iphone hangs, iphone hangs

TSselenium
post Nov 25 2009, 09:40 PM, updated 17y ago

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

according to maxis because of the fluctuating 3g signals it makes my iphone 3g hang.(version 3.1 non jailbroken)
As in you still can use the phone as in music and video functions but anything that is related to the line is unusable.
eg no calls can be made or recieved. No message can come in or out and u cant surf the net at all.

so to fix the problem i had to restart my phone.

i lodged an official complaint and they called me back and the lady said everything is normal and asked me to turn off my 3g when i not using it.
i turned it off and it didnt happen anymore. but then after a few days the thing started again. although not as bad as when i turn on my 3G.

so everytime i have to try and call out to see if my phone hanged.
and this is pretty disruptive because i am in sales and customers already complained that i cannot be reached.

i plan to change to DIGI if the support iphone data.

please post a link if this problem has been encountered and close this thread. thank you...
fyire
post Nov 25 2009, 11:05 PM

9,270 posts

The one sucky thing is that whenever the signal switches from 3G to edge or vice versa, the telco signal tends to be lost, although I've not encountered a case as bad as yours with my phone. Well, not to say that I've not encountered, but it tends to be just at random and not all the time.

Only 2 things that I can think of to suggest:
- try upgrading to 3.1.2 and see if it makes a difference?
- instead of restarting the phone, you can reset the telco signal by turning on Airplane Mode and turning it off again. While this does not fix the problem, it is more or less easier than having to reset the entire phone
swee5420
post Nov 26 2009, 12:03 AM

120 posts

I think the problem depends on the signal strength.

Previously, whenever i switch on my 3g, the signal will be lost and i will have to reboot the phone to make it work. But this week, it seems that the 3g strength has increased, since i can switch my 3g on without losing the signal.

The weirdest thing i ever encountered was, during the beginning of this month, every afternoon four something, my phone will lost its signal, and it continues for a whole week. But after that it becomes normal again.

From my experience, i can conclude that it does not relates with the phone's hardware or software, it is maxis 3g line which fluctuating all the time causing this dam* problem.

This post has been edited by swee5420: Nov 26 2009, 12:04 AM
chinamobile
post Nov 26 2009, 11:40 AM

146 posts

QUOTE(selenium @ Nov 25 2009, 09:40 PM)
according to maxis because of the fluctuating 3g signals it makes my iphone 3g hang.(version 3.1 non jailbroken)
As in you still can use the phone as in music and video functions but anything that is related to the line is unusable.
eg no calls can be made or recieved. No message can come in or out and u cant surf the net at all.

so to fix the problem i had to restart my phone.

i lodged an official complaint and they called me back and the lady said everything is normal and asked me to turn off my 3g when i not using it.
i turned it off and it didnt happen anymore. but then after a few days the thing started again. although not as bad as when i turn on my 3G.

so everytime i have to try and call out to see if my phone hanged.
and this is pretty disruptive because i am in sales and customers already complained that i cannot be reached.

i plan to change to DIGI if the support iphone data.

please post a link if this problem has been encountered and close this thread. thank you...
it could be a hardware issue.

try testing it with a friend using iphone.

best go to location with less then max signal.

if your iphone signal is dropping off. try slotting your sim to your friends iphone. Verify that it happen to both set.

if not

your antenna section could be loose of defective
ashwin988
post Nov 26 2009, 02:56 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(chinamobile @ Nov 26 2009, 11:40 AM)
it could be a hardware issue.

try testing it with a friend using iphone.

best go to location with less then max signal.

if your iphone signal is dropping off. try slotting your sim to your friends iphone. Verify that it happen to both set.

if not

your antenna section could be loose of defective
No i can say that it is not a hardware issue. I have experienced this problem a few times, not alot I may add. Like for example, 3 days ago, my phone's signal was full, but my GF could not call me at all, and the messaged that she sent in came in late. There is a better part to this story as well. She sent me 9 messages and only 3 came in and not at the same time that it was sent. I tried to call out from my phone but, her phone rang and it did not work. I was like WTF!!!. Then i called her using my aunt land line and she picked up. I did ask her did she get any of the calls that I had made from my mobile and i called her like 5 times. She said this was the only time she received my calls and she could not get through as well.

I have been a very loyal Maxis user for like i think 9 years, but if this continues, I am going to change my line to DIGI after my Iphone contract ends. I am getting sick and tired of bad reception in certain area's. Digi really is starting to be 'The smarter choice'.

Well recently I did a full clean restore to my phone and it seems to be fine now. I will post any updates on the forum if it does happen again.
TSselenium
post Nov 26 2009, 05:06 PM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

nothing wrong with my phone. i am living in wangsa maju and the reception here is quite poor. hence the fluctuating 3g signals.
ashwin988
post Nov 26 2009, 09:08 PM

916 posts

Hmm this is funny and irritating. I just posted this up just now, my maxis suddenly has no reception. I live in bukit jalil. Suddenly my iphone shows no service. How many times i restart it its still the same. Anyone having any reception problems with maxis right now?
tabs
post Nov 26 2009, 11:32 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

hmm.. actually i have the same problem before.. is same problem as ashwin.. the iphone even got line but can't call out.. i not sure wat happen is regrading and i think just change a new sim card or restart ur setting in ur phone will help u..
CLL
post Nov 27 2009, 07:49 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Nov 26 2009, 09:08 PM)
Hmm this is funny and irritating. I just posted this up just now, my maxis suddenly has no reception. I live in bukit jalil. Suddenly my iphone shows no service. How many times i restart it its still the same. Anyone having any reception problems with maxis right now?
When I had my iPhone (mine is awaiting replacement), this is a common problem. However, when I restart it, the signal returns and then all the missed calls notifications starts coming in....
PeeEl
post Nov 27 2009, 09:45 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(CLL @ Nov 27 2009, 07:49 AM)
When I had my iPhone (mine is awaiting replacement), this is a common problem.  However, when I restart it, the signal returns and then all the missed calls notifications starts coming in....
So, Maxis is replacing it for you due to that problem, although you are presently frustrated because you have yet to get an answer as to when you will see the replacement unit?

Your answer is important for those who are faced with the same problem.
tabs
post Nov 27 2009, 02:13 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

hmm. i don't think will provide u a new unit.. probably just a refurbish unit from maxis..

This post has been edited by tabs: Nov 27 2009, 02:13 PM
PeeEl
post Nov 27 2009, 03:43 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Nov 27 2009, 02:13 PM)
hmm. i don't think will provide u a new unit.. probably just a refurbish unit from maxis..
Replacement with a refurbished unit is a foregone conclusion unless it is for an i3GS.

The point of concern is not that but whether Maxis is allowing a one for one replacement becasue of the poor signal/reception which a lot pf people would be interested to know going by the inputs on this topic.
Crazyboyrs
post Dec 12 2009, 06:27 PM

1,112 posts

I have the exact same problem. This should be maxis 3G problem, I used to have HTC Tytn 2, and now Maxis 3GS, same old problem.

Maxis line suddenly hang, need to reboot just like describe by the TS.
Damn Maxis..same problem over and over again.

I work in Cyber and Putra area, same problem everyday. No calls in or Out..
acbc
post Dec 12 2009, 06:28 PM

9,052 posts

Actually, not only iPhone... even E71 also hang when 3G or HSPDA are lost.
jasonlim1
post Dec 12 2009, 08:23 PM

50 cents per pax
702 posts

there was once where all my iphone signals are fine but i couldnt call out nor receive any messages or calls...
it just happened out of the blue...my friend complained that he couldnt call me...then only i am made aware of this problem...gotta restart my iphone...
anyone encountered this problem before?
Icehart
post Dec 12 2009, 08:49 PM

14,905 posts

I experienced call failed problem before whenever I start or reset my iPhone and it continues for a few hours. During this time, I can't make any outgoing calls, but ingoing calls and SMS are working fine.

I just got this fixed by turning off the call forwarding and call waiting option in the iPhone. Not sure how it is related to my problem but it got my problem fixed as for now.
ZeneticX
post Dec 12 2009, 08:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

i think its normal prob for modern phones to hang when a sudden signal is lost and searching for 1.my old w910i oso got the same prob,so i switch off 3g it improves a bit,but it still hangs when egde is lost and its tracking for gprs and vice versa.

archan
post Dec 13 2009, 01:17 AM

17 posts

Hi everyone, i think this has nothing to do with the phone. it's the service provider. bought two units of iphone from maxis earlier this year. my wife is in malaysia and i'm in UAE. she is experiencing the described situation but mine is always available, even when switching between 3G and EDGE. no problem whatsoever for me either roaming or using the local line. maxis need to get their stuff together.
coduosp
post Dec 20 2009, 03:05 PM

443 posts

iphone 3g using 3.0 and above FW always hang

0.0212sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:39 AM