4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

DG Smart Plan for Blackberry, RM68 Unlimited BIS!

mikelanding
post Nov 20 2009, 04:40 PM

2,865 posts

I on DG Smart Plan now. My BIS just activated 1 hr ago.
Finally I can get EDGE at my area. With Maxis, I can get only GPRS.

So far so good I would said. Setting up email account is easy and mails was push within few secs (especially gmail)

I tried tethering as IP Modem, Speed test shown 720Kbps. Not bad
mikelanding
post Nov 21 2009, 01:04 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(Carmein @ Nov 21 2009, 10:47 AM)
Wow, you are really fast! I would love to switch to digi too for the unlimited data usgae but I am on BIS for 6 months.
It would be a waste if I switch now.
Ya. Better stay for 6 months first. That is 1 of the reason I dun like to tie up to a contract.

So far so good for DG Smart plan, still EDGE all the time. smile.gif
mikelanding
post Nov 22 2009, 12:32 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Nov 21 2009, 10:11 PM)
so which outlet currently can take on the spot?? hmm.. this not look like maxis right?? need to wait around 1 month only take it/
Nope. On the spot.
Any digi service center or Digi specialist store can sign up. I not sure about the stock for 8520. But their system is up and running now.
mikelanding
post Nov 22 2009, 12:26 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(devil86 @ Nov 22 2009, 12:21 PM)
may i know which bb u using?
Javelin 8900

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 22 2009, 12:29 PM
mikelanding
post Nov 22 2009, 05:54 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(wInnIe PoOh @ Nov 22 2009, 03:14 PM)
may i know, how much is Digi offering for the Blackberry? I heard Celcom is offering the phone at rm998. Can i also buy the phone then only i subscribe the plan later?
Please refer to Item 22. on the FAQ.
So DG Smart Plan alone, there is no discount price to buy the 8520. Their RRP is 1199.
If U sign up contract for either DG50/DG150 from 1 year to 2 years period, the 8520 price will be ranging from 599 to 899

In my opinion, sign up the plan ONLY U are existing digi customer with pospaid plan.

If not, Maxis RM488 + 6 months unlimited still the cheapest promotion thus far.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 22 2009, 05:55 PM
mikelanding
post Nov 22 2009, 09:45 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Nov 22 2009, 08:54 PM)
so if i am the existing digi customer if interested buy bb just sign up contact right?? no need add on the bb plan am i correct?

Added on November 22, 2009, 8:57 pm
so mean if sign up maxis i just pay 488+ 6month contact?? am i correct?
QUOTE(wInnIe PoOh @ Nov 22 2009, 08:58 PM)
i just check the website, is that mean i just pay rm488 then i can get the phone? what about the 6 months contract? do i need to sign or pay in advance first?
Yes. All are pay upfront. RM488 + RM98 X 6 = RM1076 + taxes
mikelanding
post Nov 23 2009, 12:22 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mybiebie @ Nov 23 2009, 12:18 AM)
me having problem with my BB with maxis...many drop calls and also the phone often restarts...any1 can comment the quality on digi netowrk on BB?
Phone restart might be other problem. Dun blame solely on telco.

I using Maxis before, didnt experience restart even I flash to leaked OS5.

For Digi, so far so good for me. No complain
mikelanding
post Nov 24 2009, 10:40 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(ryukick @ Nov 24 2009, 10:18 PM)
Are you on contract then? Did you bring in your own blackberry? I asked customer service at pavillion they said no contract if you bring in your own berry..but if not there will be contract..and then some other chap told me...its contract no matter what...i'm a postpaid customer with less than 12 months..so I guess i prob will have to be on contract...this is reading thru the website...
For user with own device who want to sub only DG Smart Plan. There will be no contract. But there is a clause that if U terminate less than 3 months. Penalty will impose.

For those already postpaid, I think there is no contract. It more like an add-on to yr existing plan.

The contract are for those who want to took the BB8520.

Hope this clarify yr concern
mikelanding
post Nov 25 2009, 02:22 PM

2,865 posts

For lady, there are Pearl series.

But nowaday, lady are looking at feature also.

In Summary
BOLD:
+ point =Bigger screen size, Faster CPU, Bigger keypad, 3G, big internal storage (1GB)
- point = lesser ram (128mb), big size for certain peoples, 2mp cam

8900:
+ point = Highest resolution 480X360, 3.2 mp cam, bigger ram (256mb), smaller size (+ point for me tongue.gif)
- point = EDGE only, less internal storage, slower CPU speed compare to BOLD, smaller screen size

Pearl:
No comment. Didnt play with it before.

Out of 3, I like 8900 more. Using 1 now, But my wife love her BOLD.

3G is not that important especially for BIS. All data are optimised at RIM server. I survive GPRS under maxis for 3 months without any problem.
EDGE should be sufficient for almost all BB features.

Unless U tethering with your BB, then U need 3G. smile.gif

Anyway, almost 4 days on DG Smart Plan now. So far is good experience since I got EDGE coverage all time. My batt life seem improve a bit also. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 25 2009, 02:24 PM
mikelanding
post Nov 25 2009, 04:29 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Nov 25 2009, 03:23 PM)
thanks for the info bro. since you're using 8900 with DG Smart Plan, you should be getting EDGE or below only right? mind asking where you purchase your 8900 and for how much?

most likely my gf will be choosing either the 8520or 8900 to go with the digi BB plan.
My unit is 2nd hand. I purchased from lelong.com.my around 1.2K ish

You can get 8900 around 1450 to 1500+ new. Some seller gave AP shop warranty for 12 months.

Between 8520 and 8900, I would suggest U goes for 8900 because 8900 have:
- better cam (3mp vs 2mp)
- got flash (flash is important to take good picture)
- got mechanical zoom
- much higher resolution (480X 360 vs 320 X 240) and the screen is just gorgeous! Very viewable under direct sunlight compare to nokia E71 and 5800.
- slightly longer battery life

mikelanding
post Nov 26 2009, 05:51 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(thirstydude @ Nov 26 2009, 05:39 PM)
Hi guys,

Been observing this thread ever since Digi came out with their BB service. Currently I am on MaxisBIS but considering terminating it and activating my Digi BB service since im on a limited data plan ie 10MB. I'll still maintain my Maxis line as secondary. I do have a couple of questions with regards to this process that I hope you guys can help me with:

1. Is it as simple as just terminating my Maxis BIS and activating my Digi BIS?
2. Do i then just have to switch sim cards and do the necessary registration of email add and other relevant BB settings on Digi site?
3. Any other considerations that i may have overlooked?

Btw, my BB Bold was bought as an AP set so I assume its fully unlocked. Is there anyway i can confirm this without having to insert another telco's simcard in it?

Wld greatly appreciate some input.

Tks in advance guys
1. Yes. It is simple. With below step
a. Go to digi store and sign up the package. Get the simcard and wait for line activation. Mine was activate around 4 hours.
b. Once Digi activated. Call up Maxis and told them U want to terminate your BIS package. IMPORTANT: Ask them to release your device PIN too. The pro-rated bill will be settle later on.
c. Once b complete. Put your digi simcard. Go into email setting and set them up.

2. No need to go digi BIS website. Email setting can done from BB

3. The most important thing here is ASK MAXIS TO RELEASE DEVICE PIN when U terminate their BIS.

Hope this help. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 26 2009, 05:53 PM
mikelanding
post Nov 26 2009, 11:59 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 26 2009, 11:47 PM)
Thats mean RM58 is fix by pay monthly? Not include voice call or sms?
How about the phone price when I sign this plan?
Hey bro,
read this thread from page 1. All yr answer already mentioned couple of times.

Post #42 and #49 are yr answer.
mikelanding
post Nov 27 2009, 07:47 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(twenty6 @ Nov 27 2009, 07:39 PM)
Guys, just came back from DiGi at times square. I ask them if my supp line can subscribe to Smart Plan and they said no. Smart Plan is only for principal line. Check with CS also same thing. Why is that?

Supp line under maxis account can subscribe to BIS but DiGi cannot. Is there any other plan for DG BIS besides Smart Plan?

I plan to mnp to DiGi. Main line and 1 supp line (i have 2 supp line) also wants BIS but since supp line cannot BIS, i cancel my intention to MNP.

Was there a miscommunication?
Hmm..that sound like a very strange policy.

Maybe U can ask your question on their twitter @digi_telco

They do response well on my question previously.
mikelanding
post Dec 2 2009, 09:16 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Dec 2 2009, 09:07 AM)
I've been comparing the 3 giants and yesterday i went to Digi Center and convert my Celcom into Digi.. waiting for my line to be registered, then they said that my unlimited BIS will be activated the day after!~ Couldn't wait!~ Hope Digi will provide us well  sweat.gif and since Digi do not have any contract, then why not give a try?  icon_idea.gif
U can call digi up to hush hush the progress of activation. At least 2 parties (Tele CS and CS from their specialist store) confirm to me that it can be done on the same days.

Also, no contract is not really 100% truth. If look careful under their FAQ, there is a clause stated as below:
Q20. Are there any penalties if I terminate my DG Smart Plan for BlackBerry after 2 months?
Answer: An admin fee of RM200 will be charged if your tenure on this plan is less than 3 months.

So in order not to pay the penalties, you need to sub at least 3 months. BUT, still far better than tie for 12 or 24 months. smile.gif
mikelanding
post Dec 2 2009, 10:18 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Dec 2 2009, 09:56 AM)
i saw this on T&C :

Upon signing of this offer, the subscriber agrees to subscribe to either DG Smart Plan//DG50/DG150 for a contract of either twelve (12) or twenty-four (24) months from the date of signing the contract. It is deemed a breach of contract should the subscriber terminate the subscription of the rate plan/downgrade/upgrade/change to other rate plan and/or request for a change of handset model prior to the contract maturity on either the 12th or 24th month
I had double checked with CS at digi specialist before sign up.
For DG Smart Plan that are not attached to any vioce plan (DG50/DG150) OR Blackberry Device Purchase at discounted price.
THERE WILL BE NO CONTRACT BONDED. But minimum 3 months subscribe or RM200 penalty still applied.

Hope this clear thing out.

Added on December 2, 2009, 10:25 am
QUOTE(wiNd @ Dec 2 2009, 09:43 AM)
hmm, very interesting plan...

if i wanna sign up this Digi BB Smart Plan, which BB phone should i buy ? (Bold - with 3G, no EDGE?, Curve 8900 - with EDGE, no 3G?)

and what happen if im using Bold and they capped me from 3G (can use EDGE only) ?
Digi network are mainly EDGE.
BUT, they are expanding their 3G coverage around big city like Penang, KL and etc. Melaka still cant get digi's 3G yet.

For BB device, most new model such as 9000, 8900 and etc support multi band.
For BOLD 9000, it support 3G/UMTS/EDGE/GPRS
for 8900, it support EDGE/GPRS. NO 3G support.

If U live in big city, U can opt for BB device that support 3G. But I also considered other feature before decide to purchase my 8900. smile.gif

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 2 2009, 10:25 AM
mikelanding
post Dec 9 2009, 11:13 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Dec 9 2009, 10:18 AM)
guys,

need to check , can DIGI BIS support Balckberry tour Verizon set. I am currently on Celcom BIS and they don't support any BB phones that is not supported by vodafone unlike. I am planning to MNP to Digi and would like to confirm on that.
Couple of forumers here confirm it work on TOUR.

I also got a confirmation from digi_telco from their twitter reply
mikelanding
post Dec 12 2009, 04:15 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Dec 12 2009, 03:55 PM)
people, i need some advise here.

I was at DIGI centre at Taipan today thinking of porting my blackberry from CELCOM to DIGI but there is a few uncertainties. This is what i was told which differs from what i was explained when i decide to call DIGI support for clarification.

1. Digi centre told me there is only one Digi smart plan for blackberry and only runs on "EDGE" and not 3G. This plan cost me RM58 for unlimiited usage. Question is I have a BB Bold and does tis mean this is no 3G services when i surf or tietter my BB ? and I am stuck with EDGE?

2. As i have a normal 3G phone which sometimes i switch between my BB and it. Right now, i am able to switch between 2 phones without any problem, only this is the BB services is not avail when i use my 3G phone. Charges are the same, unlimited package. What DIGI centre told me is that if i am on BB plan which is RM58, it it advisable not to use the same sim card for my other 3G phone as i be charge separately for surfing.

This is the confusing part.

I decide to call the support centre and seek clarification, they told me otherwise.

1. There is 3G services for BB. (DIGI Centre says NO, only EDGE)
2. It does not matter if you switch between phones under the BB package (RM58), its still unlimited surfing, just that when I am on the 3G phone, i just cannot utilized the BB services thats all. The rest remains the same.

Can someone please get me out of this confusion, anyone have similiar case like me, switching between BB and 3G phones whom are using the BB smart plan from DIGI.

Thanks !
Long question, simple answer.

1. There is 3G for DG Smart Plan. Coverage depend on area.
2. U CANNOT swap sim card to non-BB device. If swap, U will get charge on data service.
3. U CANNOT tehtering using BB IP modem. Stated in their Term and Condition clearly already.
mikelanding
post Dec 12 2009, 04:21 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mwtang @ Dec 12 2009, 04:19 PM)
thanks mate but when i refer to the support call centre, if i swap sim card into a non BB device, teh data services still the same according to them.
Utterly bullshit from them.

If they dun allow tethering (which is using diginet) from BB device. Do U think they will allow data service (that use the same diginet setup) ??

added: U will get charge on the basic as pay as U use

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 12 2009, 04:21 PM
mikelanding
post Dec 15 2009, 10:16 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Dec 15 2009, 09:44 AM)
Erm, if I am to use blackberry device with DiGi unlimited 3G (not BB Smart plan), am I still able to fully utilise the features in Blackberry?
NOPE.
No BIS= No Push Mail, No IM, No Social Network, No Internet, GPS wont work and many more features missing.

For your previous post, I am ex-E71 user converted to BB. Here the gain and lost:
Gain:
1) Real Push Mail. Up to 10 email accounts.
2) Blackberry Messenger. This is the main killer app for BB. Highly addicted and make U productive (or non productive)
3) Better Keyboard. Yes. BB keyboard is very good compare to E71
4) U get gorgeous screen (for 8900 ) compare to E71. BB screen is very viewable under direct sunlight.
5) U can higher screen resolution 480X360 (BB 8900) vs 320X240 (E71)
there are few more..but cant think of now. tongue.gif

lost:
1) Garmin not support for BB for Asia Region
2) Slimness of E71
3) tethering

My personnel experience after converted to BB was great so far. BBM's Group give me a platform to meet more new peoples, make more friends.
BBM Group also let user share photos, information/news, lists, calender and etc. Truly a great platform for collaboration.

mikelanding
post Dec 15 2009, 10:48 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 15 2009, 10:22 AM)
Hve been reading ALL the pages here, and was contemplating switching my E71 to DG58 plan,
BUT now after reading your explanation, might change to BB 8520 for RM58 unlimited by Digi
and still keep my E71. Choices for Christmas, thanks bro...
If budget allow, get the higher spec model like: 8900, Bold, Tour
But 8520 is a good bb for new BB users. smile.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0465sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:27 PM