Food Cooking. An art or science?, What do you think?
Nov 17 2009, 01:07 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
long time didn't eat venison already.
Nov 17 2009, 01:07 AM
4 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Nov 17 2009, 01:10 AM
150 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Malaysia |
Sensitive skin, hmm, should be
Seafood, i didn't eat everyday. Fish okay lah. But prawns, crabs, lobsters... I was advised not to. As long it was done and not bloody, it was all good and fine. Oh my... Deer meat? Rabbit meat, hare meat, kangaroo meat, dog meat, cat meat, zebra meat, veal and others, i really cannot make myself to eat. I will think of them and cry |
Nov 17 2009, 01:13 AM
QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 17 2009, 01:10 AM) Sensitive skin, hmm, should be Hmm, think of it like chicken. Some animals, like cow, lamb, chicken, and deer are commercially grown to be sold to eat.Seafood, i didn't eat everyday. Fish okay lah. But prawns, crabs, lobsters... I was advised not to. As long it was done and not bloody, it was all good and fine. Oh my... Deer meat? Rabbit meat, hare meat, kangaroo meat, dog meat, cat meat, zebra meat, veal and others, i really cannot make myself to eat. I will think of them and cry |
Nov 17 2009, 01:13 AM
836 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 17 2009, 01:10 AM) Sensitive skin, hmm, should be For the Chinese , any animal with it's back is facing the sky is edible ... hehe , urm the most i went was only rabbit meat ... definitely not zebra meat ... but chefs will always say these Seafood, i didn't eat everyday. Fish okay lah. But prawns, crabs, lobsters... I was advised not to. As long it was done and not bloody, it was all good and fine. Oh my... Deer meat? Rabbit meat, hare meat, kangaroo meat, dog meat, cat meat, zebra meat, veal and others, i really cannot make myself to eat. I will think of them and cry "simple food are the most difficult to cook" ... |
Nov 17 2009, 01:16 AM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
How come the poll can only vote for either one? Hmmm, I'm thinking of shd be macam MCQ, got A, B, then C is all the above, and D is none of the above...
I would think that should be both art and science, you guys have pretty much discussed the points. But hor, just to add to the "confusion", I want to say: Cooking is also an exercise, a sport! Exercise - coz you burnt some calories when cooking, just look at how those chef sweats during the process.., think of those energy required to chop, cut, stir fry, flip the wok.. Sport - think of cooking competition... |
Nov 17 2009, 01:22 AM
QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Nov 17 2009, 01:16 AM) How come the poll can only vote for either one? Hmmm, I'm thinking of shd be macam MCQ, got A, B, then C is all the above, and D is none of the above... Haha. Sweat cause when you are inside the kitchen, it is HOT. Imagine like tai chao, you see how big and how loud the fire.I would think that should be both art and science, you guys have pretty much discussed the points. But hor, just to add to the "confusion", I want to say: Cooking is also an exercise, a sport! Exercise - coz you burnt some calories when cooking, just look at how those chef sweats during the process.., think of those energy required to chop, cut, stir fry, flip the wok.. Sport - think of cooking competition... |
Nov 17 2009, 01:24 AM
i've worked in a restaurant b4 , in the kitchen , mwahaha you can check out those chef's thigh , confirm no bulu one ...
Nov 17 2009, 01:25 AM
I never use wok. Well, maybe in the future 'cause currently i'm perfecting my Western recipes. Trying to get use to the electric cooker. Bit difficult to control the heat and the temperature. Have to be fast, quick and swift!
Nov 17 2009, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 17 2009, 01:25 AM) I never use wok. Well, maybe in the future 'cause currently i'm perfecting my Western recipes. Trying to get use to the electric cooker. Bit difficult to control the heat and the temperature. Have to be fast, quick and swift! I dislike electric cookers. Cook with traditional fire, tastes better |
Nov 17 2009, 01:37 AM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
traditional fire meanings must go to chop woods ah? wah, more exercise..
Nov 17 2009, 01:38 AM
i'm nvr good with Western Recipes ... only good with wok , maybe i shld start learning
Nov 17 2009, 01:44 AM
My family been using electric kitchenwares for years d. Need to change the gas tank almost every week! Last time lah... Almost everyday cook 24/7 as outside food didn't give their best ingredients and most important, is their oil! Gawd! Saw a restaurant 2 years d didn't change oil. So dark!
Nov 17 2009, 01:51 AM
2 years is quite impossible , i know bout the cost cutting and such , but 2 yrs ... it's not oil anymore
This post has been edited by 812799: Nov 17 2009, 01:51 AM |
Nov 17 2009, 01:51 AM
27 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Hootoot @ Nov 17 2009, 12:09 AM) I am a Culinary Arts student, and I think that cooking is between art and science. And I would apply both during cooking. i think both, because in science point of view if you cook with not proper way the food will not delicious and somehow it may cause food poisoning too. In Art you can decorate the food with nice and delicious impression.But this is only my theory. So what's yours? Vote and give a reason |
Nov 17 2009, 01:55 AM
Ah yes, definitely both, i must simply agree
@812799 I know, it is not oil anymore. Especially those ppl frying 'Yar Cha Guai', from what i've seen lah. So black! Yikes... |
Nov 17 2009, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Nov 17 2009, 01:37 AM) Not that kind larr QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 17 2009, 01:44 AM) My family been using electric kitchenwares for years d. Need to change the gas tank almost every week! Last time lah... Almost everyday cook 24/7 as outside food didn't give their best ingredients and most important, is their oil! Gawd! Saw a restaurant 2 years d didn't change oil. So dark! Hmm, if you are used to it already, then it should be fine. But then, no flambe wor |
Nov 17 2009, 01:59 AM
Yeah, the flames... I kinda miss it more and more whenever i'm watching AFC
Nov 17 2009, 02:06 AM
flame still can be done ... but need the right timing only , but of coz gas cooker especially those jet powered ... flame is like a norm
Nov 17 2009, 02:08 AM
Bit afraid of gas and fire. More to say, terrified. Read a news article that it blow up or something and injured the housewife's hand. Burnt badly...
Edited: Typo This post has been edited by M@Y: Nov 17 2009, 02:09 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0519sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:23 PM |