HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

saiga
post Jan 16 2007, 10:46 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(isis @ Jan 16 2007, 10:07 PM)
to be honest, i would like to get a SAMSUNG HD LCD TV...but too expensive tongue.gif

so am gonna get a Philips one cuz my friend bought one and its not bad either he said, plus got 5 year warranty on it tongue.gif

i jz have one question though, when i searched for his Philips model on the net (here's the link Philips 32PF7321-12), there was a "HDMI" feature in it... and i read the first post and there's nothing on this "HDMI" feature.
what does it mean?

this Philips HD LCD TV is abt RM3500 which is like the ceiling for my budget. i know its not FULL HD but do u think it wil b good enough for an Xbox 360? unless u guys can recommend something else better, do let me know ya! smile.gif

cheers!
it support 720p,so good enough with your 360 brows.gif
saiga
post Jan 17 2007, 01:25 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2007, 09:05 AM)
agreed with saiga, as long u r getting 32", until 720p shud do really fine

wich plasma or LCD, or wat spec to look for in better astro image?
from what i read here,there is NO WAY to improve the astro image on lcd/plasma.have to wait for them to broadcast in HD. Btw,what is MEASAT 3 doing up there? mad.gif
saiga
post Jan 22 2007, 09:10 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(LiLBoy @ Jan 21 2007, 01:49 PM)
Can i ask Plasma Vs LCD, which one is suits for gaming and watching TV?? and reason please
many will recommend lcd for gaming.As for watching tv it depends on your preferences.Some people like plasma and vice versa.

saiga
post Jan 22 2007, 09:24 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(hackinz @ Jan 22 2007, 12:25 AM)
Guys! Little urgent help please!

I need to decided asap whether or not to get a Toshiba 42WL66E.
Contrast Ratio 800:1
Brightness: 450cd/m2
Resolution 1366x768
Panel Response Speed (ms):8
Viewing angle (Degrees): 178
HDMI

Does it support Xbox360?
Cuz initially mainly for Xbox360 & future PS3. Later for HD-DVD movie!

Reason I got a very good deal! Approximate Rm4900 (HSL selling RM7899 after discount)

Urgent!!! Comment pls!!!!
of coz la support biggrin.gif
saiga
post Jan 24 2007, 01:56 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Jan 23 2007, 10:31 PM)
Contrast ratio is lower the better one  icon_rolleyes.gif
bro,really arrr? i read many article that said higher contast ratio is better.now confuse alredi rclxub.gif
saiga
post Feb 13 2007, 07:04 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 13 2007, 03:45 PM)
ic, thanx beast

maybe im getting a 26 incher for my room 1st, currently using 20icnh crt
will 26 look much bigger?
26 will look bigger but i'm not sure can consider 'much' bigger or not.
saiga
post Feb 20 2007, 08:16 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(sub_zero @ Feb 16 2007, 12:42 PM)
i found yesterday samsung hdtv 40 inch = rm 3999 @ senheng alamanda putrajaya :-O OMG
wah,very cheap man?LCD or plasma?Is it display unit? hmm.gif
saiga
post Apr 24 2007, 05:13 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Apr 16 2007, 10:48 AM)
Right now Best Denki and SenQ have similar deals. The DVD player is also Philips, model DVP595K if I'm not mistaken, with HDMI and Divx compatibility. The DVD player on its own is worth RM 499. And yes, from the DVD player to the LCD is thru HDMI. The downside is that the DVD player only has coax and no optical digital output. Not a problem if you have a good amp.
Bro Ashe, does your dvd player have usb terminal?
saiga
post Apr 24 2007, 07:56 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Apr 24 2007, 05:39 PM)
Yup it has. I'm currently trying to find out what it does. Thumbdrives obviously work, and right now I'm not getting much results with portable HDDs.
Gud news then.But if works flawlessly with portable hdd better brows.gif .Can share with me the price you pay for the tv + free dvd player? Thanks.
saiga
post Apr 26 2007, 01:21 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Apr 26 2007, 12:21 AM)
You can try to pm silencer (sorry ya bro, you are the only 1080p I sold). Or you can read his review in my thread, pros and cons.
bro bysquashy, between BX6M (using s-video) and PX5M (using composite) which one better for Astro. Have you made side by side comparison?
saiga
post Apr 26 2007, 01:58 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Apr 26 2007, 01:25 PM)
I have no doubt to say that the one with s-video connection has better picture quality.
even if "the PX has a newer generation panels. It produces better and more accurate color compared to BX" ? (quoted by bysquashy)
saiga
post Apr 28 2007, 03:00 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Apr 26 2007, 09:38 PM)
The case for Astro its different, you must bear in mind that Astro is a really crappy source. Garbage in, garbage out biggrin.gif
just want to know which one give "better" garbage tongue.gif
saiga
post May 12 2007, 12:43 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

Bro kaiserreich,

I was looking for R7 before, but couldn't find one. This set already stop production and that's why i opted for the Sharp PX. If u still wany one then u should go for R8 instead.Better design and specs but a bit expensive.Last time i check is RM4.5K (about 2 weeks ago).Now maybe cheaper, biggrin.gif

Nway, about the PQ on Astro from my survey i found out Toshiba and Sharp is the best.Even using composite the different is not noticable (for my eyes) compare with s-video. thumbup.gif
saiga
post May 13 2007, 12:57 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 12 2007, 09:13 AM)
tested astro on sharp, still crap biggrin.gif

btw, i heard somebody say, using philips pixel 1 or 0, then reduce the sharpness to 0, the image will be clear wor... he say like macam astro HD like tat tongue.gif
aiyo, dun compare with CRT la shakehead.gif .I'm talking about astro PQ AMONG LCD TV.Even chapalang china brand RM 500 29 inch crt tv can easily beat lcd on astro PQ.But the cool factor of lcd tv easily makes u forget about PQ tongue.gif .

p/s : kaiserreich,just get the damn lcd tv...beri2 syiok! thumbup.gif
saiga
post May 13 2007, 08:36 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 13 2007, 07:38 PM)
Hmmm....at first, i had that kind of impression too..but when i tested the panorama setting (intelligent stretching technology by Sharp), i was full of surprise and never intend to go back to the initial setting...... thumbup.gif
Agreed ! People look better in this mode compared with other brand (e.g samsung) which make the people look fatter rclxms.gif

p/s : can't watch astro with black bars on the sides, make my eyes hurt tongue.gif
saiga
post May 16 2007, 09:27 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(redken @ May 15 2007, 09:50 PM)
The Sharp Smart Stretch is nothing new la. This mode stretches the sides more than the center to create an illusion that the person in picture is not too far stretched. They can do this on normal TV programs where the cameraman is sure to deadlock their object in the center of the frame. It doesnt work well for movies.
True. That' why if you see the 'crawler' at the bottom of the screen the wording will be bigger at each side biggrin.gif
saiga
post May 16 2007, 07:03 PM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ May 16 2007, 09:32 AM)
Ah excellent info Saiga and redken. I was beginning to be disappointed with my TV LOL.

Thanks!
Bro, must alwiz think about good points that your lcd have. Like dat will never regret buying biggrin.gif
saiga
post May 20 2007, 01:52 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(ganaz-x @ May 19 2007, 08:07 AM)
Spot on!  rclxms.gif

Anyway, after reading that statement about crawlers where the wordings ar bigger on each side couple of days ago, I've been trying to detect the alleged flaw on my 42 incher Sharp lcd but fail to notice it. Is there something wrong with my set  tongue.gif  rolleyes.gif
that things onli happened when I set the picture mode to 'panorama'. so now i using 'full' mode and it does the job for me rclxm9.gif

btw, my set is Sharp PX5M (32 inch). or it is coz i set something wrongly? hmm.gif
saiga
post May 21 2007, 12:05 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ May 20 2007, 05:03 AM)
Full mode is for 16:9 squeeze picture...which is different than Panorama forsmart stretching of  4:3 aspect ratio, especially for Astro.....what is your WSS setting????? I will never set the full mode for astro......Mind showing the picture flaw????? whistling.gif
my wss setting is off...well there is no flaw with the picture... onli when displaying the 'crawler'.... as i said earlier the word a bit strech when moving in and out compared to when at the centre of the screen.

saiga
post Aug 23 2007, 09:25 AM

Fear of the Dark
584 posts

what the cheapest price for lcd monitor that can support 1080P?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0228sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:12 AM