Food Cooking. An art or science?, What do you think?

post Nov 17 2009, 12:59 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 17 2009, 12:47 AM)
oh another thing, some people cook vegetable took long. it shouldn't. vegetable should go in and out of the wok fast. smile.gif within a minute or 2.

and some restaurants, aiyoh i damn hate their "yau cham" (oil dipped) fish - cos they fry until the meat already not nice to eat, all hardened. tongue.gif

my upcoming experiment is to make nice beef patty, which I've yet to do so.

yes in and out fast , but depends on the heat as well ...

i hated "yau cham" , u shld have ordered "wat cham" , where they just soaked the fish in oil , then steamed it ... even the normal "Kam Foong Yu aka Fei Chau Yu" taste like "Tau Tai Chong" ...

Beef Patty , no salt or soya sauce yeah ... my 2 cents

and TS if u ask me cooking is an art or science , i would say

Cooking is an Art and Science Make it happen ...

This post has been edited by 812799: Nov 17 2009, 01:01 AM
post Nov 17 2009, 01:06 AM

836 posts

Deer Meat ... YUMMY , Deer Meat of Sizzling Hot Plate ... damm i'm hungry
post Nov 17 2009, 01:13 AM

836 posts

QUOTE(M@Y @ Nov 17 2009, 01:10 AM)
Sensitive skin, hmm, should be sad.gif

Seafood, i didn't eat everyday. Fish okay lah. But prawns, crabs, lobsters... I was advised not to. As long it was done and not bloody, it was all good and fine.

Oh my... Deer meat? ohmy.gif

Rabbit meat, hare meat, kangaroo meat, dog meat, cat meat, zebra meat, veal and others, i really cannot make myself to eat. I will think of them and cry cry.gif
For the Chinese , any animal with it's back is facing the sky is edible ... hehe , urm the most i went was only rabbit meat ... definitely not zebra meat ... but chefs will always say these
"simple food are the most difficult to cook" ...

post Nov 17 2009, 01:24 AM

836 posts

i've worked in a restaurant b4 , in the kitchen , mwahaha you can check out those chef's thigh , confirm no bulu one ...

post Nov 17 2009, 01:38 AM

836 posts

i'm nvr good with Western Recipes ... only good with wok , maybe i shld start learning
post Nov 17 2009, 01:51 AM

836 posts

2 years is quite impossible , i know bout the cost cutting and such , but 2 yrs ... it's not oil anymore

This post has been edited by 812799: Nov 17 2009, 01:51 AM
post Nov 17 2009, 02:06 AM

836 posts

flame still can be done ... but need the right timing only , but of coz gas cooker especially those jet powered ... flame is like a norm
post Nov 17 2009, 02:10 AM

836 posts

urm i dunno how can that happen ... but i think i'm ok with it ... hehe no doubt electric cooker is faster ...

0.0486sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:04 PM