6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

xxboxx
post Feb 7 2006, 01:42 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(researcher @ Feb 6 2006, 07:57 PM)
guys... just found out one shop here in banting that sell the SONY DB29M61 ...
after bargaining... i managed to get price for RM1800 cash... biggrin.gif
will get my sony on wednesday...
heheh...

i already have amp with 5 speakers...
currently i just connect my TV to the amp with 'stereo' cable (is that the correct word)...
what i mean is the white and red pinhead cable...
but the sound not really come up when i watch TV...
but its ok when i play PS2...
should i use another cables???
can't wait to get my TV...
ph34r.gif

consider that the offer is finish but you still get at that price, i'll say good catch. thumbup.gif

considering ps2 games only support prologic-II, if your amp got prologic-II decoder, then it's good enough. but like matrix say better to use the the optical cable specially when watching dvd to get the DD5.1 and DTS support. i think the cable get get around RM40 at KL

QUOTE(cylon @ Feb 6 2006, 08:22 PM)
Nice tip...will try it later on.

thats why there's the manual, for reading. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 6 2006, 09:40 PM)
I think we can start a SONY DB29M61 fan club already hee-hee...

Let's see:
SONY DB29M61 user
Xboxx
Cylon
Researcher
Flea77
Matrix

anyone else i left out?? smile.gif

Xboxx: thanks for the tip. Hopefully now the Devil Won't Cry when playing the PS2 now coz the jaggies in DMC3 is insane with DRC on!

actually my name start with double x laugh.gif
already quite a list of DB29M61 owner. let see how many more can we brainwash to buy this tv brows.gif i set XBMC to use slide of picture as screen saver, watching those hi-res picture on the tv is unbelievably beautiful thumbup.gif

does the devil still crying? tongue.gif
i play ultimate spiderman and pro racer driver on xbox, which both games only support 480i, but with DRC ON, the games looks good, almost as good as 480p. i wonder how come DMC3 gotten worse with DRC? unsure.gif
xxboxx
post Feb 16 2006, 04:22 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Feb 16 2006, 11:54 AM)
Greetings HDTVHeads,
Finally found a decent HDTV local forum, I've been reading up on HDTV info and technology. Got the HDTV bug when sister-in-law family got themselves a 37" Aquos LCD telly. Unfortunately, its mostly tuned to Astro transmission most of the time, and looks really shite on the telly since you can see the video is heavily compressed with heavy artifacts all around. Horrid. I've imagine hooking up my Xbox, but then again I'd realise that they might not be any more *new*games left to play at the end of this year (if I end up with a nice big telly).

I've been reading the whole thread, I'm looking forward to move up to a better + bigger telly. No hurry on my part, since I'll only get one probably at the end of this year.

I've been looking at a CRT display with widescreen, HD ready and the Samsung SlimFit 32" WS-32Z31HE really fits the bill.

But digging in closer, and reading more, one of the main gripes are:

1. Bad geometry problems (screen lines are not true straight at edge of screen)

2. Picture quality is so-so (I dropped by at Harvey Norman@The Curve yesterday, they have one SlimFit 32 WS on display, but it was running on composite video)

Overall, I am very dissappointed at Samsung's first attempt and imagine the poor Yanks who bought this TV when it was first release during July 2005, most of them end up returning back the tv and ending up with a Sony.
Ref: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread....92&page=1&pp=30

LG does market a similar product as well called Cybertube(!) but since announcing it last year, there is virtually no news or products coming out here (except in Korea market)

I'll have to wait and see yeah?

PS: Spend most on my telly playing Xbox and watching DvDs, I got a nice smallish 21ish Sony Wega, nothing fancy but it all sense has absolutely lovely color and vibrant image. And DVD is running on composite cables only!

you definitily done your homework thumbup.gif
and don't forget samsung slimfit 32" WS-32Z31HE only capable of displaying 50Hz signal (PAL), thats mean a no-no for NTSC signal. if you don't mind black border top and bottom for 4:3 29" tv, getting a HDTV capable of accepting 720p & 1080i signal for RM2k is definitily worth it.

QUOTE(MK84 @ Feb 16 2006, 12:15 PM)
this only works for using PC Monitor or Projector. Projector, i doubt got anyone here using it to watch video. before i buy a HDTV, i was using 19" PC Monitor with vdigi. then from 19" to 29" HDTV, the difference was totally shocking.
xxboxx
post Feb 16 2006, 06:00 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Feb 16 2006, 05:31 PM)
From what I gather. Some ppl use it to replace the standard descaler that's built into most HDTVs.

unless your tv got vga input, there is no other way to to get the HD quality. the newer model with DVI i believe got good descaler built-in already.
xxboxx
post Mar 3 2006, 07:17 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 3 2006, 12:01 AM)
Hai guys, finally my quest for HDTV is over. I bought Samsung 42" DLP TV. The quality on Xbox360 is superb! The free demo of 720p resolution movies on Xbox360 are so beautiful. Can't wait for the upcoming of new HD era with the release of HD DVD or Bluedisk player.

Unfortunetely, you have to stick and accept to current defination of DVD, 480. So you need a good DVD player with excellent upscaler for upscaling 480 to 720 or 1080 resolution. Anyone knows a good DVD player?
does the tv got dvi input? if got you can get a vga card with dvi out and connect to your tv and play some hi-res avi files. xbox1 with xbmc also can play video in 720p/1080i but not video encoded in h.264/hd-wmv.
xxboxx
post Mar 12 2006, 03:54 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 10 2006, 11:46 AM)
No Dvi input. But right now I connect my 360 through VGA. I'll give a try to DVI files on xbox till I get an original HD AV pack. Right now, I have a third party HD pack which seems giving me a ghosting or double images on screen.

The DVD playback on Xbox360 is way much better than my 3 years old Yamaha DVD player. Should wait for PS3 or HD DVD player coming out as advised by matrix. Yes, upscalling doesn't do much different to the image quality. already give it a try...

yup, i and matrix also experience ghosting using third party HD pack.

ps3 using blu-ray drive. there will be 2 format for HD. one is blu-ray, another one is HD-DVD. this gonna be like VHS vs BETAMAX war. choose wisely, or just wait for the winner.
xxboxx
post Mar 13 2006, 12:25 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(metalgrindsolid @ Mar 12 2006, 09:31 PM)
Does the original HD pack solve this? Asked around at Sg Wang Plaza but nobody selling it anymore sad.gif . Dvd playback on XBMC is much, much more better than dvd player that have an upscalling feature. If I can get rid of this ghosting issue, thanks god no more quest for a fine upscalling dvd player.

The war between HD-DVD and Bluedisk...yes, just wait and see the winner. More importantly, who give the lower price biggrin.gif

for my case, it did solve it. before this i was using third party cable, 480p mode the picture was like jumping, 1080i there's like a wave of line in the screen.

HD-DVD vs Bluray. a very expensive risky investment to jumps to. sweat.gif
xxboxx
post Mar 20 2006, 12:44 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 3 2006, 10:53 AM)
Dun waste your money. Upscaling doesn't provide much improvement, if any at all. XBOX XBMC already upscale to 1080i/720p.

today is the first time i try playing dvd movie using XBMC with the HDTV laugh.gif
playing 2F2F, i try first on 480p then on 720p. although no much, but the difference is still noticable specailly on smaller text and object. so yeah, even dvd movie looks nicer on 720p than 480p. biggrin.gif
xxboxx
post Mar 23 2006, 04:47 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Jonlam @ Mar 23 2006, 04:07 PM)
All the salesperson didnt recommend the Sony to me, instead they kept suggesting other models ie Panasonic & Philips. They gave following reasons. One said tube problem and the other said no surround sound. One also said that the KV-DA34M61 model is better than the KV-DB34M61 model because got surround sound. I checked the KV-DB34M61 specs, also got surround sound also mah  doh.gif I only saw the KV-DB29M61 display model at these places but not the 34" model.

surround? actually it's only virtual surround, and it's nothing near to actual 5 + 1 sets of speaker.

i'm using KV-DB29M61. and if the 34" speaker is the same as 29", bad news to you, the speaker sucks! my more than 5 years old Sharp tv produce much better bass than this tv. shakehead.gif but i matched it with my 5.1 HT, it rocks! thumbup.gif
xxboxx
post Mar 24 2006, 04:29 PM

5,261 posts

^ nice info of the website smile.gif
xxboxx
post Mar 27 2006, 07:37 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Jonlam @ Mar 27 2006, 07:04 PM)
What 5.1 HT system are you using? Currently looking for a HT system to match my new TV.  biggrin.gif

i'm using panasonic sa-he75 HT. the sound quality is very nice icon_rolleyes.gif
xxboxx
post Mar 27 2006, 10:50 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Mar 27 2006, 08:32 PM)
I'm using Pioneer HTZ323.

Good sounds, good sounds.

but this model don't have optical or coax input rite? unsure.gif
xxboxx
post Mar 28 2006, 08:47 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Mar 28 2006, 08:14 AM)
My set has ONE optical input, but no coax (which is fine, anyway).

The only time I used the optical was for my old Xbox. Now waiting for something else to be plugged in there...

good choice that it have optical input thumbup.gif
i always avoided amp cum dvd player coz it don't have optical or coax input. hopefully more company will make amp cum dvd player with optical and coax input. smile.gif

ps2 also can use optical input rite? other than that have to wait for next gen console or hd-dvd/blu-ray player. or a good sound card with optical out.
xxboxx
post Mar 29 2006, 07:50 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(masamura @ Mar 29 2006, 01:51 AM)
Question for HDTV sifus...

Is this a HDTV? http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/p...ubcategoryid=34

or

only Bravia sets are HDTVs?
yes, thats a HDTV, the same model Jonlam bought.
xxboxx
post Mar 30 2006, 08:44 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Jonlam @ Mar 30 2006, 08:01 AM)
I have finally got the Sony KV34DBM61 yesterday night. I must say that viewing a 34" TV is really nice compared to my old 21".    rclxms.gif
DVD playback using non-progressive scan DVD player but with component cables is clear & crisp.  biggrin.gif  However, Astro is not too good but I guess this is due to the poor Astro broadcast signals.  sad.gif The sound is rather weak and only acceptable when the simulated surround option is chosen. I really need a home theater system to support this TV.  smile.gif

Btw may I have some of the picture settings ie brightness, sharpness etc from forumers who have these Sony DBxxM61 models.

it's nice isn't it? biggrin.gif
if you got modded xbox and play some video in 720p, it looks much nicer rclxms.gif

i'll check my tv this evening and tell you what is my setting.
xxboxx
post Apr 25 2006, 03:30 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(wb4j @ Apr 25 2006, 01:44 PM)
I have been looking for a 29" TV and I found the Panasonic TX-29F350MK has been impressive. The price range is around RM1.5-1.6k range. It is cheaper than the great Sony DB29M61. Both are HDTV but Panasonic edge Sony with its full 100Hz Digital Scan/Progressive Scan. There is another model JVC HV-29JH24 which has similar features selling at the same price range. I am quite surprised to read ppl complaining about Panasonic. I am not convinced until I see evidence. Anyone?

can the panasonic display 720p and 1080i? 100hz just the line doubler. which DB29M61 also have with the name DRC. i try to google this panasonic model but come empty handed, is this obsolete model?
xxboxx
post Apr 25 2006, 04:35 PM

5,261 posts

digging deeper for this panasonic model. new model as stated by panasonic MY website.

* Type 29 Flat Colour TV HD Ready
    * Full 100Hz Digital Scan/Progressive Scan
    * Digital AI Naturalizer
    * DPNR (Digital Picture Noise Reduction)
    * Twin Digital Comb Filter (PAL/NTSC)
    * Digital VM Circuit
    * Wing-Type Stereo 2-Speakers
    * Audio Output: 20W (max.)
    * 5-Band Equalizer
    * Two Component Video (DVD) Inputs
    * Universal Remote Control

RSP: RM 1,749.00
http://panasonic.com.my/PRODUCTS/VISUAL/tau_GIGA_tv/TX_29F350MK_2.htm

it didn't give details what HD mode it support. and since this is a new model i guess it should be better than before model. price difference is only RM100-200 from DB29. quality, i guess have to compare side by side with the other models.
xxboxx
post Apr 25 2006, 07:09 PM

5,261 posts

going to my local tv store, and guess what? 29F350MK is there. fiddling with some of the setting, there is one mode which i forgot what is the name, that can choose auto, weak, strong. auto looks fugly, weak looks nice like DRC, strong looks nice but the picture looks abit blurry. weak and strong will give you picture quality without those interlace line. i notice when i choose 100hz the interlace line appear, maybe i didn't change the mode to weak or strong. the video signal that feed the tv i'm fiddling is from component cable at 480i.

i believe the main strong function of this tv is "Digital AI Naturalizer" and "DPNR (Digital Picture Noise Reduction)", to compete with Pixel Plus 2 and DRC. and the paper that they stick to the screen show only 1080i, dunno can it display 720p signal or not.

wb4j, when you compare the DB29, have you change the mode to DRC-1250?
xxboxx
post Apr 26 2006, 07:37 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 26 2006, 10:29 AM)
What flicker? never seen a flicker since using the DB-29....even makes my Gameboy Advance game looks so good running on XBOX emulator (support 480i/480p/720p/1080i !!!).

Gameboy Advance game in 1080i??? shocking.gif

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Apr 26 2006, 11:25 AM)
So while 833i MAY be a valid HD resolution, I suppose it'll depend on the material you're gonna play on the set?

without a material that capable of taking advantage of the tv capabilities, i don't see why spends so much money for it. and it's only support 50hz, slimfit deja vu anyone?

QUOTE(wb4j @ Apr 26 2006, 04:17 PM)
xxboxx,

Not sure wat mode it was on.

you should set it to DRC-1250 and compare, you'll see there's no much difference.
xxboxx
post Apr 29 2006, 01:36 AM

5,261 posts

anyone done service manual to their tv? to adjust the screen display. particularly DB29M61. mine the overscan is quite alot for 720p and 1080i, around almost 1 inches for each side. but i heard you can really mess up your tv if done it wrong.
xxboxx
post May 1 2006, 08:20 AM

5,261 posts

me and another forummer here "Ray78" was busy yesterday with getting into Service Mode for the Sony DB29M61. here are what the info we have manage to get so far.

the website for Sony Service Mode Info: NTSC Version, PAL Version
another useful website Service Mode

do note this website are for different set of model, but still works for DB29.

SERVICE MODE WARNING: Without proper documentation and training, you can probably do quite a good job of messing up your television set, perhaps even damaging it.

Don't mess around with the service mode adjustments unless you know what you're doing and have the service manual to guide you.

Once you enter service mode the first thing you should do is record all the original values BEFORE you change anything! - This is the only way to restore the television to its original (factory default) state should it become necessary to do so.

to enter Service Mode you have to press in your remote [PWR OFF] - [DISP], [5], [VOL+], [PWR ON].
the [DISP] button is the button that have the icon of [i+] and [?] in your remote. the button pressing timing is very important. press [PWR OFF] and wait for 1/2 second then quickly press [DISP], [5], [VOL+], [PWR ON]. if you done it correctly you will see some green line of number and character in your upper part of the TV.

now that you are in Service Mode, use button [1] and [4] to scroll next or back. when you found the setting that you want to change, use button [3] and [6] to change the value to be more or less.

IMPORTANT: I strongly suggest that before you adjust anything, you step through all the parameters and write down their current settings value in a piece of paper, so that you can undo any changes you make if you need to. Once the setting have been save to the EPROM, there is no way to find the Default Value back.

so far i have changed 2 values for fixing the left and right side of overcan. this are:
DEF2 014 HSZ0 000 --- to --- DEF2 014 HSZ0 -06 -for squeezing the pic
DEF2 000 HPOS 028 --- to --- DEF2 000 HPOS 030 -for moving the pic to left or right
with this change i manage to get the blue line on left and right in GRAW to appear.

Ray78 also found this setting to make wide screen stretch to become 4:3.
DEF1 VSIZ 039 -change the value to strecth or squeeze the pic.

VERY IMPORTANT: Getting back to the Before-I-Screwed-With-It EPROM defaults.

You can't. That is why you should write down all the default values as they are now

once we have change all the value now is time to save the setting to EPROM. the website tell us to press [MUTE] and then [ENTER]. but we couldn't find which is [ENTER] button. sweat.gif pressing the [CONFIRM] button didn't works. Ray78 have finally figure out to substitute [ENTER] button with [0] button to make it works. rclxms.gif

VERY VERY IMPORTANT: Writing to the EPROM will allow changes to survive unplugging the set. Hold the piece of paper upon which you wrote down the old EPROM settings in one hand. (If you haven't written down the original settings, you can still return to the old settings at this point by turning the set off and pulling the plug.) With the other hand, press the [MUTE] button once. The word "WRITE" appears on the screen. This is your last chance to back out. Press the [0] button once. The color of the word "WRITE" changes to "RED". Your changes have now been saved to EPROM.

Please don't mess around with the service adjustments unless you know what you're doing! Remember, if something goes wrong, don`t save the adjustment! Just unplug the TV and plug it back in, and any unsaved adjustments will be restored to their factory presets. Also, the TV will be out of service mode now.

I strongly recommend that you get the SAMS or Sony service manual for your TV before you change any settings.

As you modify settings, record the factory preset values so that you may return to them if something goes wrong. Also, record your new values, in case they aren`t saved properly. Nominal values are listed below for most settings below. And, please, please, please, don't mess with the ID-x settings! These are different for every chassis, so the nominal values below won't probably be valid!

if anyone founds anymore setting to get a better display, plese post here so we can share2 icon_rolleyes.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0454sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:27 PM