the market, the BUY/SELL trade match.

If you have L2 quotes, you can see everyday there will be auto BUY Q at $0.01. So, shares like Exelon Corp or Accenture matched at $0.01

Does that clear enough?

Erroralot
post May 12 2010, 04:56 PM

144 posts

Zamans!! ING posted profit! Pre-market up a lot smile.gif Grats to u mate! flex.gif
danmooncake
post May 12 2010, 09:10 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(Erroralot @ May 12 2010, 04:56 PM)
Zamans!! ING posted profit! Pre-market up a lot smile.gif Grats to u mate!  flex.gif
Whee!!! Time to unload my other half. rclxms.gif
zamans98
post May 12 2010, 10:10 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(Erroralot @ May 12 2010, 04:56 PM)
Zamans!! ING posted profit! Pre-market up a lot smile.gif Grats to u mate!  flex.gif
Thanks, but sold 2 days ago via TStop.

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 12 2010, 09:10 PM)
Whee!!! Time to unload my other half.  rclxms.gif
I short ING @ 9.00
danmooncake
post May 12 2010, 10:16 PM

10,125 posts

I've sold 1/4 ING now at 9.02, leave the other 1/4 till it gets close to 50MA (9.5) or so.
I may try to short if we get to 50MA for a short bounce from the 50MA resistance ceiling.

Looks like the general market is going to nudge higher till it tries to reach SPX 1173, perhaps
by this Friday.

sulifeisgreat
post May 13 2010, 12:24 AM

1,121 posts

remaining the bear etf as it is, look at gld cool2.gif
nni above $20 & will ipxl / cab be joining the above $20 club rclxm9.gif
time to load up gambling position again, coz my stocks breaking out icon_idea.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

zamans98
post May 13 2010, 12:26 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 12 2010, 10:10 PM)
Thanks, but sold 2 days ago via TStop.
I short ING @ 9.00
QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 12 2010, 10:16 PM)
I've sold 1/4 ING now at 9.02, leave the other 1/4 till it gets close to 50MA (9.5) or so.
I may try to short if we get to 50MA for a short bounce from the 50MA resistance ceiling.

Looks like the general market is going to nudge higher till it tries to reach SPX 1173, perhaps
by this Friday.
150 points to 11,000 but if you carefully see the L2 quotes, market sentiment is weak.

ING in profit, USD175 and counting. Short all the way baby!
epalbee3
post May 13 2010, 12:45 AM

1,345 posts

what happens to C? not moving..
danmooncake
post May 13 2010, 02:28 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ May 13 2010, 12:45 AM)
what happens to C? not moving..
C under pressure.. because of Morgan Stanley.

Closing update
Dow 10896.91 +148.65 +1.38%
Nasdaq 2425.02 +49.71 +2.09%
S&P 500 1171.67 +15.88 +1.37%

Wow! Looks like the bulls are back. They're hitting at the 50 days MA door already. Dow already crossed over, now waiting at S&P500.
The percentage of S&P500 stocks above the 50MA now has risen to 45% as compared to only 15% just last Friday. biggrin.gif

TCK took a beating earlier when hedge fund sold and buy Gold (look at Gold price now..ridiculously high).
Lucky, it has recovered some. sweat.gif

Also, I just look at my AAPL calls purchase last week.. I'm not going to jinx it by saying anything now..
hopefully I get more good news by tomorrow. biggrin.gif

Update:
CSCO reported earnings - beat estimates but cautionary remarks from CEO caused some sell off AH. doh.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 13 2010, 06:08 AM
Erroralot
post May 13 2010, 08:25 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ May 13 2010, 02:28 AM)
C under pressure.. because of Morgan Stanley.

Closing update
Dow 10896.91 +148.65 +1.38%
Nasdaq 2425.02 +49.71 +2.09%
S&P 500 1171.67 +15.88 +1.37%

Wow! Looks like the bulls are back. They're hitting at the 50 days MA door already. Dow already crossed over, now waiting at S&P500.
The percentage of S&P500 stocks above the 50MA now has risen to 45% as compared to only 15% just last Friday.  biggrin.gif

TCK took a beating earlier when hedge fund sold and buy Gold (look at Gold price now..ridiculously high).
Lucky, it has recovered some.  sweat.gif

Also, I just look at my AAPL calls purchase last week.. I'm not going to jinx it by saying anything now..
hopefully I get more good news by tomorrow.  biggrin.gif

Update:
CSCO reported earnings - beat estimates but cautionary remarks from CEO caused some sell off AH.  doh.gif
Yeah, C and TCK took a slight beating today. Was hoping for further upside as Dow closed positive 140+.

AAPL's looking good smile.gif Hopefully 270 soon thumbup.gif

126 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:28 AM