PCM Audio, 5.1 -> 2.0

TSLone*Wolf
post Dec 1 2009, 07:11 PM, updated 17y ago

1,442 posts

At the risk of sounding foolish, I realised that whenever I select PCM 5.1 Audio, the AVR always registers as 2.0 input. Why is this so?
Vinceyang
post Dec 1 2009, 07:19 PM

189 posts

It depend on the source, and also optical cable only support 2.0 PCM
TSLone*Wolf
post Dec 1 2009, 08:13 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Dec 1 2009, 07:19 PM)
It depend on the source, and also optical cable only support 2.0 PCM
Source is PCM5.1. Cable is HDMI. HDMI should be capable, right?
Ngto
post Dec 1 2009, 08:59 PM

4,350 posts

What player and what amp are you using ?
Skylinestar
post Dec 1 2009, 09:01 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

does your receiver supports HDMI multichannel LPCM?
TSLone*Wolf
post Dec 1 2009, 09:16 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 1 2009, 08:59 PM)
What player and what amp are you using ?
Panasonic BD60 and Denon 1909.
Ngto
post Dec 1 2009, 09:45 PM

4,350 posts

You set your BD60 to PCM for both True-HD and DTS-MA? What about your settings in Denon? Auto mode?
TSLone*Wolf
post Dec 1 2009, 09:59 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 1 2009, 09:45 PM)
You set your BD60 to PCM for both True-HD and DTS-MA? What about your settings in Denon? Auto mode?
I have no problems decoding Dolby/DTS, HD Audio or otherwise to multichannels, only hit the brickwall with PCM codes.

AVR - Auto, I think. Have been fiddling with the AVR settings, couldnt get it to work.

Hmm.. I will double check the player's settings again.

I think its the configurations/settings, just dun know which ones doh.gif
Ngto
post Dec 1 2009, 10:47 PM

4,350 posts

Don't own the Denon, but normally if you set the AVR to Auto and your BD60 to Bitstream or PCM you will still get full multichannel sound.

If you are getting stereo sound, maybe you are playing around with a mode that is only meant for stereo.

TSLone*Wolf
post Dec 1 2009, 11:05 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 1 2009, 10:47 PM)
Don't own the Denon, but normally if you set the AVR to Auto and your BD60 to Bitstream or PCM you will still get full multichannel sound.

If you are getting stereo sound, maybe you are playing around with a mode that is only meant for stereo.
Yeah, I think thats the current setting, thats why I puzzled, AVR input indicates stereo ...

Mebbe I need to play around with the settings once more.

Thanks anyway, Ngto smile.gif

BTW, Denon 1909 does support multichannel PCM, right?
yonggoh
post Dec 1 2009, 11:11 PM

1,314 posts

If you have set everything up correctly, the Denon display will light up as "MULTICH IN", indicating that you are receiving multichannel PCM. If you hit "Status" on the Denon, the display should say something like "PCM 48kHz 3/2/.1" indicating that you are receiving 5.1 channel PCM (3 fronts / 2 surrounds / .1 LFE track).
Ngto
post Dec 2 2009, 09:02 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Dec 1 2009, 11:05 PM)
Yeah, I think thats the current setting, thats why I puzzled, AVR input indicates stereo ...

Mebbe I need to play around with the settings once more. 

Thanks anyway, Ngto smile.gif

BTW, Denon 1909 does support multichannel PCM, right?
Since it has the HD decoders built in it should also be able to do Multichannel LPCM.
Vinceyang
post Dec 2 2009, 09:45 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 2 2009, 09:02 AM)
Since  it has the HD decoders built in it should also be able to do Multichannel LPCM.
Ngto, HD decoders and LCPM at AVR is different thing...
Ngto
post Dec 2 2009, 09:52 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Dec 2 2009, 09:45 AM)
Ngto, HD decoders and LCPM at AVR is different thing...
Everyone knows it's different thing, BUT "Since it has HD decoders built in it should also be able to do Multichannel LPCM"

Hope you see the diff between "should be able to" and "must be able to" smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Dec 2 2009, 10:43 AM
Vinceyang
post Dec 2 2009, 10:50 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 2 2009, 09:52 AM)
Everyone knows it's different thing, BUT "Since it has HD decoders built in  it should also be able to do Multichannel LPCM"

Hope you see the diff between "should be able to" and "must be able to"  smile.gif
As far as I know, mostly AVR will able to accept Multi-PCM regardless of HD Decoder.

So What does HD decoders relates to PCM??
Ngto
post Dec 2 2009, 11:07 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Dec 2 2009, 10:50 AM)
As far as I know, mostly AVR will able to accept Multi-PCM regardless of HD Decoder.

So What does HD decoders relates to PCM??
Do you know that what a HD decoder does is decode bitstreamed HD audio into LPCM? Whether it's the Player that does the decoding or the AVR that does the decoding in the end it all decodes into LPCM.

If an AVR is advanced enough to have HD decoders built in, it is reasonable to also expect it to have the ability to accept LPCM as well , no?

This is in reply to Lone*Wolf who was wondering whether his Denon 1909 could accept LPCM.

Seems you are trying to make an issue out of nothing doh.gif

Vinceyang
post Dec 2 2009, 11:16 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 2 2009, 11:07 AM)
Do you know that what a HD decoder does is decode bitstreamed HD audio into LPCM? Whether it's the Player that does the decoding or the AVR that does the decoding in the end it all decodes into LPCM.

If an AVR is advanced enough to have HD decoders built in, it is reasonable to also expect it to have the ability to accept LPCM as well , no?

This is in reply to Lone*Wolf who was wondering whether his Denon 1909 could accept LPCM.

Seems you are trying to make an issue out of nothing  doh.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

As u say, the TS just ask y PCM become 2.0

Just give a simple answer enough la bro...

Y bring in HD decoders pulak??? yawn.gif

Ngto
post Dec 2 2009, 11:27 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Dec 2 2009, 11:16 AM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

As u say, the TS just ask y PCM become 2.0

Just give a simple answer enough la bro...

Y bring in HD decoders pulak???  yawn.gif
Because he buy HD Decoder AVR surely try to bring in HD Audio as well lah. No harm to try solve is problem thoroughly.

Unlike you only want to critise and comment just to prove a point but before this never try to help him with his problem biggrin.gif
choontoy
post Dec 2 2009, 11:40 AM

837 posts

vince kena hamtam pulak
Vinceyang
post Dec 2 2009, 11:43 AM

189 posts

Lau eh, u also come join the fun??

Yesterday kena not enough is it? ha ha biggrin.gif