Technical My PS3 slim [MY] starting to give problems, *Updated @ post *92*

TSfaizpsp89
post Nov 18 2009, 09:41 PM

///M
1,169 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Nov 18 2009, 01:47 PM)
If ur system hangs, dun ever ever ever ever shut it down by turning the power from the back. Force restart it by pressing the power button for 5 seconds.
Just got back from Midvalley's Northpoint Sony Service Centre HQ..They took my ps3 away cry.gif ..They said they need to inspect it..She said will take up to 5 working days sad.gif ..So this weekend no gaming for me...

@aiyish - I tried everything already(press the power button for more than a minute,the green light just keep blinking)..No response whatsoever from the ps3 system. sad.gif

So now ill just have to wait till next week la to find out..

Btw,i even ask then for the 1 to 1 exchange,she said that only occurs if we have problem on the system within 3 days of purchase only..

So thats basically the update from me for now biggrin.gif
slevinra
post Nov 18 2009, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Nov 18 2009, 09:41 PM)
Just got back from Midvalley's Northpoint Sony Service Centre HQ..They took my ps3 away cry.gif ..They said they need to inspect it..She said will take up to 5 working days sad.gif ..So this weekend no gaming for me...

@aiyish - I tried everything already(press the power button for more than a minute,the green light just keep blinking)..No response whatsoever from the ps3 system. sad.gif

So now ill just have to wait till next week la to find out..

Btw,i even ask then for the 1 to 1 exchange,she said that only occurs if we have problem on the system within 3 days of purchase only..

So thats basically the update from me for now biggrin.gif
Wow, sorry to hear that. Hope my PS3 slim won't have any problems. It's a HK set, if got such problems sure susah. Good luck by the way.
nelsonkoay
post Nov 19 2009, 04:20 AM

QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Nov 18 2009, 01:21 AM)
For the past few days,my ps3 slim(bought it @ launch in 1U) had started to give me problems..Here r the problem than i had encounter:-

1)It takes a verrrrrryyyy long time to load up the game

2)It takes a very long time to start-up the XMB(sometimes no icons at all,so i need to switch off and on the power switch cause no choice)

3)It often hangs icon_question.gif

4)Then just now after i force switch off the ps3(cause hang),then when i turned it ON back,it went into recovery mode,it ask me to install back the FW3.01..SO after i install back,still no difference..All the problems r still there mad.gif

**All this happen just recently only

I really dun understand la why its is like this,its only been what about 2 weeks only sad.gif ..My last phat PS3 kaput because of YLOD.. cry.gif ..

So im planning to go and claim the warranty tomoro..Any recommendations?I live in Ampang btw..KlCC's Sony Style ok?
if bought from sony nothing to worry about!

try re-update the firmware
alee86
post Nov 19 2009, 11:55 AM

Validating
53 posts

any other ps3 slim MY set got prob?
alextimekiller
post Nov 19 2009, 06:14 PM

I just got mine a month ago (HK set). It work alrite, but i did experience a cracking sound about 10 seconds after i turn on the system and about 10 seconds after i turn it off. I think its a normal thing, coz i heard the same sound from my standard tv. I guess its fine. Anyway bout ur case, is it a firmware problem? There's a big fuss bout this 3.00/3.01 updates. Perhaps the latest released 3.10 will fix that.
TSfaizpsp89
post Nov 19 2009, 06:17 PM

///M
1,169 posts

QUOTE(alextimekiller @ Nov 19 2009, 06:14 PM)
I just got mine a month ago (HK set). It work alrite, but i did experience a cracking sound about 10 seconds after i turn on the system and about 10 seconds after i turn it off. I think its a normal thing, coz i heard the same sound from my standard tv. I guess its fine. Anyway bout ur case, is it a firmware problem? There's a big fuss bout this 3.00/3.01 updates. Perhaps the latest released 3.10 will fix that.
OMG i know that cracking sound..But its more like a pop+crack sound though...I also heard from my ps3 quite a number of time hmm.gif
alextimekiller
post Nov 19 2009, 06:35 PM

The 1st time i heard it kinda shock me. But apparently many people had this thing with their slims and i heard some from the phat too. It should be alrite i guess. Haha.
Synco
post Nov 19 2009, 06:48 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(faizpsp89 @ Nov 19 2009, 06:17 PM)
OMG i know that cracking sound..But its more like a pop+crack sound though...I also heard from my ps3 quite a number of time hmm.gif
casing sound , due to heat biggrin.gif
kecut + expand
alextimekiller
post Nov 19 2009, 06:59 PM

Haha, I thought so also. But if that would happen wont the case crack after a long term? Nothing wrong to my tv though it has been popping for years. No crack too.

terion
post Nov 19 2009, 07:25 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

i also got my during the launch, no 13 in the line but my prob is differrent...

i get snow and flickering whenever i set it to run at 1080p, other resolutions is ok... first i thought is the cable, but even with a monster cable still same thing, can see the video here:

the weirdiest thing is that using my older ps3 phat, this problem does not occur no matter which cable i use, it works fine in 1080p

now only can run on 1080i and im like half hearted to get unchartered 2 since i can enjoy full hd gaming sad.gif

Synco
post Nov 19 2009, 07:31 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Nov 19 2009, 07:25 PM)
i also got my during the launch, no 13 in the line but my prob is differrent...

i get snow and flickering whenever i set it to run at 1080p, other resolutions is ok... first i thought is the cable, but even with a monster cable still same thing, can see the video here:

the weirdiest thing is that using my older ps3 phat, this problem does not occur no matter which cable i use, it works fine in 1080p

now only can run on 1080i and im like half hearted to get unchartered 2 since i can enjoy full hd gaming sad.gif
should send it back for check up
anyway most games 720p only even uncharted 2
alextimekiller
post Nov 19 2009, 07:40 PM

Oh, does your tv support 1080p?
terion
post Nov 20 2009, 10:59 AM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

yupe.. been using 1080p on my older phat for almost 2 yrs now no problem...

another weird thing is using the slim to play bluray at 1080p, the flickering and snow goes away..

i thought uncharted 2 is running at 1080p?

anyway thinking of sending it back... but then have to backup everything and also de-activate all the accounts since who knows what sony will do with it and whether or not i will be receiving the same unit back... :/
gnsumas
post Nov 20 2009, 11:56 AM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Nov 20 2009, 10:59 AM)

another weird thing is using the slim to play bluray at 1080p, the flickering and snow goes away..

anyway thinking of sending it back... but then have to backup everything and also de-activate all the accounts since who knows what sony will do with it and whether or not i will be receiving the same unit back... :/
Uncharted 2 runs at 720p smile.gif

SUSdattebayo
post Nov 20 2009, 11:58 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Nov 20 2009, 10:59 AM)

have u ensure both PS3 settings are identical?

alextimekiller
post Nov 20 2009, 12:00 PM

Oh, I'm only using 720p so i cant give much help on that. Perhaps the firmware could help? I notice many ppl have problems with this snow/flickering thing.
ferricide
post Nov 20 2009, 12:08 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

So my guess is the PHAT still is better than the SLIM? wink.gif
terion
post Nov 20 2009, 12:54 PM

Got Android?
1,469 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 20 2009, 11:58 AM)
have u ensure both PS3 settings are identical?
yupe... what other settings is there other than the resolution setting? unsure.gif

Added on November 20, 2009, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(alextimekiller @ Nov 20 2009, 12:00 PM)
Oh, I'm only using 720p so i cant give much help on that. Perhaps the firmware could help? I notice many ppl have problems with this snow/flickering thing.
will try to update the 3.10 which came out today but i doubt it will be of any help

QUOTE(ferricide @ Nov 20 2009, 12:08 PM)
So my guess is the PHAT still is better than the SLIM?  wink.gif
im beginning to think so too...

This post has been edited by terion: Nov 20 2009, 12:55 PM
SUSdattebayo
post Nov 20 2009, 01:24 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(terion @ Nov 20 2009, 12:54 PM)
yupe... what other settings is there other than the resolution setting?  unsure.gif

Added on November 20, 2009, 12:55 pm

will try to update the 3.10 which came out today but i doubt it will be of any help
im beginning to think so too...
such as HDMI color range, and try to turn off Control over HDMI (unique in Slim)
ericpires
post Nov 20 2009, 01:31 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Nov 20 2009, 01:24 PM)
such as HDMI color range, and try to turn off Control over HDMI (unique in Slim)
How bout PS3 Phat? im seeing green pixelated patches when playing WE2010

i have to go to the rgb n super white in display setting or something there?

its weird only this game problem...with the graphics

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:53 PM