9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Alienware Mothership V2, Official Owner's Lounge (V1 overloaded)

Mr.Docter
post Jan 31 2010, 09:45 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Jan 31 2010, 09:30 AM)
lol.. latest Asus G73 vs AW M17x..
which will u choose guys?

G73 with i7 , 8gb ram, 1TB hdd, Ati 5870 1gb DDR5  drool.gif and only price around 7.5k
a AW i7, 6gb ram, 640GB gdd, Ati 4870 1gb DDR3 costs 8k

G73JH specs was amazing
i did some pretty deep research about this comparison too, especially in term of the graphic card.
so far, the best performing mobility GPU in the world is Nvidia GTX 280M SLi. ATi Mobility 4870 CF is in second place and ATi 5870 is roughly in third place (some say GTX 260M SLi).

thats mean that if your budget is short for 280M SLi or 4870 CF, choose 5870 since its the best performing single GPU.

and if you thinking to CF the 5870, there is no news about that yet.

(please note that my aspects is about performance, not about temp or power consumption smile.gif)
Mr.Docter
post Jan 31 2010, 09:47 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 31 2010, 09:42 AM)
Alienware TactX Mouse can be bought cheaper by LYN Forumer here.. RM230 smile.gif

Dell markup to RM365?? LoL..

Added on January 31, 2010, 9:43 am

It now comes to preference.. You want an alienware or asus.. That's all biggrin.gif

If you prefer better specs get the Asus G73 biggrin.gif
physical appearance play major role indeed brows.gif
Mr.Docter
post Jan 31 2010, 09:32 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Jan 31 2010, 02:34 PM)
I aGree with you Doc. We have to wait to see the new developement in Alienware GPU Options. This is like the transition period and may not be the best time to get ur set as they may be the GTX 300M Series options maybe in a month or twos time or a 5870 CF for the M17x. But its just my speculation and we'll have to wait and see..... its gonna be a GPU war again.... icon_rolleyes.gif

The EDGE Alienware has over its competitors is definetly looks as well. Who can deny that the AW does really look like a mean gaming rig with uber cool built in features and design? None, they'll just have to rely on their performance to edge AW and that too won't be for a long period as the Alien evolves.... flex.gif

p:s On a side note, I think our User list needs updating. I see new owners posting here.... WELCOME!!!! thumbup.gif
yea. you think Alienware will give a chance to other brand to steal their title as Best Gaming Rig in the universe? laugh.gif

just wait for their future announcement my friend brows.gif

edit : typo

This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Jan 31 2010, 09:35 PM
Mr.Docter
post Jan 31 2010, 10:21 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(kelvin1989 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:02 PM)
that means wie can choose to upgrade our gc to gtx300, if new alienware is built with gtx 300?
as i said before, so far, Dell Malaysia refuse to upgrade hardwares especially GPU, CPU and Motherboard.

but as some of our friend said, there is a policy of Alienware stated that we are able to upgrade without voiding the warranty.

Mr.Docter
post Jan 31 2010, 10:55 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

Dx11 anyone? laugh.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1313399
Mr.Docter
post Feb 1 2010, 12:12 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ Feb 1 2010, 12:08 AM)
Guys!!! Seems like a horrible thing happened to my m15x...just now after playing mass effect for about three hours...it suddenly shut down by itself...poof!...check my plug...seems to be ok... But when i tried to on it back....nothing...list of thing that i did before the unfortunate incidents are as follows:
1.played mass effect
2.used zalman cooler nc2000
3.used asus xonar u1 usb sound card
4.connected via logitech 4 point usb hub
FYI the m15x is a virgin set meaning no overclocking watsoeva...haihz have to call dell to claim my complete cover tomorrow...sad night indeed...RIP my beast :-(
i assume there is no abnormality if temp, right?
since it cannot be switch on at all, i am guessing its maybe your mobo..
Mr.Docter
post Feb 1 2010, 07:10 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:54 AM)
See... This is what i like about dell's alienware...not only because of the great warranty by dell...but also excellent support by its community...thanks guys smile.gif
nod.gif
Mr.Docter
post Feb 6 2010, 12:42 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

you go first, Insydious laugh.gif
Mr.Docter
post Feb 6 2010, 02:08 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 6 2010, 12:50 AM)
Doc , how many FPS are u running on COD6 if u enable VSync ? Dont mind testing it on a Snow stage and tell me ? Thx
will do that after once reach Malaysia nod.gif

but i very seldom turning ON Vsync during gaming, except for RE5 due to highly utilized game's engine, making my frame rate sky high if disabling Vsync sweat.gif
Mr.Docter
post Feb 8 2010, 11:19 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Insydious @ Feb 8 2010, 01:46 AM)
Who says M17x has heat issues lol. No prob playin ME2 on oc'ed gpu and cpu without aircon also. The cooling on M17x is among the best for notebooks atm.
can't agree more, my friend. blush.gif
for those who didn't use this monster, they will never know its capabilities biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 8 2010, 01:47 AM)
1 of d reasons y i got my AW is for showing off lolx ... if not i would have settled for a sager = = both offer me my SLI requirement ...
AW owners does have bragging rights  !!!
that sager is wayy to big. 18.4" sweat.gif
and sure not as funky as M17x too! laugh.gif

QUOTE(Insydious @ Feb 8 2010, 01:50 AM)
Erm, google for M17x pics and look under at it's base tongue.gif

originally from mine smile.gif

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Feb 8 2010, 10:49 AM)
not necessary to own an alienware laptop bag.. I'd rather spend it on Alienware TactX Mouse or something else tongue.gif
you might think twice before saying that once you use M15x or M17x wink.gif

@ FindingScreemo & julchin_09, please PM me your address. have something for you laugh.gif

p/s : Alienware Mothership V3 maybe Findingscreemo? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Feb 8 2010, 11:23 AM
Mr.Docter
post Feb 8 2010, 11:44 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Andiboi @ Feb 8 2010, 11:38 AM)
most of the time uses photoshop, 3dmax software.
bolded : +1 for M15x
Mr.Docter
post Feb 8 2010, 12:24 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Feb 8 2010, 12:08 PM)
Dunno i can get that much,though.

I need portability and performance.Ideally,M17X is the best since it has a quad core and a 280.
It needs a quad for recommended,but once you have a 2GHz and above Duo Core,you can play the game,on low. Doesnt look too bad and still damn fun with all the destruction.

Im playing it on low with my old XPS.Enjoyed myself a lot.
fixed. smile.gif
Mr.Docter
post Feb 8 2010, 12:26 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Feb 8 2010, 12:12 PM)
means su7300 can run? cuz its got 2 cores.
1.3 x 2 = 2.6ghz? im noob at this, correct me if im wrong..
theoretically the calculation is not wrong.
but it will seldom reach exactly 2.6Ghz on most of the program.

still, it depend on how good is the utilization that program toward the hardwares.
Mr.Docter
post Feb 8 2010, 06:24 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 8 2010, 06:07 PM)
lolx , my m17x is very portalble wo =p easily last me 2 hours  @@ haha. Weigh wise was only felt on the 1st week , later on bo rasa d ~
mine too! laugh.gif
Mr.Docter
post Feb 9 2010, 11:33 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Feb 9 2010, 10:31 AM)
Hey everyone, great news...

the AW M17x is now free upgrade to dual GTX 280 SLI ..
this promotion from dell until this Thursday only.. fast GRAB..

Any sifu here, pls help me to customize it.. what should i upgrade?
damn. i already noticed that before reading your post. you could save RM 3,000++ by this promotion yo!

i could own QX9300 if this price is available during my time cry.gif

This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Feb 9 2010, 11:33 AM
Mr.Docter
post Feb 9 2010, 12:07 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Feb 9 2010, 11:35 AM)
Cry also no use...this is the way of technology..we cannot keep up with it, and if we do, we won't have anything in our grabs laugh.gif...

btw, the promotion is just drool.gif...free upgrade some more drool.gif
thats why i said if sleep.gif

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Feb 9 2010, 11:48 AM)
So mr doctor,

Intel? Core?2 Duo Processor T9600 (2.8GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 6MB Cache)
Genuine Windows? 7 Home Premium 64bit (English)
3-year Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover
17.0 " Beyond HD 1200p WUXGA (1920x1200) CCFL Display with TrueLife TM
4GB (2GBx2) 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
8X DVD + /-RW Drive with DVD + R double layer write capability
SLI Dual 1GB GDDR3 NVIDIA GeForce GTX 280M

below this spec can onot?
C2D era is almost ended, my friend.
upgrade to at least Q9100 or directly to the max, QX9300.

if CPU runs your budget short, decreace the duration of warranty to 1 year only since it can be upgrade in future.
remember, CPU cannot be upgrade under warranty of Dell if thats what you have in mind.

your HDD is bit low, but is not a problem smile.gif

the rest if perfect already.
Mr.Docter
post Feb 9 2010, 12:20 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Feb 9 2010, 12:12 PM)
Lolx Doc , upgrading ur warranty later to 3 years would cost u about 800 bucks = = my fren kena that price for his inspirion ... imagine that might mark up d price for our AW ...
i just recommending that way if you short of budget during that moment.

let me explain if we do it the another way.

>sacrifice CPU for 3 years warranty.
>then after a year or two (like both of us for example), already want to upgrade CPU.
>when we upgrade CPU by yourself and something bad happens, God forbid, Dell will check and clarify that our warranty had been voided.
>than we can kiss our 3 years warranty goodbye.

please correct me if i am wrong somewhere in this explanation smile.gif
Mr.Docter
post Feb 9 2010, 12:21 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cy-yang @ Feb 9 2010, 12:20 PM)
over budget duh.. i know is good for the quad... but price ...........
and then the waranty if extend it after purchasing will costs u at least 500  for only 1 years...
my friend kena that b4..
how much do you short? 1k?
Mr.Docter
post Feb 9 2010, 12:24 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Feb 9 2010, 12:20 PM)
hi all a quick question.

Alienware just refresh their version of laptops ? or they refresh for more than 1 year already ?
dont really quite get you.

you mean from old M17x to All Powerful M17x?

Mr.Docter
post Feb 9 2010, 12:27 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Feb 9 2010, 12:25 PM)
you know like MacBooks, they upgrade the specs it every once in a while.

IIRC, Alienware also. Or not ?
it depend on market. but not as frequent as once a month.

maybe around twice a year, if there is new technology that suit its specs.

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0387sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:47 PM